We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant place to stay”
Review of smartline Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
smartline Lion
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Location is quite good-short walk from Ladies beach or the town centre. If you are too lazy to walk, you can always take a dolmus to either and it only costs TRY2 which is about 74p each way!

The evening entertainment at the hotel was brillant-something different every night except for Saturday which is their rest day. During the week i was there, they had break dancing, belly dancing, bingo nights, Turkish nights, comedy nights, etc. I was picked as a volunteer for one of the shows and it was great fun.

I was on half board and the food was good: Turkish breakfast or cereal in the morning between 8-10 am and then a buffet dinner between 7:30-9:30pm. Drinks at dinner cost extra and they have a card system where you use the card instead of cash, and then you can settle the debt on the cash each day or at the end of your holiday. Chicken and beef featured nearly every single night, although there was one day where they had fish.

The room i was in was quite basic. Despite being a lone traveller, i was given a room with 2 singles. When i asked if i can change rooms, i was told they were fully booked. I also asked for a seaview but ended up with a view of the streets which was not that pleasant to look at. I assume i didnt get my seaview due to booking only one month before my holiday. This was a minor issue though.

The hotel also gives facials, massages, etc but this comes at an extra cost. I haven't used them myself but had a friend who had a massage and said it was good.

The hotel staff were really friendly and were a lot of fun. They could not have been any nicer. When our coach tranfer to the airport came to pick us up, about 5 of them came out to help with the luggage for all the guests leaving that day and to wave us goodbye, which was really sweet.

Ladies beach was a bit of a disappointment as it was overcrowded and there were a lot of smokers who also left their cigarette butts on the beach. I went to the beach in Millipark which was a lot nicer and there was hardly anyone there. To go to the beach at Millipark, you have to take a dolmus to the centre and then change their onto another dolmus. The people in the centre were really helpful-if you tell them where you want to go, they will point to the right dolmus to get on.

There are various vendors on Ladies beach that sell day trips, activities, etc. I went on the Ephesus tour and also quad biking. Both were really fun. Just be careful you look around before buying and dont pay too much. Most of the time you can bargain down the price, esp if you are going in groups.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RedRose6865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

We chose this Hotel for the second time and it did not disappoint. The staff were professional respectful and very welcoming. The choice of well kept pools helped to ensure we were relaxed, sitting in the shaded open plan dining room with stunning view was a a pleasant contrast. The food selection based on Turkish cuisine was the best quality. We found the location good being between town and Ladies beach, a 15 minute walk either way, or a quick ride on the regular dolmetsch (bus). There is also a Taxi rank only feet away. We would not think twice about repeating our stay again

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

I spent a week here in September 2012 with my 2 young children (9 mths and 5). When we arrived I didn't like the look of the place as it looked very basic. We were met at the door and our bags carried in for us. Check in was quick and we were brought to our room. The room was very very basic, very small but clean. Travel cot for my daughter was not in great condition. I asked to be moved to a bigger room and was obliged but again very small and basic. Bathrooms in both rooms were much more modern than the rest of the room and looked to be recently refurburished and i think doing the rest of the rooms would have been a good idea. They were cleaned every day with clean sheets and towels. There are 2 pools and split levels. The lower pool is the kids pool it has great water slides for the kids but as it is on the lower level and there is no lift it makes it difficult to get down the steps with a buggy. Both pool areas were small and in September it was fine but i would imagine is very cramped in the height of the season. Also there was music played from the pool bar at the kids pool and although it was great to have the music it was extremley loud and I had to ask for it to be lowered a few times.

Breakfast was very basic with no hot breakfast supplied. Food otherwise was fine. There is af large menu and it is reasonably priced. The hotel operates a card system for paying for food and drink in the hotel. Basicly you top up this card in advance and then use it to pay for food and drink. Soft drinks and crisps are expensive in the hotel. Also there is a mini fridge in the rooms stocked with drinks but they are expensive also so we removed them and stocked them with our own rinks bought cheaper in the shops around the town. There is also a small shop just out side the hotel.

It is not too far to the town centre about a 10-15 min walk. I dont really like to walk usually but it is a nice walk down but not recommened to walk back as it is all up hill. A taxi back cost about 5 euro. There is nothing around the hotel so every night we walked into the town for dinner as there were some lovely restaurants which served nicer food than the hotel.

The staff here are lovely and do anything they can to help. They are excellent with the children and I can't parise them enough. Entertainment was ok but nothing to rave about. I would go back again.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view otherwise you are looking into an alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my wife from the 6th - 19th September 2012
On first arriving I admit I did think the hotel looked abit basic (this was after a long day travelling at 11pm at night) but after a good nights sleep and fresh eyes in the morning I soon realised that the hotel was alot better than I initially thought.
The room was spotlessly clean and big. We booked a twin room as were told by Thomas Cook this was all that was available due to us booking this holiday last minute but on arriving we were pleasantly surprised to find it actually had a king size bed and a single bed in it. The bedding and towels were changed everyday without fail throughout the 2 weeks we were there
The bathroom was very modern and clean and we had hot water throughout, and the air con in the room was free (after reading reviews before we went we were expecting to have to pay for this)
The pool was very big and clean and had lots of sunbeds around it so no worry about not being able to get one,
There was also a separate pool for children downstairs with 2 big slides (also available for adults to use and we and others regularly did use them) which meant families tended to sit around the bottom pool and the top pool was a child free zone.
The hotel is very well situated it is right in the middle of ladies beach (which is not just for ladies) and the town centre.
You could walk to either in 20 mins or if you were feeling lazy you could also jump on the dalmus at the bottom of the road which was 3-4 lira for 2 of us (£1-£1.50 in english money) and these run approx every 5 mins, They beep as they drive past you to see if you want to get on so no waiting around at bus stops and they run til just after midnight.
The hotel staff were all very welcoming, very helpful and made the holiday. They could not do enough for you they always made sure you were happy and had everything you wanted and would come and sit and chat, play cards, etc with you but kept away when you were eating.
The entertainment was good, drinks fairly reasonable with alot of choice, and lunch and evening food was also very good, lots of choice and reasonably priced the only thing I could really fault was the breakfast could have done with some fruit and yoghurt to offer abit more variety. (It was a traditional turkish breakfast although they did offer to cook eggs or omlettes for you free of charge)
I would definately go back to this hotel as is it perfect for what we wanted and it would be good to see the staff and regulars again that we made friends with during our stay.
I can see why this hotel has such a good reputation and why people do go back year after year.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have a sea view and have the sun on the balconies all day, the rooms on the rear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank emma g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel between the 12th and the 22nd of September 2012. Firstly I would like to thank the staff for all their help helping us to arrange a return flight as we had to return home early unexpectedly. During our stay we found the staff to be polite and helpfiul throughout our time in the hotel and we had no issues with the service.
The hotel is rated two stars so we were not expecting anything more and were happy with this. The room was cleaned and beds made each day, the air condition was free which was a bonus and once we realised that the door to the balcony had to be closed before it worked, we found it worked well.( this may be worth remembering!). The shower worked well and was hot enough in the evening but as the water is heated throughout the day from the sun it's worth remembering there would be a shortage of hot water in the morning.
The breakfast was traditional Turkish but they would cook omelette, scrambled and fried eggs on request at no extra charge. The snack and main meal menu had a good choice and of a good quality and reasonably priced.
The entertainment was varied with traditional Turkish evenings consisting of belly dancing etc as well as bingo. Pool tables and table tennis are also available to use free of charge.
The swimming pool was a good size and clean and the second pool was also,and had two water slides. There was an additional smaller pool with a play slide for small children. There were plenty of sun beds available around the swimming pools to use and the bar and amenities were close by.
The bar had a good choice of drinks and reasonbly priced with good measures of 'Raki' and other spirits. It stayed open late as you would expect so this could create some noise for people wanting an early night. Unfortunately some people were noisy when returning to their rooms late in the early hours, but you can't blame the hotel for that! We went later in the season expecting there to be less children as they would of returned to school, but there were some noisy ones up late at night!
Overall the hotel was average and as we only paid £325 each for our two week holiday we can't complain!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gray66-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff , quickly taken to our room which was clean and pleasant , with maid cleaning everyday , fresh towels and linen ,meals and menu were fine , although would have liked fresh fruit at breakfast , a good variety of evening meals , all staff were friendly , helpfull , polite and good fun , pool area was large and always very clean and tidy , there were pool games if you wanted to participate , we had a very nice relaxing holiday and would definately return here .

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank curlysue306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We have been back to the same hotel many times, any i have no complaints about anytime that we have been there, Firstly the hotel is gorgeous, clean and very near to town.All staff members are very friendly and would go out of there way to make you happy, they are funny, and always try and get you involved in everything. Gokhan, Taner , Davut , Sercan were our favorite and would love to see them all again next year, very easy to get along with, and are bound to make you laugh.
The pools are great, always clean and are safe, there 2 slides great fun and the kids are bound to enjoy it. Theres 2 pools downstairs a kiddies one and a medium size one which all the pool activities are held.Great fun, but could get just a bit more people involved to give it that extra atmosphere. There are 2 pools upstairs again, one kiddies pool, and one slightly more deeper.
The food here is to die for, a little bit pricey but the portion sizes make up for it:) The card system is great, as you don't have to carry cash with you, and you can just pay the bill when you leave.
The entertainment at night is absolutely brilliant , we always make it back to watch it as its great fun and very funny, they change it every night, so that you don't get bored of the same things. Tuesday nights were brilliant- BBQ night! The food is gorgeous ( as always) and the Turkish dancing, and entertainment is fab! We loved watching it, and taking part in everything that they made you do.
Overall a brilliant holiday, and cant wait to go back next year to see everyone and see beautiful kusadasi. A big thank you to Yalcin, Sibel, Ozzy and all the staff for making our holiday one to remember... see you next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 155 in Kusadasi
525 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO Marina Suites- Adult Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Kusadasi & Golf
0.8 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#49 of 155 in Kusadasi
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Lion

Address: Mehmet Isik Cad. No:2 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi, Turkey (Formerly Club Hotel Lion)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range: £39 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Lion is a small and cosy hotel located within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The hotel has a pool area with pools for all ages and offers a variety of activities. smartline Lion also has a buffet restaurant and a gym and spa. The hotel offers a total number of 60 rooms across 6 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your smartline Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing