We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sandra”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Side Alegria Hotel & Spa
Ranked #98 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 3 March 2012

never again the hotel ok and food paid to move to sea view £20 seems this is the norm/????

reception manger rude no one speaks english never will i go back to kumkoy

Room Tip: sea view upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rayne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2012

my partner was staying at this hotel and is there now.i phoned the hotel to speak to her and was told not without the guests permission?they refused three times to connect me.

Room Tip: avoid this place unless you speak german.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterga529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I would not reccommend this hotel to anyone english or anyone who is young, you have to be in your late 50's and be german in order to go to this hotel.
Our first day we went down for breakfast and got death stares off germans as we were wearing summer clothes we then got confronted by a german about wearing flip flops when we asked our rep and he said it was ok.
The food was the same every single day it never changed you couldnt have butter with your bread except for breakfast and there is no milk for cups of tea unless you wanted to take any at breakfast.
We then saw our rep who said that we shouldnt stay at the hotel and its not right for us and kept bragging on about istanbul. we complained about our beds as they put two single beds together but they did nothing about it.
We ended up spending our whole time in the room watchin the only two english channels which repeated programs about 10 times let just say we saw the whole series of the walking dead and bones.
Not only were the beds uncomfy there was also a night club opposite which was open til 5:30am in the morning so you will need ear plugs. Also people like to have their tvs on from 12am til 8 am in the morning so if you want know sleep bthen its perfect.
If you want the staff to speak english you have to basically pay them also they wouldnt let us use their phones to contact the transfer company when they mucked up our transfer.
we ended up walking up the road to a different restaurant to eat and it was much better we also went on a trip on a boat which was good except they didnt speak any english.
DONT GO TO THE SPA OR INDOOR POOL unless you want rashes all over your body and a turkish man to massage your bum cheeks.
Just dont go to the hotel unless you want a bad holiday which you will never forget !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jess1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Everything is brand new, feels like a business city hotel which would otherwise cost much more. Internet is very expensive and there is no WiFi available. The draft beer which is inlcuded in the All inclusive Rate is better than in most bars in my home country of Germany! A really big downside of the hotel is the very loud nightclub (which in itself is great - was surprised to see such great lightshow ) If you book this hotel get some ear plugs, the club is loud enough to sing along in your room. Very far from Side if that is important, close to the beach though

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

We booked with fleetway travel our flights was with Easy jet had good flight , if you ever book with Easy jet do speedy boarding its great.
We went to the Holiday Point and Spa Hotel in Turkey on the 6th Oct 11 when we arrived late at night about 11.30 long day, we were pushed aside and they sorted out a German family to their rooms, we had not got rooms for that night there was 4 of us, so they sent us to the sister hotel 200 yards down the road, when we got to this hotel the guy on the reception desk could not speak English, I am a diabetic and needed a drink and food, after I gave him my diabetic card and he looked it up on the computer he gave us all bread and JAM and cold drink, we stayed the night there next morning they took us by cab back to the hotel we booked so we lost half a day changing hotels.
When we got to our rooms 508 we were oppersite the local disco till 5am great, but if you wanted to chance your room to sea view it would cost and extra 20pounds each to get away from the noise.
The food started out good then the 2nd week it was the same again. Most of the staff could not speak English only German it was 98% German and only 10 English in the 2weeks we stayed. Hotel was very clean the cleaners worked very hard.
Outside the hotel there are lots of shops left and right, we walked into Side most days not a lot to do in hotel, Side was very nice , when you come out the hotel turn right you can pick up local bus into Side for 2 Lira each way.

Room Tip: Sea side is quieter but you have to pay for that 20 pounds each. Also you had to pay 26 pounds for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mavishayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hotel Holiday Point & Spa Kumkoy Side 14-22 June

Holiday Booked with Co-operative Travel Services

Flight Thomson from Gatwick, typical seats with knees to chin tried their Diabetic meal quite acceptable for a 4 hour flight.

Antalya Airport seems much larger and more civilised than 6 years ago. But major problem with the Co-op transfer system we were vouchered with Blue Taxis located outside terminal at stand 19, stand 19 closed. By luck and asking everyone in sight we were put in touch with Blue Taxis and “mini-bussed” to hotel with one other family. Later hotel staff told us how several British guests did not have our luck and paid very high taxi fares.

We arrived at Hotel Point and Spa around midnight. We were greeted by Man Friday, Receptionist / Bell Boy / Concierge smartly attired in a Red Turkish Uniform. His English was as befits a Turkish gentleman who has wintered in the cold and rain of Birmingham with his English wife was first class. One joyous language problem he thought inhabitants of Birmingham were called Yummies, I tried to explain these are sweet pastries sold by Greg’s the bakers and Brummies live in Birmingham. The bureaucracy of registration was swiftly completed Passports photocopied and our bags transported to Room 324.

A little cultural challenge the lift registered 1 for floor 3. Our room was adequate with balcony facing the main road and local disco. The bathroom was “tres petite” and at circa 00.30 had its own version of Manavgat Falls the loo was continuously flushing. Our escort suggested we reported this fault after breakfast. Having lived with a water meter at home for 14+ years I found the water waste frustrating as well as loud even with lid down and bathroom door shut. This problem persisted all holiday despite many visits from “the technician.” The loo noise plus sounds from local disco at 04.00 hours was frustrating some nights. It was very hot and air-conditioning only worked when room key was in the holder. Attempts to use credit cards all failed. Our man stood on balcony and pointed out a supermarket across the road to buy Effes at a fair price.

Room 324 had a fridge useful to keep water cold. There was a T.V never switched it on. We come to Turkey for holidays and culture not to watch TV. 2 Large single beds, slept well so must be o.k. Bathroom had hot water at all hours and a fantastic “power shower.” It must have been one of the most powerful we have ever enjoyed. Overall room was fine, better to have a continuously flushing loo than one that did not flush. Some day’s repairs worked for a short time, on one occasion it was fine lunch time but flushing when we returned at bed time.

Breakfast was all one could wish for in a Moslem country. Most days there was fresh juiced orange as a pay extra, do have change the waiters don’t. A good range of cereals, except the Sugar Puffs seemed to have sugar welded together. Beautiful fresh crusty bread carve yourself. Regret the toaster was so eco friendly the bread stayed white or original brown. There were jams, honey and butter at breakfast. Various junior chefs cooked omelettes to order, with cheese, shredded chicken, tomatoes, onions, peppers, corn and no doubt other fillings I have forgotten. Pancakes were also cooked most mornings, fine hot with local honey but a bit like concrete if they had waited long on hot plate. Many other items like baked beans and scrambled egg on hot plate. Copious supplies of fresh fruit including an occasional bowl of cherries.

Spoke to reception most days about our loo, no language problems. They very kindly phoned the Coop Rep Mr Urg from Yesil Dalyan. Mr U had plenty of English friends, a regular visitor to The North of England come winter. He was great for us. Thursday he took us to Argos Jewel Art Antalya. Where a former Birmingham apprenticed jeweller arranged for some repairs including my nearly 40 year old wedding ring, re-sized and polished, a necklace clasp replaced and many items cleaned. Mrs Templar was at last able to buy the “rubies” she has desired for so long.

We were then taken to a real Turkish Cafe that specialised in cooking spicy meat balls with fresh salad, boiled potatoes and baked onions. Washed down with a healthy yogurt drink, supplemented by a Turkish shredded coconut pastry we were also offered coffee. Many families and local police patrol car visited must be good.

Lunches at Holiday Point were fine eating by the pool outside or restaurant inside. Soup, vast array of fresh salads including marble size tomatoes, fresh while you wait cooking fish and very tasty breadcrumb chicken breast, other meats and chips. Typically Turkish array of sweet puddings covered many display units. But for diabetic Dariusdave there was fresh fruit, full flavour ripe oranges, dates and seemingly countless other treats. No problem with 5 a day here could be 10+.

Dinner it helped to arrive early or late. Food similar to lunch time plus some days cooking al fresco around the pool. Choice was always too great for us we never struggled to find food we liked. We do not travel to Turkey (10+ trips now) either wanting or expecting a Blackpool Menu {but we do enjoy Illuminations and local F & C).0

There were also priceless treats to eat around the quiet pool. An indefatigable lady cooked traditional Turkish flat breads. You could choose your filling and my favourite was simple feta cheese. She started around 11 most mornings, then around 4 in the afternoon proceeded to cook Turkish donuts, these could be coated in sugar (chocolate coloured) or honey or eaten plain. Maybe frowned upon by the Health Police back home but absolutely yummy washed down with a machine Mocha coffee.

Drinks, Turkey may be 99% Moslem but its national drink is Raki and it brews Effes. There was a small bar by the quiet pool serve yourself juice or bar staff for beer and coke. It also had a serve yourself coffee machine that produced an acceptable Mocha. Evenings spent at hotel we would enjoy a G & T in the reception bar before and after dinner served in sensible sizes glasses, see photos. There were also d-i-y coffee machine, a Turkish tea urn and juice machine.

Hotel had two pools one with slides and entertainment staff. The other outside the restaurant I call the quiet pool. Never had a problem finding a brace of sun loungers with shade, we could enjoy a restful read and dip in a pool that was kept clean. Entertainment staff let us decide volume for the 10 o’ clock ”Hi-di-hi wake up call.”

The Beach
We have loved some Turkish beaches, regret this was not one of them. This hotel beach was very popular with German guests under 50. I say this as we enjoyed the company of some Germans our own age around the quiet pool. The beach had regimented rows of sun loungers in straight lines with 2 inch (50 Euro mm) gaps, placed under a scaffold shade structure. There was a beach cafe / bar but we did not test its facilities. We did have a session with the hotel photographer taking sunset photos on Sunday evening at the beach that was still quite busy at 8 p.m. local time.

The Spa
First morning we booked and visited. First class facility, best way to start a Turkish Holiday is “the full works.” Yes we enjoyed the cleansing experience of giant foam with rigorous rub from the “camel skin” (now a man made white glove). Rec’d some robust massage on the hot marble slab, followed by the challenging anointment of our bodies with freezing cold water. Then a quick rub followed by herbal tea or water resting in the solarium.

Typical Turkish rest time, no hurry, then into Massage Room 2 wow what a full body session. The massage lasted an hour and was so good we both booked for the last afternoon to help us cope with the flight home.
Entertainment

There was a resident Animation Team, several spoke English. Yet again one had wintered with his English girlfriend “in the north.” We did not have time to sample the delights of hotel bingo or disco.

Thursday 16 June Aspendos Festival Othello (Izmir Orchestra and Operatic).
No rain 2011 a real WOW evening, Aspendos Theatre is only 1831 years old, and acoustics as good as when built by The Romans the performance worth every Turkish Lira paid was magic to our eyes and ears. This was our second visit to the Aspendos International Festival. 2011 had seats colour coded and priced with local teenage school children also coloured coded to guide us ancient Brits up and down the challenging steps.

Monday 20 July Aspendos Festival Barbarossa
Another great evening, shame music was recorded. I would dare to say not well attended theatre ½ full but we returned home Tuesday when The Vienna Philharmonic were due to play to a full house.

Friday 17 July Gloria Aspendos
This new open air theatre also offers great Friday nights “Turkish Riverdance.” It was the history of Anatolia complete with Egyptians (the world’s oldest peace treaty was between Anatolia and Egypt) and White Whirling Dervishes. Perhaps the highlight was seeing almost all the cast drumming and dancing on stage. No Noise Police here, I think all the audience of all ages loved the climax to this exciting show Friday 17 June.

Trips
1) We had a private car with Mr Urg to Antalya yes we visited a 5* Leather Warehouse. Having been subjected to watching a group of would be models, we did not buy their overpriced coats, handbags or luggage. We did enjoy walking round old Antalya and Aspendos in daylight. Remember the Centurion Actor and Camel men expect to be paid for being photographed.


2) Manavgat River, Falls and Market
Coach from hotel to Side Harbour picking up many along the way. All aboard a motor vessel, no mast no sails, for a leisurely cruise to the entrance of the Manavgat River. The sight from the sea of boats tied up to the shingle spit riverside is always amusing and a warning that our beach break is just around the bend. Regret that both sea and river after a toe test were far too cold for Dariusdave to go swimming here. Time for a drink and flatbread then back aboard and cruise into town. Transfer to coach to visit the falls that get more commercialised ever visit there is now a traders village.

I used to regard Manavgat Market as one of the great Turkish Markets. Yes it still has local produce outside with real honey. But I felt the cotton jeans and shirts, the leather handbags and belts were all expensive and the old barter and banter have gone or faded far away. Maybe I’m getting old or too many Russians paying full price first time have changed the culture. I departed with no expectation of ever returning to this market. In fact I think the Tourist shops in Kumkoy were cheaper and had better ranges of goods than Manavgat Market.

The End
We happily paid £30 yes English cash to keep our room from check out at 1100 to airport collection @1800. Late afternoon massage at The Spa then mini bus and back to Anatolia airport. Would we stay again if the price was right we would.
Footnote Return night flight awful, meal served late into flight and persons in front wanting to sleep try to lower seats no room to lower trays etc. Might I suggest airlines either fit smaller trays or have fixed seats on 4 hour flights.

Room Tip: Generously Tip the Bell Boy and Staff well speak English
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Dariusdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I will start by saying we had a good holiday despite the hotel being full of germans there was only six english out 600 besides hotel good shame most of staff could not speak english and our turkish is very limted good job my brother in law is quite good at german so we got by was not told by hotels for you about it being a german hotel and kumkoy area,room very good air con good and needed it good choise of food at all meal times as this is a AI hotel beach bril and good for small children as is very shallow also not to far to walk down hill plenty of sun beds at pool and beach over all a good time had by all . Sedi great place to see roman ruins ande good shops. trips we did were good boat trip to mangravet river bril and jeep safari good. would recommeded hopoe this helps a little

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Narcia Resort Hotel
Narcia Resort Hotel
#70 of 229 in Side
287 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dosi Hotel
Dosi Hotel
#22 of 229 in Side
306 reviews
5.1 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#21 of 229 in Side
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Q SPA Resort
Q SPA Resort
#26 of 229 in Side
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iz Flower Side Beach
0.5 mi away
Armas Bella Sun
Armas Bella Sun
#109 of 229 in Side
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Side Alegria Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Side Alegria Hotel & Spa

Address: Kumkoy Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey (Formerly Holiday Point Hotel & Spa)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Side
#70 Spa Hotel in Side
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#78 Luxury Hotel in Side
Price Range: £24 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Side Alegria Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Side Alegria Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Point Hotel And Spa
Holiday Point Hotel Side
Holiday Point Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing