We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sueno Hotels Beach Side
Ranked #26 of 227 Hotels in Side
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but not the best”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We knew when we booked this hotel that it was off the British tour company radar and as a result we were not surprised that we were (we think) the only family from England staying at the hotel. Loads of Russians, Turkish, German, Dutch and French guests, and the usual sprinkling of rude, loud and pushy people who don't know how to wait their turn.

Our first impressions of the hotel were that it looked a bit dated and tired. The reception area in the hotel could really do with a spruce up, just to bring it into the 21st century and the main bar area just off reception was not particularly welcoming. However we had a Lake Villa Family room and this was really spacious and clean which made up for the 70s styling! Two really large bedrooms, a bathroom and spacious hall, leading out onto a large terrace and the lovely pool. We had sun on the terrace from about midday through to 6.30 and spent many an early evening chilling with a beer with the kids playing in the pool.

Pools really great. The Lake House pool is massive, with jacuzzi bays and water jets. Loungers and hammocks scattered throughout the grounds and little islands in the pools for kids to swim to and play on. Water warm enough but cooler than the main pools on other side of hotel, and I guess that October - June its probably too chilly to swim in here. The main pools (all 4 of them) lovely and warm. Cave pool much cooler, as was the indoor pool - quite nice to have a choice of temperatures!

Easy enough to get a sun lounger if you get out by 10 am, after that it got a bit tricky if you wanted a particular spot. What we really liked though was that no one bothered reserving beds at stupid-o'clock, and at lunchtime if moving from beach to pool or vice versa people took their towels and changed beds - so even if you couldn't get a bed on the beach in the morning, you knew that you would get one in the afternoon - a very different culture from the british who tend to stay in one place all day. Lots of beds under trees - very nice. We discovered a great spot at the end of the holiday up by the indoor pool and table tennis tables - hardly any people & quiet, but really close to all the pools, bars and food.

Staff - a mixed bag, it has to be said. English not spoken fluently by most staff (hardly surprising if most guests Russian!), but all tried - and had far more english than we had Turkish - and it really was not a problem. However, the attitude of staff really varied. Reception and guest services very helpful and polite. Our maid was fantastic. However many of the waiters and bar staff could be really rude, or just completely ignore you. There were of course some exceptions - and it was refreshing to come across a friendly attentive waiter! Its the first time we have experienced such poor service though, in a "5*" hotel.

Food..... this is where the hotel lost most marks from us I'm afraid. We had breakfast at the little restaraunt near the lake view villas, it was OK, just repetitive with same things on offer each day. Big plus was the freshly squeezed orange juice though (all other hotels we have stayed in we have had to pay extra).
Lunch - the "Side Street" offered lots of choice from 12.30 to 4.30, burgers, pizza, salad, potatos, pastries, fruit, ice cream, etc but even this got a bit dull each day. Pool snack bar did pizza - nice pizza, but they only did pizza and only had 2 varieties to choose from. It was OK, just not "wow".
Evening meals were the real low point. Again, food was OK, just not great. The main restaraunt was big, loud and characterless, a bit like eating in a canteen. People pushing and shoving to get to the food they wanted. Waiters who ignored you so you had to get own cutlery and drinks, but then got all over enthusiastic about clearing table, so if you left table to get dessert you came back to find all cutlery and drinks gone!!! grr!! The A la cartes were a nice change, in terms of having food brought to you, but again were pretty average. Kids enjoyed the barbecue restaraunt where you are brought a lit barbecue and a plate of meat, and you get on and cook your own dinner!! And the fondue restaraunt was fun as well.

Aqua Park slides were quite good, and kids certainly enjoyed them but we spent 3 days the first week at the slides and the second week kids were not bothered whether they went back or not. Some guests tended to get a bit boisterous and it didn't feel that comfortable, particularly later in the day, with people getting louder and being less careful about other pool users.

Luna Park was a fun diversion, with Bumper Cars a great hit with whole family. However kids decided that they would do ice skating (on the artificial rink they have) and my son tripped and managed to gouge his leg with his skate. The hotel response was fantastic, within minutes a nurse had arrived and whisked us off to the medical room, a car was organised to take us to hospital where his leg was stitched, we were brought back (several hundred euro's lighter, admittedly!) and we then had daily dressing changes in the hotel clinic until we came home. So medical care is excellent and good to know that if you do have a problem there is fab care available.

You really do need to take some time to go into Side, even if you go nowhere else. The roman ruins are amazing, especially the ampitheatre, and the houses lining the road. Shopping really good (you must ensure you argue prices down as they do try it on, bless them!!) Nice bars and restaraunts - makes a nice change from being in the hotel. Can walk there along beach in about 20 mins, or get taxi for 6 euros.

The final thing that we noticed this year is that the pound sterling is no longer acceptable currency in Turkey (other than to buy the entry visa). Euro, turkish lira, US dollar all OK (and can all be got from ATMs!).

So to summarise - this hotel has a lot of facilites and has a lot of good things going for it. It is in a good location, close to Side town, is clean and lake view family rooms large and comfortable. However we have had better food, and better service in other hotels in Turkey and this is why this hotel has scored lower than others we have stayed in.

Happy to answer any questions that people may have, please feel free to contact us.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ocobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    270
    133
    54
    55
See reviews for
612
224
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

The hotel is very nice and comfortable. Wide choice of food. Beautiful garden. Excellent place for children( pools, aquapark, fair). Funny evening animations. Only a few min. drive to Side. Beautiful historic place. Good for shopping and entertainment. Taxi 6 Euro, or dolmush. Clean beach and sea. Warm water in the pools. Helpful and frinedly staff. The only disadvantage were Russian tourist occupying the deck-chairs with towels. If you happen to come to the pool or the beach after breakfast( abtou 10-11 am) there is almost no possibility to lie. It was not fair.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mldana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slovenia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Short review about our fabulous holiday in the Sueno Beach in Side. There is so much to do here. A lot of activities and a huge amphitheatre.
Really was one of the best holidays we have had. All people are very polite.
The all inclusive package included a lot.Cant recommend this place enough!
we can say just bravo Sueno.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dakeSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2009

As students of Bogazici University, we went to Sueno Hotels Beach Side for our spring break. Unfortunately, the service and the staff of the hotel knew nothing about kindness and customer satisfaction. The drinks and desserts were awful. We were yelled at by bartenders about why we were so crowded, where they should have been happier to have so many guests around! Besides, one of the students was beaten by the security staff and had his tooth broken. Hence, I strongly advise everyone not to go to this hotel and make them earn anymore until they learn how to behave.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fbuyukkececi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

This may be unclear to foreign tourists but most of the customers of this hotel are harrassers of young women and children. Me and my friends, students of one of the most privileged universities (Boğaziçi University) in Turkey, stayed there in April 2009 during Springbreak and were uneasy about the sexual assaults on the beach side and the discotheque. The Turkish customer profile is definitely of very low quality. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, especially people with babies and adolescent children. The security guards kicked our friend in the face because he complained about the low security measures. The aqua park is unsafe and there are seldom lifeguards on the beach. Moreover, the service, food and drinks are NOT all inclusive. It's not a safe place to stay in Turkey.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C0nstantTravelleR34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Just a short review about our fabulous holiday to the Sueno Beach in Side. There is so much to do here - about 9 pools, aquapark with amazing slides, a small theme park with dodgems, sakting rink and rollercoaster, 7 a la carte restaurants (where you can dine every night if you wish), loads of activities and a huge amphitheatre.
It really was one of the best holidays we've had as a family - we stayed in a lake house villa and were spoilt rotten. The all inclusive package included international brands as well as cocktails and suprisingly lovely house wine!
Cant recommend this place enough!
The only downside (if you can call it that) is that there are not many British people here - mainly Russian. We found everyone very polite and conversation when spoken to.
Dont hesitate to get in touch if you'd like further info - this really is the only hotel I'll ever go back to again!

  • Liked — The comfy beds, food, drinks, pool, hammocks, waterpark, cocktail bar etc etc
  • Disliked — erm.......nothing really!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mshelsbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2008

This is a very pleasant all-inclusive hotel, near the town Side in Antalya Turkey, Asia.
Strong points:
The hotel is nicely decorated; Very clean; The food is really excellent; great selection and without restriction - above average.
Nice heated indoor and outdoor pools + Hammam.
Weak points:
They were trying to "save" on air conditioning, putting it on "fan" only, which made staying in the room very unpleasant, especially during daytime.
Employees are bad English speakers.
Small things:
Chairs in the balcony were very uncomfortable and the coffee was terrible.
In overall, very nice hotel. We would come back only of they stopped "saving " on A/C.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Saving on Air
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank squirrelwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Side
2.5 mi away
Crystal Sunrise Queen Luxury Resort & SPA
0.5 mi away
Turquoise Resort Hotel & Spa
4.8 mi away
Aydinbey King's Palace Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Nashira Resort Hotel & Aqua-Spa
2.0 mi away
Maya World Hotel
Maya World Hotel
#23 of 227 in Side
1,158 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crystal Palace Luxury Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sueno Hotels Beach Side? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sueno Hotels Beach Side

Property: Sueno Hotels Beach Side
Address: Ayiguru Mevki, Side, Manavgat 07330, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Manavgat > Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Side
#20 Spa Hotel in Side
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Side
#23 Family Hotel in Side
#23 Luxury Hotel in Side
#23 Romantic Hotel in Side
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sueno Hotels Beach Side 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sueno Hotels Beach Side reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sueno Hotels Beach Side Hotel Side
Sueno Hotel Beach Side

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing