We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, will definitely stay there again”
Review of Melas Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Melas Resort Hotel
Ranked #15 of 227 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel, will definitely stay there again”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

This was the first time that I had stayed at the Melas, others in our group of 11 had stayed there before. The hotel and grounds were very clean and tidy. The food was very good, mainly the same or similar food each evening/lunch time meal. I feel it was more orientated towards Germans, but that didn't bother us, we just got on with having a nice holiday. It is a pleasant walk into Side, be ready to be hassled by local restaurants to try and get you to go in

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire_46123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    113
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
163
187
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from my 4th holiday in Side, but first stay at the Melas. The room was modern and spotless. The food was excellent, particularly the meal in the international al a carte restaurant. The staff were very attentive. We stayed in a twin room which was smaller than a normal hotel room, but still a decent size. Looking forward to hopefully returning next year.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Dear Chris,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I went with my boyfriend to Melas Resort Hotel at Side, Turkey in the last week of April. We wanted to celebrate our 10th anniversary and enjoy a week with sun, beach, far away of the stress, and looking back now I can say it was perfect.
Here it is the things I liked the most and also the things I didn't like.

GOOD things:
- Localisation, the hotel is situated over the beach, near of Side (3kms, we can go to Side walking) in a private zone side by side of the best hotels of the region, but of what I saw Melas can be considered one of the best;

- The little street in face of the hotel and the beach, only for pedestrians that leads to Side and where we can find a lot of restaurants, shops with regional/tipical products and clothing;

- The meals, all the meals in the Hotel are buffet but there is a lot of choise, everyday we have different menus for all the preferences, the desserts are a temptation ward to resist. There are also 4 restaurants "a la carte", we went to the Turkish and we love it;

- Cleaning, the Hotel, gardens, rooms, beach are very clean, everyday when we arrived at our room we had a little surprise waiting in our bed;

- The personal, the majority of the staff is kind, they try always to make a connection with you, make a conversation, always asking if you need something;

- The rooms, I simply loved the rooms, we chose sea view and the view was really amazing, at night it was fantastic falling asleep hearing the sea waves, the bed was comfortable, the room was big. There is a safe in the room but to use it we have to pay 1,25€/day, we used it (just in case);

- Hairdresser, spa/massages, shop are available in the hotel, we both went to the hairdresser, at the begining I was a bit afraid but in fact the service/price is very good.

- The cats, there are a lot of cats, like each hotel have its own cats, they are friendly;

- The sunset, you have to see it...

"BAD" things:

- for those who really love the heat I think that April is not the best choise, during the week we spent there we had sunny days but some of them were very windy;

- English please , in this hotel 90% of the guests are German so the staff is prepared to receive German guests, all of them talk german but to find someone that talk english or french is very complicated, even at the reception we found some difficulties .In a some kind of way I felt some discrimination, the staff established more easely bonds and serve first the german guest than the other ones;

- The tips, I even hadn't arrived to the Hotel and everyone was expecting/asking a tip, when we went to the bus (that was included in our package) they give us a bottle of water (or Coca Cola, juice... what you prefer) saying that it was free, but since we drink it the driver came and asked money, and he even had the boldness of saying he wanted the big coins not the small ones. In the hotel the same thing, if you want a better place in the pool you have to be generous, you only can reserve the long chairs in the pool from 7h30am, but the employee that was in charge of the pool reserved with towels the best chairs for the most "g€€€nerous", he never asked us if we need something, what we wanted to drink or even said a word , but for other guest (german g€n€rous guest) he was the personification of kindness;

Last but not the least I loved the week I spent at Melas Resort Side, the Hotel have a good relation quality/price and next year I pretend to return there.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryLopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Dear Mary,
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
In this context we have received from you criticism about the language skills of the staff.
This will be evaluated and monitored by the departments.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Mid February I made a reservation for one week to" Melas Holiday Village" and it was closed due to construction. Melas put me up in the adjacent sister hotel "Melas Hotel" Balcony facing the sea, great all inclusive package. The dining area always had an amazing variety of foods. The service at this hotel from the spa, waiters, hotel staff and yes an animation team that worked non stop to entertain the guests. I have never been treated so well by a hotel in my life. They catered to mainly retired German and a few British couples during my stay. On the dance nights you will hear English, German and Turkish songs. Many ruins around the city and I preferred shopping in the towns around "Side" The Turkish people were extremely courteous and friendly. The vendors in the shops around the hotels were a bit aggressive with the sales pitch. First time in Turkey and was quite impressed.

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the sea and sun in the winter. Summer pick the opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Famliemann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks from 4th. March 2014.
Good flights, on time, to and from Turkey, with Thomas Cook.
Our room 1743 did not have a sunny view and faced the opposite side of the block looking at other rooms,so not too good. It transpired that these rooms were allocated to the 'Brits' who were in a great minority to the Germans who all appeared to have sun and sea views in their room choices.
That said our room had been recently refurbished to an excellent standard and had no problems.
Our room cleaner was called Gunsun and she was just great.
The weather started with half a days rain on our first full day and we saw no rain after that, however we did not get too much sun at the beginning and had many cloudy days with the sun making sporadic appearances. On our day to return home the sun was shining at 23degreesC and the forecast was excellent.
The entertainment staff were very good with Otoo as the leading light! DJ Memhet, entertainment Chief Murat were also superb and all the team were very professional.
The waiters and staff in the restaurants were all hardworking yet still friendly, ensuring all guests had good service all the time.
Food quality and drinks were fine just as we remembered from our initial visit 4years ago.
The majority of guests were German and in the senior age bracket,like ourselves, and some we're staying for long periods,2 or 3 months.
We spent time with two German couples and enjoyed their company and sense of humour, which was just like ours.I should point out that they spoke good English and we did not speak German-shame on us!
On the downside the hotel charged for Wi Fi, the room safe and for changing pool towels and could bring their hotel amenities to neighbouring hotels standards by removing those charges.

One final thing was to sing the praises of the Thos. Cook tour rep, Danielle, who was extremely helpful with our additional luggage allowance request at the end of the holiday and also the welcome meeting at the beginning.

We enjoyed our second stay at the Melas and would return sooner if our suggestions were acted upon, to raise the the Melas to a standard that would ensure all boxes are ticked for satisfaction.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank turkeyfan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We went to the Melas Resort Hotel for a week in March 2014, on an all-inclusive deal. It was the first time we'd been to the area, to this hotel, or been all-inclusive, and the first time we'd been to Turkey in March. We were pleased on all accounts..... but this review is for the hotel.
The hotel is pretty big, but the whole place is very well kept, well maintained, and very clean. There seemed to be a huge number of very helpful and hard-working staff who were keen to interact and to provide a good service.
Our room was, big, comfortable, clean and very well equipped. In particular, the shower was tremendous! We needed some heat in the room after sunset, and the room heating was fast and efficient. Didn't need any air-con cooling.... it was good to be warm after English February! I think all rooms have a balcony, and I guess all have some degree of sea view. Our room looked across hotel gardens,and the bay towards Side. Our balcony wasn't overlooked at all,
The hotel facilities include an indoor heated pool, a Turkish bath, and a gym. The indoor pool was quite big enough to make lengths worthwhile. There was also an indoor heated (hot!) kiddy pool.
The outdoor pool is big, and is well above (two floors) the promenade and beach. Great views! Big area with lots of loungers.
I thought the hotel food was tremendous. Lots of it, and lots of choice. All seemed good quality, and well-presented. Lots of staff in attendance clearing up, replenishing and bringing drinks.
We also ate some lunchtimes at the hotel bar by the beach: less choice, but great freshly-made pizza, and ice cream.
We enjoyed the all-inclusive aspect of the deal. We probably didn't quite manage our body-weights in beer and gin-&-tonic.... but I think we could have.
Things we didn't do included attending any of the nightly entertainment, or going on any of the daily programme of organised sporting activities.
Downsides? My wife & I are late 50's but felt quite young amongst the hotel guests: though we thought the average age was reducing during the week as the guests rotated. We also spent the first few days thinking we were the only British guests. Almost every other guest was German, and so everyone assumed that we were too. We didn't mind this, But I recognise that some might not like it. One of the hotel staff said that the hotel is generally full of Germans in winter, and British and Russian in summer. This area (Side) did seem to be predominantly catering for German tourists whilst we were there.
The hotel layout is a bit odd From our room we looked down into gardens and beach, but the hotel pool, and the bars & restaurants, were 2 floors above us. There are lifts, but somehow the lifts are installed so that there are always steps to go up or down. We enjoyed the 30 minute walk along the prom to the old town of Side and the archaeology. The beach just by the hotel is good sand and shelves slowly - I think safe for children and non-swimmers. (yes, we did swim in March!)
We would definitely consider going to this hotel again: it felt like a good 5-star with great service and good food.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Macandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

our room was very clean and everything was perfect except from the fish al a carte and there were cats leaping around whilst you were eating... although the Turkish and the buffet restaurant were nice with plenty of choice..the beach is quite busy but you can go on a lovely walk along there.GALA NIGHT WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC food was first class and so was entertainment... sinan yagiz the bar waiter was very efficient if you are English don't go to the kids club unless you speak Russian

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheese111510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melas2001, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Melas Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2015
Thank you for the time you have taken to write a comment on this page.
It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again.
With kind Regards,
Your Melas-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Melas Holiday Village
Melas Holiday Village
#31 of 227 in Side
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
2.5 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Barut Arum
Barut Arum
#5 of 227 in Side
1,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.1 mi away
Barut Hemera
Barut Hemera
#6 of 227 in Side
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melas Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melas Resort Hotel

Property: Melas Resort Hotel
Address: Side Mah. Suleyman Demirel Bulv.No:5, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Side
#12 Spa Hotel in Side
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#14 Luxury Hotel in Side
#16 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Melas Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Melas Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melas Hotel Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing