We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fisherman's cafe

Fisherman's cafe
Ranked #219 of 289 Restaurants in Kusadasi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: This is a very traditional cafe where the fishermen eat, it is above the fish market in Kusadasi which is very near the Cruise ship entrance. The nearest listing I can find on Google is Starbucks. To get there you face the fish market and then take the green steps to the right of the market. If you can put this on I will write a review and post some pictures. I think TA clients would love to know about this cafe, but I do not think the owners would have a website or listing. Good luck trying to find it.
North Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2011

Rather disappointed in this place. The locations in lovely if you get a table by the windows. Visited on a Sunday afternoon and the place was extremely busy with tourists and turkish families, not sure we saw any fishermen though. Had sauted mussels, sauted shrimp and a chicken shish. All were nice but prices were approximately the same as other restaurants in the port.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank puddletink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very turkish and lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We ate at Fishermans Cafe after reading the forums here. Sadly we chose the first day of Eid to eat here and the place was absolute bedlam. We were one of about 3 tables of tourists so you can imagine how many turks there were. We managed to nab a table by the edge for the view and we ordered shrimp for me, calamari for the bf and we both had baked mushrooms with cheese (we had wanted the mush to start but it all arrived at the same time). The place was so busy but we were looked after well and the food was really delicious. We didn't have the courage to order a whole fish sadly but everyone else round us seemed to be enjoying it.
We were conscious that we were eating on a prized table and there was a queue to we didn't stay very long but really pleased we got to experience somewhere that the locals obviously love.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prettygurrly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenmare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh seafood, great value and plenty of locals eat here too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

I was on holidays with my partner and a friend and we strove to find good food, where locals eat and not a tacky tourist in sight. All along the Marina there are many fancy looking places to eat but you just know by them that they are over priced ourist haunts. So we went up the stairs over the loca fish market - now don't be turned off by the entrance or the lack of English on the menu on the street - both good signs in a tourist area if you ask me. Up the stairs you sit in an area overlooking the fishing boats and enjoy the simply prepared seafood, that's fresh, tasty and GREAT value. We enjoyed it so much that we returned again later inthe week. The Sea bream and sea bass are fablous. Also had calamari which were so so sweet. Go up those steps and enjoy!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty turkish cuisine at an affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

My boyfriend and I visited here having been disappointed with another restaurant down by the Marina on our search for some good seafood. We ordered the fried calamari each with fries, got a complimentary salad and a huge basket of freshly baked bread and we ordered a half bottle of Raki, the local drink with a large bottle of water. All of it came to just TRL40.00 which is the equivalent of around €17.00 or less. It is a place where all the locals go to eat and is still undiscovered by tourists. You can even buy fish from the market below and ask the staff at this restaurant to cook them for you to your liking.
It definitely serves great tasting seafood, good service, friendly staff and excellent value for money and has a view over the Marina and Harbour that is breath taking.
Also it's worth mentioning the nearby Guverte restaurant which can be accessed by going to the left of the fish market and up the steps, instead of to the right of the fish market and up the steps for this restaurant offers more formal dining and equally great food and service but is a bit more expensive.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caro_CoLouth_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
341 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Simple Food at Tremendous Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

Do not be put off by the entrance as this restaurant is a hidden surprise. To the right of the fresh fish market in the centre of the fishing port you will see, coming and goings up a flight of steps. At the top walk right to the end and you come into the central dining area. If you get a window table [and there are plenty] there is no better 5 star view,
Simple dishes, fresh fish cold beer and prices so low you think you were in Turkey 10years ago.

  • Visited July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rftu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fisherman's cafe also viewed

Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
Kusadasi, Aydin Province
 

Been to Fisherman's cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing