We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Can Garden Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemas Suite Hotel(Side)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$243
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
bedfinder
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lotus Hotel(Side)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
136
61
18
15
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
61
18
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate beachuniversal languageturkeyancient ruinspool barrelaxing weekmain restaurantplenty of sunbedscatsgermansdutchholidaytellychipsshopkeepersparasolsshows
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Me and boyfriend were a bit worried after a few recent reviews so ill try and be as honest as I can.

The hotel is beautiful, spotlessly clean and in an ideal location, its on the main road into antique side which is great and at the back is the beach bar / main resturant leading onto the beach. We swam in the beach most days and I couldnt understand the reviews about someone getting hurt while swimming, it was lovely. The pool is a little small but they do stop people reserving beds before 8 and only time we went to pool we got there at 9.30 and most of the beds were still free.

Yes the hotel is mostly germans but to be honest we had many more germans saying good morning and trying to talk to us ( the little german we knew) then the few brits we saw. The animation team always made and effort to talk to us but I think sometimes I did struggle a bit with a language barrier with some of the staff.

The hotel was quite quiet and bar does shut down at 12 but they didnt seem to have any problem if u wanted to order a few drinks just before closing if u werent ready to go to bed yet, which we were quite pleased about as our room was near said bar. You can hear other bars ect on the strip but never had any real problems with noise and definately didnt get woken up at 6 by the Mosque.

The food was good buffet type foods, if you dont like turkish foods might not be to your taste but did serve chicken and chips between 2-4. We enjoyed the food but it did get repetitive after 14 nights and people did queue at evening meal opening times to get best tables (outside viewing beach). If you want a more substantial meal there are loads of fantastic resturants around if you go for a short wander. The deserts at the hotel however are amazing and recommend trying the pancakes at beach bar between 4-5. A la carte was nice but prefered resturants outside hotel.

The main evening bar was a garden with fountains very romantic. We drank mostly efes and the wine was nice the spirits did seem watered down as i ordere a vodka and coke however despite nearly half a glass of vodka you couldnt taste it. The hotel is not a party hotel so if getting drunk everyday is your idea of a good holiday this possibly isnt the place for you. We never had any problems getting waiter service but it does get busy and sometimes there was a 5-10 minute wait on drinks but if u want them straight away always option to go up to the bar and never felt it was because we were english.

The hotel is orientated at families and older couples. By the end of two weeks it would of been nice to have younger people who were british to talk too but didnt spoil the holiday. There are lots of bars near by but no real clubs nearby if you want a dance. There are lots of cats in the hotel but this isnt just the hotel its everywhere in side is if you have allergies might not be for you. Tv's also in german with a few english programs with subtitles dotted around on a nighttime but who comes on holiday to watch tv?

All in all if you want a quiet holiday I would definaly recommend this hotel, never felt so relaxed, would be ideal if we knew a bit more german to get to know people. Yes there are grander hotels near by but dont think the holiday would of been quite the same and wouldnt of changed it. Some of the other hotels are much further out so unless you want to spend entire time in hotel / rep trips beware. Yes we would consider can garden if we came back possibly not for a two week holiday as without a trip to a friends villa near by for a few days might of ended up a bit bored.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaz_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Though we were the only English people there we loved it, and being 18 I was not sure what it would be like.

The staff were so friendly and helpful, that was not only the waiters but also the Animation Team. We made friends with the staff who were always having a laugh and trying to ensure everyone was having a good time but would leave you alone if that's what you wanted. Though I think they were happy to have some English people there to talk to!!

The food was yummy and though it was similar each day there was plenty to choose from!

Our rooms were lovely and always kept clean. The pool was also kept very clean and was a nice size, though when a lot of people took in inflatables this was not as good. Also you needed to get a sunbed as early they are quickly taken up.

The entertainment in the day and in the evening was good, something for everyone, with Killer Darts, Water Gymnastics just to name a couple and the dance around the pool each day got everyone in the holiday mood.

Not only was the hotel, the food, the people there and the service great so was the area it is in. The ruins were lovely to walk around (though we only done this in the evening because in the day it was getting up to around 44 - this was in mid August) and the shops were selling lots of lovely things though as our Rep told us, its the home of original fakes!!

I would love to return next year.
A holiday enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My boyfriend and I booked a last minute holiday to this hotel after doing some research about the hotel on trip advisor and we would definately recommend it to anyone who is thinking about going to Side.
The location of the hotel was brilliant. Out the back of the hotel is the private beach and literally out of the front you walk into the town full of beautiful roman ruins. The town centre is only a 5 minute (if that) walk from the hotel reached by either the main road or along beach front. The Side museum is well worth a look in as is the ampitheatre and the Temple of Apollo. All this being on your doorstep. there are alot shops - some with fixed prices but alot you have to haggle in (Handy hint from the rep start haggling at 75 % below what they ask!)
The hotel was rather easy to get lost in at the beginning of the holiday - its like a maze! But you soon find your way around! The cabin room we stayed was lovely and looked brand new. Plenty of space and always well cleaned each day (Except for thursdays). Mini fridge was filled each day with water, pepsi and sprite.
The food - especially in the turkish a la carte restuarant - was fantastic! there was always a wide range of food - you can try many different dishes or keep it simple as there were always 'plainer' options such as pizza and pasta.
The outside bar (by the fountains) was lovely to sit at night and all the bar and restuarant staff cant do enough for you.
We did a few trips with thomas cook (Definitely recommend the Perge and Aspendos trip - if you like historal/cultural trips) but spent alot of time on the sandy private hotel beach. The sun beds are free to use and the beach was gorgeous and very relaxing.
Only slight negative point about the hotel was the pool area was not very relaxing and a bit crowded with a lot of child entertainment going on - not really for us as a couple.
Had a fantastic holiday here and would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sam_and_Sammie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

When we arrived at the can garden resort it was early hours of the morning and once checked in we were shown to our two rooms. it seemed like a maze twists and turns everywhere! we got to our room which was very small and basic no storage in the bathroom the bath was so high my eldery and disabled mum couldnt get in to it so we had to change rooms after only 1 night. we got told to return in the morning and they would change our rooms witch they did and couldnt have been more helpful they showed us a few rooms and we got givenb a disabled room which a had a shower instead of a bath. The second rooms wee much much better, bigger and more storage. The rooms were kept clean and towels were replaced everyday exept on thursdays.

The pool was small and the sunbeds very close together but this was not a massive inconvenience. The beach was lovely, the sea so clean and warm. The sand was a bit dirty because of people throwing ciggerett ends into it but this is not the hotels fault its the inconsiderate guests. The sea was a litltle bit rockey in some places but easy to stay away from and two days there was dolphins joining the guests for a swim. Thwe sunbeds around the pool were harder to get than on the beach.

The breakfast was for me the worst meal of the day i found the hot food was cold and the only nice thing was the wide range of fruit and cereals. The cook made fresh eggs, waffles and pancakes these were nice but sometimes cold and hard. The nmain resterant for lunch was normally what you were having for dinner so we didnt eat in there much. There was also a chicken and a pizza resterant that was open for lunch which was both nice. The pool/snack bar was very nice but it was only chips, burgers, salad, pasta, sausages it wasnt anything special. For dinner there was always somthing to eat but my dad did get served raw chicken which could have been very bad if he had not have noticed. There was a turkish resterant and a fish restarent that you have to boook into but is still free, this was ok but we were shoved in a corner with all these bushes and where it was so dark couldnt see what we were eating.

The enterainment was good, but repeted its self the second week we were there. We didnt use the kids club but they had a mini disco everynight which we saw. The animation team done activities during the day such as acua arobics in the sea and pool, shooting, darts and bowels.

We took turkish money with us but most people use euros so it might be worth taking some of both.

We had a good holiday but would probably not return, we loved our little huts but the food and some staff let it down.

Room Tip: if you dont get one of the newly refurbished rooms (brick) ask to be moved as the wooden ones are old fashioned and small.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paige d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

This is not a hotel for the English, majority of tourist who stayed are German. All the food is geared up for Germans and Scandanavians no real choice for the English. The pool area is far too small for the size of the hotel and there is nothing for the 12 to 16 age group to do. A pool table would be a bonus at this hotel. Being moved from 1 bar to another is not good either and although it is all inclusive the selection of drinks is extremely limited, beer, vodka, whisky, brandy and raki. Once the bars close at midnight you cannot purchase a drink from the hotel at all, there is no music playing that you can hear in any of the bars. The staff cannot communicate with the English either. The bungalows themselves are very comfy but beware its like being in a maze the way it has been laid out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews