We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected.”
Review of Leda Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leda Beach Hotel
Ranked #102 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I arrived at the hotel late at night, a friendly welcome from the people on the reception, shown to our accommodation without any problems. Our room was the bungalow type, very clean and basic, but everything in the room we needed. Although we were on a half board basis, we didn't have breakfast during our 10 nights and only used the Theatre Restaurant three times, as we have many friends in Side and ate out most nights. We found the restaurant food to be good when we had dinner there. The Marin Beach Restaurant was very good and we were always well looked after by Gazi, Mahmut, Ibrahim and great food by Halit. As mentioned in other reviews, the location of the hotel could not get much better, at one end of the hotel you have the beautiful beach and at the other, an ancient Roman Theatre and acres of other ancient ruins just across the road. We have been visiting Side for many years and have previously stayed at the Melas, Hemera and the Acanthus to name but a few, all four and five star hotels, so we have a good idea of what else is on offer, but we thought The Leda Beach Hotel was very good value for money, clean and very friendly. We would definitely stay there again. We were very lucky to have beautiful weather whilst we were there in late April, it made our stay even better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tutmosis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

This place is a real curates egg : good in parts.
On the plus side the location is superb. Sitting at breakfast and looking at the Roman ruins of Side is a lovely experience. Unfortunately other aspects let the place down. On cold nights the staff light the wood stove, and then cluster round it warming themselves and helping themselves to tea with no thought of offering anything to guests. Out of season a/c (to heat rooms) is charged at 30 Euro per week, and internet access is even more. Both these charges are exorbitant. Food varies from OK to awful. On our first night we were offered cold chips and chicken. To be fair, it did get better.
What did not help was to have a rather odd interaction with a staff member who appeared to be telling me off for not eating lunch in the restaurant. Maybe it was a language issue, but I had to be quite sharp and inform him that I would eat where I choose to, and would be more likely to eat a la cart there if the food at breakfast/evening meal were better..
Worst of all for us was that we left the last slices of a birthday cake in the fridge for the next night, having given some to everyone around (including some staff). The next night the cake was gone. No explanation, no apparent concern and certainly no apology. I thought that this summed up the place: a nice experience spoiled for lack of some proper care and concern.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Perhaps this place is great in summer, but in December it most definitely isn’t. The only plus point is the fantastic location, and the views of the ruins from the restaurant terrace. We were staying in what can only be described as a garden shed – a freezing, damp shed. We were lucky enough to have a duvet (more like a thick sheet), but other guests only had a blanket. Staff were reluctant to give out any extras. In fact, staff were reluctant to help with anything, and only served to make guests feel like a massive inconvenience. The food was dreadful - once breakfast ran out, it wasn’t replenished. Luckily, we weren’t on a half board deal; other guests who were reported evening meals as just awful. There were no communal areas aside from the restaurant/bar, which was closed by 20.30 every night, so we had no choice but to sit in our freezing shed. The pathways were uneven, muddy and poorly lit. They charged extra for everything they could, including WIFI (which didn’t work for the first day) and heating (which was actually the air conditioning system, which they said 'may work' to heat the room a bit). Although Leda Beach is inexpensive, it’s a false economy. It felt more like an endurance test than a holiday, which is why we left three nights into our week’s holiday. Interestingly, when we checked out early, staff didn’t ask why we were leaving and showed absolutely no concern. Perhaps they are used to it?!

Room Tip: All the 'proper' rooms were being refurbished, so perhaps that's why we were all in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MissAdventure78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed at the Leda Beach 5 years ago and, while it was a bit rough and ready, the people working there made it great.
This time, we could see where they had tried to update some fixtures and fittings but few of the original staff remained. the atmosphere was nowhere near that of previois years and the flexibility had gone out the window. I'm glad we were B&B as the food was lousy. We went up to the Palmiye where, in contrast, the food was excellent and the staff brilliant.
Leda prices, on the face of it, very cheap, but by the time they stuck you for all the extras, very expensive. Beer now 8 tl, about the same as home.
I used to love the place but it's only hanging on by the skin of it's teeth.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 809Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The good points.
Food on half board was generally good with nice salads and mesas. Although no water available with meals unless paid for.
The not so good.
Bed in our room no 403 was not good large dip on one side.
Some staff seemed friendly and helpful but unfortunately not all. Some appeared very unfriendly.
Location was good for old town but entrance is terrible and difficult to find the first time.

Would not visit again suggest choosing a smaller pension.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a swimming pool room as there was more light and space outside. Other rooms were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rturner2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This our second time stay at the Leda Beach hotel. Side. right next to the old time. It was about 5 years ago.
It has had some improvements since last time, mainly to the beach restaurant and beach to the good.
We had a week at half board which was good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank athertonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Leda Beach hotel in Side is all spaced out through nice gardens with fruit trees and climbing plants,unlike other hotels.It has different types of accomodation and its a very relaxing place to stay.The breakfast is a buffet which has a good assortment of turkish breakfast food,cereal,fruit,and you get a great choice of breads.The chefs also cooked scramble,boiled and fried eggs and pancakes.And its served in the top restaurant, overlooking the ruins.
We were in the lower level in an upstairs room which got the afternoon sun but as we had free air con you could put up with it.It was so much nicer than the Beach House hotel where we stayed last year which only had filthy, useless ,squeaking ,fans,which did nothing to cool your room.
The cleaners worked hard and kept our room very clean,so no complaints there.If only the owners would put a kettle in the rooms we would be sorted.
The only things I could say were a bit upsetting was the night porter who showed us to our room hung around for a tip.We didnt have anything much in lira and when we offered him the change that we did have, he told us it was comedy money...needless to say he got nothing.Also one of the waiters in the lower restaurant,on the beach,had the nasty habit of not offering you your change.So after a while we stopped tipping any of them.Shame they dont realise that if they brought it back we would still leave it for them,but they shot themselves in the foot and not just with us,as other commented about him too.The other thing I would point out is there are lots of steps all through the site so I wouldnt recommend it for anyone with mobility problems.
All in all it was a much nicer experience than our holiday last year,so Im glad we came back to Side.The beach is lovely,and the sunbeds are free,and the beach is kept very clean and tidy by the sunbed man,who waits on you if you want him to.He got food and drinks for you,repositioned your umbrella when the sun moved and it was beautiful clean,clear,warm water.
I would certainly go back to the Leda Beach

Room Tip: talking to a couple who had a chalet by the pool they said it was a bit noisy from the main road.We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0 mi away
Neptun
Neptun
#128 of 229 in Side
44 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lemas Suite Hotel
Lemas Suite Hotel
#36 of 229 in Side
534 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Side Star Beach
Hotel Side Star Beach
#39 of 229 in Side
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Irem Garden Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Selenium Hotel
Selenium Hotel
#104 of 229 in Side
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Side Miami Beach Hotel
Side Miami Beach Hotel
#109 of 229 in Side
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leda Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leda Beach Hotel

Address: Selimiye Mah. Muze Cad, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Side
#75 On the Beach Hotel in Side
Price Range: £13 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Leda Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Words alone cannot describe the magic of Side. It is a unique land full of fascinating contrast where ancient and modern exist side by Side. At the same time it is a paradise for sunshine, beaches, warm sea and leisurely lifestyle. The Leda Beach Hotel situated in the most quiet part of Side, surrounded by the ancient ruins and the greens. Hotel is on the seaside, within a few minutes walk of the shopping centre and at your service whole year around. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Leda Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leda Beach Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing