We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel excellent, nice location, Thomas Cook AWOL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horus Paradise Luxury Resort
Ranked #78 of 227 Hotels in Side
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Hotel excellent, nice location, Thomas Cook AWOL”
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed at the Horus Paradise in July for our first experience of an all inclusive holiday. Overall we were very impressed with the hotel and the grounds, especially as it was right on a 'private' section of the beach. The hotel is billed on the main entrance as 5*, but it's probably more of a 4* hotel, especially as the main restaurant is buffet service. The rooms were clean and housekeeping came every day to make them up and replace the complimentary soft drinks in the 'mini-bar'.

The hotel had a few other pleasant touches, one of the nicest of which was the option of having fresh beach towels everyday (after first paying a deposit which was returned on check-out). There is also a spa in the hotel offering Turkish baths for 45 euro and there are tennis courts for hire if you feel like playing. A note of caution for British travellers - the majority of guests are Russian and German, so the main currency used by the hotel is the euro, not Turkish Lira, and by and large the staff don't know the prices of anything in Lira and so have to calculate everything using the hotel's exchange rate. However, on a more positive note the staff spoke very good English.

There are 4 restaurants advertised as a la carte, but they're really a set menu, and of the two we tried they were very nice. You have to book in advance to reserve a table, and we found that it paid to book early, as tables can only be booked up to three days ahead and filled up quickly. You can eat in each restaurant only once within a seven day period too. The main restaurant is buffet style, but has a plentiful and varied array of food everyday - we never failed to find something tasty to eat. Grilled tiger prawns were great.

The beach was beautiful and where we spent most of our time. The hotel has 5 swimming pools, but the sea was more inviting to us and nice and warm. The beach has sunbeds and umbrellas free of charge to hotel guests, and there is also a bar / restaurant close to the beach too for drinks and an afternoon ice-cream. If you want to there are also plenty of activities provided by the hotel, including volley ball, boules, dance classes and pilates. Evening-wise there were nightly discos for children (although the music is very repetitive) and other entertainment for the adults.

The only downside for us was our non-existent Thomas Cook rep. She attended on our first day for the 9am welcome meeting (after a 4hr flight delay which landed at 4.30am so none of us had really slept) and appeared unprepared. She promised to deliver maps, which we didn't really need but nonetheless never appeared, and also said that she'd be there the following day if we wanted to book trips but weren't in the mood to right then and there in our sleep-deprived state. Surprise, surprise we didn't see her again until the day before we left - fortunately for us the only trip we wanted to book was a Turkish bath which we just booked in the hotel.

Overall, a good hotel only 30-40 minutes walk from the town of Side, and a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KB24Cambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    90
    67
    39
    37
See reviews for
185
98
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

A beautiful hotel with immaculate grounds and in a good position taking around 30minutes to walk into Side. We stayed the first week in the rooms within the grounds, it was in a lovely position right opposite the beach. The 'club rooms' as they are called are rated in Thomas Cook brochure as 3plus star which I feel is very generous as the rooms are more than ready for an update and are very basic but clean. The downside was the beds are so hard it is impossible to get any quality of sleep, they air conditioning was very effective though and kept room lovely and cool.
Going into our second week we decided to upgrade to a room in the hotel, this was done with efficiency by the reception team who do actually speak English ( very few of the waiters do) this cost us an extra 20euro a night. Yes euros! Everything around Side is priced in Euros which is frustrating as the tend to convert it to the same amount in £'s so yet again we loose out to the Euro when you think going to Turkey will get you out of the expensive areas. We were told by a Turkish rep that Fethiye area is much better for Brits and is half as expensive there. Great to hear on your first day! The rooms in the hotel are really nice and beds a little more comfortable with great views, downside is that air conditioning is not very effective even when left on all night.
Food in the hotel is of a good quality and plenty of choices are available, ice-creams were a nightmare to get as were only available between 4-5pm and you usually had to wait around half an hour to get one. The a la carte restaurants were excellent with the exception of the fish one down near the beach, which wasn't as good as the other three.
The Italian was particularly good. We managed to book the restaurants fairly easily the first week we were there, people arriving the following week as it got much busier struggled to book any of the restaurants.
The pool where all the activities take place by the enthusiastic animation team is really slippey and dangerous to walk around, the play music around this pool all day which is okay until a there are lots of vodka drunk Russians in it. The large pool where the water slides are is lovely but very difficult to get a lounger around as people reserve them but only turn up around 5pm for a short period of time which is frustrating.
The real problem of the hotel is the Russians, about 90-95% of guest were Russian. A few of them are decent people but unfortunately the majority were rude, aggressive, greedy beyond belief and very wasteful. There were some lovely German and Norwegian people there thank goodness but very few Brits, all were as disgusted in behaviour of the Russians, they have no manners or consideration for others, pile their plates with food and waste most of it, talk to the waiters/cleaners with aggression and are generally disgracefully behaved.
The shops around Side are all the same selling counterfit goods and expecting high prices for them, they are pushy and quite rude and many dont like English as we tend to like to be left alone to look and not followed around being harrassed. We gave up looking after 3 visits for this very reason.
We would go to Turkey again but definitely the Side area even though it is beautiful, we came home feeling disappointed. A Scottish lady summed up hotel perfectly, saying it was a convention for Russian hookers and bouncers.

Room Tip: Rooms in hotel much nicer, if you go for club rooms ask for sea view but away from beach bar and pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthantsKyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

just got back after a week lovely hotel food ok but boring and not geared to english taste if you want a sunbed around the pool you will need to put your towels out by 7.30am or you will miss out this is a big downside as i found the sunbed situation very irratating why Germans and Russians feel the need to bag a sunbed at silly o,clock ill never know. Food is buffet style would watch the russians pile up stacks of food on several plates enough to feed a small nation then waste 75% of it very greedy and rude with it putting that aside the hotel was excellent if you dont mind not having other english familys around you then this is the place for you would i stay there again no but only because the place is huge and takes to long to get anywhere it all becomes a bit of an effort they are building a new hotel right next door so i may try that one next year purchase your trips from the excursion shop away from the hotel much cheaper and cheers bar across the road does an ok english breakfast and has entertainment most nights in side old town they do kebabs in a lovely wrap and very cheap and delisious makes a welcome change to the goulash and the hotel beach restaurant does a good lunch but again you will need to get there 30mins before they serve or you will have nowhere to sit as the greedys will be there pushing shoving and eating everything in sight the same goes for 4.0,clock icecream and donuts you have to see it to believe it they have an theatre which puts on a show every night this again is not geared to the english however their version of snowwhite and the 8 dwarfs was amusing they even had a cardboard hobby horse happy holidays

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank homefromhome67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Had a good holiday but .... beware of the steps. The lifts go down to the main resturant/spa area, after that there are MANY steps to the main swimming pool and other areas. (If there were any ramps or other lifts we never found them and the map we were given was unreadable! )
Good promanade walk into Side and a few cafe and bars in the local area including Cheers bar opposite which was very friendly.
We were not with Thomas Cook but the only time we met any other English guests they were at the reception searching for the Thomas Cook rep.
We booked a sea view room in the main hotel and it was worth the extra. The room itself was spacious with very good comfort and decor until night time that is. If you like to read in bed take a torch (each ) The bedside lights were designed for looks not books.
The Thomas Cook brochure describes rooms as having satalite TV = it has just one English speaking station and its a French news station in English.
The food was good at first but then very repetitive and the desserts were all the same just different colours, so we thought we'd try the Ottoman and Italian Al la Carte resturants. On both evenings were were presented with plated dishes with no choice at all (apart from beef, chicken or fish for the main course in the Italian) There were tables where food was just left uneaten as at least in the main resturant you can choose the dishes that you like.
Overall we enjoyed the sun, swimming, views and the local people, we were glad to get away from some very rude fellow guests but did meet some lovely people from all over the world.

Room Tip: club rooms are bungalows - not upgrades!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dawntilldusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We arrived after midnight and the hotel reception could not do enough for us, offering us soup in the dining room and then driving us to our room which was a bungalow away from the main hotel set in lovely gardens.The room was very clean, not overly luxurious which I was expecting after seeing the hotel which is amazing but certainly did us for our 10 days. We had the same cleaner throughout our stay, she was so friendly and even covered my bed in rose petals on the day of my birthday. We went down for breakfast the next morning and were amazed by the choice of food (this was the same at all meal times, so much choice and the beach bar had lovely rotisserie chicken and salad). We have been all inclusive to other places and this was by far the best. Yes, most of the guests were German (and could be quite rude) but it made a change from gangs of English people being drunk, loud and generally annoying. The area was fantastic, the view from the lobby bar in the hotel was breathtaking (we saw both the most beautiful sunset ever along with the scariest thunder storm).If there is anything I would change, and this certainly isn't a complaint about our room, I would stay in the actual hotel the next time we go (because we are definitely going again) as the rooms look gorgeous.
Please do not let other reviews put you off. This hotel is totally amazing and the best holiday I've ever had.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EmmaSwallow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

i stayed at horus paradise had a great time only 3 english couples in the whole hotel food nothing english but all very good what was on offer lovely hotel booked with thomas cook the representative was a complete waste of time other couples booked trips with the locals they had a great time, booked a thomas cook trip the bus did not turn up and they kept the money saying we were not there to be picked up, hotel rang twice for us to see where they were did eveything to help us. thomas cook rep was always over one hour late plus did not even turn up on days she should be there just to top it off she did not leave pick up times for the airport so had to find it out , then bus was 35mins late! book the hours paradise was a great hotel could not do enough for us .

Room Tip: stay in the hotel not the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank frommob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2010

Just got back from a week at the Horus Paradise and we were very impressed with it. Cannot fault the place - spectacular looking inside and out. The hotel has something for everyone and we felt offers the best services and best location. Room - every bit as spectacular as on internet and spacey. Grounds - beautiful with lovely views of sea and mountains (good sunset piccie opportunity) and access straight onto beach. Location - fab - bus (5mins ride) from outside hotel into Side run regularly at a small cost or you can walk down to beach and meander into Side along the promenade which is half an hour at a lesuirely pace. Also easy access to local town of Manavgat which has a local Bazaar where you can pick up some bargains. Food - brilliant with choice of restaurants and food to suit all. Cleanliness - amazing. Facilities - Plenty of bar/pool/gym/restaurant/entertainment facilties. Amazing spa facilities. Treatments are not part of the very good inclusive deal but a 1hr 80 massage is £35 when in UK 1 hour is £55!! Paid for a full Hammam (Turkish Bath Experience) and thought it was amazing. The hotel staff were very helpful and made an effort with us. This is a German owned hotel so there are a lot of Germans but as we went to get away form the UK we weren't phased by this at all. The same is true for many of the hotels around Side.

Negative comments really fail to represent what this hotel has to offer. Worth all of it's five stars.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Antig0ne69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.6 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Side Star Elegance
Side Star Elegance
#38 of 227 in Side
603 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Side Prenses Resort Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.6 mi away
Side Star Beach Hotel
Side Star Beach Hotel
#32 of 227 in Side
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horus Paradise Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horus Paradise Luxury Resort

Property: Horus Paradise Luxury Resort
Address: Denizbuku Mevkii | Deniz Bükü Mevki Celal Bayar bul.Side Manavgat Antalya, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in Side
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#63 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Horus Paradise Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 680
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Horus Paradise Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horus Paradise Luxury Hotel Side
Horus Paradise Luxury Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing