We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my god....................”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alibabam Hotel & Apartment
Ranked #106 of 154 Hotels in Kusadasi
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oh my god....................”
Reviewed 8 September 2008

At 6.30am we arrived at Alibabam down a residential street that looked quite poor.The outside of the hotel you don't even notice just a set of steps, you only see your here by a banner across the road.The staff on the reception couldnt find our booking & had to get the owner out of bed he also seemed to have trouble but we were given 2 keys to rooms.getting out of the lift our room was directly on the left on opening the door & trying to get our cases through the very small doorway we were confronted by 3 beds in a 11ft x12ft room,the bathroom been 4ft X 3ft you could dry your hair (if you dare use the dryer with the socket hanging out of the wall & bare wires) go to the loo (holding the seat up with you back!) & have a shower all at the same time that is if you arn't claustrophobic as when the door was shut (took some doing too) it was unbearable.The balcony was looking over the residential street & was 2ft wide 3ft long your knees touched the railings when you sat down.This was not the sea/pool view we had on our booking form.

To say we were dissapointed was an understatement,as we had booked an apartment we came to the conclusion this must be the "Hotel" room or we hoped so as we would have to give each other warning if we were going to move any where in the room 3 of us in here just was not possible.
We went down to reception where the night staff had to get the owner out of bed again, he came down & we showed him the booking form again & he said there were no apartments available until later that day after people had checked out, come back after 11am, now thinking we were not going to be staying in that room we decided to go look round the rest of the hotel.

Through the reception it is all one room which includes an indoor dining area ,bar area, management office, sort of internet room & an outside dining area with 6 tables, all very dated & tired. from the dining area you could walk down to the pool.We never had any trouble getting a sunbed but that was the only advantage.The pool aagain tired & unkept, there was an unused bar in one corner with seating area under a gazebo that was over grown underneath with weeds/grass.The pool & childrens pool were never cleaned while we were there just once did we see someone throw some chemical powder in.There were dead insects, earrings & other debris on the pool bottom that could be seen when you had a mask on.
The sunbeds & artificial nonslip matting were split & broken & there were alot of areas that just looked like the needed a coat of paint & a good brush.

We were told one of our apartments were ready, happy we were now getting our apartments with pool/sea veiw we walked in to be hugely dissapointed again there was no kettle no bowls, cups that had stains in & not enough cutlery, what there was was extremely dirty & chiped .The spare pillows in the wardrobe the one with the doors that just went half way down had blood on & the doors didn't shut properly.There was no stool to sit on at the dressing table or chair in the bedroom.In the living/kitchen there was blown plaster with a large piece that had come off & squashed ants on the walls.The bathroom shower(no bath) had very weak presure & was mostly cold, as we have long hair & it took forever to get it washed.This room was also really scruffy & looked like it needed a good bleach! The balconey was the same as in the hotel room & the same street veiw, our sea/pool view was as you come through the door a sort of balcony that accommodated not just ours but next door apartments too.
We new there was no where to move to so cleaned as best we could & asked for aircon, another disaster 3 days of it blowing out warm air we gave up & got a refund.

The room was "cleaned "everyday & towels changed but these were always very worn & most were ripped & past their sell by.
The staff were really helpful but they are all flogging a dead horse as the saying goes "you can't make a silk purse of of a pigs ear" & never was a saying more appropriate as for the Alibabam.

The beach on the hotels website says the Ladies beach is alot closer than it acually is. it a 15min walk down hill or a 5 min bus ride which we did on the way back as uphill was just to much in the heat, same to Centrum the town center down hill walk 15min again bused it back, you are in the middle of both but not as close as we had expected to be.

We only ate a couple of toasties & sandwiches at the resturaunt as the rest of the hotel just put us off wanting to stay as when we came in on a night there was no entertainment or music as such just mostly staff watching football on tv, no holiday atmosphere at all just really quiet, we didn't want party central but would have spent time there if there was a bit more effort made.

All in all a disappointing hotel & we read on here how good it was thats what swung it for us i supose everyone has different needs from a hotel ours arnt much just clean & comfortable and this is neither.Backpackers paradise but not for anyone who likes a bit of comfort.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eboney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    12
    8
    5
    14
See reviews for
21
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
corby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

What can i say !! first time in turkey . arrived late at night and the kids were not happy,, why,,,after 14 hrs of travelling , and arriving in the dark , they could not see anything good,like i suppose they expected in butlins, ,...BUT what a great place to stay,, the next morning it was all different , all would be better in the morning after a good night sleep. And was i right. YES !!!!!!!. What a great place to stay, Kids loved it, the adults loved it . Oh and there was 10 of us in all. Self catering, Which we highly recommend.We found Alibabam to be excellent value for money, within walking distance to centrum, but be advised to get either taxi or doulmus back, as up hill on return.The hotel is family run and all working there are very pleasant, and very helpful at all times.The turkish night in the hotel is highly recommended ,and a good night was had by all .Any problems with the apartment. just go to the reception , and all sorted within the hour .One lesson learned will contact the hotel for airport transport from izmir . as cheaper and less hassle .cant wait to go back again,, 10/10. thx 2 all at alibabam. x x Oh by the way jeep safari highly ,highly recommended, so much fun had by all , but very dirty and wet,,,,,,,,,,but great fun,,.Ages,50,43,41,37,22,20,15,15,14,11. Great time had by all, except on last day as it was time to go home. so next time it will be 2 weeks at alibabam .x x

  • Liked — very relaxing atmosphere.
  • Disliked — no kettle !!
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corbybargainhunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2008

The hotel is run by a family, and you become a member of the family during your stay at the Alibabam.
My wife and myself normally desert our holiday hotel and head for the beach. We only did this once whilst staying at the Alibabam.
The friendly atmosphere ,provided by hotel guests and hotel staff, resulted in many pleasant hours spent around the pool.
Our hotel room was clean, but the shower room was a bit cramped.
Food was good, especially the fish,caught fresh on the day (Ali, the hotel owner, is a keen fisherman)and cooked to perfection.
We will definitely return one day.

M.J and K.

  • Liked — friendly atmosphere
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJKOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
185 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2008

This time we booked by calling the hotel. This is our third stay and we really love this place. Still no luxury, but they have refurbished some of the hotel during the winter. The luxury here is from the hospitality of the family and their employees. It is very quiet here, still before the season. The standard is somewhat higher this year, but we feal it is the same familiar feeling of a second home. You are realy welcome here. The food is ok and we couldn't ask for more.

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We have been staying at the Ali Babam for many years now. No, it is not your 5 star hotel but you get 5 star treatment every time.

The family are classed as our family now, my 2 daughters will not go anywhere else and yes, we are back again this year.

We have stayed for 3 weeks a couple of times and never, ever get board.

We have seen this hotel develop over the years and each year, there is something different to see. They always strive to improve all the time.

Nothing is ever too much trouble and you can either go out for the evening and go back and drink till whatever time you like, or just stay in and sit and chat to the other guests and staff, they always love to talk and ensure you have everything you need.

You can be assured your kids are safe, they even love to entertain them, playing cards or backgammon with them or even get the kareoke out. They will do whatever you request to make your evening enjoyable.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank the_regulars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2007

I am sure my thoughts are confused about how I feel, yes I want to return, yes the family are so helpful. The fact we were there at the end of the season and it was almost empty to my mind should have meant that everything was tip top. Our room was not clean and both room and shower room did not get flors cleaned over the two week stay. Sheets were so small that every morning they were any where but on the bed. The price was very cheap for half board, but it was hit and miss food wise. We named it "Fawlty Towers" and we had our own Manuel. Our first day we went down for dinner and found that the management had not noted that we were on half board. A small pizza to me does not make a dinner. One day we would have a super turkish meal, the next something that did not fill and I would describe as a lunch snack.There was no choice at all. Breakfast was Turkish, and one day it could be boiled egg, the next fried.egg, both with cucumber, olives, white cheese, tomato and maybe honey. A treat was an omelete. Everything was worn or tatty. The hotel is meant to have a refurbish this winter. It could make all the difference. The swimming pool was left to go dirty, but was cleaned after I said something. I think it was the fact that it was the season end. Yes, I had a great time. The position of the hotel was convenient, although the local dogs did manage to keep everyone except the drunks awake several nights.
I could possibly return, the family are so nice. I must admit I think it could be the fault of previous guests that there are problems. Some people think it ok to pee the bed on a daily basis due to being drunk, leaving the management with the cost of replaceing the bedding etc. Kusadasi is a place for young Brits. Maybe I am too long in the tooth for this resort. ladies beach was great for a swim.

  • Liked — The comic carry-ons from the guests and staff
  • Disliked — Beds and lack of cleaning
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kusadasi hotels

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We have stayed at this hotel twice .it is in a good location halfway between the centrum and ladies beach about 20-25 mins walk to both .
The alibabam is a smallish family run hotel, the rooms are small but comfortable and kept clean ,the family are friendly and helpful and will try to oblige with anything you ask for. It has an excellent pool which is the sun all day and a 24 hour bar, the food/ snacks are ok but nothing fantastic.
This hotel is very cheap if booked online through several different providers it usually is £4-6 a night pp b&b depending on season and who you book with, it is good value but i would not pretend that you are going to a luxury hotel, it is an above average turkish style hotel with a good pool, i have stayed in a lot worse in turkey and payed a lot more the breakfast is a turkish breakfast and is better than most for this standard of hotel.
I have to much to write about Kusadsi have been about 12 times have family that live and work there and own property there myself it would take to long to write about everything.
Welcome to email for other details

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Merangus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.3 mi away
Golden Moon Apart Hotel
Golden Moon Apart Hotel
#43 of 154 in Kusadasi
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#6 of 154 in Kusadasi
515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Opus Apart Hotel
Opus Apart Hotel
#40 of 154 in Kusadasi
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
#25 of 154 in Kusadasi
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pak Hotel
Pak Hotel
#64 of 154 in Kusadasi
50 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ilayda Hotel
Ilayda Hotel
#22 of 154 in Kusadasi
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alibabam Hotel & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alibabam Hotel & Apartment

Property: Alibabam Hotel & Apartment
Address: Hacifeyzullah Mah. Yilanci Burnu Mevkii Botanikci Ali Sok Aydin 18, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 154 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alibabam Hotel & Apartment 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alibabam Hotel & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alibabam Hotel And Apartment
Alibabam Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing