We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely holiday :)”
Review of Dream World Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dream World Resort
Ranked #62 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Just returned from a 1 week holiday in the Dream World and the biggest complaint I have is 1 week was not long enough :( The hotel is all others say on here !! New, quite impressive,very light and airy,very clean,nice and easy to get around for families and older guests. As the hotel is very new, it is in quite a built up area and a lot of building work still going on around the hotel and resort.This did not affect us, other then it is not yet a pretty resort with grass verges and flower beds ,but with vision I am sure in the near future this will enhance the resort even further.The hotel is very well run,from being taken to your room by the Bell Boy on arrival, to the excellent and friendly service provided by all the staff at every level .The way we were treated by the lovely staff in this hotel made the holiday one to remember.The rooms are very comfortable,modern and spacious.Our room was cleaned and towels changed EVERY day.It was my Birthday while we were there, and after spending the day having a go at Paragliding and a Turkish Bath at the hotel (paid 35 euros each- Turkish Bath, massage & face pack -highlight of the holiday-DO IT) on returning to our room there was a bottle of Vino and fruit pack,and the trouble the housekeeping had gone to to dress my bed with fancy oragami and petals was just lovely - Thank you x.We were upgraded to a family room, but family rooms are at the front of the Hotel and there is very busy duel carriageway which is very noisy from early in the morning till very late at night,you will prob be very tired and we did sleep, but be warned.The food and the service is excellent, and if anyone says different I really don't know what else they could do.This hotel and resort cater in every way for the European Market and not the Brits !! If you not happy about that don't go !!There were only one other British couple in the hotel while we were there (that we met anyway) but that was not an issue to us .The other guests were very nice,quiet,respectful and a pleasure to be around,day and night.Most of the staff speak very little English but they love to try bless. Please engage with them and have a little fun,they love it and you will too !!I am going to be in touch with the hotel owner ,who I met when I was there, to give a few ideas of a couple of things he could provide for us Brits.Like English newspapers- baked beans at breakfast-and maybe a little more English channels on the fab flat screen TV.I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would be very surprised if you did not have the most lovely-relaxing-enjoyable holiday we all work so hard for.Thank You All at Dream World. Ps Stop and talk to the photographers- we had an amazing photo shoot and they will charge you 6 euros for each pic you want- FANTASTIC-clever lads x

Room Tip: Front rooms spacious,lovely but noisy :( Other rooms shown as an alternative very overlooked You w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FUNTRAVELLER_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

We booked this 6 weeks before departing on the 20th August for a well earned fortnight in the sun, on the back of the first 8 reviews, then had obvious concerns when the next lot of indifferent reviews were written. We can understand why all good & bad we're written. The hotel has 5 star facilities, but doesn't have 5 star service, that you would expect from a newly opened hotel trying to impress - we didn't think the management team backed up the staff, whom most worked hard, even if some did come across a little rude & unhelpful. I apologise that I have written war & peace about our holiday, but wanted it to be balanced.
Overall we had a good holiday, not great, but the current buzz in this country is about net promoter score (NPS) which is would you go again & would you recommend and OUR answer to both would be NO! The main reason is that we have been to better for the price we paid. Our view & experince on Dreamworld is-
Reception - like a couple of other reviews, they didn't have our rooms ready on arrival, and had to be put in a family room for the first night. Which if you have one booked you may need earplugs as they are on the front of the hotel 20yards from the duel carriageway that runs along the strip and you here all the traffic noise until gone midnight. We were offered the fruit, late check out massage etc (can thoroughly recommend the Turkish massage, as actually had the masseuse kneeling into my back to relieve the stresses) finally got our 2 rooms the following morning on the top (5th floor)
Overlooking the very closely situated Crown Palace, which even though it had no view, had the benefit of being very quiet for outside noise.
Rooms - modern and kept very clean - not the biggest of rooms, probably the size of a Premier inn bedroom, photos of the rooms are deceptive - when we've been to other holiday destinations around the world we have had much bigger rooms - beds are yes firm, but that's how we like them - bug bear was the flimsy sheet as blanket! Air con great - mini bar cold but had to ask for it to be topped up for other than water. Lots of closet space, good size safe, good tv but no English channels, but it does have a USB port so you could plug in ur PC and play videos. Bathrooms are bath free, but the best bit is the shower! Fabulously power with oodles of hot water- a real luxury after spending the day in sun cream. Ladies- my wife says the hairdryer is adequate and did manage to dry her head of hair. The down side to the rooms for us, is that you can here what your neighbours r up to, particularly if they visit the bathroom at 3 in the morning!
Food - plenty of it, even if wasn't the best quality. Weve seen this before where a hotel has to cater for all different countries, tastes & diets. That you will have some dishes that just don't suit our appetites. But they do cook a lot of food fresh to order, look forward to the Turkish night on a Wednesday! Service is indifferent. But we made friends with a couple of waiters, particularly Abdul Qadir who was a star! For the first 10 days we were there, the hotel was very busy and evening meal times became a bit like a cattle market, where there wasn't enough tables for guests, & staff struggled to keep up with clearing & relaying tables. This wasn't helped when management & guest relations decided it was time to sit & eat, & take up tables when should have been helping staff look after guest. The last 4 days the hotel was a little quieter & service dramatically improved and staff seemed happier.
Bar - lobby bar is small in itself and 6 people around it makes it crowded. They do waiter service but you can end up waiting upto 15 minutes for your drinks. When we booked we were attracted to the fact it said all local and international drinks, on the AI package- this isn't true, there are local drinks but the choice limited, and definitely no international drinks unless you wanted to pay for them. The staff here did work hardif they weren't exactly the happiest!
Pool- the swimming pool itself was probably the cleanest pool we have seen in the 25 years we've been travelling, & this sounds daft but the water in it was the cleanest & freshest we've seen. Yes the surrounding area is very tight for sunbathing. The 'sado' I am counted a max of 150 sun beds for the 230+ rooms this hotel has, so it is first come first served - although I did see the pool man reserving beds for a price! Animation team do keep everyone active - just don't sit behind the water polo goals as our European guests take this game very seriously & shots rain in with some venom. & yes the newly built hotel next door does start to take the sunshine away from around 2.30.
Beach - is accessed by a 2 minute bus ride or 3-5 min walk away. Dreamworld has its own section of private beach, with plenty of beds and umbrellas. Sea is clean, and if you have the waves then you've got your own free wave pool witch our son thoroughly enjoyed. It has its own bar and serves a freshly cooked lunch. Personally just think the sand could be raked to keep it cleaner.
Overall - if you've got this far then thanks - nearly done. The hotel is situated at the end of Evrenski and right outside there is a strip of shops selling everything you can think of - but be aware just about all of it is fake, as Turkey has no copyright laws, so never pay the full asking price haggling is expected.
There are bits we've missed I'm sure but a lot is also covered in other reviews.

Room Tip: As I've put in my main review the rooms facing crown palace are the quieter ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Ellipops001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We travelled on the 28th July and returned on the 9th Aug. 2 Adults and 19 yr old, 16 yr old.
When we arrived there was no room for us and i asked if this was an issue with the UK travel agent or a fault made by the hotel. It was the hotels fault.
We were given a standard room that normally sleeps 3 people with a small bed thrown in for our 16 yr old. (not a great start to your hard earned holiday)
We were given the standard issue of,
Free safe
Complimentary wine and fruit
Late checkout (you can keep your room until 16:00)
Additional visit to the a la carte restaurant
Free 30 minute massage
This seems to be the standard issue for all people who did not have rooms ready, this was a common problem once we had spoken to other guests in the hotel.
The pool was great until 15:00 when it started to become shaded and rapidly became all shaded.
The sunbed arrangement was ridiculous and the guest relations person will eventually be refereeing a boxing match as this will result in some very heated words and we saw evidence of this with another guest and her daughter.
On our last day we were told to leave our room and when i questioned the late checkout they offered us another room that was equipped for two persons yet there was 4 persons in our party and they just shrugg their shoulders and say we have no more rooms. Customer service lesson need to be learned, a minority of the staff are very unhelpful towards their guests.
When we returned to the pool our towels were missing from the beds that i had reserved at 07:45 and laid on them until 09:30 and the guest relation person said "just remove the towels from other beds and lay on them" Which i would never have done. (I was only packing my bags to leave and changing rooms again 3 rooms in 11 nights, and my sunbeds had been taken)
In summary would never visit this hotel again but i have to say that the food was good and Hussain Durna was a great help with allergy advice. Great person and a real asset to this hotel (Many thanks again to Hussian)
Nice beach and bar / eating area.
Nice guy Hasan on reception, Omer who looks after the loby bar – Thanks
Great entertainment guys, thanks to you too.
Its a great shame that some of the staff are very ill mannered and unhelpful and for this reason i wouldnt go back here. (Faulty towers almost springs to mind)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank renault1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I agree with everything Tinkebella below says, I don't really care whether I pay a lot or a little for a holiday...as long as it's value for money and on balance this is! We have stayed twice before at the Crystal Palace a couple of Km's away and it was more impressive but the price reflected that. The staff here are working hard to please and the vast majority achieve that. Top tip...grab beds on the terrace, you have sun from 'rise to set' and its quieter and there always seems to be beds. The UK needs to develop both tolerance of other cultures and a big slab of humility...the service and food abroad out strips that offered in UK hotels...unless you're lucky enough to be served by a member of staff who originates from outside UK!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Colin61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We visited dreamworld 20.07.13 and returned 03.08.13.
I have to say we had a fabulous family holiday here, a party of 4, 2 adults, a 6 year old and a 14 year old.
I do agree with some comments below, particularly the pool area.
That for us was the big negative of the stay - one pool isn't really enough especially when the main activity pool does become shaded by late afternoon especially with the location of the new build hotel overlooking the pool. The sunbed reservation is a pain too but I find this on most family holidays I don't think this problem is exclusive to dreamworld!
We loved the beach which was only a 5 min walk, but there was a bus that comes every 5 mins or so, yes it was hot but what do you expect in that heat?? The beach bar was lovely and the real plus was 500ml bottles of water rather than a dispensing machine!
The food was delicious and in abundance, we have 3 fussy eaters in our party and none of us struggled. We never found the times to be a problem either with breakfast 7 - 1030, lunch 12 - 3 and cake and ice cream 4-5 then evening meal 7-9 and midnight snacks 12am -1230am. All different locations to eat, pool bar, main restaurant, beach bar,al a carte restaurants and also the boat trip once a week.
We had a 2 bedroom family room which was modern and spacious, 2 flat screen TVs in both rooms (very few English speaking channels), loads of sockets to recharge phones, pads etc. theres also a mini bar thats stocked initially with coke and fanta, water and then restocked with just water daily all inclusive. The maid came daily to clean and towels changed daily. You can request a time to have your room cleaned, we never did. Ours usually came around ten, if we where still in the room she would return at a later time. We never had no theft during our stay - even when valuables where left out in full view. We also never had any flooding or wires protruding out. The only negative about the room was the beds - very uncomfortable!
We had one of the safes that wasn't actually fixed down - we didn't pay, this was complimentary as our room wasn't available on arrival so spent our first night in a standard room which was also a modern decor. We also received fruit and wine and complimentary massage for both myself and my husband - we where reluctant to have the massage as the massage guys made us feel uncomfortable therefore we asked at reception if we could keep our room on until 6 on the day of departure which was no problem at all.
We found the majority of the staff to be helpful and nothing too much trouble. The animation team work tirelessly day and night and the shows they perform are well choreographed, for us we're not into too many audience participation shows.
Our main gripe with the staff were some of the waiters would not leave our 6 year old boy to have a meal in peace - constantly touching his hair, cheeks trying to pick him up which did become boring after a while.
The male bartender at the pool bar in the evening tried to make fun of me and my 14 year old daughter pretending he didn't understand us but he definitely understands English insults as his attitude changed when a few choice remarks where passed back to him! On the whole the staff work really hard and it really is a couple of individuals who let the team down.
The hotel itself is very pleasing and the reception and lobby bar is spacious and modern with a cruise liner feel. It really is a shame that there are no pretty views and garden areas. Around the hotel there are loads of shops and bazaar 2mins walk. There's a taxi rank and dolmas bus rank outside the hotel to venture into side and manavagat - relatively cheap.
We didn't feel during our stay that the majority of guests where German, we felt there was a real mix of British, German, Dutch, Norwegian, Belgian, Polish, Turkish. Nationalities seemed to mix and there was rarely any queue jumping, most people behaving polite to each other.
To conclude we had a fabulous stay here and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tinkebella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

When we arrived to Dreamworld we were wowed by the building but not the service, they had no knowledge of our booking and the staff spoke very little English, we were just repeatedly told to ‘please wait a moment’. This went on for over an hour without being given any information which was very unnerving as we didn’t know if we were even going to have anywhere to stay. Finally a porter just came and took our luggage and asked us to ‘follow’ we were shown to our room with no explanation or acknowledgement of what had happened and just left to get on with it. We had been traveling from 6am in the morning and didn’t get checked into a room until 11pm. As no one spoke English we wasn’t able to ask about where to get something to eat (we were all very very hungry) so we went to see for ourselves but the dinner stops at 9pm and as they weren’t expecting us they clearly didn’t think they needed to cater for anyone at this time. We then had to leave the hotel and go in search of our own dinner and at our own expense which is not a great start to our ‘all inclusive’ hotel.

The holiday was sold to us as all inclusive and I feel this was not the case. The food hours were not suitable and the food wasn’t always edible. The food times for breakfast were 7:30-10:30, lunch 12-2, snacks 4-5 (which was ice-cream) and dinner 7-9; these are not all inclusive hours and became really quite inconvenient. I’m sure were not alone in saying we prefer to eat later when on holiday so we ended up eaten out most evenings. The food was most definitely no 5* quality and I do realise that in other countries 5* is not quite the same quality as in England but we’ve most definitely had much better, even the café across the road from the hotel managed a massive improvement.

The biggest let down for the hotel is there staff! They were not up to scratch at all, repeatedly rude and inappropriate, making lots of sexual comments and suggestions, to the point where one evening we went to order a cocktail ‘sex on the beach’ which is on their drinks list to be responded to with ‘sex on the bar’??? And a fit of laughter from all the bar staff. They seemed to pick and choose which English they did and didn’t understand. We were followed around the buffet at lunch time by the chefs asking if we would meet them after they finish work. They were also very inexperienced as the drinks very really quite unpleasant at times, they also seemed to find it really funny to make us say ‘beer’ 5 times before actually serving us one which quickly got irritating.

In the pictures of the hotel on the website, it’s set in lovely greens. The hotel is actually right next to many other hotels with yet another hotel being built pretty much on top which blocks the sun around the pool for the majority of the afternoon. With building work happening throughout the night it made it very hard for the light sleepers in our group to actually get any sleep so they ended up sleeping throughout the day which was a complete waste.

To finish the ‘Dreamworld’ experience, on our last day we had left some Euros in the bedside draw to find on our return it had been taken, when we reported this to reception they didn’t even acknowledge what had happened and how serious the matter should have been taken. By this stage we had given up trying to communicate with the hotel as they had no idea what we were saying.

Overall we feel we’ve been deceived and ripped off as we spent over £2000 for this holiday and ended up spending a lot more out there than expected due to the food and drink being on the border line of inedible.

I’m sad to say this was an unpleasant experience for us. Also this hotel is definitely not what we thought was being sold to us and definitely not 5* All inclusive.

The only good thing about the hotel was the animation team.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CasaApollo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

GOOD, AVERAGE and BAD
I agree with the 2 below reports.
This is NOT a 5 star hotel ... on our arrival on 26th July (for 2 weeks) we were told ' we have NO room for you ... we take you to another hotel'
Not a good start.
Other people checked in after us (this was the early hours of the morning) but these people were NOT British.
Several days later and without any help or information provided by the hotel we returned to the Dream World Resort which is a very new hotel which has (in my opinion) been poorly finished - rushed.
The safe in our room (which we were going to be charged to use - but declined) was in a cupboard in the bedroom, but not attached /secured to anything (LOL) I have a brilliant picture of our safe laying on our double bed !!
Anyway on to more important matters.
The GOOD points.... an amazing animation team (entertainment), the food was very good and a nice beach area with adequate sunbeds and a good bar / eating area.
The AVERAGE points ... most of the staff were attentive and helpful. EXCEPT we had a problem as mentioned below, with over familiarity from some of the young male bar staff !!
We have a 17 year old daughter and I got tired of talk about ' you want sex on the beach ' (ref
erring to a cocktail - NOT )
The BAD points ... definitely limited space around the pool area and stupid behavior with the sunbeds - despite warnings (notices) about not 'reserving' beds ... which was ignored.
The terrible finish of the building is very obvious ... there were reports of minor flooding (but not seen by me) ... there were damp areas in the walls and some exposed wiring in a cupboard in our bedroom. The smoke alarm / detector was also hanging from the ceiling and wires not connected to it. (got pictures of all above)
There is a large 1/2 built hotel right next to (intimately) the hotel and this will cause great problems (noise etc) to customers in the future - no noise experienced during our stay though.
There are NO good views (sea views etc) from the hotel and not a great deal to do in the vicinity. Also 'wasteland' along the whole of one side.
24 hours prior to departing (suddenly and without warning) we were advised by reception we must pack our bags and leave the hotel ... as the airport transfer bus had arrived.
This was a bit of a shock as we believed it to be our last complete night and we were to leave the following evening !
The hotel had paperwork to support their story (?) that i had never seen before. After 30 minutes of madness with us trying to pack our bags in a hurry and being told the transfer bus had now left the hotel - we believed the hotel had made a grave error, but they did not agree and ... very badly refused to ring the airport to check the flight details or help with booking a (2nd) transfer coach for the following evening - said ' it is not our job' - VERY UNHELPFUL
The area around the hotel is not very exciting with not a lot going on (other than tacky shops)
A taxi / bus trip is required to get into Side.
All in all a holiday with good food and a nice animation team who cared about the kids they were entertaining and gave 100 percent.
Not a place I would go back to and anyone who goes in the future beware of the young male bar staff, the bad / shabby building work and building work going on VERY nearby.
I will NOT be returning. :-(

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TIM030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
0.2 mi away
Dream World Aqua
Dream World Aqua
#3 of 11 in Kumkoy
184 reviews
1.2 mi away
Narcia Resort Hotel
Narcia Resort Hotel
#70 of 229 in Side
287 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orange Palace
Orange Palace
#67 of 229 in Side
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Side Crown Palace
Side Crown Palace
#91 of 229 in Side
285 reviews
0.7 mi away
Side Premium - Oz Hotels
2.0 mi away
Dosi Hotel
Dosi Hotel
#22 of 229 in Side
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dream World Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dream World Resort

Address: Ilica Mahallesi, 24. Sokak No:11, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: £42 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dream World Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dream World Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing