We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel with Great Ocean View”
Review of Kismet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kismet Hotel
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel during our tour of Turkey. The rooms were new and clean, and the breakfast buffet was ample. It is a leisurely 1-2 mile walk along the yacht basin/beach to the center of town. Highly recommend the hotel to all!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dendreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2009

Kismet Hotel is wonderful. I'd read some negative reviews about the hotel after we booked for our Aug/Sept 2009 stay. My gut instinct told me to stick with the original reservations and I am GLAD WE DID.
The hotel is situated on the water on the edge of town in Kusadasi. It is quiet, lovely and peaceful. The grounds are gorgeous and there are lovely flowers everywhere. Our corner room provided a lovely view of the ocean.
There is a tennis court, pool, and a private pier/"beach". The staff members are kind, courteous and completely professional. In fact, this group is the most helpful hotel staff I've ever encountered in Europee, and elsewhere.
Kusadasi is similar to any Mediterranean or Aegan city or town, except it is a bit larger in population. It may be crowded in high season but so is everywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SullyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Dated, stuffy, living on past glories. Who's interested in ancient photos of past personalities? In our room we could get no hot water into the dangerously deep, stepped bath. Our guide agreed, but was initially then duped by a 'handyman' turing on the cold (instead of hot) water to demonstrate that tap and shower did work! Turned by me to hot resulted in a shrug of the shoulders! Both tap and shower gave no more than a trickle of hot water and the bath edges were filthy. Fantastic views from outdoor restaurant tables - marina, distant cruise ships etc. Pool was a walk away, down the drive. Sea bathing was from a concrete jetty, several metres below a concrete terrace, several metres below the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

I stayed at the Kismet with my husband, son and parents earlier this month. At best, I would give this hotel 2 stars. When we walked in, the reception area reeked of smoke. After checking in, we preceded to our rooms - the elevator did not work and the halls were unairconditioned. After opening the door to the rooms, I almost decided to search for a new hotel. The only reason we stayed was that I did not want to go through the hassle of switching hotels. The carpets were filthy, the sheets had a thread count of no more than 9 and one dingy towel was alloted to each guest. I was disappointed but thought, let's go to the beach bar, get a cool drink and enjoy what the hotel has to offer. As noted in other reviews, the beach and pool are not that convenient but not a big deal. What was a big deal was the lack of service, the lousy snacks and the broken furniture. The views were lovely. I wish I could have said the same thing about the bathrooms. The next morning, we had breakfast at the hotel. Flies were all over the food and I continued to see the same large mountain of dirty butter set out each day. The only saving grace of this hotel is watching the sunset over the harbor from the terrace each evening.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CAETennessee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wfe and I stayed 3 nights last month (14th/17th) in this hotel which we selected for its location.
We felt everytime we intereacted with the staff (perhaps with the exception of the bar staff) that we were bothering them.
Upon check in, we were assigned a twin bedded room when we had reserved a room with a large bed. We mentionned it to the bell boy who carried our luggage and he started to put the bed together. There was dust under that had not been cleaned for quite some time. great impression on arrival!
The view from the bar is fantastic and so is the sunset from the hotel. The hotel has a certain english character in design but sadly the service is inexistant and bordering rudeness especially for breakfast! We were amused by a sign which was placed in the breakfast room next to a tip box.
Also the orange juice tasted everything but orange. Actually this was true almost in all the hotels we stayed in during 19 days. Quite appalling when you think that Turkey has some of the best oranges!
In spite of the terrible service, one evening, we attempted to have dinner at the restaurant and we were told we had to wear proper attire!! We were having drinks at the adjacent bar for the past 3 nights in the same attire!!We ended up having dinner in the nearby free standing restaurants. One last thing the pool is very nice but a 10 minutes walking distance from the hotel. The service there is also inexistant. During the 3 days we were there, there was no attempt whatsoever by the barman to sell us any drink!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The garden and setting high on the hill overlooking the sea were wonderful. The room was spacious and clean. The pool area is lovely and new, although a bit of a walk from the main hotel. There is also an area of private beach and a tennis court overlooking the sea. I would describe the hotel as a little dated and stuffy but the setting and location could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petalPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

This hotel has been in its peninsular location since the late 60s, built where the owner's summer house was formerly located. The public areas have been well maintained, but the bedrooms and bathrooms need updating. It is surrounded on three sides by water and the views onto the water, looking throught the beautiful gardens, are exceptional. We were given a large room, with a sitting area and two balconies, looking over the lovely picturesque harbour. The atmoshpere is nostalgic, with many old items in the public areas, possibly from the family's original home, alongside family photographs and those of various celebrity guests. We felt that the reputation of the hotel, based upon celebrity guests and its location, meant that not all that much of an effort was felt to be needed by today's staff. They have a beautiful tennis court, but couldn't supply racquets or balls for guests. The bathrooms need a makeover. Lots of the bedroom furniture dates from the 60s and needs renewing. This lovely hotel deserves more of an effort.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laviniannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.4 mi away
Lavista Boutique Hotel
Lavista Boutique Hotel
#24 of 156 in Kusadasi
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
0.2 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#27 of 156 in Kusadasi
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 156 in Kusadasi
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#23 of 156 in Kusadasi
862 reviews
7.9 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kismet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kismet Hotel

Address: Gazi Begendi Bulvari No 1, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range: £72 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kismet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Atrapalo so you can book your Kismet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing