We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, just one or two niggles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Blue Sky International
Ranked #18 of 156 Hotels in Kusadasi
Reviewed 25 August 2011

First impressions of the hotel were very positive, considering we arrived at 5am and were shattered! We had a large room with a massive double bed for us, and a camp bed for our child and there was loads of storage, wardrobe space and although the decor could have done with a bit of an update it was spotless and light and airy. We had a corner room, with a lovely sea view (most rooms would have a sea view, except those on the ground floor so ask for a higher floor if you want a better view), and tucked away from the main drag of the corridor whcih meant no-one walked past us so it was super quiet. It was cleaned thoroughly every day, with towels and bedding changed every other day. There is a fridge with water thats restocked every 3 days.

The setting is gorgeous, on a hill (there are lots of steps, but there are also ramps in parts so its not all that hard on the knees!) and from everywhere in the hotel there is a beautiful view of the sea and the fantastic sunsets over Greece. They work hard to tend the gardens and keep them nice. The beach is small and packed with beds, and the walk into the sea is stony but its quite sheltered and not that deep in the water so feels safe. The new beach bar is very nice, especially in the cushioned chill-out bit.

The kids pool is fab, and thats where we spent most of our time, its a bit away from the adult pools, through a gap in the hedge, and feels quiet and secluded. THe water was waist height to our 3 year old, and there was a slide and some toys around the pool to play with. Also there are two childrens toilets right by (handy!) and thats also where the kids club is. I say kids club, but really its a shaded area for kids, that has some tables in that they get out 4 hours a day, and is run by 3 girls - they do colouring, face painting, kids darts, some other games, but its very simple, and really catered for younger children - I don't think any kids over 6 or 7 would be that interested as its very low key. But it kept my son occupied for a while when he got bored of the pool so it was fine for him. It does get busy on the sunbeds by about 9.30 but if there are none by the pool there are plenty in the gardens.

The pools for adults/older kids were superb I thought. There is a deep pool that is bigger than it looks on the pictures, and then another one that its possible to stand up in (I'm 5'6) They do aquagym here every day (with the same songs every day, my first niggle...) and then group dances round the deep pool which are fun. In the afternoon I think they also did handball. There is a swim up pool bar at the lower pool. My only criticism is that it looks a bit worn in places - tiles missing off the floor and around the sides of the pool - my husband cut his finger quite badly on a broken tile at the edge of the pool, I dread to think what could have happened to a child's hand. But it was handled well by the staff and I think it was taped up (the tile, not the finger!). There also needs to be more anti slip mats around, as the tiles do get very wet and hot! The spa is also a bit grubby, and the stairs down to the toilets are precarious with all the wet feet traipsing on them all day. The treatments offered are also VERY expensive.

Food was excellent, although the restaurant did get incredibly busy and one night there was all sorts of chaos when they ran out of plates! There's an outside grill but the queue for whatever is going on there is always enormous and not helped by people pretending not to know how to queue.... Over two weeks there was some repetition - breakfast and lunch tended to be the same every day, but there was a lot of variety at night - always some sort of potato, rice, couscous, with meat and fish dishes, a vegetarian option or two and turkish pizza. Sometimes what appeared at lunch would appear in a different format at dinner, but that was ok, it was always good and none of us had any tummy trouble. The pancakes for dessert are to die for! The waiting staff work hard to turn tables over quickly and were very friendly (unlike the bar staff...) and made a big fuss of the kids. The Italian a la carte restaurant is superb - you can visit once per stay, and its well worth it. Its a 6 course meal (the menu is confusing, just let them bring you whatever!) and its in a beautiful location on the beach with a sunset to die for. There are 2 other a la carte's which we didn't try as they didn't accept under 12s. Two flavours of ice cream are served at 5pm for an hour, be warned the queue gets HUGE. And the coffee bar serves pastries at 5pm, also for an hour. There is also a burger bar that was open all afternoon, and Turkish pancakes served from a bar in the gardens all afternoon as well. So you won't be hungry!

My biggest criticism of the place was the entertainment at night. It was really poor. It was run by the staff, all the performers were the staff and they weren't professional at all though they did try (some staff are better than others), and there are a variety of different acts they put on, but none of it really works. There's a kids disco at about 9.15 every night, then a kids game, then quizzes, a variety show, turkish dancing, or whatever is on, but watching little bits here and there we could see it wasnt for us - the Russians and Iranians seemed to love it however! So that meant the evenings were a little quiet, as there isn't music or much atmosphere in any of the bars, but as Turkey was mega cheap, we didn't mind walking down to Ladies Beach after dinner (about a 5 min walk away) and having a drink down there - there's loads of bars and really nice restaurants and the competition between them keeps it cheap and fun down there! PS in the hotel they don't tell you what drinks are included in the all inclusive - not all are, for example rum is extra but you have to find out by trial and error!

I was surprised at how few English there were there - out of a hotel full of 900 or so people, there were a max of 30 at the time we were there. I don't mind this as I come abroad to meet people from elsewhere but if you are looking for a big Brits-abroad experience with full english breakfast, The Sun and chips you'll be disappointed. Most of the guests are Turkish, Iranian, or Eastern European and sometimes not the most considerate of people esp at mealtimes, but there was never any trouble or drunkeness.

Overall the holiday was superb, and the Grand Blue Sky was a lovely place to stay with good food, rooms, and a stunning location.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor in blocks B or C for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ktt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

276 - 282 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

All I can do is agree with the two previous reviews from Karen and Stephanie as they have said it all. We were staying at the hotel with them at the same time. All of their comments are true and exact.

Would definitely go back and recommend the hotel to other people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swalescaff74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I am speechless. it was too good. the animation team, bars, restaurants, espesialy otoman was really fantastic. it was our first visit turkey, i am waiting to comeback there. we have the best memories from there. i have travelled to many countries but there was unique. there was a joyfull place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nazanintehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned yesterday after having an absolutely fabulous week in the Grand Blue Sky. I travelled with my two children, my daughter was 16 and son was 11. Having read most of the previous reviews before I went, I must admit I was feeling a little nervous!! However I needn't have worried because I couldn't fault anything about this wonderful complex and would happily book again. The weather was fabulous all week, a little breezy on our last day, which was quite abnormal for August we were told, but it just enhanced the tan!! We arrived after about 1 hour 45 mins transfer time from Izmir Adnan Menderes airport, greeted by a friendly reception staff and quickly shown to our room. Rooms were very spacious, with a huge balcony. We were on 4th floor of Block C which had a fab view of pool area and Agean Sea. Air Con worked brilliantly and welcome after a hard day sunbathing!! On our first night we dressed up for dinner, set off at about 8pm and were greeted by 2 or 3 photographers who pounced on us!! By the time we'd posed for a few minutes, we arrived down at the dining area to find no tables free!! After a few minutes a kind young waitress found us a corner table. So I would recommend either being down with all our Eastern European friends at 7.15pm or waiting and going later!! The food was lovely, plenty of choice. The Turkish cakes are to die for!! The Turkish pancakes with chocolate sauce went down a treat too!! Lots of choice all day long. We tried most things from the Turkish savoury pancakes, fancy salads etc, all so fresh. Bread was lovely too. Unfortunately we were only staying a week, so we tried to have chilling days then a tour day. We went on trip to Ephesus, which was brilliant. Very hot the day we went 45 degrees so would recommend a wide brimmed hat and water! Were hassled a bit by shop sellers as we got off bus but just be firm and they'll leave you alone! We also had a day at Aqua Fantasy Land which kids loved.
Staff at the hotel were lovely. The animation team worked hard to involve people in the variety of activities during day. Look out for Tarzan, he was brill. We noticed that the staff treated us British quite differently to other holiday makers staying at the hotel. If you're courteous and chatty with them they will be the same with you. Ayhan, the Turkish Lifeguard was absolutely fabulous, and really looked after us all week, so friendly. So if you go, look out for him and let him know you're English!!
Sunsets every night were absolutely amazing and it became part of our ritual after our evening meal to take photos. Tugi the photographer took some stunning sunset photos of us.

We tried both the pool and beach. the beach was a little stony but once in the Agean sea it was lovely and warm. The kids preferred the pool but you needed to be down by 8am to get towels on the beds! Had a bit of a run in with a not so friendly Russian lady who wanted me to move to allow her to get 6 beds together, but I stood my ground! Us British are too polite. There weren't many British in the complex, about 20-25 but that didn't bother us at all. Lots of Iranians, Russians and Polish, most with poor manners!

There's a good market on Wednesdays and Fridays in Kusadasi town, so we ventured on the local Dolmus minibus ( just over 2 Turkish Lira each person) which took about 25 mins. If you ask for the market, they drop you right outside. Interesting haggling but not as bad as I'd thought it would be! I'd been warned that they grab hold of you and try to take you into their shops etc but they were fine in Kusadasi market and we got a few bargains! Nice down on harbour front and you can go inside docking area where big cruise ships dock, but you need to go through a security check. We enjoyed a Starbucks!

All in all we've had a fabulous holiday. Very pleasantly surprised with Turkey and we'll definitely be going back. COuld highly recommend the Blue Sky Hotel. I don't know how anybody could complain about food, hygiene, staff, rooms etc as we couldn't fault a thing! I hope this review has helped put peoples minds at rest!

Karen, Zoe and Ben Pulman, Durham, England

Room Tip: Go for Block C, got best views, and try for floors 4, 5 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inka12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We have just returned from The Grand Blue Sky hotel. At first we
were a little anxious after reading some of the reviews but know that everybody is different so decided to give it a go. The hotel is in a fantastic location and no matter which room you get you will always have a sea view. The grounds are very well maintained with no litter or damaged paving and lots of green grass and flowers. The pool area is very clean and well maintained. There are 3 pools - one is very deep, one you can stand up in and also has a swim up bar and there is a childrens pool with a slide and a teddy club area in the shade for children to colour and play games.

The food is very well prepared and there is a lot of food on offer. However, if you are a fussy eater you may struggle as there is very little english food on the menu. There is a snack bar open during the day where you can get burgers and chips etc and you can get savoury turkish pancakes between 11:00 and 16:00 which are absolutely amazing.
The only downside is that ice-cream is only served between 17:00 - 18:00 and you are limited to two each.

The staff were friendly but beware of some of the other guests at the hotel. The guests mainly consisted of Iranians and we found some of them to be very rude always pushing in at the bar and for ice cream.

The rooms are very spacious with a massive king size bed and there is a lot of wardrobe and drawer space for your clothes. The balconies are the biggest i have seen and they all have fantastic views. The maid service was excellent with the rooms being cleaned every day and fresh bottles of water supplied in the fridge every day.

The entertainment team were very good during the day. There was water aerobics, pool dances, darts, table tennis and water polo throughout the day. However, the night-time entertainment was not very good. The shows were only put on between 22:00-23:00 so before this and after there is very little to do at the hotel. We spent a couple of nights on ladies beach promenade which is only a 5 minute walk away from the hotel and has lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.

There is also a sauna and turkish baths which is free to use but there are also other things on offer such as massages. We paid a very good price to have a sauna, turkish bath, peeling (which takes all your dead skin off), a foam massage and a face mask and i have to say it was absolutely fantastic and well worth the money.
Overall we had a fantastic holiday. The hotel in our opinion is a four star not a five but we would return again and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stephanie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Blue sky may fall behind a 5 star in terms of elegance and decore, but its huge clean rooms and the lovely green area around it, cover up. Even if you spend a whole week inside, you will not be bored with the beautiful views as the hotel faces the sea and has beautiful little cafes and bars all around the premises. In Bluesky, all rooms have sea view so possibly you get one without negotiating or paying extra. The hotel is not in the middle of the town but is close enough to shops and the ladies beach. Show area is a bit small but the animation team is greatly entertaining, especially for the children. The hotel is honest with pictures on their website, the room we got looked exactly like the picture we had seen on their website. The staff are very kind and hardworking, always with a smile. We had a great time and we are ready to go back anytime!

Room Tip: No bathrobe or slippers in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMarcopolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Great hotel... food was good. Clean and service was good . would recommend. This is not quite a 5 star! But not too far away.

Room Tip: 5th Floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
2.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
6.5 mi away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#9 of 156 in Kusadasi
923 reviews
2.7 mi away
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
#13 of 156 in Kusadasi
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
5.6 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Palmin Hotel
Palmin Hotel
#10 of 156 in Kusadasi
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Blue Sky International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Blue Sky International

Address: | Kadinlar Denizi Mevkii, Kusadasi 09401, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kusadasi
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#15 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#25 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range: £46 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Blue Sky International 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Grand Blue Sky International, you can feel the breeze of Aegean Sea in your room and enjoy the gorgeous sea view to the full under the shades of Palm trees. The Grand Blue Sky International offers service with its qualified, self-disciplined, good-humored personnel and professional management board under the concept of customer satisfaction and good quality service based on years of experience. Our aim is to help you experience a joyful holiday full of unforgettable moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Blue Sky International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Blue Sky International Hotel Kusadasi
Grand Blue Sky International Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing