We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best years passed”
Review of Kismet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kismet Hotel
Ranked #60 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Reviewed 8 June 2013

While the position is magnificent, the staff very courteous if not part of the original staff, and our room in the newer section very comfortable, it must be said that the obvious lack of maintenance lets it down. Having to use the " services" entry does not create a good first impression. The breakfast was very average starting with orange cordial for juice but rescued by the fact they actually did make toast! I would have loved to stay there in its heyday which unfortunately is past.

Room Tip: Ask for new section with ocean views
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annrob_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for Kismet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

This is what the hotel writes in their own introduction however without the remark “ bygone”. The Jewel of The Aegean may have been true in the glory years of the 60s and 70s when most likely there wasn’t any other hotel in Kusadasi . Part of this glorious times can still be recognized in the front garden, the entrance the reception, the bar, the main restaurant and the breakfast room which are nicely decorated, maintained and equipped with antiques, comfortable chairs, sofas and the like. No wonder that at that time many celebrities have visited the hotel because its location on the hill of a small peninsula overlooking the Aegean Sea is just stunning. And this is what we enjoyed most. However there are in the meantime many things which are not so “ Grandeur” anymore and don’t fulfil the requirements of a 4 or 5 star hotel. To make a long story short we are listing what really disturbed us since we really felt that the pretentious expression of dealing with the own issues of the hotel makes the guests feel like living in a hotel like 40 years ago and we can only recommend to employ professional international staff to overcome these shortcomings. These might be small things but not for a hotel with such high self esteem. We are living in Asia and this would not happen in most Asian countries and may be this is the reason we are more critical.
The Wi-Fi is either not working at all or extremely slow. The first night we had no hot water but the reception just informed us that we have to switch on the tap for 5 or 6 minutes and the warm water will come. It didn’t. The next morning after trying again they finally sent a technician. Very funny: to open the hot water one has to shift the tap lever to the right and not to the left. Everywhere you have to push it to the left. How can one know? In the shower it was the other way one has to shift it to the left! Difficult to control the water temperature.
The lights in the bathroom are not sufficient; it is dark. The room itself is only about 5 sq. but completely new and clean. We found no spare toilet paper, no tissue box with facials, only two small tiny pieces of soap and one very small bottle of shampoo and one with shower foam. The room itself is also newly renovated with only 22 sq. plus the entrance of about 3 sq. However since there is only a queen size bed, a small writing desk without electrical outlet and a chair it still looks spacious. The floor is PVC laminate and so are the wardrobe and the writing desk. A mini bar is built in but no drinks except 2 small bottles of mineral water. The next day they were not replaced and we were told that only the first night the water is complimentary and the other days we have to pay for the water. There are no hot water facilities for preparing coffee or tea and definitely no complimentary tea, coffee, sugar creamer etc.. Also the rooms have no safety locker box. There is also no information about the hotel facilities, no prescription of the services they offer, room service menu, magazines or touristic information; there was just nothing. We also missed the fire escape route which you will find in any hotel. Pretentious! The best is the balcony overlooking the garden and the sea. It has however no light.
The garden furniture in the front are partly heavy damaged and in the back the garden area is badly maintained.
The tennis court had no net and no fence around and balls fly directly in to the sea. The obviously newly built pool had no water. The hotel was filling it on the last day of our stay.
We had stayed before in other hotels in Turkey, but never had such a poor breakfast buffet than here. The dinner buffet was average and nothing to report home. The price per night for half board which we forced to accept and could not choose just breakfast, is USD 260.00 which we had booked well in advance without knowing a.m. shortcomings and problems.
Generally our reviews of hotels are quite short but this time we had no other choice but to write a lot and we haven’t even mentioned all critics.

Room Tip: If you want to stay there choose a room with view to the front garden, the sea and the marina.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetgelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is adequate but feels dated. We were housed in an older wing, where the room decor felt like it hadn't been updated since the 1970s. The lumpy mattress and old-style bathtub bear this out. The room featured a nice balcony and a view of the Aegean Sea. Staff were also very courteous and professional. Restaurant food (dinner and included breakfasts) were unremarkable, laundry service was exorbitant (roughly $5 to wash a t-shirt). The chairs in the pool area were old and dirty. Biggest flaw for us: it's far from the heart of town. Yes, it gets you away from the tour ships, but it meant we never really saw Kusadasi. Overall, a middling experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Branden55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Kismet for three nights. Our experience was similar to other reviewers. I wonder what is happening with this hotel? While it clearly has a storied past and the most amazing and immediate view of the sea, this hotel has fallen into serious disrepair. The "garden" along the driveway was overgrown with weeds, the pool was not open (and it was hot while we were there), the tennis court had no net, the terrace restaurant was closed for "renovation" although there was no work going on, the stairs and railing down to the dock are falling apart. Our room had an incredible view but the mattress was very uncomfortable, there were (very) dirty towels left in our room from previous guests, the bath drain was corroded, discouraging bathing and the smell of exhaust permeated our room all night although it was hard to locate the source. Breakfast was adequate, but nothing seemed fresh.
There was hardly anyone staying at the hotel. On our last night we may have been the only guests, despite the fact that it is quite a large place. The hallways were long and dark. We felt as though we were staying in a haunted hotel. We heard a rumor the the place was on the market. Perhaps that is why it is being so neglected. The setting is lovely and if someone invested a large sum into a renovation, it could be lovely. It is hard to imagine what the proud family that built this hotel would think if they saw it now. We would have left after one night if this had not been part of a prepaid tour. Definitely the worst hotel of our stay in Turkey.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A big draw of this hotel is its origination from a granddaughter of the last sultan. I had a great conversation with the bartender of the last 30 years, Osman, who filled me in on its history. The location is spectacular overlooking the water and town. The young woman clerk at the desk, who grew up in Baltimore, was divinely helpful. The public areas of the hotel are very impressive.

As noted elsewhere, our room was more sterile than we were used to inTurkey. More like a Holiday Inn. But definitely serviceable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymundoO95959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed here as part of a church "steps of Paul" tour and were rested and refreshed. The pool was one of the best infinity pools I've ever been in! Plus, you can always hop into the Aegan Sea if you fancy. Breakfast buffet was ample and as varied as any international buffet plus a few our the tour group learned how to make Turkish coffee with the implements at the buffet. It was our fault for not requesting two twins to be made into a king bed or at least a queen bed during the whole trip. And if you happen to have them do your laundry, tell them not to put any softener in the clothes. Would return for a longer respite.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here while on tour but only got to stay one night here but made the most of it!!! The Aegean sea is beautiful and easy to get to from the hotel and there are swimming pools outside too and beautiful view!! I was very pleased with my room and it had a tub with jets like a jacuzzi!!! I enjoyed the hotel restaurant food as well. The staff were very friendly and I would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting this area, it is well worth it!! This hotel is worth five stars!

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a tub with jets especially after a long day of touring, it's worth it!!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#24 of 155 in Kusadasi
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marina Hotel&Suites
Marina Hotel&Suites
#50 of 155 in Kusadasi
141 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#22 of 155 in Kusadasi
1,001 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 155 in Kusadasi
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
#44 of 155 in Kusadasi
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Hotel

Address: Gazi Begendi Bulvari No 1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range: £59 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kismet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing