We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmin Sunset Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmin Sunset Plaza
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2009

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday then this is not the hotel for you. Entertainment (if u could call it entertainment) starts at 11 am daily with the most irritating loud female screaming about the days events and music blaring. Hangovers and relaxation are not a good idea here! This carrys on all day on and off till about midnight. Booked an intensive facial in the wellness centre of this hotel for the last day of my two week holiday, imagine my shock when the products been used turned out to be Avon products! as an avon rep I know how much these products cost and the price been charged for the intensive facial did not reflect the cheap products been used. I love Turkey and will return but will never stay in any of the Palmin hotels again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deecoff37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    77
    56
    30
    19
See reviews for
98
141
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Where do I start? Myself and my husband visited the sunset plaza for 2 weeks, end of July, beginning of August. We really loved the hotel, everything about it. The staff were always friendly, courteous and very hard working. The view that greeted us everyday was breath taking - eating your breakfast over looking the ocean is wonderful anytime of day. We heard some people complaining about the breakfast buffet..well i think some people simply like to complain! There was so much choice, cereals, breads, fruits, juices, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, your own omlettes made to order, cheeses and turkish sausages (not like Irish). I mean come on..do we need fry's every morning! We loved it anyway.
The rule about not bringing food bought outside the hotel into your room, well we did, we brought a little backpack with us down the town to buy water, pringles etc (much cheaper) and sure no one knew any the wiser. Watch out cause they will give you a see through plastic bag with your purchases so it always helped to have the backpack with us.
The Dolmus runs every 5 mins (Im not joking) just to the left of the entrance of the hotel and only cost 1euro/2 lira each to be brought into the centrum or 1.50lira to Ladies Beach. The journry into the centrum can take about 15mins as it goes around the houses but its well worth it. Taxis' were handy also for those lazy days. From hotel to Ladies beach it cost 4euro/8 lira, to centrum 7euro/14 lira, which is quite good also.
The staff in the hotel are lovely, the waiters Gino, Adyin and Ramazan were particularly lovely and helpful. We didnt find them intrusive at all. The entertainment was excellent in the hotel every night. The entertainment staff Fifi, Ozzy, Jimmy, Shaggy and the crew were very good during the day at the poolside and at night also. The BBQ night was good, the sycronized swimming was good and the Turkish night also very good.
One thing I must say is that the food in the hotel is lovely but a bit on the pricy side when your staying for 2 weeks...mostly we found that when you ventured to Ladies Beach the value for food was excellent, especially at Rosy's and the Mona Lisa. Example: Lunch menu: Lasagne/chips/small beer 8.50lira!!!!Thats 4.25 euro!
Local market on Wednesday in Kusadasi was very good, we didnt bother with Soke market, next time maybe. This market had everything, great bargains but check your bags to make sure they put in exactly what you asked for when you buy things. We loved the bartering. Some people hated it and were very rude - not necessary.
The weather was fab, even though it was in the 40's there was no humidity so it was very nice altogether. Lovely breeze blowing too most days by the pool. There is loads to do at the hotel, table tennis, water polo, aqua areobics, yoga and heaps more. The beach right down from the hotel is fab, a steep descent and climb back up when finished but the water was fab, a few stones for a few feet then nothing but sand, bliss.
Jean Claude van Damme was good for booking tours of Kusadasi down on Ladies beach.....be sure to try barter here too, there all in competition with each other so try get him to knock a few quid off. Ephesus full day tri excellent including visiting Our Lady's house - very special place altogether, but remember to bring your petitions with you or a pen and paper to write them when your there.
Bottled water in the hotel is expensive, 3 lira for a large bottle and 1.50 for a small one, down the town or in ladies beach it is .50 for small and 1lira for a large one.
We had a Turkish bath in the hotel spa which was devine, really a gorgeous experience. 25euro's each but well worth it, dont get it too late on though as it gets rid of what tan you have. Brilliant though, highly recomment it.
Ladies please save up for some nice jewellery too! I was raging I didnt get more...barter bigtime too..I got a beatuiful diamond and saphire ring I just love it and it cost a third of the price it would cost at home. Just got it valued at 3 times its cost!
Defo going back to this hotel next year, met loads of lovely people staying at the hotel, there is a lot of Irish there, couples, families, singletons, it really caters for all.
Good value, great craic and a must for its beautiful scenery and lovely turkish people.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryVIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limerick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

I went on hols here for 1 week in july with my boyfriend,have to say it was the best hol i have been on...was ragging we didnt go for 2 weeks.hotel is fab,rooms are spacious and clean and good air con..staff in hotel are the nicest people u cud meet,very friendly..good entertainment durin da day wit da entertainers they r lovely,jimmy,shaggy,ozzie and abdul miss them already,activities such as waterpolo etc...went out to disco bars with entertainers aswell had such a laugh....weather was absoulty fablous very very hot up in 40degrees.....nitelife in da main town is brillent highly recommended for niteowls.....discobars dont close til bout 6 or 7 in da mornin....the food is also lovely....shopping is brillent aswell and very cheap,remember to haggle...i will def return to kusadasi,turkey and would stay in da palmin sunset plaza again i would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LimerickMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

(1)this is not a hotel it is 3 story apartment blocks.

(2)staff hassiling you when you go out at night.were are you going ,y are you not eating in hotel.you dont need this on hols.

(3)food expenive on worth it.cheaper and nicer in dublin believe it or not.

(4)only 1 or 2 staff helpful,the rest just want your money.

that is only some of the bad comments i have to make
but there are some good ones

(1)shows very good,show team give it all,good work fifi keep up the good work.

(2)bbq night well worth the money,15€ per adult,7.50€ per child.all you can eat,and the
shows after excellent night.

i would not class this as a 4**** hotel,4**** prices yes, will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincesma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a week last summer, having booked with sunway. The pool was beautiful and the weather and general setting of the hotel was fantastic. I love to travel, but dont have much of a stomach for foods that are unusual to me, so I was very happy that the menu was very uk and Ireland friendly i.e. chips, pizza, pasta etc
Our room was on the middle floor with a balcony overlooking the pool which was great because there were not too many stairs to go up late at night and we also had that bit of privacy not being on the ground floor. The main reason I'm writing this review is to respond to some of the complaints other travellers have made.

The staff are a little overly enthusiastic, but they do mean well, someone said in their review that these guys are just down from the hills for the summer which may be true, however they are very nice people, who despite their lack of training, certainly couldn't be considered threatening, most of their innapropriatte vocab seems to have been picked up from previous guests and is used to try and familiarize themselves with the people staying. Examples of this included: "ya big B**lox, a few words of actual irish!!! and references to how my gf looked like Jordan and seperetly, what they would like to do with Jordan". This is to be shrugged off because they say it to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!

Not being allowed to bring food and drink into the hotel is another issue that everyone seems to be complaining about. I was told about this when I arrived and so when I decided to bring food and drink back from town I needed a cunning plan... and then i thought Eureka....I'll put them in a bag first! genius I know! Also, you dont need to go through reception to get to the rooms, while the buildings are together they are not attached so you can walk from the hotel gate straight to your room where theres a nice cold fridge and a tv with about 10 english speaking channels, not 1 as some reviewer said. We ordered room service often at late at night and the waiters were up very quickly with our food and I was happy to tip them a few each time as it was very late.

The only "Real" problem with this hotel is the price of drink which is about the same as at home. But in town, which is very easy to reach, its very cheap. (some bars will even give you a lift back to the hotel if you are there very late. one reviewer said the dolmus stop is down a long hill from the hotel which is untrue. when you go out the gate of the hotel and turn left it is about fifteen or twenty steps to the corner of the hotels compound which is where the dolmus collects from.

Overall, this hotel is beautifully situated, very friendly (maybe a little too much for very conservative travellers) and lets face it, cheap. While the bar is expensive, their package holiday wasn't. It was about €500 for a week including flights and bus to and from the hotel to the airport. What do people expect for this kind of money?

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank dmonaslsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

When we arrived at the hotel it was about 5am & our bags were taken to the room & our key was ready and waiting.
Air conditioning good. Room spaceous. No pressure in shower.
Pool lovely I cant swim but it was great having the steps to sit on in the shallow in & having the kids pool was good for the younger kids.
The pool was never too packed
Plenty of sun loungers.
Breakfast over at 10am a bit early when on holidays especially the morning you arrive & you need a rest..
Shop very small & badly stocked. No milk for two days.
No food or drink allowed from outside. Not on when children wont eat the food & the shop doesn't stock it.
Waiters very nice but a bit in your face if you want peace & quite.
Entertainment very good at night. & during the day. If you didn't want to participate it was ok.
Spa treatments very good & reasonably priced.
Food hit & miss but not so bad.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thornbirdClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

I stayed in the Palmin with my boyfriend in June and it we loved this hotel! After reading some of the reviews I was a bit worried but the hotel was fantastic! The view from the hotel is beautiful and the hotel itself is very nice. The one thing we disliked was the breakfast which was very basic. We ordered from the room service menu or went out for breakfast instead. The pool was beautiful and always clean and the staff were very friendly. The entertainment seemed good but we went into town every night. I would reccomend booking the trips down on Lady's Beach rather than through the reps because it's cheaper and go to Jean Claude Van Damme who is very helpful! The jeep safari is the best trip in my opinion. I would reccomend Halikarnas for eating in as all the staff are lovely. I would also reccomend getting photographs taken by the photographer as they turn out to be amazing! We'll definitely be going back next year and staying in this hotel.. :D

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Love-Turkey-91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Palmin Hotel
Palmin Hotel
#16 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
1.0 mi away
Ladies Beach Residence
Ladies Beach Residence
#47 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Batihan
Batihan
#6 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Bleu Hotel & Resort
Le Bleu Hotel & Resort
#9 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmin Sunset Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmin Sunset Plaza

Property: Palmin Sunset Plaza
Address: Kadinlar Denizi, Boyalik Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#21 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#31 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmin Sunset Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Also Known As:
Palmin Sunset Plaza Kusadasi
Palmin Sunset Plaza Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing