We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big dissapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Ranked #21 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was our second stay at Korumar, the first and last one in off-season... The first time we came here was in july and we were very pleased. Now this time we came in April which apparently is off-season for them... And what a difference:
Tiny buffet compared to summer
Restaurant staff extremely slow
Our orders coming separate with 30 minutes in between
Wrong orders, forgotten orders...

All this lead to a lot of frustration so we decided to eat elsewhere despite having an all inclusive.

This will be our last visit to Korumar, what has happened to this hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lupus666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2011

Just back from really good week at Korumar. Food high quality (and i speak as a bit of a foodie who was secretly dreading the idea of 'buffet' fayre over the week) with excellent freshly prepared food on offer in the mornings and evenings. We stayed half board, cant see what is to be gained by all-inclusive as, if you're normal, you'll want to eat out in town in one of the myriad eateries. View is incredible on sea-facing side. You'll kick yourself if you choose the other side so dont bother. Town is 15 mins casual stroll down the prom - forget the other reviews some of which suggest its a long old hike. If anything we were glad of the wander in between the meals and Baclava pitstops! complainers might be elderly or not so used to walking, and buses come whizzing along every few minutes in any case. Pool is great but too cold this early in the season. Sea was warmer and mini-beach and jetty was where we hung out. Choice of bars, all items inexpensive and another good reason not to go all inclusive. The pool guy is the hardest working man in showbusiness and our room was spotless and bathroom clean. Would go back - good hotel. I find it helpful when reading reviews to understand a bit about the person writing them. Whats acceptable to a retired couple on a trip in terms of food or location might, after all, be very different to your own preferences... So for what it's worth I'm a 33 year old who works for a bank in london who stayed with wife and 14 year old stepson. The mix when we were there.... Few english, lots of germans, dutch, some italians, handful of irish. Typical age somewhere between 40 and 65. I felt like a schoolboy. From what we gathered from chatty locals korumar is considered the 'prestige' hotel in town. Hope above helps.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank xxxxpremierexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Beautiful hotel. room and bathroom was lovely. great view of the sea and the pool was great. i did not do the spa so i cant mention that. they had a great breakfast...even made fresh eggs and omlettes. dinner was good but not as great as breakfast. it was a nice walk into town but i am sure it gets mobbed when the ships come in. my only complaint was that the internet connection was horrible.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schlockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2011

We vetted all hotels sent to us by our travel agent on TripAdvisor. All proved accurate except for this one. This is a 1 star hotel in a 5 star location for view - NOT for convenience, and perhaps a 5 star pool - we couldn't tell - the pool isn't heated and in early April pool water was useful only for polar bears. All we can think about the earlier reviews is that the reviewrs aren't very experienced and haven't stayed in many - or perhaps no other - 5 star rated hotel.

Where to begin? Hallways were dingy and carpet stained. In our room, 106, it looked as if someone performed an oil change in the entry. There was mold in the bath room. Limited hot water (which was good because shower didn't drain.) NO air conditioning. The hotel only has a central heat/ac system which cannot be individually set by room. The ONLY way to get cool air in room was to leave balcony door open (which leaves you at the mercy of the folks in the outdoor sitting area.)

But the worst was the food. I thought I had never had such poor quality food in a hotel, but my wife reminded me than in China 5 years ago in Kashgar, Xin Jiang province, in a 3 star rated Chinese hotel the food was probably worse. At that time we were the only non-Chinese in that hotel. But back to the drech that was served to us in the Korumar. Three varieties of meat, each cooked to cardboard stage, in various unappetizing sauces. Breakfast was passable - IF you like candied fruit instead of the real thing. Also the worst watered down orange Tang I've ever had.

Even though dinner was prepaid the second night we ate quite well in a local restaurant - Blublu. Try it & then compare to the garbage they serve at this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alfaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel is positioned beautifully, with a lovely beach (only suitable for strong swimmers though), a good pool area, and lovely views.
Our room had a tiny balcony with a sea view, that could not comfortably seat the two of us without us having to move our legs. The room was nice, the beds were good, but there was barely enough room to walk between the bottom of the bed and the dresser. Although we only ate in the hotel a couple of evenings, the food was good. We had been led to believe, however, that there were a few restaurants available to us, there was just the one (self-service), included in our package.
There was a voucher included in our package for the spa. We dressed up in our swim suits and towels and went downstairs for our free turkish bath, with every intention of indulging in lots of treatments after trying it out. The spa staff, apart from one lovely girl, were horrific. They kept telling us that soap was a huge charge extra, salt was a huge charge extra,.. and so on. We insisted that we just wanted to try the Turkish Baths first. The left us waiting around like we were possibly diseased for quite some time (perhaps an hour), before telling us that the Turkish Bath was when you go into the room and turn on the tap and stand under the water. I commented that that was, in fact, a shower (though without soap), not a bath.
On another occasion my partner ordered what read as a half of chicken on the menu. It was quite funny when it arrived.. it wasn't even a leg, just a drumstick. It took a bit of persuasion to get a small breast piece instead.
It was impossible to find a bar man to serve us in the evenings. This was, I think, because most people were full board. Talk about feeling beholding for ordering a drink, that turned out to be as expensive per round, if not more, than Irish prices. The large beer then arrived in a smallish plastic cup. I wouldn't honestly expect a child to use them.
Our holiday came to just under two thousand euros.. We had hoped to have a very peaceful time and would have been very happy to use the hotel facilities and pretty much stay in house. In the end we spent very little time there in the evenings at all. It was quite disappointing really.

Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tripshare1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Had a lovely time in Kusadasi. Korumar is just 15 minutes drive from Ephesus. Hotel has an extraordinary setting, nestled right next to the sea with amazing views. Be sure to insist on a sea view room; the view from the back side of the property is of a road and a hill. We had two connecting rooms, each with a cruise-ship-size ballcony. Food was nice, but choices were limited in the off-season. Indoor pool was quite small. Turkish bath was very nice, but unisex, which is odd for Turkey. Spa was not open every day off season, which was disappointing, as it was not so advertised. Pool and beach and swimming pier were really stunning; wonder if they would be overcrowded and noisy with jetski-type annoyances in Summer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anth0nyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

My wife, my daughter, her husband and I all stayed here on our trip to Turkey. When my adult daughter checked into her room next to ours, I could hear her excitement. The rooms were very nice, the facilities were great, and the view was outstanding. I would definately return to this property.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liketotravel167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
#22 of 155 in Kusadasi
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
8.3 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
4.2 mi away
Fantasia Hotel De Luxe Kusadasi
1.2 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 155 in Kusadasi
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korumar Hotel De Luxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korumar Hotel De Luxe

Address: Gazi Begendi Mevki, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kusadasi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#12 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#16 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range: £30 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Korumar Hotel De Luxe 5*
Number of rooms: 272
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Korumar Hotel De Luxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korumar Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing