We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss-sold by travel agent”
Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Returned from the Melas resort on Thursday morning, this hotel was recommended by a going places travel agent, as a last minute deal she said this was a brilliant hotel, and recommended it over other another hotel in Tunisia , well wish we would have gone with the other one, this has put us off from going to turkey and using Thomas cook again after giving the firm another chance after our last holiday.
Having arrived in the early hours of the morning (3.30am) after what seamed like a forever long coach journey to the hotel after such a long day we dragged ourselves out of bed for the welcome meeting at 10am going for breakfast just before to see a fight break out between a Scottish family and a German family over a sunbed, have to say the rep was brilliant and booked a trip with her and asked for advice when I broke out in a rash( had an allergic reaction to something unknown). Having seen the fight over a sunbed we can understand why to get a bed we found our self`s getting up before 7am to get one as there wasn't enough beds for such a big hotel they were all gone by 7.30am taken up by mostly German guests so much for relaxing and sleep ins. Service at the hotel was poor as soon as they knew you were English they didn't want to know as this was mostly German catered for hotel and made more fuss over them, also seeing an English guest complaining at reception seeing the lady behind the desk she didn't seem bothered and just smiled at him and he just walked away with noting done about his problem. The only good thing about our stay was our room which was brilliant on the 8th floor with side sea room beautiful view nice big room comfy beds and lovey shower, rooms cleaned daily although I did find big long black hair in my newly made bed and in the bathroom, mini bar stocked nearly every day and on the last day of checkout having already being in our room and seeing me in just a towel on my own the mini bar guy came back after 2 minutes knocked once and just walked straight in, which made me feel very uncomfortable that he knew i was in there alone and just opened the door. The hotel was also having issues with power while we was there and kept having power cuts a few times a day, food was lovely lots of choice although the day before we flew home we both came down poorly with bad gut ache and diarrhea over hearing other English guests saying the same on the same day as us they were all poorly too not sure the cause of that whether it was something they served that night before or just maybe the heat and diet combined. we didn't try the a la cart restaurant, we did book the Turkish restaurant on our last day but being ill we didn't decided against it, and went without anything to eat not to risk being any more ill on the flight home. We never saw any of the evening entertainment as it was outside by the pool and not enough space for everyone to sit and the heat outside on an evening didn't help either. Also think they need to look at the revolving door at the entrance too as the first day we saw a child get his head stuck in the door as it was going so fast and on leaving the door took our suitcases and and i didn't get chance to get myself through the door the coach rep said it was newly refurbed hotel but admitted the door was fast moving, Overall we think we paid alot of money for a last minute deal for this hotel and glad that we was only there for the week we have never been on a holiday and and been glad to be going home, think Thomas cook should re look at this hotel before selling it to ppl from the UK between rubbish service,rude German guests (and there horid pool fashion sense budgie smugglers not covering there area, socks with flip flops strutting around the pool first think on a morning was enough to put anyone off there breakfast). power cuts, fighting,and diarrhea, we will not be returning to this hotel or to turkey again and certainly not using Thomas cook again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lizzyloos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (493)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

Just returned from Melas last night and I agree with many of the comments of the previous reviewer. We were fortunate to have no problems with our rooms, which were lovely and the minibar was stocked efficiently. Excellent air conditioning - thank goodness.

Service at the bars and restaurants was predominantly poor and many of the staff were surly, unhelpful and at times rude. Very little english spoken and hard to get your requests understood. We were fortunate to have made a link with one very friendly waiter who actually intervened on our behalf with other less helpful staff. He was a great help with lots of things including a guide to the resort area and spoke good english. He provided an excellent standard of service whenever we were able to get a table in his area (and at times when we were not!). There were also one or two drinks waiters that made more effort than others to be helpful. The fish a la carte restaurant was quite disappointing. Our waiter there was particularly surly and at one point when we were unable to understand his German/Turkish explanation of how the menu (which was baffling) worked he just walked off in a huff. The menu was very limited and we found out actually involved some set courses rather than choices. Additionally they changed some of the set courses to something completely different without mentioning it. The fish we chose was very nice - sea bream, but it's accompanying veg etc were cold and uninspiring. The buffet restaurant was very well stocked with lots of choice and high quality food.

The entertainment team were great and you didn't get overwhelmed with pressure to join activities.

Reception staff were often rude and unhelpful and I observed them mocking or disparaging guests with each other.

The domination of the pool beds by the German guests was frustrating but we were able to get space at the beach. The pool was lovely and it would have been nice to spend more time there as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annieaah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the melas hotel for two weeks,with my husband and two children,9 and 2.Hotel is spotless we stayed in a family room which was lovely and big,bathroom Had a separate shower and Jacuzzi bath,fridge stocked daily,maid service everyday.staff friendly.Pools very clean.I have stayed in better all-inclusive hotels before for food and drink..they do not have white or dark rum,or coffee liquor, if you like vodka and whisky then your OK.My only real negative with this hotel is that it is too up and down,to get to the pool and the beach,when the lift stops on the floor to reception you still have to walk up a flight of stairs and walk down to the pool,same with the beach,not good if you have a pushchair,or if you have any walking difficulties. Promenade is lovely and clean to walk along to get to side.Overall we had a good time,would definitely stay in side again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sar0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

I went to Melas Resort with a group of nine and none of us will ever go back. I am shocked that the last review was so good. The facility is nice, food is great and entertainment is good but the service is disgusting. The hotel considers itself 5 Stars; I would give it about a 3.5 for facilities and 1 for service.

I must also say, this area in particular is predominately German speaking vacationers. The attitudes towards English speaking guests seemed to be fairly common around not only the hotel staff but Side as well. I would highly recommend going to Alanya instead. Also, after talking to several other groups that spoke English or Swedish, we discovered we weren’t the only ones that were disappointed with the service.

SERVICE

When we first arrived our room wasn’t ready and we were told to wait. We asked that our 4 rooms be close to each other and 2 of them were and the other 2 were on opposite ends of different floors. There was mold in one room and long dark hair on the floor in another. The mini fridge wasn’t stocked and I had to call reception 4 times. They kept sending 2 maids that spoke no English but they were able to understand what I wanted and sent the right person to fill the fridge.

We paid for an extra bed in one of our rooms and when we arrived the bed that was in the room looked like an army cot and had one thin sheet and no blankets. When we tried to request a thicker blanket the front desk staff didn’t understand what we wanted. When we asked for a different bed the front desk said there were no other beds available because they were at capacity. After arguing for about 30 minutes I suggested the people in our group be given a room with two beds instead at the same prices and was told that they couldn’t do that because it cost more. I was told to go away from the front desk and they’d look for a bed. About 30 minutes later a different bed arrived that was comfortable but we missed the night show and were upset with the lack of service. When we asked a few days later if they could fill the mini fridge with 3 of each beverage we were just told no, they wouldn’t do that.

The majority of the front desk staff was rude and very unaccommodating. We found that the staff in general was rude to English speaking guests and after talking to several other English and Swedish guests we found that they felt the same way.

One of our group called at 6pm to have their sink fixed as it wouldn’t drained. Later that night when they were in bed there was one knock at the door and then it opened and the man said he was there to fix the sink.

Any time a problem came up and we went to the front desk the rest of the staff would laugh and roll their eyes at each other. One time I asked for a phone number and the man called someone and was laughing and rolling his eyes while I stood their right in front of him.



FACILITIES

Melas Resort and Melas Village are beside each other. The facilities are some-what shared but not as described on their website. Guests can only get food and drink at their own hotel. In other words, you can use the waterpark and tennis courts but you can’t get lunch their or water and it is a fair walk back.

DINING
The dining room isn’t big enough to fit everyone and one of the buffet tables was actually removed while we were there to accommodate more tables. The food was very good and varied daily and there were lots of choices. The staff in the dining room did not speak any English and the servers were very rude and arrogant and seemed to try and avoid us. The dining room says it’s air-conditioned but the doors are open to a balcony all day and it gets pretty warm.

There is only one Al a Carte and it is at the beach bar. There is another one at the Melas Village but that means that both hotels share two so all guests have to be accommodated between them.


POOL
Unless you get up at 7:30am to put a towel on a sun chair by the pool, you have to go to the beach. There isn’t enough pool space or sun beds to accommodate the number of people.


ENTERTAINMENT
The entertainment team was awesome. They were really friendly and always having a great time. Few spoke English well but enough to communicate. The shows were well done.

One complaint was that there wasn’t enough room to accommodate all the guests that wanted to watch the show. Since it was in the pool area, about 30% of the guests watching were sitting on beach/sun chairs and others just left when they saw there was no space. At Melas Village the stage was much larger and an amphitheatre style. Even this theatre didn’t have capacity for everyone that wanted to watch but it was bigger and the rows made it easier for everyone to see.

WIFI

Wifi didn’t work in our room, only the lobby and was 3 Euro’s per hour. It wouldn’t work the first few days so I went down to the front desk and they assured me that they would remove the charges from our room. When we went to check out the charges were not removed and were told that we had to pay.


Extras: Safe, Wifi, New Beach Towel (1 Euro)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amesaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

This hotel is amazing. Loads of food - great variety and a lot is cooked in front of you. Lots of steps but also lifts to accompany many of them, but still almost unavoidable at least to a small degree. Bring your own beach towels as it costs to change them, although it is cheap to do so (a euro per change) but you get one set for free (no change though). Staff are incredible - friendly, efficient, attentive. If you sit in the same area, they remember what you want to drink after a couple of nights and bring it over immediately. If you go here, make sure you seek out Orhan (pronounced O-han) and tell him how awesome he is!! Fridge was re-stocked everyday for free and maid cleaned well. Always hot and sunny, though tended to be a nice breeze which made it bearable. Sea is wonderful - a couple of stones/rocks dotted about but they are not much trouble at all, especially once you know where they are to avoid them for next time! We asked for a quiet room and got one, so I recommend this to avoid the noise from the evening entertainment if you/kids want to get to sleep before 11. Entertainment was very good though so you may be tempted to stay up - the Grease and Abba musical nights were especially good!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one, so I recommend this to avoid the noise from the evening enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ksabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed in this hotel august 2010, the rooms were very clean, drinks were put in our room fridge everyday,clean towels etc.
There was a wide selection of food available any time of the day, however as we stayed for 2 weeks you did notice it got a little bit repetitive.

The location was very close to the beach, a nice walk down to where the shops, bars etc was.
Also if you wanted to stay around the pool there wasnt many sunbeds and people 'reserved' them with their towels every morning but i suppose you get that at other hotels.

Overall it was lovely:) id deffo reccomend & go again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peggyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed with my family for seven nights all inclusive. The room was spacious, bright and had been serviced and cleaned well. The maid service was every day and we got a change of towels on the third day. The restaurant food was great, good choice and the Turkish night was the most enjoyable, music, dancing and authentic dishes. Friendly staff with most of the other guests being German there was a nice atmosphere around the hotel. Side is a small town, beach was close and mostly empty early on, the ampitheatre is a must with lots of friendly bars and cafes selling apple tea in the centre. We always find Turkey a family friendly place and Side is no different. Would revisit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#29 of 229 in Side
337 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#6 of 229 in Side
1,336 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.1 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#5 of 229 in Side
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#11 Spa Hotel in Side
#11 Luxury Hotel in Side
#16 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range: £55 - £832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing