We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first impressions of first time in Turkey”
Review of Sun Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sun Beach Hotel
Ranked #175 of 229 Hotels in Side
Reviewed 1 October 2007

As with any hotel it had its good and bad points. Room was small but clean. Mini fridge failed to work despite being reported twice. Air con was only switched on to cool for a couple of hours per day, 10.30pm to 1am, despite temps of 35 deg plus which made life uncomfortable at times. Fan worked all the time but only pushed warm air around. Web site indicated that no reservations were made for under 12 year olds however that is just for Thompson UK. Other tour operators book children but there are no facilities for children other than high chairs. The staff were pleasant enough but only a couple spoke English so there tended not to be much conversation unless you were German as the vast majority of visitors are German. This communication barrier could be frustrating when all you received was a shrug. Entertainment once per week for 30 mins and half of that is audience participation. Views from rooms depend on front or back location. At the front is a half finished hotel, used by the local tradespeople as their own hotel, and shops however from the top floors you can see the sea. At the back you overlook next door hotel pool and can watch their almost nightly entertainment. Good location, right on the sandy beach and a very pleasant walk into town and harbour along the beach but be prepared to be accosted by the local shop keepers inviting you to come and look at their rubbish. I thought the German-beachtowel syndrome was a fable but we witnessed some getting up at 6.30am to put their towels on the best located sunbeds so pack your alarm clock if you wish to gain the prize. You can sit and watch the turtles bobbing up and down in the water and the sunset is spectacular. Lots of beach bars for drinks and entertainment as well as eating out if your get fed up of eating the somewhat limited choice of food, especially at dinnertime. Across the road is the Sunset Restaurant which serves reasonably priced food which is beautifully presented and the staff are friendly and courteous. If you have a special occasion they are happy to prepare a special table for you and make you feel very special.
A number of guests experienced double room bookings and attempts were made to place couples who had travelled together in one room with the option of an upgrade to all inclusive or other perks. Be prepared to barter about this as well. A beautiful mix of ancient and modern, where the people are welcoming we will visit Side again but not choose to stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank bellydancer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2007

This is the first time I've written about any holiday so hopefully I'll make a decent job.
Ok, I've just returned from the Sun Beach Hotel in Side, myself and a mate booked the holiday and another mate booked a separate room later in the year.
When we arrived at the hotel the staff seemed friendly enough (although only one spoke any English - the rest spoke German) they noticed straight away that there was 3 of us so offered us a suite and an upgrade from HB to All Inclusive - we did decline the offer, which thinking about it later in the week was the right decision, as the hotel would have scored considerably if we'd accepted.
When booking the holiday (Thomsons) I requested a room as high up as possible with a full or partial sea view, we were given a room on the ground floor with a view of a Kebab shop. The rep 'Sarah' a nice, very attractive lady did ask the hotel to sort this on our arrival although this wasn't done until the start of our second week.
The hotel was very clean, the rooms were clean and tidy a wee bit on the small side though and not that much room for cloths, the air conditioning in the room was very poor. The room we had on the ground floor was like a small kiln.
The food in the hotel was in the main excellent, well cooked and well presented the only problem we had was the lack of choice for the evening meal. During the day they had an excellent menu to choose from but in the evenings they adopted an international buffett approach, sometime we didn't have a clue what was on offer (we prayed for chips everyday!).
The pool in the hotel is small but 1.60 metres deep, so it's fine if you want cool off after an afternoon tanning.
The hotel has terrace which is quite nice which overlooks it's own beach which obviously leads to the Sea.
I would say the hotel is not a place for children there was a 12 year old dutch girl (least I think she was dutch) she was there for a week and was desperate for someone to play with, I felt right sorry for her.
Outside the hotel there's the usual array of shops and bars, personally I would recommed the Kingfisher bar, the food is spot on and always cooked on the premsis (unlike some restaurants which don't have there own kitchens).
Myself and quite few people who I spoke with from different hotels were ill with stomach cramps and Diahorea - obviously we could've picked this up anywhere but I'm sure I picked the bug up from one of the restaurants that didn't have it's own kitchen (food is scootered in) strangly enough the one I had to look at from my balcony for the first week.
In General I had a good holiday even with being ill and the iffy room, I enjoyed the heat and chilling by the pool.
I would advise anyone going to Side ensure the hotel your going to will have food that you can/will want to eat, I heard so many horror stories of people paying for All Inclusive but what they received was very poor, again many people I spoke to thought the English were only there to fill the rooms not taken by the Germans etc, the staff on reception didn't bother with us after the first day but usually had a word with German guests.
finally If you feel the slightest bit ill, please visit the Pharmacy straight away, I put it off for 3 days (mug)..

PETER.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hentoon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2007

Great Hotel and location, private beach, swimming pool, restaurant food was good. Rooms are on the small side. In hot weather, the central air conditioning system does not make the rooms cool, and is on only a few hours each day. Hot, humid and hard to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Marshall_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Wupsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank ZandraHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank erikwesterback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Samet Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Side hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun Beach Park
Sun Beach Park
#135 of 229 in Side
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leda Beach Hotel
Leda Beach Hotel
#101 of 229 in Side
287 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Side Star Beach
Hotel Side Star Beach
#43 of 229 in Side
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
0.4 mi away
Lotus Hotel
Lotus Hotel
#133 of 229 in Side
14 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Hotel

Address: Selimiye Mah. Denizbuku Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 7330, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 229 Hotels in Side
Price Range: £40 - £849 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, bedfinder AG and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing