We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting...but dated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Kervansaray Kusadasi
Ranked #70 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting...but dated.”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Kusadasi is definitely the place to stay if you have a night over while visiting Ephesus. And if given the choice, why not stay in a Castle! The positive reviews on tripadviser and hotels.com led us to the Club’s castle walls, right along the waterfront. The "free valet parking" quickly took our car, and a bellman ushered our luggage inside. The courtyard is something to see, even if you are not staying the night. Beautiful Turkish rugs hung from the balcony and there was plenty of seating in the sun and shade. The receptionist was very friendly and worked with us as we wanted to move from our 2 twin bed shoved together to a queen size room.
Handicapped people be advised - all rooms are on the 2nd level and the steps are marble and at least a foot high. Thankfully the staff brought our luggage up to our room!
Most reviews called the rooms "of Ottoman" style - we'd just call them dated. There was picture of Jimmy Carter visiting from the late 70's on their celebrity wall - and we are not sure they have redecorated since! The mini fridge was stocked full of moderately priced goodies from free water to wine, beer, and raki! The AC worked like a charm on the hot sweltering day. Not sure how long the three Turkish delights on dresser with toothpicks in them had been there, had Jimmy Carter left them behind? The best aspect of the hotel was the tables and chairs outside each room. You could easily spend your afternoon/evening sipping Turkish tea or wine and watching the coming and goings of the courtyard.
Tuesday - Sunday they have a Turkish performance with dinner that looked cheesily entertaining, but alas, we were there on a Monday night. The location of the hotel is perfect for strolling along the waterfront and up to the Fortress on Pigeon Island.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    35
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 673 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

In days of Yore, in the Middel East, travelers banded together for mutual defence against bandits. Such a band of travellers was called a 'caravan', and there were speccial places for them to stay at night. These fortress-like inns used the generic name ‘caravanserai’ (spelt several ways and also known as Kervansaray, Fondouk or Han). They typically consisted of a massive outer wall two-stories high which surrounded a vast internal courtyard. The pack animals stayed in the internal courtyard while above then was a wide verandah that gave access to individual guest rooms. The name ‘caravanserai’ alone suggests safety, and that’s exactly what Hotel Kervansaray (also called Club Kervansaray and Club Caravanserai) in Kusudasi suggests to your eye when you arrive there … because this hotel was originally a real Ottoman caravanserai built in 1618, with massively thick walls and a unique atmosphere all its own. It reeks of age and romance, yet it has been fully restored and modernized so that anyone lucky enough to stay here will be comfortable and safe inside its walls.
Please note: this place uses several different spellings for its name ... probably as a cunning ploy to get mentioned several times in guide books and websites like TripAdvisor. It even has different spellings on the outside of its building ... (See my photo below, and also see my other review of this place on TripAdvisor under the name 'Club Caravanserai'.)

Kusudasi itself is a popular tourist port (for tours to Ephesus and Pammakale, etc) and so it has enormous cruise liners packed with travelers arriving every day. As a result, the town is usually crowded, the shop owners are often rapacious, and the local drivers are sometimes homicidal. While I was there, two English women staying at Club Kervansaray went for a walk. They stepped onto the ‘zebra crossing’ outside the front door to cross the road … and were immediately run down by a Turkish driver who failed to give way! The drives sped off without stopping. True story.

Luckily for those women, the Hotel Kervansaray staff saw it happen, and raced out to help. The women were carried back indoors and treated for shock and bruising. You have to stay very ‘situationally aware’ when you stay in Kusudasi. But you’ll be safe inside Club Kervansaray.

You’ll also be treated well. The hotel has a good breakfast served in the courtyard each morning (the staff try very hard to please you, but the results are sometimes amusing, especially when serving breakfast) and in the evening it is converted into a rather good outdoor restaurant. The hotel offers free wifi, and the guest rooms have en-suites and are not big but quite comfortable. I was amused by the small window in our room which was carved through nearly two meters of wall to reach the outside light. That’s part of the experience of living in a fortress. So is the front entrance: because the road surface outside has risen almost two meters since 1618, and thus the front door is two meters below ground level today. You actually go down some big steps to get inside the huge front doors, which again is not helpful if you’re wheeling heavy suitcases.

This is where the helpful staff comes to your help again. They rushed out to help carry my bags down the steps and inside through the front doors to reception. They also came in useful when it came time to get up to my room. The hotel has no lift, and the two old staircases from the courtyard to the upper floor have very large steps … but the staff happily hoisted our bags up them without a blink.

I also liked the hotel location, which is almost on the waterfront. To see the waterfront, you walk out the Hotel's front door and across the road (watch out for cars when you use the zebra crossing!) Then turn half-right and you’ll see a small plaza with the town Fish Market on the other side. Above the fish market is a great little local restaurant called Balikcilar Kahvesi which means fishermen’s café. It has a good view of the fishing karbour and serves good seafood at cheap prices. It's open 24/7. Around the little plaza are other restaurants. Turn left from the hotel front door and you pass the Cruise Ship terminal and walk along the waterfront to Pigeon Island (aka Bird Island) at the end of a short causeway lined with charter Gulets. There are some good views and interesting ruins on this little island.

Club Kervansaray also has a side door which leads you out to the start of the shopping streets of Kusadasi. The only thing to remember here is ‘Bargain like mad’, because the shopowners routinely ask double the real price or more. A fake watch might be marked as 150TL, but the real price for these Chinese copies is closer to 15TL. Try to bargain for that price!

The only disappointment I felt at the hotel was noting that it contained a Carpet Dealership. Is there anything in Turkey more crooked than a Carpet Dealer? I avoid them like the plague, and finding one in my hotel is akin to finding a rat in my bedroom.

But apart from that, I recommend this hotel. If you are into the romance of travel, you will absolutely LOVE staying here. It’s unique and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This hotel is an original Ottoman Karavanserai built on the Silk road. The hotel uses the original rooms which have been completely updated to include (small) ensuite, TV and a very welcome tea making service. The rooms were clean and the staff helpful, but because it is an original Karavanserai you will have to walk up the stairs to get to your room if you are on the upper level.
There is a wonderful courtyard where we were served an excellent breakfast (including bacon which was almost unheard of anywhere else I went in Turkey).
We were not there on the "Turkish Night" so enjoyed a peaceful night's stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noosh03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

The hotel building is magnificent and is an opportunity to spend a night in a historic location. The room was nice and clean with a silent air conditioning and able to maintain a comfortable temperature during the night. Located near the port and surrounded by a huge amount of restaurants and shopping. At night there was a "Turkish nights" show in the hotel courtyard around which the rooms are situated. it is impossible to sleep with the noise, but finished at 23:30 and was therefore not a real problem.
It is reasonably easy to reach by car. Parking is on the staff of the hotel upon delivery of car keys.
The hotel staff unlike all the other experiences we had in Turkey is professional but not friendly. Do not make us feel truly welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonio P S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Located on the main Ataturk Road, right opposite the port and next to the bazaars-- this hotel is quite a find.
The building is more than 300 years old and the old doors bear testimony to that.
At the reception, you'll find pictures of famous people who've visited the hotel-- Jimmy Carter being one of them.
We lived here for 3 days in March. Gets a little cold here at that time of the year (and the rooms and building being old, the heating takes a while to work completely). But that was the only glitch.
Staff is helpful and the place if good value for money.
I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kavzchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We really loved the hotel, it was an interesting and picturesque place to stay right in the heart of Kusadasi. We were using it as a base to visit Ephesus. The town is basically lots of tourist shops and restaurants for the cruise ships. The room was very clean and comfortable- not huge but big enough. The staff were very pleasant and responsive to requests for more pillows towels etc. The internet was fine - we had the modem right outside our room. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts in the courtyard and sitting outside our room overlooking the courtyard. The only problem we had was the noise from the events in the courtyard which happened on all 3 of the nights stayed. The Turkish night was very good we watched it from the balcony. But it was very loud until after 11.30. The other two nights were wedding parties - interesting but so loud we couldn't even watch TV in our room. Again lasting until midnight with clean up noises until after 1am. If you like to be out late this wouldn't be a problem but if you like to relax in your room in the evening you should check the events schedule before you book a night here.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mljardaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I stayed at the hotel Kervansaray with my boyfriend for 3 nights at the beginning of October. We booked through a travel agent as we got a slightly better rate than we would if we booked directly through the hotel website.

We found the hotel pretty easily as we had looked it up on Google Maps prior to travelling, so that gave us an idea of where to find it. It's also quite distinctive as it seems to be the only historic building in its immediate area, which makes it stand out a fair bit. There are a lot of inexpensive hotels in Kusadasi and the Kervansaray, whilst not being particularly expensive, is not the cheapest option by a long shot, but the reason we picked this hotel is its heritage - it seemed a shame to pass up an opportunity to stay in a building with such history and character. I'm glad to say that our expectations we certainly met and we were reassured that we'd made the right choice as soon as we saw the hotel. It's breathtakingly beautiful and (usually) a lovely oasis of calm in a fairly busy and touristy resort.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff at the check-in desk, who sent two other members of staff to get our bags and take us up to our room. Each room has its own name - our room was called CiCi, which apparently means 'pretty' in Turkish. The room itself was nicely decorated in a very traditional looking style, but with modern amenities such as TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free internet (ask at Reception). The bathroom was also nicely decorated and very clean, with a decent shower and plenty of space around the sink for toiletries and such.

I should note that, as with most hotels, the pictures displayed on the hotel website do make the bedrooms look massive, which ours wasn't. It was a decent size and we certainly didn't feel restricted, no complaints at all about it, but it's just something to be aware of if you're expecting or require lots of space.

On our first night at the hotel there was a wedding reception going on in the central courtyard, which did cause a lot of noise even in the room. We're not early-to-bed sorts so it didn't bother us, but it might cause problems for anyone hoping for a quiet early night. We were getting ready for going out and your could hear the bass of the music thumping in the room. It was still going on at about 10pm when we went out, we stopped to watch the dancing for a little while from our balcony, which was brilliant and felt like a little peek into Turkish life. Every other night we were there was very very quiet , so what you get just depends on what's going on when you stay there really.

Breakfast at the hotel was really lovely (continental) and was served to us at a table in the courtyard. You can also have it served to you at the table outside your room, overlooking the courtyard.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a bit more character than the normal hotels in the area can offer, and who doesn't mind if a bit of music is playing on an evening. We didn't really rate Kusadasi, it was far too much like a British seaside resort and offered little in the way of Turkish culture. We took it with a pinch of salt and had a laugh about it for the most part, but I dread to think how we would have viewed it if we had stayed anywhere other than the Kervansaray, which brought some much needed character to our stay in Kusadasi.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#56 of 153 in Kusadasi
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
#18 of 153 in Kusadasi
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Efe Boutique Hotel
Efe Boutique Hotel
#48 of 153 in Kusadasi
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sozer Hotel
Sozer Hotel
#67 of 153 in Kusadasi
212 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ilayda Hotel
Ilayda Hotel
#23 of 153 in Kusadasi
301 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 153 in Kusadasi
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Kervansaray Kusadasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Kervansaray Kusadasi

Property: Club Kervansaray Kusadasi
Address: Ataturk Bul. 2, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Ottoman Caravanserail built by Okuz Mehmet Pasha in 1618.The hotel has been furnished to meet present day needs, whilst preserving all the typical characteristics of a Caravanserail- two floors, two entrances and spacious courtyard.The club Caravanserail has a mystical atmosphere, decorated in the style of its oririnal architectural design.25 special rooms, 50 beds, 1 suite.Free Wireless internet connection available in all rooms.Each authentic room has a pravite bathroom and direct dial telephone.Outdoor resturant(350), Banguet facilities, snack bar, pravite garden.24 hrs ADSL internet, free for costumres, VIP internet room magic internet.Situated in the heart of Kusadasi town center, 100 meters from the harbour and 70 km from Izmir Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Club Kervansaray Kusadasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Kervansaray Hotel Kusadasi
Kervansaray Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing