We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad, not great”
Review of Arora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arora Hotel
Ranked #57 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“not bad, not great”
Reviewed 28 October 2008

The hotel is OK, a bit far from the happening in Kusadasi but OK for someone who wants a peaceful holiday. The beach is narrow and not a thrill, but the pool is clean and big enough compared to some pools I saw in Kusadasi. The food is not bad but always the same and with very little meat, the veggies are plenty, the yogurt I loved it, yum. Tap water is not for use and the prices of bottled water and drinks at the mini bar and hotel are absurd, in France I had good wine for less. You are forced to smuggle water into the room and it always made me think of the film Midnight Express, fortunately I did not get caught.
On the whole, if you book through a Serbian agency it is quite cheap and conveniant (cost me 360 Euros for a flight Belgrade to Bodrum and back and 10 days breakfast and dinner).
Kusadasi is a good location to visit the many marvels of Turkey that are a real delight. Shopping is interesting, to me the goldsmiths and jewellers are worth some time.
On the whole I think I could recommend the whole lot to a friend.

  • Liked — Clean, friendly
  • Disliked — repetitive menu and rare occasion for meat and fish
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank miskoledina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    91
    56
    30
    32
See reviews for
129
99
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Skopje
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Even two stars would be too much for this hotel, terrible experience , never again !!! Not only the hotel but the stuff also disaster !!!

  • Disliked — the stuff
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ma-va08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Myself (26) and my friend (25) booked a last minute deal to this hotel and it cost us £307 half board for 1 week (8 July 08) from Edin inc. transfers.

The airport is very small but it did not take long for us to get our luggage and on the mini bus to Kusadasi. Kusadasi is around a 1 hour 45 minute journey from Bodrum airport. The mini bus stopped off at a petrol station half way that has a outdoor cafe next to it where you can get out for refreshments and to stretch your legs. We also stopped on the way back to the airport.

On arrival, we were told we had room 407, this room was at the side of the building, I was not impressed as we had been informed by bookableholidays.co.uk that we had a sea view. However, it turned out ok and we did have a sea view although it did not look directly onto the sea. The rooms were clean, maids came every day, there was good air con and a mini fridge.

We then went down to the restaurant for our evening meal, which is served between 8 - 10pm. The food was ok but after a week became a bit repetitive. There was always a soup, bread, hot dishes (chicken, pork, kebab meat etc), rice, potatoes and lots of salads. For deserts there was lots of watermelon, cakes, rice pudding etc. For breakfast there was eggy bread, tomatoes, cheeses, cold meats, toast, jams, fruit and cereals (basically continental). This was ok for us but some people may miss a fully cooked breakfast.

It was expensive to drink at the hotel - half a lager cost us around £2, however, luckily on our 2nd day we discovered that you could upgrade to all inclusive on a daily basis for £10. This (nor much else) had been explained to us when we checked in, we were basically told that we were in room 407, I had to ask them what direction to go..... when the meals were served etc. I'd also agree with some of the reviews that the reception staff can be quite rude and ignore you and their English is not that great, although I wouldn't say it is much to moan about (from our experience).

The pool is clean, however we did struggle to get a sun lounger on our first few days and then strangely there were loads of free loungers. The music played at the pool area was soooo soooo repetitive, it started to irritate us towards the end. We could even hear it although we had a ipods up full!! A lot of hardcore type music, I don’t think the older guests would have particularly enjoyed it anyway!!! Long Beach is really nice - I wouldn't recommend going to the 'man made' beach below the hotel, its not worth it.

The bar staff/waiters are friendly enough.. we made good friends with one of them. One in particular was VERY annoying though - he took a shine to my friend and kept staring at her.

We both agreed that the Turks are very friendly people. Sometimes they can be too friendly, especially when you go down into the centre (2 lira for a mini bus (dolumus) and 5-10 mins away). They are only trying to get you into their restaurant/bar etc but towards the end of the holiday it did become a little annoying when you were trying to get somewhere and they kept stopping you to ask where you were from...... have you been to Turkey before..... were you enjoying it etc.

We did go to bar street once, but to be honest, think we were maybe a little past all that, lots of 18 year olds, girls dancing on tables, snogging in corners etc - you get the image?? However, there were lots of nice bars in the centre, around about bar street. Lots of nice restaurants too. It is quite cheap to eat out, (which we did on a few occasions as we got a bit fed up of the food at the hotel).

There was a nice bar/restaurant just down from the hotel called the Yellow rose you will pass it if you go to get the bus. We ate there a few times and got complementary bread/butter and watermelon at the end of the meal. They also do karaoke in the evenings, with Sunday being the main evening. We didn’t go, but could be ok if you didn’t fancy going down to the centre one night. There was NO entertainment in the hotel which is a bit poor considering it is out from the centre, you would think they would put on some sort of entertainment.

The weather was lovely when we were there – it was between 38 – 40 degrees every day so you needed the air con!

Looking back now, I am not sure if I would go back to this hotel, it is clean, most the staff are friendly, however, it does lack in entertainment and is quite out from the centre. I would go back to Turkey but would maybe try a different resort, not because I didn’t like Kusadasi but because its nice to try different things. If you have never been to Kusadasi I would recommend it, however, maybe be better if you stay somewhere more central.

Any queries/concers, please get in touch - i'll be happy to help!

  • Liked — it was very clean
  • Disliked — the annoying music by the pool area!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AliBaliB25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

Im not too sure what i thought about the hotel. It looks nothing like it does on the hotels website - large, clean, roomy, it looked brilliant, however when we saw it from outside we realised it wasnt going to be so, however it was still nice.

The recepetion staff are pathetic. Hardly any understand English, and the ones who do it is very limited, they love talking on their mobiles to friends, gossiping to each other, talking to the Turkish people first even if they are at the back of the que. There very rude.

We had to ask again for a sea-view which thankfully we got and the views are fantastic even though the 'Otel Yetis' does spoil this. The rooms are medium/large, with mozzie nets, hair dryer, air conditioning, big mirror, massive sink yet tiny shower/bath and also small bin o take carrier bags it makes it easier.

The sunbeds are so close together you cant move, ignorant people put their umbrellas up without asking if you mind, which was very annoying as i wanted to sunbathe. Pool was fresh water and it was cleaned everyday, it was very nice and refreshing, with childs pool also. Darts board and table tennis next to pool so can keep eye on kids.

Bar expensive compared to the mini markets (two just down the road to the walking North), bottle of 0.5 litre water in hotel is 2.50 lira and 1.5 litre water at mini market is 1 lira so its very cheap. Also does doritoes, coke, ice tea, sweets, breads etc...

Lifts in the hotel were very annoying. Dont go up to floor 'A' as you get stuck for 10minutes, doors like to keep opening and shutting then opening etc for the laugh. The lighting going up stairs is none exsistent, and even down the halls near the rooms its very bad. We couldnt see where we were going.

Hotel food awful. The desserts after tea were horrible, the main meals were either undercooked or cold so we had to start eating out in the morning and afternoon as the morning food was random bread which i am fussy and only like simple bread not things topped with honey, salt etc...It was very rare i got British bread.

Ran out of strawberry jam though in a morning so was either cherry, butter (which tasted of nothing) or honey. So i had honey and bread every morning.

Maids very clean, didnt even know they had come. The mini fridge is good for putting your own stuff in, but make sure you sneak food in, i just put in carrier bag but mini market already gives you this, just make sure you put it in beach bag if taking to the pool.

I usually put towel out at around 9.30 and there were plenty left i think the people in the other reviews may of gone at a busier time or over exaggerated a little with it, but i always found that there were enough until around 10.30.

Quiet and pleasent area, loved the beach front, the bins were left untouched though with cans and food coming out the sides and onto the beach, so maybe the staff at Arora should be taking this away, but water is clear, water sports very close, but disabled assess is poor to the beach front.

Private beach...others can walk through it but the sunbeds and umbrellas are just Arora Hotel only. Internet didnt work when i went the computer had broken. There is no night life apart from the bar which doesnt stay open very late.

When at the pool the music is too loud try stay the opposite site to the bar or else you will not be able to hear. Luggage point is just a cubboard where they unwanted boxes.

Not allowed to pay extra to keep room on for a little longer the day we left even though there were 5 rooms still available.

2 lira is the cost into Kusadasi whichis reasonably cheap and it takes around 7-10 minutes to get there. Just stick your hand out and pay the driver when he is driving. Usually get warm in them. Get off where you see a few resturants and everyone else leaving, its a kind of station, and you come back here to get one back (The Long Beach dolmus)

You should try a massage they were very good, espicially the sports one if you like to feel whats happening.

If you would like to know of anything else then just ask. :)

  • Liked — Views, Room, Easy to get to town, Closeness to beach,
  • Disliked — Loud Music, No Entertainment, Food, Rude Staff,
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank spongy_nathe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2008

Sorry for my bad English but I'm from Belgium and I just wanted to warn fellow-travelers.
The first moment we arrived was already dissapointing. I booked a room with a view on the pool. I was told these rooms were not available.... "Maybe tomorrow" they said... In the bathroom there was only HOT water so I made a complaint at the reception. This guy immediatly made a phonecall and said it would be fixed. It wasn't fixed at all. The beach is issolated from the hotel. There are a few chairs on it which are used by the locals. (Children pissing against the wall, garbage thrown into the sea...) At the beach there are no drinks or whatever. The pool at the hotel is ok but there are way to few chairs.(about 30) They are all occupied at 08.00 am by towels (owners go back to their chamber).
Food is not great either (tomato, cheese, meat..)
The staff was friendly but in all this was a really bad experience.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Beach
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mswintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2008

I saw the reviews of the hotel, and read about the staff but thought we would give it a go anyway. we arrived at 3am friday morning and had had a very long day, we were immediately shown to our room which was wrong. me and my boyfriend had been given two single beds at opposite sides of the room... :-S i queried this and was told to push the beds together, we didnt pay to fall down the middle of two beds for a week so i refused to do this, we were told to change our room in the morning... i was so tired i agreed and went to sleep. first thing in the morning i asked reception again and was told after 11, then at 11 told after 1, then told our room wasnt sea view...sea view doesnt bother me but my bf had paid extra for it thinking it would be nice for me so i thought money would be refunded or at least given what we paid for...no we were told if we didnt like it then stay in the other room and put the beds together...GREAT HELP. breakfast was bread, cheese, bread bread bread and some fruit...not very nice, although we found a nice beach bar/club with pool and went there almost every day as access to our pool and sunbeds was a nightmare, 8.00am all sunbeds were gone! All of the staff were mostly rude, barely speaking english and very unhelpful. Turkey was great and we would go again, but not back to kusadasi and not back to arora. we ate out every nite as we were onli bed and breakfast and didnt wana spend my money in the hotel, murpheys in town was brilliant, great entertainment, friendly ppl and good food...spent most of our time there!

  • Liked — the pool club nearby
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank xxjoxx04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
britain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2008

just spent a wk at arora . food consisted of continental breakfast an lunch burgers an spag bol everyday . after 3 days my stomach could take no more same same . dinner dont know what it was supposed to be . had 2 eat out and had a lovely meal at spice of india in town . hotel clean and pool u had ample room 4 swimming etc . reception staff very unhelpful . we had 2 wait 4 hrs 2 get into room . then hotel dog bit son in law an what problems we had to get a doctor as staff not want trouble . only one or 2 staff in whole hotel could speak english which caused a lot of problems . bar closed sharp at midnight so if u fancied another then u had 2 go into town as nothing else around . there is one bar around the corner where full english is ok ish but try fried egg on toast 4 a snack lovely jubbly . would i go back 2 this hotel ..... never ever .... would i go back kusadasi ..... maybe in 10 yrs .....

  • Liked — the sunshine
  • Disliked — same food everyday
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank swavgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
2.0 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
3.0 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 153 in Kusadasi
496 reviews
0.7 mi away
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
Batihan Beach Resort & Spa
#10 of 153 in Kusadasi
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fantasia Deluxe
Hotel Fantasia Deluxe
#34 of 153 in Kusadasi
1,330 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
2.1 mi away
Marti Beach Hotel
Marti Beach Hotel
#67 of 153 in Kusadasi
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arora Hotel

Property: Arora Hotel
Address: Yavansu Mevkii 103 Kusadasi, Kusadasi 9400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arora Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the crowd chaos of the city, in the heart of nature with spectacular sea wievs where green and blue meets, with it’s aesthetic beauty and intimate ambiance our hotel offers our valued guests a memorable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing