We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very faded elegance”
Review of Kismet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kismet Hotel
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Kusadasi
Truro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very faded elegance”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Kismet for three nights. Our experience was similar to other reviewers. I wonder what is happening with this hotel? While it clearly has a storied past and the most amazing and immediate view of the sea, this hotel has fallen into serious disrepair. The "garden" along the driveway was overgrown with weeds, the pool was not open (and it was hot while we were there), the tennis court had no net, the terrace restaurant was closed for "renovation" although there was no work going on, the stairs and railing down to the dock are falling apart. Our room had an incredible view but the mattress was very uncomfortable, there were (very) dirty towels left in our room from previous guests, the bath drain was corroded, discouraging bathing and the smell of exhaust permeated our room all night although it was hard to locate the source. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing seemed fresh.
There was hardly anyone staying at the hotel. On our last night we may have been the only guests, despite the fact that it is quite a large place. The hallways were long and dark. We felt as though we were staying in a haunted hotel. We heard a rumor the the place was on the market. Perhaps that is why it is being so neglected. The setting is lovely and if someone invested a large sum into a renovation, it could be lovely. It is hard to imagine what the proud family that built this hotel would think if they saw it now. We would have left after one night if this had not been part of a prepaid tour. Definitely the worst hotel of our stay in Turkey.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    47
    38
    29
    17
See reviews for
32
73
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A big draw of this hotel is its origination from a granddaughter of the last sultan. I had a great conversation with the bartender of the last 30 years, Osman, who filled me in on its history. The location is spectacular overlooking the water and town. The young woman clerk at the desk, who grew up in Baltimore, was divinely helpful. The public areas of the hotel are very impressive.

As noted elsewhere, our room was more sterile than we were used to inTurkey. More like a Holiday Inn. But definitely serviceable.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaymundoO95959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here as part of a church "steps of Paul" tour and were rested and refreshed. The pool was one of the best infinity pools I've ever been in! Plus, you can always hop into the Aegan Sea if you fancy. Breakfast buffet was ample and as varied as any international buffet plus a few our the tour group learned how to make Turkish coffee with the implements at the buffet. It was our fault for not requesting two twins to be made into a king bed or at least a queen bed during the whole trip. And if you happen to have them do your laundry, tell them not to put any softener in the clothes. Would return for a longer respite.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here while on tour but only got to stay one night here but made the most of it!!! The Aegean sea is beautiful and easy to get to from the hotel and there are swimming pools outside too and beautiful view!! I was very pleased with my room and it had a tub with jets like a jacuzzi!!! I enjoyed the hotel restaurant food as well. The staff were very friendly and I would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting this area, it is well worth it!! This hotel is worth five stars!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a tub with jets especially after a long day of touring, it's worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
204 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

I have known Kismet Hotel since my childhood. It always been an admirer of its location and style.It is managed by a classy family and therefore the hotel contain lots of class. The view is great, swimming is great, service is great ant the food is great. Rooms might need some renovation.

Room Tip: Don't miss it, the only place to go in Kusadasi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Istanbulapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at Kismet for two nights on our trip around Turkey. Magnificent location, well maintained gardens, attentive staff. However, rooms are somewhat run down. Decor may be a bit dated, but even that will be OK, providing everything else was in good warking order. We had leaky shower, that couldn't be fixed easily, so we just put up with it for those two days. Warming drawer would be a more appropriate name for a fridge. There is free internet access in a lobby, but you have to be a very patient person, it is super slow.

One can see, once upon a time it was upmarket place and it still retains its charms, shame there is no one who want to bring it back to its former glory.

Location, as mentioned before, is brilliant. There is a small private pier. We admired our view from the balcony and loved evening drinks in the bar on the terrace with the view on the harbour.

Drinks in the bar are quite pricey, but not too far away from the hotel, there is a shopping mall and a supermarket, you can get beer and wine there.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea. Every morning we stood on a balcony enchanted with the view. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindenleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I visited this hotel as part of an escorted tour. There was no place for the bus to park near the entrance, so we had to walk up four flights of outdoor steps to get to the lobby. Several people in my group had difficulty with stairs, but only one person was given a ride to the lobby in a golf cart. The room was average, but the bed only had a fitted sheet and a bed spread; no blanket, no sheet. I made the mistake of eating the salad in the hotel's restaurant, and I vomited all night. It didn't help, either, that I ran out of toilet paper and there were no spare rolls in the room. Just stay away from this place - for your health. The next morning I went to the breakfast area for something to drink, but there was nothing - no juice, no water, no tea.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFlautist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kusadasi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.0 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 154 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#24 of 154 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Suhan 360 Hotel
Suhan 360 Hotel
#29 of 154 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
#42 of 154 in Kusadasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#54 of 154 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Hotel

Property: Kismet Hotel
Address: Gazi Begendi Bulvari No 1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 154 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kismet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing