We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #18 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
sutton coldfield, england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The hotel is built onto the hillside so you arrive at the rear with room floors above, then the bar lounge and main restaurant are at the front and side, you then go down at the front to the pool then down again where there are room floors leading to the promenade and beach.
Consequently you are always changing floors and whilst there are lifts some are on half floors leaving you to use stairs.
It is not therefore advisable for the very young or old.
Food was good especially the special restaurants.
Service was excellent.
Evening entertainment average.
Hotel is realistically 4*
Beach was always crowded and the hotel reserved area of the beach is too small for the hotel.The pool however always had spaces.
The only negative for the holiday was the very cramped cattle class seats on the Thomas Cook flights!

Room Tip: More expensive rooms overlook the sea at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0121golfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    112
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
161
179
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We have just returned from a week staying at the Melas Resort Hotel. Put it this way, we did not want to come home. The staff are absolutely fantastic. They work so hard and always helpful and very friendly they really know how to look after you. The food is delicious. The variety is endless. I think we ate something different every evening. But I thought the sea bass and all the meat dishes were yummy. An extensive salad bar always nice and fresh and beautifully presented. Our room was immaculately clean, very comfortable beds, clean towels every day and lovely bathrobes. The mini bar was stocked every day with water, soft drinks and beer. What more can you ask for. They have a very nice spa and indoor pool and an outdoor pool, a bit too cold at this time of the year. This hotel is in a great location as it is right on the seafront with your own private beach. You can have nice walks along to the main town of Side and its ancient ruins and museum this is well worth a visit. I would highly recommend this hotel. We are definitely returning next year.

Room Tip: From what I could see all of the rooms are nice and spacious with a sitting area and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank JaneandBobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Dear Jane & Bobby,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

My friend and I returned to the Meals for a third time because we had enjoyed our previous stays very much. However this time we had her three year old daughter with us and found nothing cold friendly. The lift/stairs layout is a nightmare with a pushchair, beach bags and a child. We struggled every time we went to a different part of the hotel. Disabled would not have access to most of the grounds, pool or beach. Previously we found the staff pleasant and helpful but this time hardly any of them were. The women on the reception desk were the least helpful and welcoming of any I have come across in 13 visits to Turkey. On the plus side the rooms are beautiful, spotlessly clean, with great showers and free mini-bar. The food is excellent and some of the waiters who had been there for a few years were very efficient and pleasant. Large areas of the hotel had been upgraded since or last stay, but it still had the warm atmosphere that we remembered.

Room Tip: You usually are allocated a room before you arrive. Not sure you could change if you weren't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2015
Dear Vivien,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We went to this hotel in May with my wife and our two children and couldn't speak highly enough of it. The hotel was always very clean and the food was as good as anywhere that we have eaten. The best night to eat is the gala night which happens every two weeks, this is outside and offers as wide selection of display cooked food and is all nicely presented.
The location of the hotel is good as its straight on the beach with a nice promenade to walk along. It is about 20 minutes walk to the centre of Side where there is a nice shopping area and harbour.
The rooms had just been refurbished when we went and my son loved sitting in the Jacuzzi and watching the TV through the window in the bathroom

All in the best hotel we have stayed as so far

Room Tip: Sea view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WishIcoulddothismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

We arrived at midnight to check in. I asked the receptionist to assure me we were getting the larger side sea view room which we had paid a supplement for. He told me all the double rooms were the same size. We were put on the top floor (8th), these rooms are a bit like attic rooms with very enclosed balconies which was a bit claustrophobic. We did not unpack and decided to wait to speak to the Rep in the morning. I asked another receptionist if they could move us but she said they were full and we would have to wait until the next day to move. I spoke to the Rep who told me that we should have a double or twin beds with either a chaise longue or a bed settee which we didn't have. I was then give a key for a different room but as it overlooked a dump for broken sunbeds, furniture etc I declined it. Another key was given which was an ideal room but the receptionist then said it had a plumbing problem. Third key was given and we we moved. The room was twice the size of the original one. Amazing how they can conjure up 3 different rooms when the hotel is full.
I would not pay a supplement for a side sea view room as about75% of the rooms have a seaview .
The rooms are lovely and kept spotlessly clean, the mini bar we restocked every day, only a couple of English news channels on the TV, great to have tea and coffee making facilities.
The pool area is lovely with mattresses provided for the loungers, pool was very cold and very few people used it. I can't comment on the beach area ad we did not go there. Pool towels are provided but you have to pay €1 each time you wanted to change it!
The food was varied and plentiful and we were able to eat in 3 of the a la carte restaurants which was a nice break from the buffet. We thought the Eastern International restaurant was the best.
Wine was very drinkable and the spirits were strong (not watered down as in some hotels).
Tip boxes everywhere! Staff are so much more attentive if you give them some euro or lira early on in your stay. On the 1st day our maid told me she was off the next day and stood waiting obviously for a tip to spend! The majority of the staff were pleasant with a few exceptions, especially some of the reception staff, I really don't like being lied to.
Side town is just 10 mins in a dolmus and they stop just outside the hotel. There is also a promenade walk which takes about 40mins. The ruins of the old town are very interesting.
There is a market on Thursday at Manavgat and a smaller one in Side on Saturday, Same dolmus will take you to either. There is also a small tourist bus which takes you from the dolmus station in to the town for 45 cents or 1 Turkish lira. There are also a number of shops just outside the hotel. Most things are priced in Euros although they will take any currency. We found it easier with Euros rather than having to convert the Turkish lira.
The Animation team worked very hard and the evening entertainment was very good.
I know this hotel is advertised as a 5 star and certainly some aspects of it are indeed 5 star but comparing it with other 5star hotels we have stayed at in the Antalya region it falls very short of the mark. The hotel advertises a Patisserie, in the hotel we stayed at in April the Patisserie was a proper coffee shop with salads, fresh rolls, sandwiches and heavenly pastries. In the Melas it was a room with some tables and chairs, at the top table you had a few plates with cheese rolls, biscuits and some pastries with a coffee machine to help yourself, rather disappointing!
In other 5 star hotels I have never had to pay for the safety deposit box, the wi-fi or to change the pool towels. In other in the area they serve sparkling wine in the evening and Irish coffees after dinner included in the all incThese are small details that I believe make the guests feel the hotel is a bit more special.
The hotel guests here are predominantly German and Dutch with some Eastern Europeans. We were a party of 3 and there was only 2 other English people there. This was in no way a problem for us. I speak a little German which helped as the staff usually spoke to us in German first and also to speak with other guests. Occasionally we found some people who didn't follow the aspect of queuing!
All in all we had a lovely week at the Melas, 7days of cloudless skies was a bonus.
Would I go back to the hotel? No I don't think so unless they had a really good deal on offer. There are too many similarly priced 5 star hotels in the region that have so much more to offer.

Room Tip: Not the 8th floor! Try asking for a pool view room as you also get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbarobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Melas for the 3 time at the end of September. Transfer from Antalya Airport to Side only took 40 minutes and we were the second drop off. When we got to reception first impressions of the hotel were good. The reception staff, Petra in guest relations and porters were all very helpful to ensure that you had a lovely stay.

ROOMS – The rooms are absolutely fantastic and have been recently been refurbished. All have very modern decor, wooden flooring and it was spotlessly clean. We had a good sized bathroom, power shower and plenty of toiletries and nice fluffy towels. The mini-fridge is restocked daily with still and sparkling water, beer, fanta and coke free of charge. There is a safe in the room which has a small daily charge which worked out to be less than £1 per day.

RESTAURANT- The main restaurant is buffet style and what a fantastic selection of salads, meats, fish, pasta and desserts. There is definitely something for everyone. The quality of wine and beers was very good and these were served by friendly waiters. Murat the manager was superb and had everything to a tee.The same applies at lunch time.

There are 3 themed restaurants, Turkish, Eastern and the Western. The International restaurant is a new feature and great addition to the hotel. We tried the Western night and the food was excellent. It had a lovely salad starter, and a European theme of Pasta and Schnitzel. As it is very popular a top tip is to book at guest relations as soon as you can. We really enjoyed the faultless service from our waiter.

BEACH BAR - Great for salad, pizza, burgers, chicken kebab and fresh fruit. Pizza Melas was my particular favourite! The waiters take your order and the service was efficient and friendly. Nicely shaded in parts with lovely views of the sea. The beach had plenty of loungers and umbrellas.

POOL- The pool is a good size and we had no problem getting sun loungers. Mehmet was always keen to oblige and a nice touch was for him to get the blue mats which were put over the loungers for comfort. It is a minor irritation that you have to pay to change pool towels at the indoor pool at the cost of €1 per towel.

BAR - Good selection of coffee, teas, beer, wines and cocktails. Plenty of seating and all waiter service. There is an additional charge for the international brands which can be expensive.

The hotel is still receiving awards and overall we were once again well impressed. Great weather, good food, excellent service, friendly staff and we would go back again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Parky1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have just returned from having a fantastic stay at the Melas Resort Hotel, both myself and my husband stayed there from the 19th September to 3rd October, we had a brilliant time and could not have asked for a better holiday. The hotel was very clean and the food was great, we have both come home having to go on a diet.
On our arrival we were advised that our room was not ready and we had given a room for the night due to this - on the 8th floor, one of the suites with a sea view, this room was beautiful and we were sad to leave the following morning! We spent the remainder of our stay in room 1615 with a side sea view which was just as good but smaller and suited our needs. The room was well equipped and cleaned daily, the bathroom consistent of a power shower, again fantastic!!

We had the opportunity to have dinner in the al a carte both Western and Eastern (this one on my birthday) both were good and were enjoyed by both of us. I have to congratulate the hotel for the variety of food that was offered breakfast, lunch and dinner, my husband was over the moon to have strawberries both at lunchtime and dinner!

The staff within the hotel were excellent and were happy to deal with any issues and worked hard to ensure the best level of service, everyone had nice friendly attitude and was polite and said hello. We would like you to pass on a personal message to Sabahattin Fartli who worked hard between both the Restaurant and Lobby Bar and thank him for tending to us over our 2 weeks stay, he was always around to serve us drinks etc and have a laugh with my husband - Scottish jokes! We appreciated this very much and it made our stay even more enjoyable.

Good location and walked into Side town a couple of times both during the day and night, this took us approx 30mins.

We would definitely recommend the Melas to friends and family and have advised our tour operator the same. Would have no hesitation to return to the Melas for another holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loui74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2015
Dear Loui,
thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#35 of 229 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#4 of 229 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
2.7 mi away
Commodore Elite Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Property: Melas Resort Hotel
Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#14 Spa Hotel in Side
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#16 Family Hotel in Side
#16 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing