We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Can Garden Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 229 Hotels in Side
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Though we were the only English people there we loved it, and being 18 I was not sure what it would be like.

The staff were so friendly and helpful, that was not only the waiters but also the Animation Team. We made friends with the staff who were always having a laugh and trying to ensure everyone was having a good time but would leave you alone if that's what you wanted. Though I think they were happy to have some English people there to talk to!!

The food was yummy and though it was similar each day there was plenty to choose from!

Our rooms were lovely and always kept clean. The pool was also kept very clean and was a nice size, though when a lot of people took in inflatables this was not as good. Also you needed to get a sunbed as early they are quickly taken up.

The entertainment in the day and in the evening was good, something for everyone, with Killer Darts, Water Gymnastics just to name a couple and the dance around the pool each day got everyone in the holiday mood.

Not only was the hotel, the food, the people there and the service great so was the area it is in. The ruins were lovely to walk around (though we only done this in the evening because in the day it was getting up to around 44 - this was in mid August) and the shops were selling lots of lovely things though as our Rep told us, its the home of original fakes!!

I would love to return next year.
A holiday enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 236 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute holiday to this hotel after doing some research about the hotel on trip advisor and we would definately recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going to Side.
The location of the hotel was brilliant. Out the back of the hotel is the private beach and literally out of the front you walk into the town full of beautiful roman ruins. The town centre is only a 5 minute (if that) walk from the hotel reached by either the main road or along beach front. The Side museum is well worth a look in as is the ampitheatre and the Temple of Apollo. All this being on your doorstep. there are alot shops - some with fixed prices but alot you have to haggle in (Handy hint from the rep start haggling at 75 % below what they ask!)
The hotel was rather easy to get lost in at the beginning of the holiday - its like a maze! But you soon find your way around! The cabin room we stayed was lovely and looked brand new. Plenty of space and always well cleaned each day (Except for thursdays). Mini fridge was filled each day with water, pepsi and sprite.
The food - especially in the turkish a la carte restuarant - was fantastic! there was always a wide range of food - you can try many different dishes or keep it simple as there were always 'plainer' options such as pizza and pasta.
The outside bar (by the fountains) was lovely to sit at night and all the bar and restuarant staff cant do enough for you.
We did a few trips with thomas cook (Definitely recommend the Perge and Aspendos trip - if you like historal/cultural trips) but spent alot of time on the sandy private hotel beach. The sun beds are free to use and the beach was gorgeous and very relaxing.
Only slight negative point about the hotel was the pool area was not very relaxing and a bit crowded with a lot of child entertainment going on - not really for us as a couple.
Had a fantastic holiday here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_and_Sammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

When we arrived at the can garden resort it was early hours of the morning and once checked in we were shown to our two rooms. it seemed like a maze twists and turns everywhere! we got to our room which was very small and basic no storage in the bathroom the bath was so high my eldery and disabled mum couldnt get in to it so we had to change rooms after only 1 night. we got told to return in the morning and they would change our rooms witch they did and couldnt have been more helpful they showed us a few rooms and we got givenb a disabled room which a had a shower instead of a bath. The second rooms wee much much better, bigger and more storage. The rooms were kept clean and towels were replaced everyday exept on thursdays.

The pool was small and the sunbeds very close together but this was not a massive inconvenience. The beach was lovely, the sea so clean and warm. The sand was a bit dirty because of people throwing ciggerett ends into it but this is not the hotels fault its the inconsiderate guests. The sea was a litltle bit rockey in some places but easy to stay away from and two days there was dolphins joining the guests for a swim. Thwe sunbeds around the pool were harder to get than on the beach.

The breakfast was for me the worst meal of the day i found the hot food was cold and the only nice thing was the wide range of fruit and cereals. The cook made fresh eggs, waffles and pancakes these were nice but sometimes cold and hard. The nmain resterant for lunch was normally what you were having for dinner so we didnt eat in there much. There was also a chicken and a pizza resterant that was open for lunch which was both nice. The pool/snack bar was very nice but it was only chips, burgers, salad, pasta, sausages it wasnt anything special. For dinner there was always somthing to eat but my dad did get served raw chicken which could have been very bad if he had not have noticed. There was a turkish resterant and a fish restarent that you have to boook into but is still free, this was ok but we were shoved in a corner with all these bushes and where it was so dark couldnt see what we were eating.

The enterainment was good, but repeted its self the second week we were there. We didnt use the kids club but they had a mini disco everynight which we saw. The animation team done activities during the day such as acua arobics in the sea and pool, shooting, darts and bowels.

We took turkish money with us but most people use euros so it might be worth taking some of both.

We had a good holiday but would probably not return, we loved our little huts but the food and some staff let it down.

Room Tip: if you dont get one of the newly refurbished rooms (brick) ask to be moved as the wooden ones are ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paige d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is not a hotel for the English, majority of tourist who stayed are German. All the food is geared up for Germans and Scandanavians no real choice for the English. The pool area is far too small for the size of the hotel and there is nothing for the 12 to 16 age group to do. A pool table would be a bonus at this hotel. Being moved from 1 bar to another is not good either and although it is all inclusive the selection of drinks is extremely limited, beer, vodka, whisky, brandy and raki. Once the bars close at midnight you cannot purchase a drink from the hotel at all, there is no music playing that you can hear in any of the bars. The staff cannot communicate with the English either. The bungalows themselves are very comfy but beware its like being in a maze the way it has been laid out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

we went as a group of 17 ages ranged from 14 to 71
the rooms are lovely and the staff are really helpful food was pleasant but much the same each day we had sunbeds as the men would get up early as they would all be taken by 8am all had a lovely time but dont think i would go back would like to try other hotels in side

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here from 23rd July to 31st July 2011, firstly I want to say that the hotel was spotlessly clean and the little bungalows were gorgeous, the whole resort is kept beautifully. OK thats all the good points done!
Seriously, one of the worst All Inclusives we have visited. There are very strict times for the meals and we were served the same meal selection for both lunch and dinner for a whole seven days. It is a tiny restaurant with around four main meal choices. It does have a large salad selection but I was still starving most nights. Dinner is served between 7-9pm, but around 8pm they just stop refreshing anything so if you are down after that there is slim pickings! There is a midnight snack available from 1130pm-midnight which we thought would be burgers or something, but no, it was a watery cauliflower soup - for the whole seven nights!!! The drink selection is the worst I have encountered, I asked for rose wine and the bartender in all seriousness pourned me half a glass of red and topped it up with white!! The rum is ok but watch the guys behind the bar because they more often than not just give you the mixer with no alcohol. We werent drinking a lot but when you pay good money for All Inclusive you expect more than a few glasses of cola. The service is also terribel unless you are German, There were a few really nice waiters but the majority were very lazy and acted like they had better things to be doing. On our first night we sat for over half an hour and had finished our starter before we were offered a drink, they then came and took our empty glasses without offering another. The bars also have weird serving times, the bar by the beach shuts at 9pm then opens again at 11pm for an hour, you have to move to another bar for the other two hours? Really annoying!
The pool is really small too, we never managed to get a sunbed round the pool area as they were all gone by 7am and there arent very many. We thought that because there is a separate kids pool with slides round by the kids club that the main pool wouldnt be too busy, we were very wrong. We actually only managed to go in the pool three times because it was full of hundreds of kids jumping in and playing. I was really gutted about this because I really look forward to relaxing in a nice pool. We went down to the beach everyday, there are loads of sunbeds there with good parasols. The beach however is crap! The shore is really rocky then about every meter in the water there are sharp rocks that just appear. My husband cut his foot, ankle and shoulder. You would try and swim or float and next minute you were hitting rocks. Really unpleasant.
Side itself was quite interesting. The hotel is centrally located and you can easily walk right round the town, eaily and safely as it is so busy and friendly. We visited teh ampitheatre and apollos temple which was gorgeous. There are the usual touristy shops and bars which are nice to look round. I reccommend the Side Beach Club where we had dinner one night and went for Mojito cocktails a few nights after dinner.
This is the first holiday I have ever had where I was quite happy to be coming home. I am not a fussy person about food and things but this place really brought out the worst in me. When you have worked all year and looked forward to a holiday, its really dissappointing to be constantly finding faults with things you expect to be fine. I could not fault the rooms, they truly are lovely and clean, as is the hotel in general. It is just the food, bars, drinks, service and pool area that let it down. I know the hotel is only rated as three star by Thomas Cook so we shouldnt have expected too much, but I can think of better ways to spend my money.
My recomendation to you is to not book this hotel but look at others in Side which looked much better. This is not good value for money, or for anyone on a coulpes holiday. We had read all the reviews on here before we went and thought it sounded great but we have no idea which hotel these people had visited because it doesnt sound like the Can Garden Beach!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank newbrideStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The photographs and the three-star rating do not do it justice. This is a clean,exceptionally well run hotel. The location is by far the best in Side,just a few minutes' steady stroll to town and directly opposite the beach. In July it is staggeringly hot. During our two weeks the daytime temperature was in the 40s.Apparently October is a good month if you don't like baking your body. The accommodation is...different. A series of brick cabins with verandahs. Sounds awful but was marvellous. There were just my wife and I , so the room was just the right size . I don't know if there are bigger family cabins. The grounds are colourful and - like the hotel - very well kept. Gardeners are constantly trimming,pruning and watering. Side is lively at night. We wanted a quiet time so we went before lunch,stopping off at cafes along the way.Step outside the front entrance of the hotel and you're surrounded by the most magnificent Roman ruins. Unbelievably good. There is a small museum (10 euros) but you can see far more by sauntering around. Believe it or not(and I still find it hard) part of the pavement is a Roman mosaic. But back to the hotel...entertainment is good, the staff are smart, courteous and ultra efficient. The food is plentiful,a good selection, far better than average.Also I recommend the barber. A great chap. Out of 16 channels on the telly, only one (BBC World) was English language.Occasionally we came across an English language film or programme on NBCe that hadn't been dubbed.But hey - who really cares about that when they're on holiday?

Room Tip: There's no really noisy part of the hotel, although I think rooms near the road may best be avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alanbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
4.9 mi away
Can Garden Resort
Can Garden Resort
#6 of 44 in Colakli
456 reviews
0.6 mi away
Side Star Park Hotel
Side Star Park Hotel
#50 of 229 in Side
207 reviews
3.5 mi away
Otium Eco Club Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunprime Dogan Side Beach
0.1 mi away
Leda Beach Hotel
Leda Beach Hotel
#101 of 229 in Side
286 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Side Star Beach
Hotel Side Star Beach
#38 of 229 in Side
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Can Garden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Can Garden Beach Hotel

Address: Selimiye Mah. Side Cad. no:102, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Side
#20 Spa Hotel in Side
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#24 Luxury Hotel in Side
#37 Family Hotel in Side
Price Range: £49 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Can Garden Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 211
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Can Garden Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Can Garden Side
Hotel Can Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing