We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Kervansaray Kusadasi
Ranked #67 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I stayed at the hotel Kervansaray with my boyfriend for 3 nights at the beginning of October. We booked through a travel agent as we got a slightly better rate than we would if we booked directly through the hotel website.

We found the hotel pretty easily as we had looked it up on Google Maps prior to travelling, so that gave us an idea of where to find it. It's also quite distinctive as it seems to be the only historic building in its immediate area, which makes it stand out a fair bit. There are a lot of inexpensive hotels in Kusadasi and the Kervansaray, whilst not being particularly expensive, is not the cheapest option by a long shot, but the reason we picked this hotel is its heritage - it seemed a shame to pass up an opportunity to stay in a building with such history and character. I'm glad to say that our expectations we certainly met and we were reassured that we'd made the right choice as soon as we saw the hotel. It's breathtakingly beautiful and (usually) a lovely oasis of calm in a fairly busy and touristy resort.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff at the check-in desk, who sent two other members of staff to get our bags and take us up to our room. Each room has its own name - our room was called CiCi, which apparently means 'pretty' in Turkish. The room itself was nicely decorated in a very traditional looking style, but with modern amenities such as TV, tea/coffee making facilities and free internet (ask at Reception). The bathroom was also nicely decorated and very clean, with a decent shower and plenty of space around the sink for toiletries and such.

I should note that, as with most hotels, the pictures displayed on the hotel website do make the bedrooms look massive, which ours wasn't. It was a decent size and we certainly didn't feel restricted, no complaints at all about it, but it's just something to be aware of if you're expecting or require lots of space.

On our first night at the hotel there was a wedding reception going on in the central courtyard, which did cause a lot of noise even in the room. We're not early-to-bed sorts so it didn't bother us, but it might cause problems for anyone hoping for a quiet early night. We were getting ready for going out and your could hear the bass of the music thumping in the room. It was still going on at about 10pm when we went out, we stopped to watch the dancing for a little while from our balcony, which was brilliant and felt like a little peek into Turkish life. Every other night we were there was very very quiet , so what you get just depends on what's going on when you stay there really.

Breakfast at the hotel was really lovely (continental) and was served to us at a table in the courtyard. You can also have it served to you at the table outside your room, overlooking the courtyard.

Overall, I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a bit more character than the normal hotels in the area can offer, and who doesn't mind if a bit of music is playing on an evening. We didn't really rate Kusadasi, it was far too much like a British seaside resort and offered little in the way of Turkish culture. We took it with a pinch of salt and had a laugh about it for the most part, but I dread to think how we would have viewed it if we had stayed anywhere other than the Kervansaray, which brought some much needed character to our stay in Kusadasi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2010

We arrived early morning to Club Kervansaray after a long night's bus ride from Istanbul, and right away the hotel manager was available to help us with luggage and arranging trips to Ephesus and Pamukkale. Unfortunately, I did not get his name, but he was a very kind man who was always available to help us get the travel services to these locations.

Granted, we stayed only one night, and it happened to be "Turkish Night" at the hotel's common area (a gorgeous courtyard where the merchants conducted their trade) - but this only added to the memories of the place. The room was average, but it had exactly what we needed - a bed and AC.

And, finally, the location was right by the Kusadasi bays, and by the pedestrian walkways where we traveled around and had dinner and did some shopping.

Overall, a wonderful experience and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

Erdal and Lisa

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eturnacioglu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

Our stay at the Club Kervansaray was arranged by a Turkish travel agent so I did not know what to expect. As we were driven into Kusadasi, I realized we could have stayed in a hotel with a view of the sea. But the Club Kervansaray is a unique look into Kusadasi's past as a stop along the Silk Road. It's central courtyard is an inviting space to enjoy meals and meet friends. The Turkish appetizers, mezes, were delicious, and along with a cold beer on a warm evening, were sufficient for dinner. All the rooms are upstairs. They are comfortable and air-conditioned with the furniture positioned close to the floor. The bathroom was spacious and modern. The shower ran hot, then cold, then hot - something very common in Turkey, because water is heated through coils on the rooftops. The staff was very gracious, and eager to fulfill all our requests from restaurant suggestions to calling a taxi. On our last day, we had to leave very early in the morning and the young man at reception made us a breakfast sandwich to take with us. Tours to Ephesus and Pamukkule are readily available. The seaside restaurants and lovely sea promenade are a short stroll from the hotel. There is a business center (2 computers) available and free to guests. The only downside is that there is no elevator and the steps to the rooms are steep. However, the two young men on staff cheerfully took our bags upstairs. Two or three nights a week there is a "Turkish Night" dinner and entertainment which we were told was not to be missed, but it did not take place on nights we were there. One of the most charming things about the hotel was the presence of our own personal cat. He showed up for every meal, looked very clean, and appreciated the tidbits we provided. In the courtyard there is a demonstration of the making of silk thread and of carpet-weaving, as well as the ever-present carpet shop although no pressure to buy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

We were recommended to this hotel by a travel agent on Samos where we went as our enquiries to another Kusadasi hotel that we were planning to go where not being responded promptly. We wanted a place for three nights in a central location with good amenities to use as a base to explore the area, including a visit to ancient Ephesus. The hotel was as described, a 17th century caravanserai, renovated and remodeled for today’s needs. Rooms were good, bathrooms up to date, the staff helpful, and the large central courtyard where breakfast was served and where one can have a pleasant lunch also, was very attractive. The carpet sellers were very pleasant and not intrusive, once they realized that you were a hotel guest. But unfortunately there was a continuous stream of tourists wandering through the place that detracted from us feeling that we were in a “special”, for us, place.

But it was not until the following night that we started realizing the true nature of the “Karavanesari Hotel”. On our second night, there was a “Turkish night” on, which we did not think that would have had any special appeal to us, so we went out for dinner and came back about 10:30 to find a spectacular show in full swing. We stayed up at the upper floor balcony outside our room and enjoyed the rest of the show, until midnight. But the noise continued until about 1:30 when all cleaning had finished. OK, one night with little sleep, at least, we had seen half a good show without paying for it.

But to out horror, next night there was a children’s party on, that again finished at midnight, with cleaning up going again till 1:30! There were more than 100 people attending, children and mums dancing and screaming, children running along the upper balcony where the rooms were and the amplified noise was excruciating.
When we were leaving next morning we noticed that there were “Turkish nights” scheduled for that same night and the one after.

So, if you are looking for a hotel, Karavanserai is not a hotel, it is an entertainment venue, where they make a bit of money on the side from unsuspecting tourists that are attracted by its location and the dream of sleeping in a traditional 17th century Turkish fort. This may turn out into a sleepless nightmare, depending on the entertainment program of the venue.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We escaped Hotel Rosy at Ladies Beach and were very pleased with the change to Club Caravanserai and for only about 20 lira more per night. Rooms weren't huge but nicely furnished and equipped and bathrooms were quite modern and a big step up from the drenched-room-after-cold-shower experiences of previous hotel. We found the staff very pleasant and accommodating. We didn't notice the street noise at all (and I'm a light sleeper) thanks to the thick walls and recessed windows. Yes, on "Turkish entertainment nights", the music from the show and the take-down after will keep you awake till after midnight but we aren't early-to-bed types anyway. And the carpet-sellers in this state-run hotel were very unobtrusive compared to those in the town shops. There are luxurious resorts at the marina and outside of town but if you want to be in the centre of it all, only a 10-minute dolumus ride to the beach, with a clean and comfortable room and be able to have drinks or breakfast in the Caravanserai's lovely courtyard, this would definitely be my first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SolaGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Kervansaray (or Caravanserai) for 2 nights during our Turkey/Greece vacation. Our agent had first recommended an older hotel on the coast, but I wanted something with more local atmosphere. The building itself is very interesting. However, be forewarned that what makes it interesting (the open courtyard and old stone structure) also contribute to some of the biggest problems. Our first night was a Saturday, and the "Club" portion of the hotel's name was in full gear. The music is horribly loud and echoes off the stone. I had to use earplugs to mute the noise enough to sleep. The next morning, the staff began setting up for breakfast and the rug vendors (whose store opens into the courtyard) were hanging rugs off the balcony. Any and all noise, even talking in the courtyard, is amplified by the stone. The second day, we returned to our room around 4:30pm to rest and clean up for dinner. The entertainers were rehearsing and the bass players and a singer had the amplifier working at maximum capacity. The beds were very low with the top of the mattress being below 18" from the floor. The staff were courteous but not overly friendly. The room was suitable but needed remodeling. Breakfast was sufficient but not abundant. Breakfast placemats and tablecloths were not changed between guests, so spills were visible. Although the location was very convenient down by the cruise ship dock in the center of town, I would recommend staying somewhere else. We had a wonderful dinner at a small restaurant close to the marina and I understand that the nicer hotels are in that vicinity.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EWPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2008

We booked this hotel for one night only at the end of our Turkey/Greece trip and at the time, just needed somewhere to sleep which was clean before heading home. We didn't have anything pre-booked and just wandered in off the street after looking at one of the other supposedly more modern hotels down the road (which incidently was grotty, tired and very unappealing). But we were pleasantly surprised with the Club Kervansaray and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the heart of Kusadasi.

If you're catching a ferry it's perfect, given that the port is directly across the road but it's also a great location for the restaurants and the main strip, etc. It was good value for money with friendly and helpful staff and the room was cosy with a lovley Turkish feel including good TV and amentities. The bathroom was quite adequate and extremely clean. Breakfast was served in the open air lobby which is such a fantastic place to sit and admire the surrounding building.

I'm surprised more people haven't recommended this hotel for it's location, atmosphere, cleanliness and price.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anniekabanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
4.2 mi away
Atlantique Holiday Club
Atlantique Holiday Club
#5 of 156 in Kusadasi
1,431 reviews
7 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Flora Garden Ephesus
Flora Garden Ephesus
#2 of 4 in Davutlar
397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 156 in Kusadasi
541 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hotel Akbulut & Spa
Hotel Akbulut & Spa
#1 of 7 in Guzelcamli
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Kervansaray Kusadasi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Kervansaray Kusadasi

Address: Ataturk Bul. 2, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range: £57 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An original Ottoman Caravanserail built by Okuz Mehmet Pasha in 1618.The hotel has been furnished to meet present day needs, whilst preserving all the typical characteristics of a Caravanserail- two floors, two entrances and spacious courtyard.The club Caravanserail has a mystical atmosphere, decorated in the style of its oririnal architectural design.25 special rooms, 50 beds, 1 suite.Free Wireless internet connection available in all rooms.Each authentic room has a pravite bathroom and direct dial telephone.Outdoor resturant(350), Banguet facilities, snack bar, pravite garden.24 hrs ADSL internet, free for costumres, VIP internet room magic internet.Situated in the heart of Kusadasi town center, 100 meters from the harbour and 70 km from Izmir Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and HostelWorld so you can book your Club Kervansaray Kusadasi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Kervansaray Hotel Kusadasi
Kervansaray Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing