We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Another great stay!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Melas for the 3 time at the end of September. Transfer from Antalya Airport to Side only took 40 minutes and we were the second drop off. When we got to reception first impressions of the hotel were good. The reception staff, Petra in guest relations and porters were all very helpful to ensure that you had a lovely stay.

ROOMS – The rooms are absolutely fantastic and have been recently been refurbished. All have very modern decor, wooden flooring and it was spotlessly clean. We had a good sized bathroom, power shower and plenty of toiletries and nice fluffy towels. The mini-fridge is restocked daily with still and sparkling water, beer, fanta and coke free of charge. There is a safe in the room which has a small daily charge which worked out to be less than £1 per day.

RESTAURANT- The main restaurant is buffet style and what a fantastic selection of salads, meats, fish, pasta and desserts. There is definitely something for everyone. The quality of wine and beers was very good and these were served by friendly waiters. Murat the manager was superb and had everything to a tee.The same applies at lunch time.

There are 3 themed restaurants, Turkish, Eastern and the Western. The International restaurant is a new feature and great addition to the hotel. We tried the Western night and the food was excellent. It had a lovely salad starter, and a European theme of Pasta and Schnitzel. As it is very popular a top tip is to book at guest relations as soon as you can. We really enjoyed the faultless service from our waiter.

BEACH BAR - Great for salad, pizza, burgers, chicken kebab and fresh fruit. Pizza Melas was my particular favourite! The waiters take your order and the service was efficient and friendly. Nicely shaded in parts with lovely views of the sea. The beach had plenty of loungers and umbrellas.

POOL- The pool is a good size and we had no problem getting sun loungers. Mehmet was always keen to oblige and a nice touch was for him to get the blue mats which were put over the loungers for comfort. It is a minor irritation that you have to pay to change pool towels at the indoor pool at the cost of €1 per towel.

BAR - Good selection of coffee, teas, beer, wines and cocktails. Plenty of seating and all waiter service. There is an additional charge for the international brands which can be expensive.

The hotel is still receiving awards and overall we were once again well impressed. Great weather, good food, excellent service, friendly staff and we would go back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Parky1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    113
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
162
186
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from having a fantastic stay at the Melas Resort Hotel, both myself and my husband stayed there from the 19th September to 3rd October, we had a brilliant time and could not have asked for a better holiday. The hotel was very clean and the food was great, we have both come home having to go on a diet.
On our arrival we were advised that our room was not ready and we had given a room for the night due to this - on the 8th floor, one of the suites with a sea view, this room was beautiful and we were sad to leave the following morning! We spent the remainder of our stay in room 1615 with a side sea view which was just as good but smaller and suited our needs. The room was well equipped and cleaned daily, the bathroom consistent of a power shower, again fantastic!!

We had the opportunity to have dinner in the al a carte both Western and Eastern (this one on my birthday) both were good and were enjoyed by both of us. I have to congratulate the hotel for the variety of food that was offered breakfast, lunch and dinner, my husband was over the moon to have strawberries both at lunchtime and dinner!

The staff within the hotel were excellent and were happy to deal with any issues and worked hard to ensure the best level of service, everyone had nice friendly attitude and was polite and said hello. We would like you to pass on a personal message to Sabahattin Fartli who worked hard between both the Restaurant and Lobby Bar and thank him for tending to us over our 2 weeks stay, he was always around to serve us drinks etc and have a laugh with my husband - Scottish jokes! We appreciated this very much and it made our stay even more enjoyable.

Good location and walked into Side town a couple of times both during the day and night, this took us approx 30mins.

We would definitely recommend the Melas to friends and family and have advised our tour operator the same. Would have no hesitation to return to the Melas for another holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loui74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2015
Dear Loui,
thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This was our seventh visit to the Melas Hotel and as in the past we could not fault it . The staff work so hard to make sure you are given the best of service. They are always friendly, polite and go out of their way to help you. The rooms are clean and well equipped and had a total refit last year.
There is a choice of four restaurants (fish, Turkish, international and the main) and the food is of a high standard and a good choice. Yes there are more Germans than English but is this such a bad thing, no, their standards are usually high so as far as I am concerned this is a good sign. I would suggest that if you wish to holiday with English stay in England.

I have no hesitation to recommend this hotel and if it is your first visit to Turkey it is a very good place to start

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 926Kayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This was our 6th visit to Turkey, but our first to the Melas Hotel. Stayed 3rd to 17th Sept.
Good points: Check In was excellent - very helpful - insisted on completing the registration cards for us! Room large, very clean and well appointed & kept clean. Shower the best we've seen. Food well cooked and usually plentiful. Beach clean and few rocks (not like Sunrise Queen next door where we were last year). Could go to the Pool at 9 or the beach at 10 and still get a decent location for a lounger - towel fight not required. Most of the staff spoke English and were very helpful. A la carte restaurants (western International & Fish) were superb
Poor points: Had to pay for change of beach towels, & Safe box in the room. NO rooms available to change in on last day, late checkout not possible. Food well cooked ( as mentioned above) but very boring. No specialities, nothing special as in all others we've stayed in. Spoke to an Italian and other Brits who felt that the hotel needed to improve their game and that they would not be returning. Would we return - would look at other hotels first (especially the Sunrise Queen where we were last year - couldn't get in this year)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy7714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2015
Dear Sandy,
thank you for choosing Melas Resort for your holiday and for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
Your criticisms and suggestions will be evaluated and monitored by the departments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you.
With best Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Last minute get away to this hotel. Choice made based on good reviews and my last visit to Turkey - Dalaman was fantastic. On arrival check in was swift. My room was brilliant, modern, clean and bright, the decor was first class. The main restaurant served a variety of food. Not the best I've tasted, but I was always able to find something to eat. The beach was clean and easily accessible via poolside lifts

Now something that concerned me greatly...

A LOT of Germans at hotel, I heard probably 3 other English speaking guests there during my stay 3 day stay. Unfortunately from experience, lots of people of German descent seem to believe that they own the whole hotel, which manifests in their behaviour towards those of other nationalities or cultures. That is not the most concerning issue I have and I am not tarnishing all German travellers with the same brush, cos they're not all the same.

As a single, British, non white, 'well travelled' traveller, this is the first time EVER while travelling that I have felt unsafe in a hotel environment or tourist resort. The looks given to me by the German guests, security staff and some members of staff made me feel, like, a non German in Hitler's Germany, a black person in 1960's Alabama and one of my parents generation who had just accepted the invitation from the British government to come and work in the UK and having arrived, read the signs on doors which said, "No Irish, No Dogs, No Blacks!!

I spoke to one of the members of the reception staff and asked him how many English people there were in the hotel currently and he said including me, there were 17, then I asked how many guests there were in total and he said about 550!! The majority being German. I then asked him how many non white people stay at the hotel during the year, "not many" he said! Well no wonder I was the spectacle of the Melas Hotel!!, good job I was only there for a few days.

So... before you book this hotel in this resort, if you care at all about more than decor - to all Singles - think first, to all British - read reviews from other hotels so that you are not in the minority, to all Non white couples - Beware, to all Non White Singles - DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cr8ted2praze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Just got back from a wonderful holiday with my husband. Start with the check in and because it was about 1.30am and only 6 others, it went like clockwork and we were shown to our room. Our room was 1109 with a side sea view but we were on a lower floor so our view of the sea was through the palm trees but it suited us. The room was large, clean and spacious. The bathroom was huge. It had a jacuzzi bath with a shower over and a large powerful walk in shower. Mini fridge had some soft drinks, two cans of Effes and bottled water which came in very handy. This was restocked daily. Housekeeping was 1st class, clean white towels daily and some marvellous scupltures with the towels and flowers. Flat screen TV but with only German and Turkish channels. One BBC news programme but what the heck who goes on holiday to watch TV.
The food is of a high qualitly with lots of choice. If you can't find something then you are either very fussy of have a food intolerence. Speciality restaurants are also of a high quality but you book them in the main desk.
The beach was clean and you could find a sunbed. The Germans do get up early and reserve them by placing there towels on them. We used the pool all bar one day and yes if you can't beat em then join em. So because I got up early anyway my towel was on the sunbed for 7am. Special thanks to Memhet the lifeguard for allowing us the use of a clean towel and showers on our final day in Side, he was a really pleasant guy who would do anything to help.
The cocktails on the All Inclusive are excellent and would recommend the Sex on the Beach.
Overall a brilliant holiday. We will be going again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedle-Di
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had an amazing time on our first visit to Turkey. Picked a wonderful hotel staffed by delightful people who could not do enough for us. Trying to accommodate a party of 18 people is no mean feat, however, Melas Resort managed it in every respect. We had 3 family birthdays during our stay and were given a large table in the restaurant each time decorated with lovely flowers. The restaurant manager bent over backwards to help us with a member of the family who has restrictive eating habits. A very special thank you to Ridvan and Neslihan Alebas who were fantastic waiters (from Crazy Lady and Lush).

The Animation Team made our holiday so very special especially the gorgeous Seyma Akarik and Cent. They are not in your face and don't mither you to join in, however, once you do, you will have a fab time getting to know them. Definitely recommend the Aqua Gym and the Garden Party on Saturdays is also amazing fun. Join in one of the teams and you are guaranteed to have a great time.

We were very lucky to win at bingo (3 times during the fortnight) and were amazed by the amount of prizes we won. I actually couldn't carry all mine back to my table. The evening entertainment is good, especially the professional shows, but check with Seyma whether to stay in the Hotel or go to the Village depending on whether you want a relatively quiet night or a more lively night. Most shows start at 2115 in the Hotel and finish by 2215, however, the pool bar then stays open until 2300 and the lobby bar till gone midnight. With ages ranging from 8-50+ in our party, we were delighted to find that we could all go into the disco on those nights when we really wanted to party! The children loved dancing in there with the animation team alongside Mums and Dads, however, don't worry as there aren't many kids in there. The animation team work really hard from 1000 - 2345 to ensure you have a fab time and only get Sundays off to rest so don't be surprised if you get there on a Saturday that it all seems really quiet on the Sunday.

All 18 of us thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Melas Hotel and are already saving to return next year. Side is a lovely resort which offers everything you could wish for and the whole town appear to be on happy pills as we didn't meet one grumpy person. Even the taxi drivers were so nice. Save some space in your suitcases for the gorgeous designer handbags and tshirts that you will wont be able to resist - it really is a shoppers delight. We all wish we had bought more as the quality is very good.

Room Tip: All rooms are of a very high standard and the showers are "to die for". Don't worry i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Holibobs2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#35 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#4 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
2.7 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Property: Melas Resort Hotel
Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#12 Spa Hotel in Side
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#14 Luxury Hotel in Side
#16 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing