We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first turkish holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Asteria Sorgun Resort
Ranked #98 of 228 Hotels in Side
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first turkish holiday”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Having only visited Turkey on day trips from Greek Islands, this was our first stay in any Turkish hotel.
We were extremely impressed by the hotel, the friendly staff, the all inclusive menu, the cleanliness which was maintained throughout!
All inclusive was new to us too. What excellent value. Not only the main restaurant, but also the "outdoor lunchtime restaurant" the creperie in the gardens, the patisserie which served lovely cakes and tarts from 11am til 5pm. Our rooms had beautiful views over the wooded grounds and tennis courts-with the lovely addition of a sea view (we had 2 rooms for the whole family,) fairly spacious with nicely sized bathrooms. Our youngest party member visited the kids club, which offered indoor and outdoor activities ,including trampolines! The indoor heated pool was still open during our stay, a bonus as we had a couple of overcast days!
Nearby Side is well worth a visit a lovely little ancient town similar, we thought, to old Rhodes town. only a few minutes in a taxi 20 TL a trip or 1 tl by local bus.
Could not recommend this hotel too highly for value and service. Oh one thing, no pork products of any kind, at any time! Obviously due to religious beliefs, did not worry us but if you need your daily rashers-tough-lol.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gillslatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    69
    30
    17
    7
See reviews for
83
76
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Not the best at all, didnt see a Thomas cook rep at all, there was a number to contact if you needed anything, not good.
full of germans and dutch who feel you owe them something, they dont que they push in at the bar they are rood and bloody arrogant.
food was rubbish i thought, same thing every morning afternoon and night, if your european great as for english not a lot, chips for breakfast, runny sgrammbled egg, fried eggs oh and omlette, staff would rather speak in german and they dont try to speak in english.
small bar by the lobby, when the evening comes its full in no time and you have to que to get served unless your german.
entertainment was poor, a few groups who cant sing at all.
i was dissapointed with this hotel i have read some good reviews on here but to be honest its not the best at all. if you dont like to que and dont like people pushing in and people staring at you as if your from another planet and are fussy with your food, this Hotel is not for you.
read the bad reviews first i can tell you they are spot on..

Room Tip: as for sea view as the other rooms are at the back or front of hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

We went there for a family holiday and it was fantastic!everything was thought through by management,clean,food beyond fantastic,drinks were fine,pool was brilliant,beach was guarded...and i can go on and on and on!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed here all inclusive for 2weeks.From moment we arrived we felt welcome.Hotel grounds r beautiful and very clean.Main pool area little bit crowdy but always kept clean.great entertainment all day long good fun during the pool games.Food was great, plenty of different choices.Fish a la carte on pier fabulous.
Rooms were very clean, our chambermaid very nice and friendly making great towel and flower designs on beds every day with little presents of Turkish delights left on our pillows in tiny gold boxes.also cards with weather forecast for next few days.Hotel itself is brilliant, great mixture of nations from whole Europe mostly ,Germans, then Slovaks ,Dutch few English.No Russians tho.great for families with small children.Hotel is close to town of Side and taxi cost 3-5 euro so great for shopping or just evening walk around town.Definitely will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzannahEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a last minute deal in September 2012. The hotel is fairly isolated, however only a short bus/taxi journey from Side, which is excellent and worth a visit. Was very lucky and had excellent room at the end of a corridor with a sea view and corner balcony. Other rooms did not look so good with smaller balconies and views of a neighbouring building site. The room was nice and clean, with mini bar restocked daily.

The food at the hotel was good with a good variety of different foods, however it did get a little repetitive. The food was fresh and the chef was happy to accommodate food for my girlfriend who has a nut allergy by cooking separately. The waiters were very friendly and attentive. The amount of alcohol in the drinks was a little excessive with a single measure being probably around 75ml, so if you don't like a strong drink then make sure you ask for a small measure!

The only thing I would say about this hotel is that it is not very British orientated and the majority of guests are German. This isn't an issue, however the English of some staff members could be improved, particularly on reception.The entertainment was average, however we did not really pay attention.

We had no issues with the hotel until our final day. We were flying out very late at night and I requested a late check out when we first arrived at the hotel and was told by reception to ask on the final day. We were leaving the hotel at 10pm and was told we could only extend our room until 4pm and it would cost an additional 72euro. I felt this was an excessive charge to extend the room by 4 hours and reception advised we could use the spa facilities to shower and change in later in the evening before departure. When we arrived at the spa the facilities were inadequate, with no private area to shower or change. We then went back to the reception to ask for a room to quickly shower and change in and was told this was not possible. After a lengthly argument with the hotel manager they finally allowed us a room for 30min.

This was a good hotel for a last minute deal and had an excellent holiday, however if I was booking further in advance I would choose a different hotel and would not recommend if intending to check out late.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Rooms ok staff also ok but uniforms looks like they were made in the 80's
Stayed for 4 days with all inklusive and wanted to try their italian ala carte restaurant,standing in line to make reservation only to be told that you need a minimum of 7 days booking to eat there?? go figure??
Anyway expect 3 star experience and you wont get too disapointed

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TAP1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Booked this trip through Arke. As a package trip.

Arrival at the hotel went very smooth and rapid. Luggage was brought to the room in minutes and room details were explained. Room itself was a garden side room with sea view. Well equipped with a king size bed (although sheets were queen size) and 2 children's bed (one on top of the other). Bathroom had a bath with shower, a sink and a toilet. Nicely decorated although a little worn out. The terrace was ridiculously small and you could not sit with two chairs aside each other.

Pool was lovely, well maintained, well equipped and enough chairs and shade available (but this was off season).


Restaurants and food.

In general, restaurants are extremely under equipped (size) for the number of guests they should accommodate. Resulting in a near battle when the restaurants open in order to obtain a table. Waiting for the first wave of eaters will only provide you with an emptied and battlefield like buffet. In general the food itself was well prepared and well presented, although extremely repetitive. Even if you only were present during 1 week. The food is catered especially for german visitors, but I guess even German visitors will be disappointed in this. The above is applicable to all places were food is served. Quality of deserts was below everything.

But now comes my main concern with this hotel. After travelling for years to all-inclusive hotels of the RIU brand. This hotel was a let down. The Asteria is not an all inclusive. Yes food and drinks are served, from time to time at separate locations. Yes drinks are served in very poor glassware. (I do not like drinking my liquor out of a lemonade glass...). I do not like having to tell my daughter that she can not have a pancake at 4:01 PM because it states "untill 4 PM", etc... Result of all these time regulations is.... waiting in line. Waiting for a drink, waiting for an ice-cream etc... The whole day long. And remember this was out of season. On top of this, the main visitors of this hotel seem to originate from Germany, but without any prejudice I suspect these being mostly 'east-germans'. And these behave badly, so while waiting in line you will be surpassed continuously by people with bad manners.

Sorry but this, in se nice hotel, felt sometimes as boot camp.

Not for me anymore, thank you.

PS : staff was very rude on some occasions, although I try to remain as polite as possible. I suspect a lot of the reviews hereunder are not originating from travelers but from people trying to promote this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
0.5 mi away
Robinson Club Pamfilya
Robinson Club Pamfilya
#48 of 322 in Manavgat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Club Calimera Kaya Side
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Club Hotel Turan Prince World
4.0 mi away
Trendy Palm Beach
Trendy Palm Beach
#54 of 228 in Side
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Side
Hotel Grand Side
#111 of 228 in Side
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asteria Sorgun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asteria Sorgun Resort

Property: Asteria Sorgun Resort
Address: Sorgun Mevkii, Side, Manavgat 07600, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#73 Spa Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 475
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Asteria Sorgun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asteria Sorgun Hotel Side
Asteria Sorgun Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing