We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“For 2 stars it's great, I loved it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of smartline Lion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kusadasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
smartline Lion
Ranked #9 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“For 2 stars it's great, I loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Before our coach even stopped outside the hotel we could see 2 fellas outside waiting to help us with our bags. The rest of my family/friends knew the staff and owner well and were greeted with a hug and so was I. Check in was done in less than 5 minutes which is quicker than usual. Instead of paying with cash you are given a card in which your food/drinks etc will be charged to and you can pay the bill at the end of your holiday or pay it off daily if you wish.

Our bags were brought to our rooms for us ASAP. Rooms were small, spotless and towels nicely laid out. Bathroom had standard shower with 2 doors, one toilet, sink, mirror and bright light, vent. Showers on one side of the hotel have been renovated since last year. One double bed, set of drawers, small television, 1 wardrobe, side bed table. New beds and new bathrooms. Balcony was a little bit smaller than in most hotels but had 2 chairs. Air-conditioning is now free and we only had one mini fridge between a double/attached room. Drinks were around 5tl from the fridge and fridges are checked before you leave the hotel on your last day. Rooms were cleaned daily although our floors weren't washed once.

Food was nice. Breakfast (8-10am I believe) was basic with bread, toast, omelette, eggs, cereals, coffee/tea and fresh orange juice. Dinner had a set menu with usually 2, maybe 3 choices. Snack menu had a good variety of different food for during the day. Bread was always fresh and you were given plenty of it with your soup. Fresh fruit after dinner which was watermelon and melon, again, given too much to even eat. Food was always presented lovely and didn't have to wait to long for service. Bbq night (Tuesday) is always set up lovely by Taner (Chris).

The entertainment done by Jack was enjoyable. He is crazy and so energetic, seemed to enjoy playing with the kids even off stage he was happy to see them. The two DJ's were great with kids too. There were things such as Star Night, Michael Jackson Tribute, Russian Dancers, belly dancing, river dancing and karaoke. Even staff got involved to give people energy and encourage them to join in. If any of the staff invited you to go up and join in on something they'd ask you twice before leaving you alone, they weren't too persistant which was good. It stopped about 12 at latest and there was no noise outside afterwards.

Location is excellent. 20 minute walk to Ladie's beach and just a 10/15 minute walk into the centre. Dolmus isn't far and taxi isn't even a 20 second walk from the hotel yet reception are more than happy to call you a taxi to a hotel and it doesn't take a minute.

The staff are a great laugh, always happy to help and if there's a dribble left in your bottle/can they will pour it into your glass without wasting any. They made our stay a whole lot more enjoyable, very cheeky and fun. If they couldn't understand an order or something you said they'd call someone over straight away to meet your needs. When we were falling in the door at 6 and 7am coming from bar street Ozzy, the night manager, would let us into our rooms and making sure we behaved. The overnight staff didn't speak too much english but would try their hardest to please. The day staff were on their feet 12 hours a day and we their break seemed to last maybe an hour. Much thanks to Jack, Ozzy, Taner, Davut, Antonio, Ronaldo(Gokhan), Sean and everyone else. Made our stay a lot more enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dubin f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    86
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
189
130
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

alot of people on this complain about things that are not even problems! this is a great place to stay we just returned yesterday, we ate in the hotel majority of nights the food is amazing i recommend the chicken curry id go back just for that! its clean & close to the town. people are saying here you cant pay in cash at the hotel but thats untrue we payed in cash every night, the card is just an option so say if you were at the pool and didnt want to carry cash you can pay for drinks etc.. with your hotel card.. although we wouldnt go back in july we couldnt handle the heat maybe may or june.. overall a great holiday and would recommend it

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynsey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

A really relaxing holiday. Perfect for families & the entertainment was great :-) Thanks Jack!!! The food was very good quality compared to other places I had eaten. Ladies beach I felt was not great for children and was more of a sun tanning beach. I will be back to the Lion hopefully very soon :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ciara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Just back from one weeks stay in Hotel Lion. Twin rooom which was basic and small. No tea or coffee making facilities. Problems with Air con & Shower but where rectified quickly. Breakfast was included but is not worth getting up for!! (think they boil the eggs a week in advance)

The staff are lovely people!! The entertainment was OK but not great. basic like everything else in the hotel.

We ate in the Hotel on two occaisions the pizza was passable but the steaks where vile.

Good Location and the views from the front of the HOtel are FAB but the back looks out on to a residential area and it aint preety folks!!

Lots of CATS!!

This hotel is basic and a good base for getting around, good value for money but be advised that they do not accept cash and all bills are paid by Hotel card system.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms have fab views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meathfamily093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just back from here yesterday. Had room in floor 5 at side of hotel facing towards ladies beach. Great sea views and of kids pool. (requested sea view at booking, but was not guaranteed). Lovely, good clean hotel. Staff were friendly And menu food was excellent. Breakfast menu was continental between 8-10am, and omelettes/fried eggs were available. However the bar menu has cooked breakfast, but not sure when this opens as we never ordered. Everything goes onto a card and you pay at end of holiday. Small fridge in room with mini bar, though drinks are pricy, however there is a Shop next door for stocking up. No kettle etc (so take travel kettle). but coffee etc via bar.The Dolmus is a short walk down the road and costs just over 2 lira into centre or ladies beach. Coming back up the hill is a bit tough going, and the heat dosn,t help, and not suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. The taxi,s are a flat rate of 10 lira. You can walk into centre or ladies beach, but was just too hot most of the time and our even our fit 8 year old was suffering.
We didnt go to any of the entertainment offered every night as went into town for food and shopping, but it was very busy and everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves, and there appeared to be a lot for kids of all ages to do. During our stay most families with kids were Turkish and they were very friendly. (English school holidays hadn't started yet, unlike Scotland, and we did fly from Manchester).
My only complaints would be the pool entertainment was in the kids pool/area and aimed at adults eg water polo, volley ball, darts and stretching. The adults got quite competitive in the pool games and kids couldn't play near them incase they got hurt, which left them with little space to play in, and during these times the water slides were switched off. They should have done more for the kids as they kept requesting the goals and net be left for them to play the pool games. The music was also was very loud and again this was at the kids play area.
The hotel food was very good and reasonably priced. We found the best food was Sunset restaurant far end of ladies beach and Casablanca near the mosque at the bizarre. The day at
Aqua fantasy was great. We didn't book through the rep as cheaper at ladies beach, although I always find when you do this you take a risk. I only did it this time as the water park was close by. The coach had a very slippy small ramp on the isle that made a few people slip on entry, the tyres were getting bald and some people had a short ride standing until they switched to another. Coming back we couldn't get a seat and eventually we were put on a company bus which dropped us off, but the suspension was gone on this bus. The saving was £16, but as I always in the past have found you take a risk. The rep will have a bus which is safety approved and there won't be transport problems. Years ago I went to Ephasus from another resort and we switched to another bus on the way back which we had to wait for and some people had to sit on wheel arches and the floor for the hour and a half journey back as the coach wasn't big enough, and complaining in a foreign land is pointless.

Room Tip: Request a sea view at booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JACS033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We went in August 2011 and we had wonderful time,we were made so welcome and the staff were so friendly they made our holiday.Food was lovely and the pools were great. All in all absolute great holiday well recomended

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here in June 2012, this hotel was great breakfast which was great.really nice very clean great staff always ready to help with anything,very good entertament will go there again and again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KIRAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#3 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO Marina Suites- Adult Only
0.4 mi away
Lavista Boutique Hotel
Lavista Boutique Hotel
#23 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
2.0 mi away
Amara Sealight Elite
Amara Sealight Elite
#11 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Lion

Property: smartline Lion
Address: Mehmet Isik Cad. No:2 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi, Turkey (Formerly Club Hotel Lion)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kusadasi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing