We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmin Sunset Plaza
Ranked #54 of 154 Hotels in Kusadasi
Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Excellent service given by polite staff. Great food. Wonderful sunsets. All round good value. The smallest gripe would be noise. If you are looking for quiet, this might not be the place for you.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank fingallman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    77
    56
    31
    20
See reviews for
99
142
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2009

Before we headed to Turkey we got a little nervous because of all the bad reviews, But after the trip we just realised how exceptionally picky people are.

When we arrived the hotel reception staff are extremely rude to the point that they wont even speak back to you so your given you key and not even told where to go. The rooms i really liked, we decided not to pay for a pool view and it was the best decision! The view from the rooms at the back are amazing! We could see the coastline, sunrise and sunset it was beautiful! Rooms are very spacious and comfortable and there is a fridge. As far as bringing in food, we were never stopped, if you do get food just put it in a bag they never ever search you. Im sure if they do see you bringing in food they will say something. Big tip is to stock up on the first or second day and keep things in the fridge.
Also because the water is not safe in Turkey you need to brush your teeth and use bottled water to rinse.

The hotel is gorgeous and a fantastic place to relax by the pool, but is very boring otherwise. We went on a lot of tours. I would recommend the half day trip to ephesus because your outside all day and its so hot we couldnt stand it and could barely manage half a day but its definitely a must see Ephesus is beautiful. The entertainment is god-awful though, so cheesy and really annoying so we never really stayed in the hotel, Turkish Nights down at Ladies Beach were great fun. The hotel is the furthest away from the town and Ladies Beach, but this location was perfect for me because some of the hotel towards the town were very overbuilt and didnt look great.

The food is a big negative. Considering irish prices the food in the hotel is cheap but considering Turkish prices its ridicously overpriced, you will get gorgeous food for much cheaper elsewhere. Lunch in the hotel is fine but we only ate in the hotel once for dinner.
The breakfast was really nice, fresh breads, turkish breakfast, fresh made omlettes made in front of you (free).

The rooms are really clean, dont believe other reviews, they do clean them, everyday and the cleaning lady is really nice. The floors can be dirty if your walking around barefoot.

DONT GET ROOM SERVICE, its horrible and not worth it.

Make sure you go to the markets, there really good and a great experience. Also the Dolmus is the local bus service that runs into town and to Ladies Beach passes just beside the Hotel, You must walk out the main gates and just down the road a little, no more than a minute away!

Overall the Hotel is gorgeous and I really enjoyed it but it is quiet and probably the most boring hotel, (perfect for us because we hate crowded hotels) but the staff at reception are really rude, but the other staff are really nice! Overall you get what you pay for and I really enjoyed staying there, I would go back again.

The one thing I would like people to know about Turkey is that Horse Safari's are really horrible and not supported by Sunway or travel agencies because the horses are generally underfed and subjected to cruelty so please dont go on them.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Little_Miss_Aero_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We have stayed in many hotels, but this is the first time we have given so bad review.

The only good thing about this hotel was to get out of there and this option was chosen each night by most of the hotel guests.

The rooms were nice, but they were not cleaned properly for a long time. Daily cleaning routine was making the beds and changing towels - floor was not brushed once during our stay.

The staff was not friendly and not helpful. Room service was very slow and sometimes didn't deliver at all!

The food was terrible (you could get better in any corner shop in Kussadasi) and way overpriced. Service was not professional. The entertainment programme started around 7PM in the restaurant! You get kids and drunken adults running around your table while you’re eating your tasteless dinner and the music + "fantastic" entertainment team is so loud that you can forget about any chat during the meal.

The entertainment was one of the worst things in this hotel. It was tasteless and very annoying (unless you were drunk out of your mind).

The beach is tiny and unless you like people lying on top of you then you have to look for a different spot (it was almost full at 9:30AM).

The hotel looks quite nice with a large swimming pool and sea view restaurant. But don't get fooled by the nice pictures.

We didn't enjoy anything about this hotel and we would not recommend it to anyone.

Two words - STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SlavD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Ok after reading all the positive review on Trip Advisor about the Palmin Sunset Plaza I thought to myself "wow sounds great" so I booked a week holiday here for myself and some friends. The location is great with really nice views of the Greek Islands and the pool is also very nice but really that is it.
The rooms are nice enough but the toilet in our Room stank like a sewerage farm, we asked to be moved but they told us that it was all booked out and they would try and sort it, they did nothing. The shower is rubbish, On numerous occasions we had no water and when we did it was cold water, you would have to let it run for 10 mins before you got lukewarm water.
The food in the hotel is not great, very average and they charge enough for it let me tell you, the waiters are very annoying standing around your table all the time and they ripped us off a few times. A bit of advice for you if your staying here, do not charge the bill to your room, we did this and they added a few extra drinks to it, we were ripped off so many times its not funny, we went to the front desk to pay our outstanding bill and a day later they told us that it hadn't been payed, things like that, so we had to pay them twice, we went to look for the receipt but they are very clever, they dont write on the receipt what its for, they just write and amount and thats it.
The entertainment is diabolical lol there is a girl screaming all day about what events are coming up and she does not stop, very annoying, I have to say though, the 2 lads Jimmy and Ozzy are sound and very helpfull if you need anything.
The main things that most annoyed me was the waiters I have to say, they were like dogs on heat around the women, they seemed to have a problem if you did not order a starters with the main course or if you weren't spending enough, we ordered one starters and they brought out two, things like that really annoy me, oh and ever meal comes with carrots and Brusselsprouts even if you order mexican.
Overall guys the hotel is in a nice location but me personally would not stay here again and we were not the only ones that had these problems, we were with a group of six and they all said the same things.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank franticmike79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundalk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Where do i start, the plane which is chartered by the resort through sunway was the worst flight i was ever on there and back was 4hrs 30 min of torture, no leg room whats so ever and no food, i asked for a coffee and got a sml cup of hot water a sachet of coffee and sugar and milk not only i had to make the coffee myself but it cost me 3 euro. no sandwiches or food and for a 4hr and 30 min flight was bad,,, We landed in izmir and was met by sunway reps who was fantastic and i have to say very well organized from getting of plane to getting on coach and a 1hr drive to resort. The resort was nice but after 1 week its no way a 4 star maybe a 2.5 star you get 2 sachets of coffee in your room then you have to buy coffee after that, a freind of ours who we met there was charged 6euro for a very sml jar of coffee,,,The tv volume is fixed at a very low so at night time when the music on downstairs you cant here the tv,,,The shower can be a hit or miss if everyone uses it then thers no pressure behind the water,,,The barbecue was the best night in the week we were there we reccomened that its a shame every night wasnt like that,, And we also recomened you book your tours with a man that calls himself jean claud van damm who looks nothing like him but was far far cheaper than the hotel he is on laddies beach on the corner which is 5 min from hotel on the bus costs 2 lira each (1euro),,, The food is ok in the hotel but far cheaper in the town or at laddies beach,,, And we highly recomened you to pay cash everytime at the hotel and not down to your room there was so many poeple claiming they were being charged for food and drink twice, a friend who we also met there did get charged twice for the barbaque but had lost the ticket to say he paid it,,, We met good freinds on this holiday and everyone being irish was a bonus to,,,, The return flight was even worst than the one we came out on we had to check out at midnight and on the coach at 1am so we paid for that night in the hotel only to be awake and on the coach and plane all night so how can they say its a 7 night stay when realy its a 6 night stay once again the rep asnd coach driver was fantastic and kind but the plane home was a nightmare everyone was very very tired and with no leg room was hard to sleep but when you did get to sleep the cabin crew would turn the lights on and start shouting on the mike tea coffee when nobody wanted it because it was too expensive,, then they turn lights out again then 20 min later there back on again shouting cigaretes duty free,, then lights out,,, then 30 min later they wake you up again repeating it again,,because of the plane i dont think we will go back again but if you use the resort as a base and eat out in centrum and that then this is the place for you the view from the restaraunt is fantastic and a great place to make friends thats about it. i would recommend the hotel but not as a 4 star which in turkey our 2 to 3 star is there 4 star.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2009

This hotel is great value for money. Staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are a good size and surprisingly cleaned daily. The view onto the sea and the Greek island Samos is beautiful. The entertainment has it's highs and cringy lows but I would def recommend the BBQ on the Wednesday as the entertainment was the best that night. Drinks are more expensive in the hotel then in the town but you are paying for the convenience. They showed the All-Ireland final in the hotel which was very impressive. There are plenty of tours that run from the hotel to keep you busy but it is cheaper to book them from the town. I would also recommend getting the Turkish Bath on your first day, prepares your skin for the sun.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2009

where to start with this hotel its brialliant and all of the people are as well the food is very nice and i dont no how people can say it was bad !! fifi is the nicest and soundest person you meet zena is a lovley girl and very helpfull trough out our holiday

from kevin !!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palminsunsetlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.5 mi away
Palmin Hotel
Palmin Hotel
#20 of 154 in Kusadasi
845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
2.8 mi away
Club Scala Nuova
Club Scala Nuova
#116 of 154 in Kusadasi
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Altinsaray
Hotel Altinsaray
#55 of 154 in Kusadasi
175 reviews
3.4 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#26 of 154 in Kusadasi
829 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmin Sunset Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmin Sunset Plaza

Property: Palmin Sunset Plaza
Address: Kadinlar Denizi, Boyalik Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
#23 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#37 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Palmin Sunset Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Palmin Sunset Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmin Sunset Plaza Kusadasi
Palmin Sunset Plaza Hotel Kusadasi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing