We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK, good value, but not brilliant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of smartline Lion

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kusadasi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
smartline Lion
Ranked #10 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“OK, good value, but not brilliant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

The entertainment at night consists of a disc which is repeated every night with the exact same songs, loud, boring and annoying for all. All the time you are trying to eat your evening meal there are flashing lights and the music is so loud, PLAYING THE MUSIC LOUDER AND LOUDER DOESN'T MAKE THE ENTERTAINMENT BETTER!!!!!! Most nights the entertainment consisted of clips from "You Tube" which we found very annoying. Breakfast was very very poor if you don't like eggs you are going to be hungry, eggs every day which is frustrating because you can pay for a full Irish/English breakfast if you want one, so they have bacon & sausages etc to make a decent breakfast. The evening food was very good but repetitive and chips every night with every meal. They have a card system where you can charge everything you buy to it and pay it later, on occasions the barmen try to charge customers for drinks they have not had so check your receipt every time, the bar manager "Antonio" could not be ruder without lessons, he decided that every time there was any football match he would ensure it was on the TV and everyone had to watch it or at least hear it as it was so loud. The cleaners were very good and did an excellent job, the rooms were cleaned every day and we got clean towels daily and clean bed sheets every two days. Maintenance was very good, we had a problem with the hairdryer which was resolved within the hour. The view from our room was OK, being at the back of the Hotel we had a view of the fairground. The Club Hotel Lion is not for families or people with walking difficulties as there is nothing for children to do and the Hotel is on steep hill, there are no other bars or restaurants around the area and you have to get a taxi or dolmus into Kusadasi or to ladies beach if you want to go out for a drink.

Room Tip: For the sun get a room on the back, for a pool/sea view get a room on the front but no sun till late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    86
    34
    16
    8
See reviews for
189
130
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is advertised as family friendly, the kids pool is very good however that is were it ends.
The kids entertainment at night starts at 9 pm! to late. which consists of a disco which is repeated every night with the exact same songs loud boring and annoying for all. As for the adult side the evening entertainment was o.k however if you want an early night with your children forget about it, the music is so loud at one stage the windows were vibrating in our room, we had three rooms located at different levels front and back and we all had the same issue, not ideal when your trying to settle your children for the night, PLAYING THE MUSIC LOUDER AND LOUDER DOESN'T MAKE THE ENTERTAINMENT BETTER!!!!!! Breakfast was very poor if you don't like eggs your going to be hungry eggs every day which is frustrating because you can pay for a full Irish/English breakfast if you want, so they have rashers sausages etc to make a descent breakfast. The evening food and bar food was good but repetitive. On 4 occasions the barman "Chris" tried to short change myself or my wife when challenged he rectified the mistake quickly, painfully obvious what his game was he tried this trick with all our group, the barman "Antonio" could not be rudder that is if you were a man, he was very nice to all the women in our group, its hard to relax on your holiday when the barman is hitting on your wife.the G.M was excellent an asset to the hotel lucky to have him, also the barman/waiter "Dave" was brilliant honest hard working guy, great with the kids also. The rooms were clean but there was holes in the sheets!! The view was good.
The Club Hotel Lion needs to review its staffing policies urgently.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teeandcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Stayed at the club lion 16th till 23rd October, our 2nd visit this year and booked up for a 2 week stay in august :-))) this is the first hotel where I can say it feels like home, you feel so comfy there nothing is any trouble for any of the staff or management there they are all great. Rooms cleaned everyday, clean towels everyday. Food lovely only breakfast abit limited!!! Can't wait to come back next year love the mohammed family xxxx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lon, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Turkey is such a beautiful country, me and my family my parents and 2 brothers normally go and my older sister and brother join after. Family have been going to the hotel since the 190's and every year we go back to the same place without hesitation. The owners are lovely as we know them very well. Hotel is lovely and clean never seen it once fail to impress up.The 4 pools are lovely 2 kiddie ones and two more deeper ones which is perfect as you can choose which one you feel more comfortable in.The card system is brilliant as you can pay of what youve spent at the end of the week and for us the end of our holiday.The staff will do anything to make sure your happy and will go out of their way to help you. Gogo (Gokhan) Chris( Taner) and Oguz is our all time favorite and we defo want them to all be there for the rest of our visit to this hotel as they remember us and are very sweet in helping us with anything, The whole of the staff and owners make us feel like family every time we visit which is such a lovely feeling..The entertainers this year was so lovely Ken and Aj the loveliest couple me and my family have ever met. Its ashame that they will not be there next year as they are starting to move on from entertainment and hopefully carry on life as a married couple.We wish them all the best. The hotel is definitely worth going to, never have anything to complain about. Thank you to Yalcin, Sibel, Ozzie, Gokhan, Taner , Oguz ,Kenan , Ece and the rest of the staff... hope to see you all again next year . Much love xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is at the top of the hill from the Alibabum, opposite the small supermarket.
We went in there on the off chance of getting a meal, we had arrived in Kusadasi about 9pm and were staying in a family apartment, and just wanted some where local to eat after all the travelling,
We didnt know if we would be allowed in as we were'nt residents, but we tried it. and explained to the Receptionist we had just arrived ,she was very friendly and helpful, she said it would be ok to have a meal, in there, the bar staff were also very helpful.

The meal was a buffet, we were told to go and help our selves, and keep going up if there was anything else we wanted.The buffet was first class a good assortment of salads, goulash,chicken, casseroles,rice ,and variety of sweet, and fruits.Juices.

I think the family that run it were Columbian, again also very friendly they tried to get everyone involved in the entertainment especialy the children,also they done bingo
.
Cannot comment on the hotel itself as we werent residents,, but what we saw and had was very good,The meal wasnt expensive it was about the same as in the town, but you could go and help yourself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucytravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Dear club hotel Lion,

Thank you for having us to stay st your hotel! We visited 2nd-9th October and met some lovely people who were also on their holiday. We used the hotel as a base, clean comfortable rooms with all mod cons needed. Shower was sometimes temperamental but what we expected when we chose to shower at 8am and 7pm.

Swimming pool and slides were good, very cLean and we enjoyed sunbathing out next to the pool on many occasions.

Food was served at 7.30pm and there was always one thing to eat.. Appears very geared up to tourist by serving fresh bread, salads, chips, rice, meatballs, pasta, chicken etc!! We enjoyed eating at the hotel but found the breakfast choices limited.

Housekeeping staff were friendly and efficient, always left our room row high standard with freh towels.

Entertainment team amen and Aj for us made the hotel.. They provided lots of entertainment .. We particularly enjoyed the sketches, bingo and fire show. They were great fun and took an interest in our holiday, always greeting us with our name,. They even hugged and waved us off at the end of our holiday, they were hard working and tried hard to offer great entertainment, THANKS GUYS!!

Bar staff and reception friendly. The cutest little pup came along with owners .


This hotel is located on a hill. We enjoyed walking everyday to ladies beach, pigeon island and the Center. No more than a twenty minute walk each way!! Dolmuses were great 1.50TL each way and at the end of the road. Location wasn't a problem for us but we old appreciate that it could of been difficult for others. We did 5 excursions through SUNDIAL on laides beach- they offered us great rates and always picked us up and dropped us off at our hotel. We recommend visiting pamukale!! ( 3 hr coach ride away but the most beautiful of places I've ever visited, natural pools which were very warm to Bask in, natural roman ruins !!


Lovely corner shop next to hotel which sells lots of useful things.


Thanks again!!

Kelly and Paul

Oxfordshire

Room Tip: Ask for a room over the pool. We were on level 5 as weaker for it and had a beautiful sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed for one week and have just got back. The hotel was everything we could have asked for and more. Food was plentiful, tasty and the menu changed daily and there was a wide choice for both breakfast and dinner. Every member of staff was friendly, helpful and eager to help in any way. There was also great entertainment every night. We had a room overlooking the pool (worth trying to get for the view) and I can guarantee the pool area was cleaned and tidied every night. This is a 3 star hotel with a 5 star outlook and we would recommend it to anyone we meet and I know through chatting to other guests both during and at the end of our stay they would too.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool have great view. Give Ladies Beach a try...walk or bus...and have a lovely da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#3 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO Marina Suites- Adult Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
0.4 mi away
Lavista Boutique Hotel
Lavista Boutique Hotel
#23 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Kusadasi
Ramada Resort Kusadasi
#15 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Lion

Property: smartline Lion
Address: Mehmet Isik Cad. No:2 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi, Turkey (Formerly Club Hotel Lion)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kusadasi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing