We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week holiday”
Review of smartline Lion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
smartline Lion
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1 week holiday”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just back from week holiday in lion hotel been going to this hotel for many years and once again staff never fail always make the holiday a delight barman Eddie and his cousin are gonna be great this summer they are so polite and professional Ege and ken are just the most sweetest people you will ever meet management are just the best and very professional the staff at this hotel never fail to make my family and I have a very enjoyable holiday in the process of looking for another holiday to cum back would 100 percent recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bozyigit123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yalçın a, Owner at smartline Lion, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
thank you for your good comments. Both the hotel management and all the staff would lıke to welcome you back to the Club Lıon hotel ın the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    89
    35
    16
    8
See reviews for
191
141
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Have been visiting hotel for 20 years and never had a bad holiday. Excellent entertainment, food, and staff. Yalcin, Sibel and all the family are so welcoming and helpful. Cant wait to go back and see them all again. Shirley.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

HOTEL: Stayed half board as cheapest deal at time of booking even compared to B&Bs and self-catering hotels. The meals were help-yourself buffet style. Breakfast o.k - usual Turkish hotel breakfast - hard boiled eggs, meat slices, cheese slices, occasionally omelettes. Evening meal very good - varied hot meat dishes and good selection of salads, chips, rice, pasta, occasionally freshly cooked stir-fry. If no option any night for veggies the chef could normally rustle up something if asked (I also noticed children getting chicken nuggets and chips specially cooked some nights). On arrival bar staff seemed unusually subdued for Turkey but brightened up later. Reception staff were extremely helpful with directions etc; manager, and owner were always polite. Room maids were fab - a real credit to the hotel!! They were extremely friendly and polite. Rooms were cleaned every day with clean towels (normally sculptured into swans or elephants which developed into a silly competition between us!!). Small charge for safe located in reception. Free aircon. Hairdryer not bad. Two good sized pools - clean with plenty of loungers. Make sure you ask for a pool/sea view!
NEGATIVES: Smoking allowed inside hotel and the dining area was constantly smoke-filled and stinking. Fish tank in reception requires improvement/enrichment.
LOCATION: Excellent location on a quiet street just off the main road (left out of hotel then right towards resort centre). Pleasant walk by the sea or plenty of local buses. Feed the stray cats outside and pat the friendly local dogs on the way! (we spoke to a lovely Turkish lady living opposite the hotel who thanked us for feeding the cats as she tries to look after them and takes them to be neutered). Turning right out of the hotel leads through a quiet residential area with a couple of local supermarkets and steep hill walk down to the resort centre. The main markets are also this way. We got lost though! Lots to see in main resort. Large selection of restaurants, bars, stalls and shops. We particularly enjoyed Lisa's Bar and Sean's Karaoke Bar. Youre night can be as quiet or noisy as you like. 'Bar Street' for younger adults had become quiet during our stay (Late August/early Sept). There are narrow backstreets to explore with a wide range of more traditional style bars and restaurants. Everyone friendly with the usual enthusiasm and cheerful banter (one of the reasons why we often visit Turkey). There's loads to explore in the resort but still highly recommend taking driving licence and hiring scooter or car and spend a day at Altinkum; also recommend visiting Sirince with its market and restaurants; and a quiet hidden gem of a beach at Pamucak Dereli Motel/Restaurant/Campsite near Ephesus. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed Kusadasi because it offered a mix of old and new/ both touristy and traditional. Whilst sat people-watching in the bars we met a lot of lovely and interesting people from all over the world. We didn't notice any sudden influx of visitors from the cruise-liners. It certainly didn't spoil our time there and didn't seem to increase prices.

Room Tip: High pool/sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PollyPocket74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I was here from the 25th-5th October. Me and my Partner came for 10 nights, after being dropped of about 9 at the hotel, they had food waiting for us, had all the waiters carry in our suitcases. The top pool is quiet but the bottom pool has music and entertainment. Food is not the best but can be nice some nights. Beds are a bit hard but still comfortable. There are lots of activities to do at the beaches, jet skiing, quad biking, horse riding, water parks, don't book them through Thomas cook though, the best place to book is along ladies beach. Kusadasi had a market on a Tuesday and Saturday, one was fruit ect, and one was clothes. Some parts of it was like a bootfair. The Turkish will always try talking to you and get you look in your shop, I know it sounds rude but just ignore them, when bartering don't go to low as you will offend them as we found out lol. The place felt like home, they has a photographer who takes your photos at sunset. we got along really well with the staff... Ken and AJ, Dave and Antonio.... I don't know why people are getting rude about him saying he is rude.. i'm 21 years old with my 24 year old partner, and he was a great laugh!!! Hotel staff are great, cleaners are great. only downfall is that when you get of the bus (forgot its name) the hill is quite steep in the heat. Best holiday ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holli-Breeze1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yalçın a, Owner at smartline Lion, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
thank you for your excellend comments. Both the hotel management and all the staff would lıke to welcome you back to the Club Lıon hotel ın the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I totally forgot about leaving a review about this hotel, even though this holiday has never been forgotten. Me and my boyfriend had visited this hotel in Kusadasi in October this year and with all the good reviews, we were completely excited. However when we arrived the atmosphere was bitter, boring and not very welcoming and the receptionist was very arrogant. The hotel was unclean, looked like a building site and displayed a fish tank that appeared to have not been cleaned out for years (poor fish). The staff were sleezy, rude and had little manners. They was not very professional and certainly had no idea about hospitality or good customer service, most of the young waiters spent their days chatting up young and old english women instead of providing good services. The hotel room was extremely noisy and prevented us from getting sleep, every night. The food was crap, with no vegetarian options available but chips and salad. Even for the meat eaters there was not a very good choice especially for what some holidaymakers had paid to stay at this hotel. This hotel/holiday was that poor we had to spend extra money to travel to Marmaris for the rest of our holiday and had even complained to Thomas Cook to have this hotel removed from it's listings. If you are a desperate young/old english women looking for love, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The entertainment at night consists of a disc which is repeated every night with the exact same songs, loud, boring and annoying for all. All the time you are trying to eat your evening meal there are flashing lights and the music is so loud, PLAYING THE MUSIC LOUDER AND LOUDER DOESN'T MAKE THE ENTERTAINMENT BETTER!!!!!! Most nights the entertainment consisted of clips from "You Tube" which we found very annoying. Breakfast was very very poor if you don't like eggs you are going to be hungry, eggs every day which is frustrating because you can pay for a full Irish/English breakfast if you want one, so they have bacon & sausages etc to make a decent breakfast. The evening food was very good but repetitive and chips every night with every meal. They have a card system where you can charge everything you buy to it and pay it later, on occasions the barmen try to charge customers for drinks they have not had so check your receipt every time, the bar manager "Antonio" could not be ruder without lessons, he decided that every time there was any football match he would ensure it was on the TV and everyone had to watch it or at least hear it as it was so loud. The cleaners were very good and did an excellent job, the rooms were cleaned every day and we got clean towels daily and clean bed sheets every two days. Maintenance was very good, we had a problem with the hairdryer which was resolved within the hour. The view from our room was OK, being at the back of the Hotel we had a view of the fairground. The Club Hotel Lion is not for families or people with walking difficulties as there is nothing for children to do and the Hotel is on steep hill, there are no other bars or restaurants around the area and you have to get a taxi or dolmus into Kusadasi or to ladies beach if you want to go out for a drink.

Room Tip: For the sun get a room on the back, for a pool/sea view get a room on the front but no sun till late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel is advertised as family friendly, the kids pool is very good however that is were it ends.
The kids entertainment at night starts at 9 pm! to late. which consists of a disco which is repeated every night with the exact same songs loud boring and annoying for all. As for the adult side the evening entertainment was o.k however if you want an early night with your children forget about it, the music is so loud at one stage the windows were vibrating in our room, we had three rooms located at different levels front and back and we all had the same issue, not ideal when your trying to settle your children for the night, PLAYING THE MUSIC LOUDER AND LOUDER DOESN'T MAKE THE ENTERTAINMENT BETTER!!!!!! Breakfast was very poor if you don't like eggs your going to be hungry eggs every day which is frustrating because you can pay for a full Irish/English breakfast if you want, so they have rashers sausages etc to make a descent breakfast. The evening food and bar food was good but repetitive. On 4 occasions the barman "Chris" tried to short change myself or my wife when challenged he rectified the mistake quickly, painfully obvious what his game was he tried this trick with all our group, the barman "Antonio" could not be rudder that is if you were a man, he was very nice to all the women in our group, its hard to relax on your holiday when the barman is hitting on your wife.the G.M was excellent an asset to the hotel lucky to have him, also the barman/waiter "Dave" was brilliant honest hard working guy, great with the kids also. The rooms were clean but there was holes in the sheets!! The view was good.
The Club Hotel Lion needs to review its staffing policies urgently.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teeandcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 155 in Kusadasi
481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
0.8 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#12 of 155 in Kusadasi
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO Marina Suites- Adult Only
1.4 mi away
Hotel Goldenday Wings
Hotel Goldenday Wings
#14 of 155 in Kusadasi
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Lion

Property: smartline Lion
Address: Mehmet Isik Cad. No:2 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi, Turkey (Formerly Club Hotel Lion)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kusadasi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Lion 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Lion is a small and cosy hotel located within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The hotel has a pool area with pools for all ages and offers a variety of activities. smartline Lion also has a buffet restaurant and a gym and spa. The hotel offers a total number of 60 rooms across 6 floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your smartline Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lion Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing