We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE PICTURES THEY ARE MAINLY JUST OF THE NEW POOL AREA” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmin Sunset Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmin Sunset Plaza
Ranked #45 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
west of ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE PICTURES THEY ARE MAINLY JUST OF THE NEW POOL AREA”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in November 2012, disappointed was an understatement, the pool area is the main feature on the website,this is nice....but the rest of the hotel is old and vile. Reception is in serious need of renovation, the breakfast room needs a health inspection, and we saw the young men who work with the food actually manhandling it without gloves on a few occasions ! The restaurant is a shoddy little shack that looks like its ready to fall down, same staff in in bar and restaurant who are fine until you don't tip then they literally leave you to get your own drinks etc. The on site shop consists of a shelf of lollys and another one of Doritos, NO snacks or toiletries its just barren. The entertainment on the night we sat in reception was a man and woman running around waving sticks that were alight then a young lad came around showing us all a bag of broken glass that they then got him to lie on while one of the tourists were asked to stand on his back (nail biting stuff !) the other night was 'who wants to be a millionaire ' but the staff couldn't pronounce half of the words correctly so it turned into a comedy act. The breakfast was awful, boiled eggs scrambled eggs and Turkish sausage,bruised apples was the only fruit ALL week, Turkish yoghurt served in a chipped bowl etc just awful. The subway rep Selina was unkempt and dressed very shabbily in a well worn uniform with pins in the hem she had such bad grammar and pronunciation that you would need an interpreter to understand her she spoke of the ' ledda factory 'that sold 'tin or tick ledda' and the cobbledyox streets which translated to the leather factory and cobblestoned streets, kept us for an hour an half just trying to sell her tours...very boring and annoying. The kids club was a small room with bits of broken toys and someone's jeans hanging out of the window to dry, no other activities were there for kids apart from one of the staff playing ball in the pool with some boys. The paths around the hotel were very broken up and dangerous. The beach was very small and filthy, the majority of sun beds were broken,no staff there to help. The path down to the beach is dangerous and not recommended to kids or older people. The other beach the rep recommended was two bus rides away and an exact replica of the one at hotel only bigger. The bus service is frequent but takes 20 mins an sometimes had 20 people in an 8 seater van! Only nice thing about this place is the pool area which is new, check out the pics they are all of the pool area none of the restaurant or breakfast room or reception, and now you know why...don't go there!!!! You've been warned.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mayoWestOfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    77
    56
    30
    19
See reviews for
98
141
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We stayed here on the last week of the season so everything was winding down. I have to say we had a great time. The staff were friendly and helpful!

This hotel is right beside a lovely (small) beach...down quite a steep hill. The views are amazing! The beach is only shared with one other hotel so we always got a sun-lounger every time we went down. Ladies Beach is a short walk (or dolmus ride) away - it has a much larger beach and a promenade with shops and resturants.

The rooms in the hotel are a great size - we didn't get/pay for a room overlooking the pool but we had the sun on our balcony in the morning which was lovely. Most of the summer season the resturant is outdoors but as the nights were getting a little chilly we sometimes ate indoors. The food and drink in the hotel was really reasonable and there is a great selection on the menu. The portions are huge as well! Breakfast was lovely with a selection of cereals, dried fruits and yougurt, small danish pastries, selection of cheeses, fresh fruit, tea/coffee/cherry juice/orange juice, selection of tiger breads and for a small tip there is a guy who will make up an omelette which is delicious. There is also scrambelled eggs, boiled eggs and sausages. I see some negative reviews about the breakfast - WISE UP, you're not in the Hilton!!!!

The pool is a great size and there is a small pool for kids which is great. I would definately recommend this hotel for families with small kids. There is entertainment each night - its not mind blowing but the kids seemed to have a fantastic time!

There is a spa with a turkish bath and a salon. The prices are reasonable. The shop is quite basic - there is not much in it! Make sure he gets himself a shave!!

The town is really close by, when you leave the hotel's main entrance onto the road the dolmus/bus stop is just on the left at the small seat! The number 5 bus will take you into town - get off at the Dennybank its (€2.50/5lira)....the markets are great - MAKE SURE you have lots of room in your suitcase to carry things home!! The port area is also worth a visit - there are some really good sea-food resturants around.

We went on the tour of Pamukkle...its a 3hour bus trip to get there (with a quick stop half way) Pamukkle contains hot springs and travertines, terraces of carbonate minerals left by the flowing water. IT really is beautiful - the tour also brings you to have a turkish mud bath and an Onyx factory. DO NOT BUY items on these visits/tours unless you don't mind being ripped off! The tour guide gets a huge percentage of the purchases that the people on the tour buys. Therefore the prices of the items are 3 or 4 times more than the prices in the markets. Yes I got ripped off paying €50 for an item that was €20 in the market. LESSON LEARNED!

Overall we found it a great place to stay! We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Rooms with a pool view wont necessarily get the sun so you could have a pool view with a dull room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cupcake321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I stayed for one week in October 2012 with my husband. It was great value for money. The rooms are large and very clean. The breakfast could do with some improvement. The location is great , very close to the sea and the hotel has great views.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donegal101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

just returned from there on 20 oct 12, hotel rooms and grounds spotless,staff very frendly and nice,midway first week,weds night BBQ very dark could not see what we were eating,next day both my wife and i and we found later quite a lot of people were very ill,the same thing happened the next week,we were not there of course as we were still off colour,the hotel is in the back of beond,no walks as packs of dogs roaming the streets,wont be back to that ht

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricmu47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We had a great trip here at the start of October. Hotel was very clean, in a great location - views were lovely, small beach down a steep path, or a quick ride on the dolmus bus to Ladies Beach. BBQ night was great and the omlettes were good for breakfast. Beds were very hard though, but that was the only complaint.

Room Tip: Choose a Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west of ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

At this hotel at the moment, it's a two star or very tired three star at the most ..
Jaded reception area with orange faded plastic settees,note there are no pics of it, most of the many light bulbs are broken and haven't been replaced here. All evening entertainment is on in reception, it is such BAD entertainment everyone is pissing themselves laughing ! The kids activity area is four plastic baby slides.
The breakfast is a Disgrace, the only hot food is boiled eggs,scrambled eggs and Turkish sausage, slice ur own bread an toast it on the oldest toaster in Turkey,four plates of cheese, coco pops, cornflakes and Turkish yoghurt. The young boys who work here are generally in their own clothes and handle the food without gloves. Dirty slop buckets placed next to tables where you eat.The ground around the hotel and the paths to ur rooms are broken and uneven in a LOT of places,walkway to the disgustingly filthy beach is dangerous and very hard to travel unless ur very fit.
The pool is nice but we only saw it getting cleaned one morning.
The restaurant is an old shack where ur charged for every possible thing they can pile onto the bill (22.50 lira for 3yr olds pasta)
The shop on site has no stock, no toothbrushes no crisps nothing but bare shelves.
The only redeeming quality is the outside plaza an pool area, which they feature in all pics.
Rooms are cheaply furnished
Don't be fooled by the pictures!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayoWestOfIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

Really enjoyed our week in the Palmin Sunset Plaza.Thanks to the Sunway Representative, reception and the bell boys, arrival and departure at the hotel was very organised and fast. The hotel is situated on an elevated site overlooking the sea, it is built in small seperate blocks around the pool. The rooms are very spacious, bathroom has shower in half bath, rooms are cleaned daily with regular changes of towels and linen, the staff were very pleasent. It is essential to book a pool view at time of booking. There are no lifts in the hotel. The pool area has one row of beds which is lovely and the pool is beautiful. The manager was very helpful and there was a relaxed atmosphere there. We enjoyed dining in the restaurants at Ladies Beach and in Kusadasi. The Dolmus service is very frequent and stops just outside the hotel, usually every 5 - 10 minutes.I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a pool view room, Block D balcony dosn't get the sun while Block H gets the sun, both are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloonfaughna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Palmin Hotel
Palmin Hotel
#18 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
1.0 mi away
Ladies Beach Residence
Ladies Beach Residence
#47 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Batihan
Batihan
#6 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#3 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmin Sunset Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmin Sunset Plaza

Property: Palmin Sunset Plaza
Address: Kadinlar Denizi, Boyalik Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#21 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#32 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmin Sunset Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Palmin Sunset Plaza Kusadasi
Palmin Sunset Plaza Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing