We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want a good vacation? Then Avoid this "Hotel"!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Grand Ozcelik
Ranked #95 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“You want a good vacation? Then Avoid this "Hotel"!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed there for a week in august 2011. We had a 3 year old son with us.
I can resume it like this: We needed a vacation but we did not got any at this so called hotel so we found our own in the beautiful Kusadasi. Only positive signs were those two younger guys in reception everything else was much lower than a 4 star!
Rooms:
Rooms hasn't been decorated in a last 20 years. We got 2 single beds and one extra bed for our kid. Extra bed was really catastrophe, when we tried to sit on it, it collapsed and closed, it wasn't really an option to let a 3-year boy sleep in it.
There was no place to open two bags and be able to move around in the small room.
Fridge was so dirty that it was disgusting to keep anything inside it.
Cleaning was done every day but a wall-to-wall-carpet was not clean, sure they made a cute patterns on the beds with clean towels but did not changed sheets at all during this week. Well I´m not a vagabond, I travel at least two-tree times a year and always choose at least 4 star accommodation because of comfort and this never happened in a four star hotel before!
Food:
Breakfast highlights were american pancakes and eggs with some disgusting salami...
Do not expect a turkish food in this hotel. McNuggets are a delicacy according their chef. Salad bar was ok with lovely turkish tomatoes as a high point and some of turkish bulgur-hashes. But you have to get there early if you want to get some because they are gone in a half hour and never reloaded. Its not quit a 4 star way according to me! During our vacation they had a turkish evening one night?!?! Turkish evening in Turkey?!?! However they had a grill-night in a garden and chef distributed meet portions to us standing in line and i got a little drumstick. When I asked for more he got angry... So disappointing and humiliating... We decided to eat outside of hotel as much as possible... There were some fruit and lot of cookies at the desert part. Coffee? Take a coffein-pill instead! Sickly Jacobs coffee from a 30 year old dirty machine. No thanks!
Beach:
Little beach at hotels bottom that you reach by taking a small elevator that fits a 3 adults at a time and then taking a lot of stairs further down... Beach is kind of cute and I certainly recommend to take a walk to the other hotels and a beautiful Long Beach near by. If you will stay at this Scanways/Özcelik beach than get there early in the morning to take place and don't expect a parasol. Bring your own towels because you may not use hotels towels... Thats either not a 4 star way to welcome your guests...
do not expect a coffee on the beach or something like that if you don't bring it yourself... The bar is located above the beach and unlike chefs bar-stuff were often kind and friendly. There is a lot of sea grass, except of first few meters so those that doesn't like sea grass need to think about it...
They do offer a SPA, and a lady that works there was very kind but i had no time to make a visit. There is also a swimming pool but i was not interested i taking a bath there because that i prefer the sea...
Overall this is not a 4 star hotel! It maybe was a 4 star hotel when it was builded but there is something called ongoing maintenance...
I recommend you to go outside the hotel in the village nearby and take a contact with Turks and you´ll see that they are very kind and friendly and welcoming people...
Dont stay at the hotel at the evenings - take a tour into Kusadasi (Take it carefully when you walking over high-road to bus station) and enjoy...
Kusadasi is a beautiful city and we a great times out there... We recommend you to visit a Ladys Beach, Market place, beautiful restaurant by the sea in the harbor and a fish restaurant next to fish market also in the harbor...
Enjoy your staying in Kusadasi - it certainly is a cute city and don´t let this hotel ruin your vacation....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 79nettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    12
    8
    17
See reviews for
27
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
blyth, northumberland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Didn't manage to even spend one night here. the room we were offered in a dingy basement which smelled musty and horrible was supposed to be 2 rooms but was only 1. The one meal we had there was very bland a poor which is a pity as Turkish food is great. Location on the beach is nice but a bit too far out of the main town for my liking.

Easily the worst holiday experience of my life until moved into lower quality acommodation and self catering and getting a full refund on this horrible hotel. we were in the 4 star bit there is a 5 star bit which looks better.

In any event the staff were very unhelpful and through a series of calls to our travel agent at home we got moved after 3 or 4 attempts as they kept lying and telling our agent we had been offered alternative rooms and we were happy!

Kusadasi is great we have been before and the alternative accomodtion was ok so we enjoyed our trip. Recommend ephasus for a day trip which was magnificent!

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank selliotuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kusadasi hotels

constanta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Here we can find a nice hotel, with 2 swiming pools, with 2 bars, 1 restaurant, a very nice view from there, on the beach with free chaise longue, the stuff is more than perfect, very friendly, with very good food.

if u stay here at all inclusive , u will have everything u want till 11 pm, but you will not find a disco, because the costumers are not paying the drinks they closed the disco, and they dont have a fitness center.

the rooms are very nice with perfect views, the cleaning is bad,but if u say to the reception that will be solved.

we enjoyed our stay and we recomand the hotel to everyone, if u want luxury in all the meanings, u can take a 5 stars hotel, but for normal people is more then perfect, and i want to say once again that the stuff is very very nice!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adelina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

To be honest isn't a bad hotel, but at that price we (me, my boyfriend, my brother and his wife) expected more. The staff is very friendly but it can happen that receptionist doesn't speak English (?). The amusement team is fantastic, we spent great time with them. Rooms are clean but cleaning lady was coming around 15h, which was very inconvenient for us (you can't be on the beach all day long!). My brother and my boyfriend were very unsatisfied with food (which consisted mostly of vegetables), desserts were o.k. The pool is small which matters because I couldn't swim in the sea (there is sea grass everywhere except in first 3 m from the beach, brr). There are two little shops an only one restaurant Yellow Rose (good) near hotel. The bus stops approximately 50 m from hotel, but beware, in Turkey they drive very fast and no one will stop for you to cross the street even if you are with little child in stroller on zebra! Highly recommend Aqua park it's big fun!
We've had nice holiday in Kusadasi, but would not come back to Grand Ozcelik anymore.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miramar78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

First of all the hotel should not be classing themselves as 4 star this would allow customers to understand what to expect. I specially requested a double bed, but when we arrived we had been allocated a twin room with an extra camp bed for my daughter and a cot for my son, the 4 of us were squashed in this tiny room and the best of this is that when we were booking we had to pay an extra £80 for a family room!! Anyway they moved us to another room after a bit of hassle. This was better but clearly hasn't been decorated for about 20 years. The balconies are not safe for children, they are made of glass and have big gaps in between the glass panels had to keep doors closed at all times. The food isn't very good at all, but lunch is passable the other 2 meals are horrible. The snack bar and the pool bar blocked off from one other although you can see access was once there so you need to walk up and down 2 sets of stairs to go between the 2. There is NO entertainment for adults or kids day and night. The turkish bath and beauty room was closed the whole time but opened 2 days before we left even though it was half way through peak season. The disco didn't open either, and there is a lovely bar upstairs in lobby which never opened either, We basically had to make our own entertainment in the evening and luckily met some lovely people who made our holiday, they also were very disappointed and tried to be moved to another hotel. Please, a hotel with such potential is quickly going down the drain!!! It is also a good 15 mins to get to the town centre and there is nothing else to do about hotel. Grand ozcelik either get your ACT TOGHTER OR YOUR BUSINESS WILL CRUMBLE BENEATH YOUR FEET.

  • Liked — the people that we met
  • Disliked — the lack of effort and upkeep of the hotel
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lloydGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Please, take your money, put it in a box and set it on fire. That would be better spend money than going to this horrifying hotel. We went there through a travel agency after we checked the hotel website, also. It said - 4* all inclusive, beach volley, table tennis, turkish bath, pool-drinks, pool-bar-snacks all through the day, disco, sandy beach, great view......a real paradise.....Wanna know the reality?
1. - nobody spoke english, or any other international language. (Besides the manager - but he hides into his office, we only found out that he's there in our last day) after a whole series of gymnastics instead of speaking, we managed to get our rooms. First floor - broken air conditioning, broken telephone - "great view"- a marvelous big white WALL. No air, no light, no view. We exercised again sign language at the front desk, desperately trying to ask for other rooms. No way that day.....we managed to get them the next day...rather ok the new ones.

2 - none of the facilities mentioned - just a sandy beach, about 2 metters wide. Insufficient sun-beds - needless to say that they were all taken.

3. Personnel - smelly, dirty, tired, you could see they hated their jobs, the tourist, everything

4. FOOD - one table with "cold food" - one bowl of green salad - one bowl of tomatos, one bowl of cabbage/carrots mixture, one plate with chees - 2 kinds, one or maybe two plates with strange looking salads, old too....they served the same dish for several days in row
- 3 table pots with "hot food" - soup - looked as they washed their filthier clothes in there - no one was eating
- some squashed vegys and "meat" - if you asked, they would say it's chicken, then if you asked again, they would say it's beef --- it actually was soy.
- some boiled potatoes, no spices, nothing
- sweets - four types of cookies - pink, yellow, brown and white - same strange composition - tasteless
- fruit - water melon - not every day and everytime, warm, didn't look fresh
- melon - almost never - 2-3 meals
- peaches - not fresh, some of them had WORMS - we told the waiter - he didn't understand english, we asked for his boss - he never showed up
NOTHING ELSE!!!

I AM LUCKY I HAVE FOOD ALLERGIES - because of my health problem, I didn't risk to try any of the above - I bought some miserable crackers from a near-by boutique. No other place around where you could buy food or fruits. - well there was a terrace and they had a bannana in thei window - my friend got sick and we asked to buy it, because it should have been good for her stomach - they said that they save it for special customers.
All my other friends got food-poisoning - nausia, diareea, fever, allergies.

I have no more words to express my indignation, fury, disappointment.... They made me think I will never ever go to turkey again!!!!

IN CONCLUSION - PICK AT LEAST A 5* HOTEL IN KUSADASI CLOSE TO THE CENTER

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JO_ANNE_CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2008

We have just returned from our stay at the Grand Ozcelik and what can i say, the only thing about this hotel that is grand is the name. On arrival to our room at 6am we found that we only had 2 single beds for 2 adults and a 5-year-old child, the answer we got from the reception was that we would have to wait until after breakfast. So not only had we just had the most uncomfortable flight with Onuair, a nightmare of a transfer we now had to share 2 single beds. On speaking to them after breakfast they firstly brought in a cot, which was obviously not suitable, they then brought in a fold out bed which they just dumped in the room, we then had to try and rearrange the whole room around to fit another single bed in, bearing in mind that it was already small, the outcome of this was that we had to live out of our cases as there was just no room for anything else. What annoyed us was that we had paid a full adults price for her. Regarding the food firstly the breakfast was typical Turkish cuisine, which we pretty much expected anyway but a week on bread, cheese, boiled egg, and watermelon was a bit much. it would have been nice to get maybe some fried eggs and bacon just the once. The lunch was reasonable but mainly salads and a stew of some sort. The snack bar offered just 1 selection a day either burger chips, salami sausage and chips, pizza chips, which we ate as this is all our little girl would eat, oh and bread. Evening meal was chips, potatoes and rice, one per night with one sauce based dish and one vegetarian dish, along with salad and bread. The pool was pretty good, 2 deep if you cannot swim as it is nearly 2meters deep everywhere and the kid’s pool is about a foot deep. There was no animation team whatsoever, and no table tennis, that was broken, no table football, the hair dressers was shut the aquarium disco is not open either along with the Turkish baths that only opened towards the end of the week due to everyone complaining. The beach was great straight down from the pool and bar and there always seemed to be enough lounges. The only bar that the AI drinks were available at apart from meal times was the pool bar which meant if you wanted to get a drink for your room it took you about 5 minutes to get there and then they weren't keen on you taking them away. Another problem we encountered was there were no outdoor pool toilets these were with the indoor pool, so you had to go down the steps from the pool area onto the beach up steps parallel with the ones you have just gone down, through a seated area, through the indoor pool and then into the toilets which had no lights on most of the time. We were told as it was 2 hotels connected they had to block a doorway which would have meant just walking straight through, this was mainly a problem because we had a 5 year old girl and did not want her go all that way on her own and had to take her every time she needed to go, especially as the toilets were next to the lift and stairs to the hotel exit. This was also a pain when sat at the bar on a night, as you had to do the same trip then. There were also no water sports or beach volleyball as the hotel site suggests, there isn't even room to play volleyball. We were very disappointed with this holiday as when we booked it we specifically asked the rep if there was any entertainment for children and was told the animation team is excellent, it may have been last year when the hotel was half board but we were told when it went AI they stopped the animation team to try make people go into town and not drink the AI booze, which you had to do if you wanted any sort of entertainment. We were lucky as there were a lot of other families in the same situation so the kids entertained themselves but it could have been a very different story. The hotel seems very anti British they don’t like it when we drink too much of there booze but a good tip is when it gets to near 11pm go get a round in each they hate it but cant really do much about it. The food is no good for children as ours lived on ice-cream, which they charge what they want for, and crisps all week with a few chips at lunch, oh and bread.
Just a few tips regarding this hotel and getting there, do not travel with Onuair they bring a whole new meaning to cattle class, and they are always late. Do not pay a lot for this holiday as you will have to go into town at times if you want any entertainment and it can cost you quite a lot, and the AI drinks is ok if you like beer, vodka, wine and raki. If you want a quiet hotel out of town with lovely views and can get it cheap then it is what you are looking for.

  • Liked — the view from the balcony
  • Disliked — Food was terrible and no good for children
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johntracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
3.0 mi away
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
Hotel By Karaaslan Inn
#42 of 155 in Kusadasi
167 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Akbulut & Spa
Hotel Akbulut & Spa
#1 of 7 in Guzelcamli
271 reviews
3.1 mi away
SENTIDO Marina Suites- Adult Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Altinsaray
Hotel Altinsaray
#56 of 155 in Kusadasi
173 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel
Arora Hotel
#59 of 155 in Kusadasi
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Ozcelik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Ozcelik

Property: Hotel Grand Ozcelik
Address: Yavansu Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Kusadasi
#50 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Ozcelik 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Ozcelik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Ozcelik Hotel
Grand Ozcelik Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing