We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but with faults”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Ranked #19 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel but with faults”
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Charisma is a nice hotel especially if you don't want to be overrun with children. Rooms are very clean and of a good size. The pool is great and also very clean. Having walked past some other hotels I was very glad to be staying in this hotel! Location was good too.

Disadvantages of hotel:
1) Outside wedding receptions that you will hear no matter what room you are in which go on until midnight. The staff do not tell you about these events and expect you to stay awake until midnight. Absolutely ridiculous that you cannot sleep when you want to in 5 star hotel!
2) There is no 'beach'. There is access to the sea but its certainly no beach.
3) You cannot bring any water/drinks/food into the hotel.
4) Long transfer from airport especially when you land after midnight.

I may stay here again but there is nothing pulling back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silversurfer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    336
    121
    37
    35
See reviews for
229
434
41
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Was staying in Charisma with my partner. We were very satisfied with all amenities of this hotel. It is truly 5 star hotel located on a edge of Kusadasi, on the beach with fantastic view of the city, and sunset. This hotel has absolutely amazing huge pool which is positioned in such a way that you feel like you are swimming in the sea and not in the pool. Excellent buffet restaurant with combo of turkish and euro foods. Breakfast was great. Overall there is gastronomical cornucopia. Simply delicious. Rooms are comfortable, clean, with excellent bath/showers, unobstructed view of the sea from your balcony. They even provided complimentary posturopedic Swedish memory foam pillow. They have massage on the beach and many other ammenities as well. As far as location, "dolmush" (a route taxi van) will bring you to the centrum of the city in 10 minutes. But we were walking and it was fantastic experience, since the street to the center is a harbor road with numerous restaurants, stores and bars. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the centrum.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
riverside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

This hotel has it all, its on the sea front, very confortable stay. You can relax by the pool or in in the sea. You can watch the sunset while eating diner in the outdoor patio. the service is excellent and attentive.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d_loRiverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2009

What a shame - three or four times a week they have weddings or wedding receptions that take over the sun decks and play loud music until 12pm. The hotel guests are comprimised and don't have full access to the facilities they expected. The hotel itself is very nice, in a good position - rooms and food excellent - reception staff are grumpy and unwelcoming. We were told off for buying our own water at the local supermarket and bringing it into the hotel. Well, you can't blame us when the hotel charge 5 turkish lira per bottle - the equivalent of £2.50! No, I wouldn't go there again - but I would try the Kuruma or the Kismet nearby. By the way, the restaurant opposite Charisma, Blue Fish, was fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MushroomLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

My husband, my mom and I stayed at the Charisma for 3 weeks. It was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were spotless and well appointed. At night sleeping with the door open felt like one was on a ship. Full sea view with lovely balcony. Pool fantastic and if one wants the sea, walk down a couple of steps. The food was outstanding and alll the staff at the hotel could not do enough for you. The hairdresser and Spa at the hotel was absolutely wonderful and prices were certainly very reasonable. A Turkish bath is a real treat and so invigorating.
We look forward to going back to Charisma for 4 weeks next year

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helenecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2009

Just returned from the Charisma and have read other reviews to see what the general feeling is about this hotel. Would like to echo a couple of points if you are thinking of going there.

There is some building work. Didn't bother us and will probably improve things as they won't have to keep clearing the Quay for the many weddings - if it IS a function area of some kind, that is. That's the thing ...
Weddings. We had four in a week. So as someone else has already said, the guests get shoved out of the way. Upside is that it can be an amazing spectacle. I loved watching the guests arrive as they tried to out do each other which each outfit! And one bride looked stunning and was still dancing the night away when we got back later. Which is of course the other point. If you've arrived late in the night the day before and want to go to sleep ... then you might not be so sympathetic.
We were also given a room without a balcony although we'd booked one. Stunning bathroom mind you. Huge jacuzzi and walk in shower but small room. Bizarre. Love the way they have a window from bathroom with view into your room so you still see the sea views. Which are stunning. (PS there is a blind you can shut!). Wasn't happy to be kept waiting until almost 5pm next day to be relocated to another room and being told hotel was full when rep said it wasn't. Though it was done to remove us from Block which is nearest to the building work. And we did get fruit and wine twice to compensate for our inconvenience.
Towels. Make sure you understand the system. Need to pick up cards from reception and keep swopping when towels go back. I was stupid (tired actually due to the room moving etc) and didn't read the small print and didn't pick up cards when I dropped off towels the first day. If you don't produce the right no of cards at end of your stay, you pay 40 TL. My fault but no-one in the Spa stopped me walking away without them. And let's face it the pale skin gives away a newcomer.
Eating and drinking. We ate over the road in one of the restaurants or at the Captains on the way into town. Not at the Garden, one of the small ones almost opposite - we were told Garden was a rip off. Food was excellent. Always is in Turkey. And drink cheaper. Felt so sorry for them as they were mostly empty except for a few Turks and the odd tourist.
Hotel prices are a joke, compounded by the fact that you are NOT allowed to bring anything into the hotel. They threaten to charge you for it. So most guests sneak drink in. But how ridiculous. Most guests (well English ones, anyway) do this and rarely eat in the hotel (unless half board - take the option if you can, it's a good deal). If they reduced the prices, people might stay in the hotel but if you charge silly money, they don't. Plus they don't like being a spare part at a wedding reception.
Charisma. My understanding is this means something like "special aura". The hotel doesn't have a personality let alone an aura. Beautiful place, if getting a little worn in places but one of the deadest hotels I've stayed in. Probably as most guests don't feel any allegiance. There's a nice beach bar but it hardly did any business and they made no attempt to make it engaging in any way.

I've had it with 4/5 stars. I'm sticking to 3 stars with a decent bar and people who are interested in making their guests feel happy and welcome. I personally found the Charisma staff fine but was told by our friend Mehmet at the Beylerbeyi over the road, that its run by an Accountant. Which basically says it all really.

Would I recommend it? You could do worse. It is luxurious and some things like the pool are stunning. It depends what you want from a hotel. Me? I'm back the to Acqua Vatos in Santorin in Sept. Now there's a place worth staying at.
JS

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneddj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We traveled to Turkey for our honeymoon. If anyone is considering Turkey for a honeymoon destination, we would strongly encourage them to explore this beautiful country. We decided to take a road trip from Izmir to Antalya by car and then fly to Istanbul. Thus one of our stopovers was at the Charisma De Luxe in Kusadasi. Of all the places we stayed in Turkey, this was the only hotel that we would not recommend. The Turkish people were so gracious and nice but the employees at this hotel were smug, arrogant and completely useless. When we first arrived at the Charisma De Luxe, we were greeted by an employee at the front desk. When he asked what brought us to Kusadasi, I told him it was our honeymoon. What was ridiculous was he accused me and my wife of lying to him with a smug look on his face and asked us who told us to say that. He told us the Charisma De Luxe was the best hotel in Kusadasi and was better than the Kempinski in Bodrum. I didn't know it was a contest. (By the way, the Kempinski in Bodrum was beautiful and amazing....they actually brought us a bottle of champagne and strawberries with chocolate to celebrate our honeymoon) Anyways, the arrogant front desk attendent gave us a room on the bottom floor with low ceilings. It was like being stuck in the basement.

Anyways, the room was fine for the night. We decided to grab dinner at the Secret Garden which was down the street. We read in the Lonely Planet guide that it was a nice place to eat. We really enjoyed the meal and the service was amazing. The restaurant was completely empty, but the fish was fresh and the waiters were extremely friendly. It was a great night until we got back to the hotel. And of course, another front desk employee greeted us when we entered the hotel. He asked us where we went for dinner and we told him the Secret Garden. He responded with another smug look and laughed at us. Totally uncalled for. We had it with the Charisma De Luxe. It is a wannabe luxury hotel with substandard staff. Don't go here!!!

Here are the places we stayed at in Turkey....we recommend them all except the Charisma De Luxe. They were amazing!

2 Nights - Kismet Cave Hotel in Cappadocia......Faruk was awesome.
1 Night - Charisma De Luxe in Kusadasi......horrible.
2 Nights - Kempinski in Bodrum.....Amazing staff and really nice facility.
3 Nights - Madran Palace in Antalya......Brand new hotel which was vegas-like. Really really nice facilities.
4 Nights - Kempinski in Istanbul.....What you would expect from a luxury hotel.

Have fun planning your trip to Turkey......it is an amazing place with amazing people!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank doh22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
0.3 mi away
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
Korumar Hotel De Luxe
#26 of 155 in Kusadasi
815 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
Ilayda Avantgarde Hotel
#1 of 155 in Kusadasi
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Palm Wings Ephesus
Palm Wings Ephesus
#8 of 155 in Kusadasi
658 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grand Blue Sky International
8.0 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charisma De Luxe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charisma De Luxe Hotel

Property: Charisma De Luxe Hotel
Address: Akyar Mevki No:5, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Kusadasi
#11 Spa Hotel in Kusadasi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kusadasi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kusadasi
#31 Family Hotel in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Charisma De Luxe Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Charisma De Luxe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charisma De Luxe Kusadasi
Hotel Charisma De Luxe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing