We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Blue Sky International
Nearby Hotels
The Panorama Hill(Kusadasi)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi(Kusadasi)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$586
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Derici Hotel(Kusadasi)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,509)
Filter reviews
1,509 results
Traveller rating
839
283
179
89
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
283
179
89
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsumbrella barottoman restaurantanimation teamturkeyprivate beachnext yearmain restaurantbeautiful hotelspecial thanksbig hotelkebabnice holidayoverlooking the seaboiled eggstowelspoolsentertainment
Filter
Updating list...
316 - 321 of 1,509 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2008

If you are thinking of going to this hotel, there are certain things you should know in advance.
It is true that the hotel is beautifully located, the scenery, the garden and the pool area look nice and the food is not bad at all.
I could even argue that lunch and dinner are well prepared
and the restaurant is a wonderful place to eat when it is not very crowded - which is a bit difficult by the way.
The two most important problems however have to do with the
rooms and the service. Basically there is no service at all and certainly not the one you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The staff was not dressed properly, and did not look professional at all.
If somebody told me that this is a 3 star hotel I would not mind very much, but I expected a 5 star and I was very disappointed.
As far as the room is concerned, the rooms are in a terrible state.
Nothing is working properly, everything is falling down, the refrigerator did not work, the air-conditioning was too noisy, the bathroom was full of rust, everything looked outdated and dirty.
The safe had a key instead of a combination, the stelilized cups were not sterilized and basically you cannot trust anything or anyone.
We visited other hotels in the area and you could tell the difference in terms of quality and service immediately.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank so730418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

THERE IS NO 5 STAR HOTEL! - for a five star location is a DUMP!

My name is Alex Tabusca, from Romania, and I have just returned from a 12 days vacation at the Grand Blue Sky Hotel International, a five "starlets" location :(.

It was a vacation booked for 4 persons, through the Romanian travel agent Kusadasi&Fibula Air - a company owned by a Turkish family living in Romania.
We paid around 4600 euros for 2 doubles with Ultra All Inclusive at a 5 star hotel, air charter and medical insurance.
The hotel is no more than 3 stars according to the facilities it must have in order to obtain the international rating - they say they have 5 "Turkish" stars (I found out directly from the assistant manager of the hotel, whom I met after making a huge scandal at the reception desk) and every travel company is free to "cheat" its client as it sees fit: for the Americans is 3 stars, for English 3 or 4 stars, for Eastern Europe is 5 stars!
It is the only so-called 5-star hotel that does not show you the rating! Every respectable establishment is showing its rating all over the place - from the entrance to the logo of every hotel object you see that five stars written down or assimilated within the design - but at the Grand Blue Sky YOU CAN NEVER SEE THE STARS RATING - THEY DO NOT SAY ANYTHING RELATED TO THIS SUBJECT AND IF YOU ASK THEY DO NOT ANSWER! (Even in Kusadasi area you can see AdaKule or Ephesus Princess Hotel showing their 5 stars rating from the entrance to the their location to the toilet paper!)

The reception is small and "dusty" for a so-called 5 star hotel - is a small round place with a "tentative" of free wireless internet connection (going down every 15 minutes or so each time you try to use it) and a free juice machine with four flavors - in 12 days it was always broken, only by chance you could get one or two flavors, the rest being replaced by the extraordinary cold water you can get as "apple juice" :)).

The rooms of all 3 blocks of the hotel are all facing the sea...and that is the only good thing about them: they are quite large but the furniture is old and ugly, the sheets are changed only on random times (even though they say they change sheets and towels every 2 days) and even when "new" they have lots of stains; after every room cleanup you may have one, two or four pillows...probably depending on the mood of the cleaning lady; the bathrooms are a nightmare - they have to put 2 face towels, 2 body towels and a feet towel so that you can step on it when stepping out of the shower - well this seems to be a very difficult job :(( - you can almost never get the towels you need; the bathroom has only a wall-fixed shower at one side of a very very small bath and roof of the bathroom is on your head! The bath has a 1/2 euro cheap curtain that you can use for retaining the water inside the bath....and you better do this because there is no hole for the spilled water to go to, you just have to wait for its vaporization! But I kept the best for the end - when you came back in the afternoon from the very salted waters of the Aegean Sea and you want to take a shower...there is NO hot water!!!! It like a 2 stars dump! - you have to let run only the hot water line (completely close the cold line because they use the two lines model for running water) in order to have something that is not completely ice-cold but then, surprise again, this barely "warm-like" stream does not have enough water-pressure to go up to the shower...so you start swearing and collecting the water drop by drop to get a damn shower!

The air conditioning was an old machine which made a terrible noise during the first our of functioning (and in our friends room it did not work at all as air conditioning, just ventilation) and the control was a "yellowed" old classic remote control glued to the wall!
The TV set is a small and also very old equipment, the old CRT rounded type, not a plasma, lcd, or even a flat screen, with a remote control that works only after you shake it good :(.
The safe box is also an "antique" that I have not seen since childhood - is a small metal box glued to the wall and using a large classic key. The room key is also from the same "age" - an old, broken plastic with the room number written by hand and glued with band! You also have to wear a bracelet all the time (the bracelet's color indicates your boarding type: e.g.. green for all inclusive).
We arrived in the evening so we wanted to go to the beach the next morning - we descended to the beach (because the hotel is quite far from the sea level, you have to climb around 60 steps from the beach up - something else they should tell you before booking! because this could be very tiring for some people) and surprise..you can get a towel only in exchange for another card from the reception desk...ok...climb back to the reception and...surprise again....you can get the damn cards only after 12 o'clock...ok...while waiting I wanted to make a reservation for the "Blue Sea Food Restaurant" of the hotel...well, bad idea...you can make that reservation only between 18:00 an 20:00...ok...at 12 you can pickup the towel cards and you run to get the beach towels but no....you can get the towels only between 9:00 and 11:00.

One day after finally getting our beach towels we wanted to leave them before going up to our room from the beach but again...you can leave the towels just between 17:00 and 19:00 - if you can not make the schedule you take it back to the room you clean it, put it to dry (something that does not happens because it already evening and the humidity is very high) and try to use it the next day too because in the morning you can only GET towels not RETURN them! A few times we went a 10:30 to the beach and they told us very nice: "no towels left, sorry", and we had to use our cloth on the beach as towels because you can not stay directly on the sun beds with the Turkish sun burning hot. But that is not all - even if you get a towel you may end up using it in your room :(( - around 11:30 there is no place on the beach or at the pool so you can nicely say some "sweet" words to the hotel managers and go find something else to do...
Well maybe you want to go play some pool - everyone has all inclusive board and entertainment is included free of charge...when you find it! The first 4 or five days we wanted to play some pool but the only table was broken and there was no white ball and some other balls were also missing...after the 5th day they took every ball and someone wrote by hand on a A4 paper: "Out of Order"...and it remained so for the rest of our vacation.
On the beach you can go free of charge with a kayak or a water-bicycle - we have managed to "get" the kayak once but when we tried for the bicycle they told us it has a hole (and indeed it had) and we have to wait even though there was another one on the beach, with no problem, just being kept as a "replacement"...I just do not understand what the hell should it replace it they do not use it when the other one is broken!! (this happened two or three days before our departure and the bicycle remained out of order until we ended our vacation).
Back to the "all inclusive dream" (as they right just in front of the reception desk) - you can get a Turkish coffee only during the night!!!, from 21:00 to 23:00 at one of the bars, you want something to eat between meals - you can go to one of the bars where you can get only chips or hotdogs for a 2 hours period!, it damn hot, maybe you want some ice-cream - ONLY between 15:00 and 17:00 if you want to "fight" some 6 years old who is already the 50th in line for an ice-cream!! But leave these behind, there should be excellent cuisine within a 5 star hotel: you can get the breakfast only up to 10:00 and you there are only 5,6 things you find...if you hurry! - after 10:00 you can get a "continental breakfast" = they leave only half the dishes with what remained from the "regular up to 10:00 breakfast" and never refill :(. For lunch you have to run because it from 12:30 to 14:00 but at 13:30 they start missing the refills and even at the beginning there are only 6 or 7 dishes and 1 same soup for 12 days (if you want French fries for example get ready to "fight" because they do not bother to refill the plates when they are empty, they seem to do this only when you ask them). If you are a gourmet and wait for the special Turkish sweets...don't!...the deserts are few and plain (and you can trust me on this because I am a gourmet with a special love for deserts), the water-melon and the melon are always warm, the sweets are very far from the "real" Turkish sweets - the well-known baklava, cataif or saraily are without their delicious stuffing and honey sauce, you can get NO ice-cream never, there are no oranges, bananas, coconuts, pineapples, in fact there are only some slices of melon and plums!

Also related to the dining - I mentioned earlier I tried to make a reservation for their "famous" sea food restaurant but I could not because you can "reserve" only between 18:00 and 20:00; I went back at 19:30 and a nice lady told me is too late...it was a day we had no beach towels and no towels in the room so perhaps the lady saw me boiling and made me a "favor": ok, you have another 30 minutes so you can write down your room number, by hand, on a small piece of paper (the paper I saw when going to the restaurant). When we get to the sea food restaurant they told us you can not order, they gave each of us a menu with some 6 or 7 dishes that will be served one after another. The first one was a mixed plate with 3 or 4 things including caviar, well they brought the plates without even a trace of caviar - I thought ok, that's it, they probably used it all for the day; one of the dishes was "shrimps" - well no, this was also missing; they brought some cabbage, carrots, etc and the next dish was "calamari" - the same thing happened: NO way to find them; for the end they should have served profiterole but it was something wrong with it: just to small doughnuts with some canned chocolate sauce, no ice-cream (probably they have got out of ice-cream between 15:00 and 17:00!!!)...but at the end of the dinner they did not forget to go through the tables with a ball for tips :(
Inside the room you get a free minibar ... if they remember to refill it...but do not think is a normal minibar, is in fact a tiny-bar with only one 2 liters bottle of plain water and a small Coke or Fanta - depends on your luck :)). The minibar refill and the cleanup time are on a completely stupid schedule: instead of being done during the morning, when most guests go to the beach or pool they do the "maintenance" during the 13:00 - 16:00 period of time, when lot of guest are inside the rooms, avoiding the burning sun or having a siesta after lunch! ... and do not ever bother using those nice door signs with "Please do my room" texts .... they NEVER take them into account, the cleaning staff does it job only when..."remembering" it...for days we saw piles of dirty glasses, plates, towels, etc put together near the elevators and staying there for hours and hours, with every guest "admiring" the pile-art! Speaking of the elevators...they have probably never been cleaned during this season...at least!

I mentioned earlier a fight I had at the reception desk: one day I had enough of this 5 star dump! It was for the third time we had no body towels, we phoned and they said somebody will bring them in a couple of minutes - after one and a half hour of waiting in the room my girlfriend took a shower then I took a shower and we both used the only one very small and dirty face towel that the "cleaning staff" did not bother to take from the room and then I went to the reception with the towel and asked them to tell me exactly how many stars are they rated?! ... suddenly they did not understand English well enough to answer and I had to make a scandal and told them to get somebody able to understand English or French and able to do simple math for being able to count how many towel they have to put in a room!! The same evening, at dinner, the assistant manager came to our table and tried to explain us that everything it was normal and should be perfect for us because we are from the Eastern Europe - for us this should be a 5 star location! ... after a 10 minutes debate we told him that is a waste of time - he keeps repeating the same "tune" and we have seen real 5 star hotels so it was like talking to a brick wall: "we have no towels for the third time!" - "is ok, is good for you...", "the minibar is not refilled!" - "is ok, next time we will remember to do this", "the sheets, even washed, are full of stains!" - "no problem, is ok, maybe tomorrow you are lucky and get new ones", "during the meals we get fight each other to get some of the dishes because nobody supervises the refill" - "is ok, we have not thought to have somebody watch this!"...and you get the picture. But to be fair - when going up to the room later that day we found all the towels we needed, new sheets, the minibar refilled and an "I am sorry" card and a fruit basket with a bottle of wine as courtesy of the hotel :)....but the minibar refill and the number of towels got random again after 2 days :((

All in all you can live within the Grand Blue Sky at an "acceptable" level for a vacation in a country such as Turkey, you will not starve (the food is not as diversified as it should be for a 5 star location but what is available is quite ok except the desserts) and if you close your eyes inside the hotel in order to avoid the "grey parts" you can remain only with the image of the garden, which is quite beautiful :). The hotel has a very good location with a nice view an is close to the Bar Street Area where you can have a nice walk along a public beach and lots of bars and restaurants to choose from (all are way better than the hotel's).

In conclusion if you know beforehand that the hotel services are only for 3 stars (let's say 4 if you close your eyes for lots of things) and you know what to expect you can have a great vacation for a reasonable amount of money but do not expect to have a dream-vacation! - you get what you have paid for (and in some cases even less on my opinion)!

You can see pictures (limited to 13 by this website) with some details of what I wrote above.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AlexTabusca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We went at this hotel with 3 young children in summer (2008) :
even not a three star hotel !
There is nothing to do apart swimming in the pool or in the sea (but no sand on the beach : just stones) and the pool is too small for 600 customers, and never filtered.
Pool, beach, restaurant... are very crowded. No tennistable, no computers, no windsurf, 2 canoes for 600 persons (between 2 pm and 5 pm !)
Food is poor and some places (the bathroom, the beach, the pool...) were really dirty.
Nothing to do for the children.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank merlin013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We've just got back from a weeks honeymoon at the Grand Blue Sky and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is split into 3 blocks, each room has a sea view so you don't need to worry about having to pay extra for one! The 2 larger pools were nice and clean and good for a game of volleyball!

The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Their english was much better than our turkish!

Our room was lovely and had a really nice view. The fridge was restocked every day with water (normal and mineral), fanta and coke. The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were left.

The food in the main restaurant was buffet style, there was plenty of variety and it all tasted good! We also ate one night in the italian restaurant and that was delicious also!

For things to do nearby there is Ladies Beach (not just for ladies!) which has quite a few bars (including irish), restaurants and shops. There are also plenty of excursions to choose from and I can highly recommend Ephasus and also the Jeep Safari.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

My name in Monica, I'm 30 y.o and my vacantion was:
Teribble!
There is no such a thing like 5 stars. No parking place, everithing it's dirty and old excepting the outside look, staff needs shower, staff don't say Hello without tips, room disaster, not enough places by the pool, a big bucket with chlorine it's trowed in the pool at 2 oçlock in the afternoon (they are crazy!!!), the other 3 so called a la carte restaurans are disaster (we went at the sea food restaurant one to eat and they did not had any sea food left - they searved un only one smoked salmon, one salad, and profiterol - can you believe it? ). Please don't go there, don't choose this place .... and if you do, please rememeber me!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews