We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last minute....pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Onemli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Onemli Hotel
Ranked #93 of 229 Hotels in Side
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last minute....pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

On arrival we received a warm welcome from the owner and also Naomi an English receiptionist/waitress working at Villa Onemli at the time. This was a last minute booking made 10 days previously and our reservation was for a garden view room. However, after a few minutes chat in Turkish between the two of them, Naomi showed us to a 1st floor partial seaview room with no balcony. We accepted the situation, but after 10 minutes Naomi was back and swapped us into a better, brighter room next door, with balcony and better seaview, a nice bonus, plus there was air-conditioning in the room too!
This hotel is probably best suited to those looking for a quite holiday.There are a few steps up to the front door and a flight of marble steps leading to the first floor, but the staff are usually on hand to help with any heavy luggage. The hotel location is excellent, being very close to the small, clean beach and large longer beach nearby and the ruins of Side are only a few minutes walk away. Surprisingly, even though the town with its many restaurants, bars & shops is close, this hotel is a very quiet, peaceful place to stay.
Villa Onemili serve a good Turkish continental breakfast, which you can help yourself to as much as you like...including.very sweet tomatoes, cucumbers & green chillies all home grown!
The room was cleaned & tidied daily, although bed linen and towels are only changed once a week, unless you request more and the shower was difficult to regulate between very hot, or cold, but this is usually par for the course in Turkey and didn't spoil our holiday.
There is a choice of other small hotels nearby, but given its convenient location to the beach & all local amenities, if we returned to Side, we would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGB1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    8
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

After reading some of the negative reviews on this hotel, I was a little guarded and wary. However.it turned out to be a rather odd but pleasant experience.
The location is absolutely superb, tucked between the small beach and the Buyuk Plage ( Big Beach. Everything is within a few minutes walk. Its also surprisingly quiet given that one of the main squares and nightlife is just around the corner,
The room we had was a little small (106) but adequate and the worst part was the shower..it had two temperatures...very hot....or very cold....unless you played with the mixer taps for 10 minutes trying to get to somewhere near comfortable to shower. The balcony was also small and just big enough for two chairs. Room 105 about the best and you also have the choice of an apartment with cooking facilities,a fridge and a TV ( Turkish TV Only).
The main drawback here is the Owner Halil Omenli, who I think is mainly misunderstood. He tries to maintain very high standards and appears a bit strict telling you that you cant bring food from outside and that all your drinks must be bought from the hotel bar. (to be fair his bottled water is cheaper than in the shops). He does have a communication problem and it appears that he prefers Turks to foreigners at his hotel. However under all that exterior he seems to be a nicer man underneath and I am sure he understands more English than he lets on......after the initial onslaught from him, things calm down and it gets more and more pleasant every day,
The Jewel in the Crown of the Onemli is the new lady in charge, Naomi from Cornwall. She is married to a Turk and speaks adequate Turkish,enough to mediate if anything go's wrong. She was a great host and the breakfast in the mornings were pure Turkish with cheeses,olives,Delicious Tomatoes,Honey,butter and absolutely delicious bread....and Boiled eggs ! You may help yourself as many times as you want and the Turkish tea is delicious without milk. The Owner Halil oftens help out in the morning and you see a very different side to him as he jovially welcomes everyone and encourages you to go and help yourself to the ample Buffet.
It turned out to be a very pleasant holiday here. This is a 3 star hotel so dont expect 5 star luxury.

Room Tip: get 105, although it does not have a sea view, its one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobertRaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have just stayed in this hotel this w-end, it's definetely not as nice as it looks in the pictures, staff very unfriendly, rooms are pretty small and not clean, greyish towels. nice setting but there better options at the same price leves.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aylin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

After reading some, was a bit unsure but found it a pretty little place, although basic it was immacutely clean and served a good Turkish breakfast. We used it as we intended, for a base and for this it was good as it is in an excellent position. The owner we found to be very pleasant, he speaks no English but with my little Turkish, we managed fine and had no problems. Fatma the waitress was a little gem. We didn't use the hotel for meals or drinks, but found our 'spot' at the Beach House and its adjoining restaurant where the staff were really good, a special mention to Dogan he was so helpful and of course Penny from the Beach House. Although our stay at the Onemli was fine - for any future visits to Side (this was our first) then the Beach House would be my choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sucumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taksim, Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

while being on a short stay in Side
I recieved a very nice and warm welcome from the owner and his employees
the room with the view on sea did not have such a great view as it was in a corner
it was a bit chilly even there was some blanket at the beginning of april
No TV in the room
breakfast was fresh with excellent olives but an extra fee for having fresh orange juice

Room Tip: trie to select a room that really faces the sea or if not sure take the garden side instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2013

The hotel location is nearby Side Anchient City. Right in front of the hotel is a free and clean small beach of Side. And the other and long beach is not far from hotel.

The owner of the hotel is a very kind person, and he is willing to help you for the best stay.
The hotel is not a luxury hotel, but it is a small and very beautiful one with kind personnel. The cleaning is done everyday, and the rooms are very clean. Breakfast is included in prices and you can request dinner for a small price if you want to eat at the hotel.

The most beautiful part of the hotel is the garden in which also you will eat your breakfast. There are several types of plants including a banana tree and tomatoes with several flower types. The owner loves his hotel and looks after his garden himself.

We have made several holidays since years, and since we always want to go there again, we can not go anywhere else.

There are plenty of gift, jewellery and bag shops to shop for yourself or others. Also you can find the city center after a 5 minute walk and you can find several types of eating options including music and dance opportunities. For those who would like to drink, there are several places and bistros.

Room Tip: We always selected the room in the garden, but the balcony rooms looking to the sea are very nice, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serdar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I booked a room with balcony, with sea view and on the top floor. My surprise was that there was no sea view, nor a room available on the top floor. After almost 3 hours trying to sort the problem out (because there is no one there that speaks english and because the landlord didn't let me use the phone to contact the company responsible for the bookings), I kind of agreed to stay on the ground floor, with no bloody balcony, for 1 night, and then, the following nights I would have the room I booked and PAID THE DIFFERENCE for. - lies! the FAMILY that was in "my" room, was going to stay there for 7 more days, so I had to stay in the ground floor, if I wanted a place to sleep!
Breakfast time, the landlord was wandering from table to table to check what each individual was eating, making comments with his employees in his languages, and them, laughing, of course, talking about us, tourists... if you were to have a second breakfast round, he would literally stand by you, to watch what you put on your plate, and if you put an extra sache of jam, he would whisper: " noooo,nooo" _ I booked this hotel because the value was really nice, but I regret. Location is great, but the place is such a nightmare and the owner is a unfair person. There are few little B&B around that area, so please have a second look before booking with Onemli.
I will go back to Side because it is a nice place for summer holidays, but I will be lloking somewhere else to stay. Thats for sure!

ps.: after 2 formal complaints and after 3 months figuting for the difference I paid for the "sea view, balcony top floor room, I managed to get only £50 back in the end.

Room Tip: if you want a good room, just do not go to this hotel. The location is perfect, the restaurant oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GoingForAWalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel
Beach House Hotel
#75 of 229 in Side
196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Akasya Motel
Akasya Motel
#111 of 229 in Side
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evin Pension
Evin Pension
#14 of 86 in Side
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kleopatra
Kleopatra
#8 of 86 in Side
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Selen Motel
Selen Motel
#128 of 229 in Side
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kleopatra Side
Kleopatra Side
#8 of 48 in Side
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Onemli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Onemli Hotel

Property: Villa Onemli Hotel
Address: Kucuk Plaj Ustu Lale Sokak, Side, Manavgat, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Onemli Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Onemli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing