We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melas Holiday Village
Ranked #31 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here on a family holiday (grandparents, toddler and wife) in one of the apartments (two bedrooms, living room). The room appeared brand new with a modern bathroom and modern furniture. The room size was ideal for our party.
Staff were always very friendly and the food in the main restaurant was very good for the type of hotel (I am not a fan of large hotels that offer all inclusive deals, but here I was proven wrong; plenty of choice, hot, fresh, very few queues, decent wine). A must is the turkish a la carte restaurant. The gym and heated indoor pool in the Melas hotel next door can be used, but the pools and beach in the village offer plenty of choice and fun. The beach is not overcrowded and there is space between the sunbeds (look down the beach a bit and you will see the opposite). The village as such consists of a number of small-ish buildings that each have (I think) 12 rooms and the main building with the restaurant and more rooms. There is plenty of open space between the buildings so it has a nice and bright feel to it.
I would go back on holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FranzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Dear Franz,
thank you for taking a little bit of your time and writing us a comment.
We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and we were able to convince you with the service and the food, especially the turkish a'la carte restaurant.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you and your family again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We are just back from a week at the Melas Holiday Village in Side staying from 14/04/14 to 21/04/14 on an all inclusive package. The food here is amazing plus there are plenty snacks to be had in between regular meal times. Our 11 year old daughter had a great time as one of the animation team - Emily - was especially nice to her and took her under her wing in the teenage club. Mini bar in the room is free - stocked with water, soft drinks and two beers. Refilled daily but hardly ever used it as the bars are open all day and late into the evening. The Melas hotel next door offers free access to the fitness area, saunas and steam rooms. Massage can also be booked here. The grounds are quite secure but still offer direct access to the promenade, excellent for jogging and walking, and to the beach. We stayed in one of the older apartments but found it quite acceptable. Very layed back atmosphere and friendly staff. One word of warning - the trip offered by all the tour guides to Pumakale is run by the local Turkish operator Diana travel. Pumakale is indeed worth a visit but this company had us up at 5am and we didn't get back until midnight after spending only 2,5 hours at the site - not enough. Visits to carpet shops, out of the way restaurants and petrol stations for coffee were planned into their itinerary which we knew nothing about beforehand. We didn't arrive to Pumakale until 2pm - after 9 hours on the road. Try another operator or hire a car. The centre of Side is historically quite interesting. There is also a nice port area with lots of restaurants. You have to haggle for most things in the small shops and markets - the main market at Manavgat every Thursday is quite big and prices are always exaggerated. Even if you get them down to half price you still have a feeling you're being done. A friend shopped in a local commercial centre and said prices were quite good with no haggling and no one bothering you as you looked around. So depends what you want really. Bottom line - nice family hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JerryC358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Dear Jerry,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and we value your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and that you were satisfied with our service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just back from a week with my wife ,son and daughter and had a great time at this resort. The setting of the accommodation is ideal as you are right on the promenade that leads into Side about 25 minute walk . The hotels swimming pools deck overlooks the promenade and beach which had fantastic views into Side. The apartment was spacious and very clean and everything that was needed. The food at the buffet was plentiful and of good quality. We used all three of the a l a carte restaurants which were superb ,Great food and superb service especially in the western and eastern from the head waiter. The animation team work very hard and are a great bunch. Many people complain that the brits are in the minority and this is true as I did not speak to anyone else that was british but we did speak to a mixture of Germans, Swiss ,Dutch and Bosnians who were all very nice . There was plenty of loungers at both pools and on the beach .The only very small gripe was that at previous all inclusive hotels we had the safe and free internet but they charge 1.25 euro for the safe and 2.euro an hour for wifi. I would recommend this place with no problems

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank scotEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and that you took your time to write a comment.
We are glad to hear that you were pleasantly surprised and satisfied with our hotel.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We were a little unsure after reading the reviews on the holiday village but we were very impressed. Ok so we stayed in the room 732 which looked one of the more older apartments but it was fine could do with being a little more modern but I believe this is going to happen soon. Bonus the fridges are filled every other day and towels are changed as you want. Beach towels are provided and changed at a small price. The hotel and grounds were spotless I've not been to a cleaner pool area. The staff really do a good job of keeping it looking lovely.
Ok the food hmmmm it was ok very repetitive but I am a vegetarian and not a great lover of salad so I did live off carbs the 10 days we were there and it would help if they stated what was in the food but there was enough my boyfriend managed fine as he eats meat. We didn't try the other the other restaurants but heard they were nice if you book with Thomas cook you can go to all three. What they say about tipping is true, if you tip you do get treated better and they aren't on great money so really appreciate it they will take anything other there. The hotel is full of stray cats we often took food out with us for them, but they were fine. Our favourite waitor is ozgur aldemir, thank you for being so friendly.
The hotel is full of every nationality except British well we met 3 other couples while we were there but we got chatting to everyone and didn't really have a problem with them. As for Sun lounges there are loads but we did get up around 8 ish to get our favourite spot. We had a couple of trips to side which was worth seeing and if you want to get some gifts there are loads of shops. Few bars and restaurants too, it takes about 45minutes to walk but taxis are out the front of the hotel. We also had a Turkish bath but not in the resort, we booked with Thomas cook it was amazing so relaxing I would recommend it.
The bar staff were lovely both at the pool bar and reception, tip them and they will look after you. You are also allowed to use the melas hotel but it's not all inclusive so your have to buy drinks if you decide to wonder over there and try the pancakes that are made by the lady at the beach bar,very yummy.
This leads me to the entertainment staff. You guys are amazing so friendly, fun and made us feel very welcome. Special thank you to Otar, Emel, Ozkan and Lorenzo but you all were great but they were our favourite. They try to get you involved and the games are fun and its a good way to mix with others. I miss you guys can't wait to come back to see you. The entertainment was ok they work hard and its not as crap as everyone makes it out to be. The acrobatics were great and worth watching.
Overall the resort is in a great location, majority of the staff are very friendly and welcoming. Whole resort is spotless and the food is average. Forgot to mention the beach was lovely too and again spotless. I would 100% recommend this resort and I plan on going back very soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pinkjoy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The Melas Holiday Village staff are always trying to deliver excellent customer service at all times, we appreciate your feedback about the food for vegetarians and this wil be passed to the relevant department.
We would be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks from 7th sept. the two last reviews on this hotel are good.
The melas village and melas hotel are on the same complex. Which ever you stay at you can use the facilities but not have food or drink .
We stayed at the melas village and thought the place was lovely.
We arrived on a late flight , we were checked in quickly, the lady receptionist is the best. we were taken to our room by a helpful porter in a golf buggy who showed us the bits in the room and we tipped. We had a room in the main block above the restaurant . Comfy beds put together as a double, wall mounted TV, only BBC world news but that didn't matter, not there to watch TV. Hair dryer, beach towels supplied and changed for a small fee down by the main pool, no kettle but we took our own with tea bags and bought the milk from across the road. Plenty of wardrobe space, balcony with drying rail, fridge that was refilled every other day with fanta, coke, water and beer. Bathroom towels changed , bed changed and room cleaned everyday plus the odd flower arrangement , could not fault. Our maid never expected tips so we tipped her at the end of our stay. The beach and pools were lovely , great sand , clear water and free beds and brollies but as said in other reviews unfortunately the Germans and Russians did tip the attendants to reserve the beds which is wrong , but saying that we had no problem getting sunbeds at the pool or beach whatever time we got there and didnt have to spend a penny. We actually helped ourselves a few times to the cushions, that way we could have 2 on each bed , a lot more comfortable ! We did not tip the attendants, our thoughts are that it's all inclusive and this is part of it, never had to do it anywhere else.
The food was plentiful a lot of variety! Hot and fresh. Drinks are included, the rose is the best out of the wines. There is no bacon or pork but it is a Muslim country. You have three extra restaurants to use within your all inclusive, the Turkish, the Fish and the International. Book these as soon as you can. We didn't try the Turkish but the FIsh restaurant which overlooks the beach was lovely, the International was ok , they served Fahitas without the wraps just meat and dips, so a bit different.
Again in the main restaurant we only tipped one waiter at the end of our stay who we thought
gave us a good service, they are a bit hit and miss but if you eat inside opposite the bread station at breakfast and lunch you will be served by a waiter called Bullent , very good English , polite and very efficient .
The evening entertainment was good, mostly done by the animation team, everything was introduced in English first followed by about 5 other languages so you knew what was happening. Good acts from outside too, such as Kenyan Acrobats and Turkish dancers.
Opposite the hotel are plenty of shops to wander around. Do not hire a car , the driving is horrendous in Turkey, it's so cheap to jump on a Dolmus just outside the hotel, 2.25 lira for 2 people to go into Side and you don't tip. They do cram you in though , all part of the fun , it drops you off into the bus park and it's a short 10 mins walk past the ruins into the centre but if its too hot or your legs are tired , just down to the left of the bus park is another bus pickup which takes you right into the centre for 1 lira each and does a return journey. Last Dolmus bus back is 12 pm.
We recommend you use Lira as you get better value for money but they do take euro and Stirling . Be warned the shop assistants are VERY persistent .
Side market is on Saturdays and undercover , worth a visit ! , the Dolmus takes you straight to it. We also went into Manavagat where the green river is and Kumkoy with a small shopping centre, all pretty much the same and if you want fake designer clothes and bags the towns are full of it .
Bartering is a must ! Offer them half the asking price and go
from there.
You can also walk into Side along the beach promenade which is very safe and takes
about 30 minutes. All in all a great location , hotel and
holiday .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shopaholic700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and we value your comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your first stay at the Melas Holiday Village.
Feedback from our guests is really important for us so we can improve the services for our customers. Your comments are noted and we will be happy to pass them on to the different departments.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This hotel is one of the most difficult I have had to review, so many excellent aspects but quite a few disappointing ones I would of liked to award it three and a half.

First the positives....

A few people have mentioned Brits being in the minority we found generally everyone we met during our weeks stay extremely polite and very well mannered we never had a problem getting sun beds on the beach or by the pool and being late risers we usually made our way down to the beach around 11am.

I don't think I have ever visited a cleaner hotel, the village hotel gardens, pool areas and private beach are immaculate everyone works tremendously hard to maintain such a high standard.

The animation team work tirelessly throughout the day and we found the evening shows very enjoyable and professional making sure despite the multi lingual audience everyone was included with introductions in all languages.

Some good and some negatives....

The food was good the range of choice was very good however we found it was the service which let the restaurants and bars down which varied depending on which waiter was allocated to your table, just like the bars pool attendants and reception some where outstanding some where OK and some were plain ignorant.

The food variety and choice was excellent in the restaurant, however the snacks available at both the pool bars were poor, offering hot dogs one day, hamburgers another and meat pizza, all of which were not pleasing for my vegetarian wife. When a vegetarian option was requested on our first evening none was offered, just a shrug of the shoulders and the assistant carried on texting on his phone.

This theme of good and bad service was reflected throughout or stay, great friendly service every time in the reception bar, not so good service at both pool bars, it wasn't unusual you had to shout over to the waiter for service finally you get his attention you got a very abrupt drink thrown together without any smiles, I found it hard to believe how so many had great customer skills and so many did not deserve a job, we eventually got smart and avoided these bars.

The beach and sea was beautiful. The sun bed tender, the guy who brings the cushioned mats for sunbeds he was excellent, whilst the aqua park pool attendant clearly expected tips each time for setting your sun bed.

We asked reception to move us from our older family room due to a noisy air condition unit this was eventually sorted by reception despite three sleepless nights and a visit from the technician with folded pieces of cardboard and sticky tape!
Eventually it was resolve and we where eventually moved to a refurbished room for the remainder of our stay with a sea view which was wonderful.

The Village is in a very good location within walking distance of Side it's well worth either a walk dolmus ride or Taxi, to see the Roman ruins Temple of Apollo and visit the bustling market streets.

All in all an enjoyable holiday which could have been made perfect with a few little improvements.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to speak to reception if not happy with your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rauschaxleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The Melas Holiday Village staff are always trying to deliver excellent customer service at all times, we appreciate your feedback and this wil be passed to the relevant department.

We would be glad to welcome you again.

Best regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

My family and I booked this wonderful holiday. We were very pleased as the staff were very friendly and the good was incredible. Staff would bend over backwards to help you x very clean maid service everyday. They too up mini fridge every other dAy.
Great entertainment for the kids x
Highly recommend x

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2015

Dear Chris,
thank you for choosing Melas Holiday Village and your comment.We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. The Melas Holiday Village staff are always trying to deliver excellent customer service at all times, we appreciate your feedback and this wil be passed to the relevant department.
We would like to note that the guest structure is international and also english speaking. As you will surely understand we are a family hotel and there are some periods of school holidays with more guests from the same country. Many guest are tipping the staff for the service they provide. But it remains up to you and is not a rule of the hotel or somebody else.

We would be glad to welcome you again.

Kind regards from Side,
Your Melas-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#10 of 229 in Side
502 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
4.6 mi away
Otium Eco Club Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
0.6 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Q SPA Resort
Q SPA Resort
#25 of 229 in Side
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Holiday Village

Address: Selimiye Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bul. No:5 | 07330 Side / Manavgat, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Side
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#25 Spa Hotel in Side
#28 Luxury Hotel in Side
#32 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range: £79 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Holiday Village 5*
Number of rooms: 327
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Melas Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Holiday Village Side
Melas Holiday Village Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing