We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The New Lantern Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Allegany
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
1 review
“A GEM”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

The New Lantern Motel certainly lives up to its motto, "Affordable, Comfortable, Relaxing." Jeff, Owner, and Anne, Manager, provide a spacious, clean, and pet friendly accomodation at a very reasonable price. They provide a warm friendly atmosphere when being away from home. It is truly large in value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you so much for the rave review here on TripAdvisor, Cynthia! We're all about great service and comfortable accommodations, so your kind words mean the world to us. I appreciate your business and hope you'll stop in and visit us again soon.

Till then,
Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
11
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phelps, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great place to stay, I had a group of 7 people on short notice. I found The New Lantern Motel had 3 rooms that would accommodate our group. All the rooms had new large flat panel tv's, new mattress, the carpets were freshly shampooed, there was fresh sealer and lines on the parking lot, refrigerator in the rooms and other niceties.
The owner was on premises, the manager and maintenance people were also on the premises. We saw them all in the evening, even in the rain, and we saw them again at 7 am when we got up to leave.
We stayed two days, for the price we could not be happier.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 562Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
We were more than happy to come to the rescue when you and your group were in a pinch to find a place to stay, Richard. It's wonderful to know you were so impressed on all counts! I'll be sure to pass along your praises to the rest of the team. I hope you'll think of staying with us again if you're ever back in the area!

All the best,

Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballston Spa, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We found this gem while searching Trip Advisor for lower cost options during SBU Family Weekend. We were pleasantly surprised! Our room was completely renovated from the walls out. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. The management stayed on site and were always available if needed. One small pet peeve was the morning coffee left a bit to be desired but there are plenty of places nearby. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
It's so great to hear that you would stay with us again, Jeff! We know how hard it can be to track down affordable rooms during parents weekend, so I'm very happy that you found us. Thank you for the wonderful compliments here on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Till then,
Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Jeff and his staff have done a great job redoing this little roadside motel. Prices are good. If you are looking for a quiet clean place to stay in the Alegany/Olean area you can not go wrong at the New Lantern Motel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmc1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We worked so hard on the remodel, so it's great to hear that you thought we did a good job! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us some feedback. Give us a call the next time you're in the area.

Till then,
Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Most excellent stay!.. Heard about this through the Chamber of Commerce Great Valley area.. was hesitant, but so glad we chose to stay at this new renovated motel. Ann, staff member and Jeff the owner were more than awesome. Treated us with utmost service and well taken care of. Had a small glitch in room, but was very compensated for the glitch on sunday morning.. truly best place to stay... even if you are traveling through that area...Stop IN... check this place our for the night.. you'll not be disappointed!.... Thanks Ann, good man Charlie brown and Jeff for all your graciousness and hospitality!...

Room Tip: all rooms are most excellent.. and glove tested.. so I heard.. lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perb47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Great customer service, comfortable accommodations, convenient location — that's what we're all about, so it's great to hear that we're hitting our mark! I look forward to sharing this with the team almost as much as I look forward to welcoming you back.

Till next time,
Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I found the New Lantern Motel via a Google search. I was first impressed by how clean their website is (no ads). I made a reservation the day before traveling through the area and had a very comfortable stay. The newly renovated room (incl. bathroom!) was clean and cozy. The bed was so comfortable, I didn't want to get up! I won't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We always want our customers to have a truly memorable experience, so it's great to hear that you found all of our accommodations top-notch, David. What a nice dose of encouragement! Thank you for the review and I hope you'll visit us again soon.

Cheers,
Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I saw the good reviews online & decided to stay there. We were pleased by the friendliness and helpfulness of Ron. Cleanliness and comfort were 100 percent. We both agreed that we will stay at the Lantern motel everytime we come back to visit my hometown of olean. It is so convenient to travel, and close to the casino. We stayed in room 10 and it was so nice with white bedding and spotlessly clean, nice and quiet too. The weekend was a delight! Thank you Ron and the Lantern Motel. We will be back! Jean P

Room Tip: Sorry there is no swimming pool or fitness room, but there is a swing set for the little ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austinator, Owner at The New Lantern Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Friendly service, comfortable rooms, clean accommodations — that's our game plan, so it's great to hear that we're doing a good job, Jean. It means so much to me that you'll be staying with us whenever you decide to head home. Thank you for the compliments and I'll look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,
Jeff, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Allegany
2.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Olean/Allegany
3.1 mi away
Best Western Plus University Inn
12.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Salamanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Seneca Allegany Resort & Casino
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Olean
14.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Ellicottville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Lantern Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Lantern Motel

Property: The New Lantern Motel
Address: 4004 Route 417, Allegany, NY 14706-9786
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Allegany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Allegany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The New Lantern Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're on a business trip or vacation or whether you're here to relax or have an adventure, The New Lantern Motel is the perfect place to stay. We provide a quiet country setting that is just minutes away from town.Comfortable rooms and a central location to area attractions are just some of the things we have to offer. In addition, our clean, updated rooms have quality furnishings, DirecTV, free Wi-Fi, mini-fridges, microwaves, and flat screen TVs. We provide a personalized touch – our attentive staff is always looking out for your well-being. With our many years of experience and tradition that is what we stand for.Families and truckers are welcome at our friendly and safe location. We offer convenient access to and from exit 24 on I-86. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The New Lantern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing