We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place and people ( shame about the guests )” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Star Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Side Star Beach Hotel
Ranked #35 of 228 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and people ( shame about the guests )”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

We recently spent 18 days at the above hotel - a party of 7, from 24 years old to 97 years old.
The hotel itself was very good indeed. All the staff were good, many exceptionally so, the food was fine and the facilities first rate. It was large enough to offer entertainment but small enough that my visually handicapped father-in-law could find his way around without getting lost. Access was easy the beach a very short level walk away and only an easy stroll into Side old town. It is well nigh impossible to find anything about which to complain - except many of our fellow guests. Any English speaker would be advised not to go unless in a group. The vast majority of the guests were German and, unfortunately, most were the very worst music hall caricatures of Germans. Coarse, crass, ill-mannered, selfish, noisy and gluttonous in the extreme. We were a large enough group to cope with this but 2 or 3 people would probably feel ostracised. It is noteworthy that several off the Germans were also just as disgusted with the behaviour as we were - the only saving grace. We have friends among the staff who we will visit again but if we ever stay again I will take earplugs. Thanks to the staff - but we also felt sorry for the few small groups who were, like us, out on a limb.

Room Tip: Look for a room facing the rear - sea view, not car park !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    59
    25
    2
    3
See reviews for
57
85
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Not the best holiday for us, we were the ONLY British couple there. The staff were indeed lovely to us, the food and facilities were adequate. My 3 stars on this review only reflects on how we felt isolated, the only thing that kept us going was meeting a great Dutch couple, and also the lovely animation team, especially Mustafa and Max.
The whole experience was comparable to living in a German retirement home, beware when they push you out the lift with their zimmers! So many rude people.
We have worked and holidayed all over the world, but have never experienced the likes of this!
All in all, not a place to go in November if one is "young at heart"!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank fluffy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This hotel is a little gem and the Turkish people are all so friendly if you make the effort to get to know them. Estoy and Ferde at the bar were particularly helpful as was Adam the manager and Ahmed in the restaurant and we had a great time. Hope I got the names right.

The hotel is right on the beach with plenty of sun beds (even if they are close together) and we had no problem getting a bed at about 9am and they were available around the pool even later although we did travel in October.

Side is 20 mins stroll along a flat promenade and not to be missed with its roman ruins and criss crossing streets with a host of shops and bars to spoil yourselves in.
Rooms are small but more than adequate (with a kettle fab but wife said hairdryer useless so take your own) and kept very clean. Try and get one overlooking the pool as the back and front of the hotel overlook other hotels.

Food is fab lots of choice even for the fussy eater and lots of it breakfast, mid morning waffles, ice cream, lunch (try the beachside bar for this) afternoon tea and if you are still hungry dinner.

The food on gala Turkish night and the way it was presented for me resembled cruise ship standard. Loads of effort went into decorating the patio area with bunting, candles and table decorations with real attention to detail – don’t miss this.

We did try the Turkish speciality restaurant but found the food in the main restaurant as good

Don’t miss the Turkish bath and massage, 30 euros when we were there, and worth every penny. Wife used the hairdressers and found it to be very reasonable and was please with the results

Yes if you are British there are lot of Germans at the hotel but also Dutch and Scandinavian If you want to holiday with other brits go to Benidorm. I found the staff will try to speak English and many Germans and Scandinavians speak English to so no problem for us.

The shops opposite the hotel as cheap as anywhere so get you gifts here. Pay in euros or lira they take both.

Couple of niggles which are meant as constructive for the hotel mgt.

Ending the all inclusive at 4pm for guests leaving that day is bit mean as many brits miss the first night anyway as their flights arrive too late for the evening meal.

Cold pool - brrrrrrr - does not get a lot of sun due to shade from hotels and trees anything you can do to improve would be great

In summary a fab hotel with staff who will make you feel special if you make the effort to get to know them. Come on brits give it a go. Turkey is still much cheaper that Spain of the rest of the med and lots to see and do.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Taffy1422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed one week in this hotell Side star Beach in September 2011. We had booked our room almost one year ago, so we thought that we could have a good room. Unfortunately it wasn't good at all.
We came there very late in the evening. The room was very small and there were only a little place where we could put our clothes and all things what we supposed to have in our holiday. Well we tried to change our room to a bigger one, but there were only family rooms available and we should have to wait 3 nights to get it. At first we thought that we'll take it, but then we heard that "family room" meant only 2 bedrooms. So it doesn't help us at all. There were no suites available and I think that in this hotell are not any suites at all - so was told to me. How our travell agency could give 4+ for this hotell which don't have any bigger rooms for couples or suites? I was very disappointed to it and I told it to our travell quide. We had only one bed in our room, about 150 cm length. We met one couple there and they did have two beds. Of course I like to sleep with my husband in the same bed, but why it was so small - a king size bed? Oh no!! The room was terrible, old, and not clean.
There were many Germans in that hotell. That is ok, but I don't understand if the staff are German too - I mean that they were turkish but talked or understood only Germany!! Well I can talk a little bit German but if I think those other tourists who were there - how any one could understand them. I think that 80 % of the guests were from Germany. All the shows were talked in German- mostly. I'll never go in that hotell anymore.
The staff - well some of them were very nice but some - they even noticed us. Room was cleaned so poorly - dust were on the floors when you came to your "cleaned" room. The toilett was very tiny - two persons couldn't be there at the same time. We gave tip to our house keeper (who cleans the rooms) but nothing happened. For our friends they had make some decorations - for us nothing. The best was the wiev - it was direct to the sea. So we could see the sunset every evening. Our room number was 432.
Pool was good but the guests reserved the sunbeds early in the morning from the pool and from the beach, too. So if you tried to get a good place you should wake up at 5 o'clock in the morning to get it. Is it holiday? Of course it is not the hotell's fault, it's because of the stupid guests of the hotell. No respect at all. I noticed that the same people were at the pool every day - I hope that they enjoyed it.
Food was average- Tomato soup was good. Other were average and almost every evening the same - so we thank God, that we stayed there only one week.It was enough. The beach was good too, but crowded. Very hard to find a good place if you really didn't wake up early in the morning to have it.
Reception, restaurants and all other public places were clean and ok. In All Inclusive - well, we have to drink only beer because you have to pay 5 euro of cocktails, because they were made from imported alcohol. Raky and beer - oh no! I don't like Raky so I drink beer or coke. Juices were terrible - watered - for example apple juice was like water. Where was the apple? If you wanted to have fresh orange juice - you have to pay for it - well 1 euro, but...? I have been in hotells for average 4 to 5 and I'll give this 4 stars hotell only 2 stars. Sorry. Without that nice couple we met there, our holiday could be the worst one. With them we had nice time. But if we laughed a lot - people were staring us like a fools. Thank you - it was enough!
But I must thank the staff of the nice decorations for the dinner. I respect their work - the really use time for the decoration - thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tarru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

We have just returned from our third annual trip to the Side Star Beach Hotel, and I hope we will go again next year. It is a classy yet comfortable hotel, clean, perfectly adequate if not strictly up to 5* standard. The staff are brilliant, including the reception staff. The waiters and bar are ultra professional and never stop working. We were actually welcomed back by several of the hotel staff which is always pleasing.
The British visitors are definitely in the minority, and the Turkish people do speak German as their second language, but that has never spoilt our enjoyment. Most of the Germans spend the day on the Beach sunbeds, so it's really not hard to get poolside beds if you get up early enough!! The Swedish and Dutch folk can be great fun especially if you get involved in the pool games.
As others have said the food is great, a wide selection and nicely prepared and presented, except of course there's no pork! Every lunch time food is freshly Bar B Q'd and every week there is a gala night where everyone eats outside the hotel.
See Ufo Vaetelinen ( I think that's his surname) for trips and excursions. His shop is right outside the hotel, and he took £ notes from us this year to discount our trip with Baba Boats. A great day out just like last year. Also the Kingfisher pub just outside the hotel is a good meeting place. 'Mike' behind the bar must be the best cocktail maker in Side.
Side is just a great place to go for a holiday, and the Side Star Hotel is an ideal place to stay to make your holiday brilliant.

Room Tip: It can be difficult to secure a room with a sea view because of how busy the hotel is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SteveW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have just returned from The Side Star Beach Hotel and we had a fantastic time! The staff are friendly and in particular a waiter by the name of Ersoy, he looks after you well and is very chatty and friendly. There is a good choice of food and is of excellent quality and very well presented. My partner and daughter felt that it was a bit repetitive by the end of the week but if you are willing to try everything on offer you will not be bored! They have a ‘Speciality’ night which when we were there was a Mediterranean theme, you sit outside and the place is set up with ribbons and the pool with floating candles, the tables are all set up nicely and had a lovely atmosphere, get there early (before 7) though as you may need to queue! We had a standard double room to sleep 3 and it was a bit small but it was very clean and comfortable. The air conditioning was great and no steam in the bathroom when having a shower!! Your room is cleaned every day to a high standard.
Sun beds……well you need to be up with the larks to get one at the pool but there is an area away from the pool which is where we spent most of our sun bathing and it was quiet and relaxing as a lot goes on around the pool. There is always the beach of course which is a stone’s throw away from the hotel.
The snacks that go on throughout the day are fantastic! So be careful if you are watching your waistline! But if you do over indulge there is always the Animation team to keep you going! The team is amazing and so friendly. Mustava (not sure how to spell it but it sounds just like that) is the team leader and motivator he has a way with all the guests no matter what your nationality or age. There is Maria on the step class in the afternoon, try her class it’s great and wipes off the calories built up after the waffles, then there’s my favourite Gisi, a Turkish lady who is very small in body but large and strong in mind! She does the aqua fit and the ‘Morning Gym’ you will hear her in the morning trying very hard to entice the guests to some keep fit, please try it she is very funny and it’s a great way to start your day. She was on Ramadan and therefore couldn’t eat or drink ANYTHING all day but she still got on with her job, she is very inspirational  the rest of the team are also very good and will keep you going no matter what activities you fancy.
Side itself is a beautiful place and the walk along to the harbour is very nice. The Manavgat Market is very hot and busy and unless you want to haggle for bargains just don’t bother the shops in Side are equally as good for a bargain.
Try the Kingfisher for something to eat if you want something a bit different it’s just across from the main entrance of the hotel ask for the clay pot it is delicious! 60 TL for 2 its good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caz402010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We spent unforgettable week in Side Star Beach hotel and found it as the best hotel in Side thanks to it´s perfect location both directly on the nice clean beach and very near of historical Side center. Hotel itself is also very pleasant - rooms are maybe not 5* but clean and sufficient, food great and staff very friendly. I am sure we´ll be back next year !

Room Tip: Book the room with the pool and sea view, the balcony of rooms oriented to west side are too hot in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraSvarcova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
0.6 mi away
Side Star Elegance
Side Star Elegance
#36 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
0.2 mi away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#56 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melas Resort Hotel
Melas Resort Hotel
#18 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Side Star Resort
Side Star Resort
#1 of 3 in Gundogdu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barut Acanthus & Cennet
0.2 mi away
Sunprime Dogan Side Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Star Beach Hotel

Property: Side Star Beach Hotel
Address: Selimiye Mahallesi, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Side
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#30 Luxury Hotel in Side
#37 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Side Star Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Side Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Star Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing