We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and meze in Kusadasi”

Kazim Usta Restaurant
Ranked #43 of 309 Restaurants in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best fish and meze in Kusadasi”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Kazim Usta is one of the oldest (since 1969) and best fish restaurants in Kusadasi; for me it is far the best. Location is amazing, just by the sea and Kusadasi port. Traditional Egeian Sea bass (levrek in Turkish) is amazing. All types of seafood meze (appetezirs), such as Deniz Borulce (sea asparagus), fava (mashed broad beans), calamari, octopus salad and octopus stew, midye dolma (stuffed mussels) are my other favourites. Sure you have to eat those all with traditional Turkish spirit RAKI. Bon Apetit

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bulent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    36
    16
    8
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food, beware of the price”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This restaurant was referred to us by a tour guide as having excellent food. We went there and were initially overwhelmed by the size of the menu. Our "friendly" waiter suggested he put together a plate for us consisting of fish, shrimp and calamari. We all agreed that was a great idea and couldn't get over how friendly he was. He brought out a platter showing the raw fish, etc. and we were very impressed. The food arrived and it looked and tasted very good. He was even "kind" enough to give us a free salad. There were four of us and we had one drink. When our bill arrived there was no itemization showing what cost what and our lunch ended up costing us $200. Don't order anything here without knowing the exact cost of everything you are ordering. Based on our experience and other reviews, there is clearly some kind of racket going on here. Tourists beware!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver-KCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid at all costs!”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I wish I had read other reviews before visiting.

We were also charged the mysterious "tax" (50 lire) which I questioned but they waived away my concerns. Our tour guide confirmed that this was sharp practice.

Even if you ignored the tax, the bill was circa double restaurants nearby.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalmesburyPault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honfleur, France
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most expensive place arround”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

you can find a lot of pleace for eat someting but go away there. so expensive and not tasty. you can find half price same things arround. and so bad service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice fish. Terrible service.”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

After a delightful chat with the man on the door we were handed over to Turkey's grumpiest waiter. The fish was good but the promised accompaniments of salad and potatoes consisted of 2 rocket leaves and a morsel of potato.

They added a mysterious "local tax" to our bill that we hadn't come across anywhere else in either Kusadasi or Turkey. When we queried it, suddenly it was halved. They also charge a cover (fine) and try to bring you bottled water even if you don't order it.

There are far better restaurants in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kazim Usta Restaurant also viewed

Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to Kazim Usta Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing