We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does what it says on the tin...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alp

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alp
Ranked #73 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for the first week of August last year. The whole holiday cost us £500 in peak season so its cheap! It had a pool on the roof of the hotel which you can clearly see the whole of the Kusadasi bay and Pigeon island. Theres a bar on the roof and a chap called Dennis who will make you feel very comfortable. Dennis is a top chap, if you want leaving alone he will, if you want to get smashed he will make sure your glass isnt empty and if you want honest advic he will give you everythign you need and more. The owner Isil is the same, both very good people and again very helpful.

The hotel. The rooms are ok, clean enough and big enough. If your looking to live your holiday in the hotel this is possible, however the food is ropey. If you want a cheap easy place to sleep at night then this is great. Every evening you can walk for about 30 minutes to town centre along the sea passing the best resturants we found all week. There are 2 shop within 2 minutes of the hotel for water etc, although an element of sneaking the goods in has to be done as they are not keen on supplying yourself. Please do not be put off the 'hill' that gets mentioned a lot. Its a little steep but its not everest. From the sea front up this mammoth hill takes about 5-10 minutes if you crawl.

They offered a number of different themed nights, Turkish, Quizz, Disco etc. We stayed for the Trukish eve which had a belly dancer etc in and was quite a nice evening, they also threw on a BBQ. It was ok but the clientele in the hotel were not our cup of tea so we left before the end of the evening.

We didnt need to use the A/C and just left the patio door open. Its by a road which is not that busy and after the first niht even the mosque calling at 4am didnt wake us.

They run a shuttle bus for 15TL to Longbeach and there is a lovely resturant here which offers a sun bed, a drink and fruit plate all in for the above price. The resturant is run by Isils brother.

To summarise. This is a great little cheap hotel. Its exactly that though, cheap. Dont expect matching pillowcases, clean towels every 5 minutes and somewhere you would call home. But it does offer a decent bed, relaxing pool thats 30 mins pleasant walk from the hustle and bustle of Kusadasi...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    11
    13
    19
See reviews for
13
48
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Just got back from spending ten nights at this hotel. We didn't know what to expect due to mixed reviews but here's what we made of it. The pictures (like the hotel) are very outdated, there is only one small roof top pool and the view of the sea is disrupted by another hotel. The rooms are very basic, everything needs replacing from the beds to the shower and toilet but it's enough to see you comfortably through a short stay like ours. If anything goes wrong inform a member of staff who speaks good English and they should have maintenance fix it during the day. I advise taking an extension plug as we only had one available plug and that meant unplugging the TV also. Beware not to take any food or drink from outside the hotel into it - they will take it off you. This means that you are more likely to buy food and drink from the hotel, which is a bit pricey when compared to local markets and often other restaurants. You should pay for your food and drinks as you buy them or you may find that your bill does not add up correctly - they charge for bread and other things not on the menu too so be careful. The hotel is not air conditioned which can be a bit uncomfortable but I definitely advise paying for room air conditioning during summer periods. At first it was a little frustrating that the safes were downstairs but we soon got used to the idea and you have to pay for them too. Basically they charge for everything they can get away with. Don't feel pressured into eating there at night, it's good to go out and see what's on offer. We found an amazing little restaurant called Port which was situated near pigeon island and a minute walk from the center - would definitely recommend going there for many reasons such as price, friendly staff, quality of food and location. Most people like us at the hotel were bed and breakfast, we did not like breakfast at all. We only ate bread because of the lack of food on offer and we called it 'breadfast' for this reason. It meant that we skipped breakfast a lot which is disappointing. The tea had all the leaves in it and the orange cordial had tap water in it - steer clear! The staff there do try their best to please and it comes across well. If you're not a big walker then I recommend getting the number 2 dolmus to and from the center (which is like their version of a bus but smaller) it comes every few minutes and is cheap but can get rather full at times. We went on a few day trips booked at stalls around the center. You can bargain them down a lot when you compete them against each other by getting quotes - we got some fantastic deals for pamukkale, the boat trip and scuba diving which were all excellent. If you book with the same person you can get better deals. We booked with a man named ibrahim from itw international who was situated in the center near to mc donalds. Locals try very hard to get your trade which means they constantly talk to you as you walk past shops and restaurants which can get a little annoying by the end of your holiday. The Wednesday market is the best of the markets and you have to haggle like mad to get a good deal - start at half the price they say and then you will probably have to pay a little more than that. I recommend the sunset tour which is 5tl each which is like 2 pound for an hour and is beautiful. Going in September was a good idea because we could get things for cheaper as trade slows down. Also they want things to be paid for in euro but we found we got better deals by having our currency in lira (we took 700 pound for the ten days and it was just enough for the 2 of us). The beaches aren't the best, they're small and a bit dirty so i don't recommend going there if that's what you like to do. See a mosque too if you can. Back to the hotel, it's basic and should do you if you're not too fussy and at the end of the day you do get what you pay for. Hope this helped!

Room Tip: I would recommend the higher floors and the rooms at the front of the hotel (on thse entrance side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHEFFIELD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

A very clean and well run hotel but the rooms need some money spending on them.
The shower stall and shower curtains need replacing with a more hygenic unit.I cant imagine what germs and debris have collected on the shower curtains/ugh


This place is well run and clean.
The bedrooms need some investment and the shower stalls are grotty with plastic curtains that must be covered with all kinds of debris.
The breakfast fare is laid out on trays covered with clingfilm that guests leave off after they have served themselves.Consequently there were flies crawling on the food.All I had was a boiled egg that I could shell myself and never went for breakfast again.
It's not expensive to buy a few hard plastic food covers !!
The manager is very efficient and so are the help but nagging repeatedly to come to Turkish night becomes quite annoying.
The roof top pool is a little haven of peace and makes a change from the annoying and loud music that most places churn out.
A cheap and cheerful place to stay but if the owners spent a few lira they may get guests returning but not me.

Room Tip: the first floor have bigger balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffieldkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
county londonderry
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

me and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel on the 23rd of July for two weeks, we were meant to be staying in the tur inn (turd hotel) but we got moved here and the staff are crazy they love making sure their customers are happy. the entertainment at night is provided by Denis who works in the hotel and he always ensure you are having a excellent time. and for the pictures people have put up of their room they aint even that bad our room was cleaned everyday and that's what u want its a 2-3 star hotel what do you expect!!! also all staff were very nice and so was the owner of the hotel :):)

Room Tip: room are good :) air condition, tv, balcony, phone what more do you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleloves2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

book in on the 27th of july at around 10 - 30pm moved out early morning on the 28th.
the bathroom had all cracked tiles, the toilet when flushed water came up by the shower.
the shower curtin was very dirty. in the bed room there were electric wires hanging from the wall. when I pluged in the T.V. there were sparks from the scoket and I got an electric shock. the carpet on the floor was old and dirty. this room was so bad that I did not even use the shower, I thought that i would be cleaner if I did not use that shower.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kusadasi hotels

Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

I'm afraid I agree with much of what steveinmatlock (19 July 2011) has to say about Hotel Alp. I think the hotel maybe was actually 3 stars at one point (you can see 3 stars on the brass plaque outside, at top of steps), but that was before they lost their outside pool, etc. I think it has run down quite a bit since then.

The lack of English-speaking night staff manifested itself as a problem when 3 Irish girls, 18 years old, probably on their first holiday unaccompanied by their parents, turned up.
These girls were a nightmare: they played very loud music at 4 am from their balcony, shouted and swore at anyone who asked them to turn it down, vandalised the hotel with magic markers, and deliberately emptied crisps on the lift floor. I heard the manager, on their last day, threatening to call the police if they didn't behave. I wish he had, just to teach them a lesson. In any case, I think the management did pretty much everything they could to contain the situation, but they were hampered because the night staff speak limited English, so it was difficult for guests to explain what the problem was.

One more negative, before I move on to the positive points:
The rooms and corridors were floored in a horrible green carpet. I reckon they could lift the image and experience of the place instantly by replacing it with a clean tiled floor. Crappy polyester carpet is the last thing you want underfoot in 35-42 degrees heat. It doesn't feel or look clean, even if it is.

Positives:
Staff are very helpful and positive and do as much as they can to oblige. Admittedly, this is difficult if they don't speak English, but there are always English-speaking staff close at hand (during the day, at least). Staff work very hard and put in long shifts,

Deniz is a bit creepy with the ladies, but I think he is trying to be charming, in the same way that Italian men will kiss a women's hand, etc. He does speak at least 5 languages quite well, though, so he can move around all the guests, answering queries and helping out.
Isa, the manager, is very good. He originally trained as a History teacher, so is a mine of information about Turkey and its culture, traditions, etc.

The hotel’s (rather small) pool is on the rooftop, from where you can enjoy stunning views out to sea and of the town. It is also a good vantage point to watch the impressive cruise ships berthing and leaving port. The very best use of the rooftop, though, is to watch the sunset. (Oh, and you can sunbathe and dip in the pool there, too.)

The town is stuffed with any number of fairly good restaurants. One which is a definite cut above though, is Captain’s Place (NOT Captain’s Table, which you will pass on the way). Go to the bottom of the (admittedly steep) hill from the hotel until the main road, which runs along the waterfront. Turn left and walk about 15 minutes (depending how hot it is – you may walk more quickly or slowly!) and it is on your left. The food is absolutely exquisite. Although you will pay about 15% more than the standard, touristy restaurants you passed on the way, I promise you it is worth it. Enjoy good views of the harbour and of the sunset.

Still on the positive, Kuşadası is an excellent location from which to explore nearby Ephesus, only 20 minutes away by dolmuş (local bus) (this is why 2 - 4 big cruise ships dock each day in Kuşadası harbour).
Selçuk is just a few minutes further down the road, and is a fascinating town, stuffed full of history and architecture.

Finishing on a cautionary note:
Beware the market and local shops. Although the traders seem to like a bit of banter and haggling, if you don't offer them enough they are quick to turn aggressive, even potentially violent. We've travelled in Morocco, Tunisia and elsewhere in Turkey and have never come across shop keepers and traders as angry as at Kuşadası.

My top tip is to explain to them that you are not a rich tourist from one of the massive cruise ships in the harbour, but a poor holiday maker staying in Hotel Alp. That seems to help them understand where you are coming from!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filosofo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

booked the alp in one of thomas cooks high street shops, it was sold to us has 3 star, when we arrived the rep joe swift showed me his paperwork the next day and its rated zero. all the english guests had been sold the holiday has 3 star or 2 star plus weather they booked it in a high street shop or on the internet, your paperwork, tickets etc that arrive a few weeks before departure date do not show any star rating so they only telling you in the shops its 3 star, this is disgraceful of thomas cook and iam taking this up in my compliant along with three other compliants i know of from guests in just this one week alone, so how long has this been going on for thomas cook? i dont know how thomas cook come to have this hotel on there books. so beware people!
the hotel is so bad there can only be three reasons i can think of how it could get a good review and that either you have a very low standard living at home, thomas cook putting in there own reviews here on tripadviser or they paying the guests.
the alp is located up a very steep hill, not good if you have walking difficulties, the elderly, unfit, children or disabled.
the beds are unfit for sleeping on, you can feel every spring and wire.
the brown room furniture dates from the 70s, the vile green carpet extends into your room from the landing, our bathroom was disgusting in everyway, some guests who we had made friends with told us some real horror storys, one guests bathroom had a broken sink, black mould around a drain in the corner, broken shower heads and ceilings falling in, these just a few of the problems us guests talked about.
the pool is located on top of the building, dont be fooled looking at old pictures on the internet. the pool is a cobbled together bodged up affair and is very disgusting, a layer of scum and snots, yes snot can be seen floating on top after about 2pm ish, i told our thomas cook rep joe about this because this is an immediate health and safety risk.
the rooftop terrace is half covered in some sort of astro turf, gods knows what its harbouring
some newish sunbeds but the rest are very shabby, the parasols filthy and are either torn or are rusting.
the food is disgusting in every way possible, lowest quality food they can buy. breakfast is bread, butter, jam, tomatos, baby cucumbers, salted feta cheese, yes salted, olives, some sort of tastless tinned meat and boiled eggs. tea and coffee is instant and not nice and you drink it out of polystyrene vending machine cups,lol. orange juice is cheap diluted or powered and was left wondering if they use tap water instead of bottled.
if you are having dinner at the alp beware you dont get a choice, you get what your given, no menu here. 90% of the dinner food will be either powered, tinned or frozen, very little if any is cooked fresh, these meals are on a level of poor quality school dinners.
only three staff speak english, the very rude manager, dennis who you will think is a pest has time goes by, a young waiter boy who seemed to be a nice polite guy. the rest, even the cleaning staff dont speak a word of english.
your now allowed to take in your own food, you have to buy from the hotel, 3 to 4 times more than you pay at the shops, 2 minutes up the road from the alp is a corner shop, use that and smuggle in the food and drink like all us guests did.
the noise at night is horrendous, there is a massive hotel built in front of the alp with a dual carrageway between, all the noise is reflected from this building, cars, taxis constantly pipping there horns at all hours, dogs barking all night, double glazing would sort this problem.
thats enough of the hotel from me, iam sure there will be more reviews coming along.
when you eat out, which you will be doing of course, i recommend the slip inn, excellant food, most of us english used this place, the chinese is very good so iam was told, but my best place has got to be a place called chicken & chicken in town, spotlessly clean and excellant food, i know i used to be a chef.
the market on a wednesday and friday is a must to do, one of the best parts of my holiday.
again i cannot believe thomas cook have the alp on there books,we only paid 468 pounds for one week but this is besides the point, they should not be selling it has a three star when its really zero rated weather your half board bed and breakfast or room only. pay a few more £s people and stay somewhere else. when the locals ask where your staying and they say good luck,lol you know it has a bad reputation.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caterpiller938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
6.7 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Pak Hotel
Pak Hotel
#62 of 147 in Kusadasi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dias Hotel
Dias Hotel
#80 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
Mr Happy's - Liman Hotel
#25 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#7 of 147 in Kusadasi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alp

Property: Hotel Alp
Address: Birlik Yapi Sitesi Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 147 Hotels in Kusadasi
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alp 2*
Number of rooms: 50

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing