We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely-charming hotel”
Review of Hotel Altinsaray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Altinsaray
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“lovely-charming hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2010

The hotel has a great locations, on a walking distance from the center and from the famous ladies beach. The rooms are basic, but really great...they are clean and calm, with a small balcony. In fact the whole hotel is very clean.
The staff are very friendly and so helpfull.
The hotel restaurant is also very nice. Dinner is good, the salad bar is lovely! Breakfast is also mmjummiee :)
The hotel has a small swimming room, and the view on the sea is great.
I love going back.
If you like small charming hotels then this is the place to be!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    60
    27
    13
    11
See reviews for
42
77
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sinsheim, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

I booked through a german travel agency a 4* hotel in Kusadasi. The first night was a total shock: room on the ground floor, no baby bed ("sorry, we only have one and it's given"), furniture 20 years old or so it felt, bathroom was a mess (toilet not clean, no shampoo, enamel splits everywhere. We put 2 beds together so we all 3 can sleep somewhere and the dirt that came from under was horrible. Bed linen had dirt spots. Next morning we asked for another room, as it was impossible to stay there any longer. We got another room on the first floor, it was much better, but far from a 4*. No plugs, wireless connection was rather poor, room was VERY small, basically no view outside, not to mention sea view. Food was very good, but drinks extremely expensive. Baby chair was almost always dirty. IN 10 days i never saw the pool bar open. But location is very good and from the terrace the view is fabulous. We were terribly disappointed in the hotel, as expectations were for a 4*, and not 2,5-3*.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josephine_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2010

we booked this holiday very last minute (4 days b4) but decided it was where we wanted straight away. We could not find this hotel in any holiday brochures so we could only read reviews to see what we could expect. It's fair to say we were a little nervous aout the food.

When we arrived we were shown a ground floor room with 2 single beds and NO space. We had booked and paid for 3 people, and we were given nowhere for the little one to sleep. We also did not like the idea of being on the ground floor, we quickly told the reception staff and we were swiftly moved to a MUCH BETTER room. I can see how people complain if they had to stay in the first room we were given, but the second room was wonderful, lot's of space, big beds, even room for a bed for the little one. As others have said a chair on the balcony would have been nice. We had a couple of plug sockets in the room and found an english news channel, which other rooms did not seem to have. The bathroom was newly refitted yet the shower well did fill with water and a bath would have been better for little one each night.
One thing to note would be that the maid did not have akey to our room and unless we left the key with the maid the room would not get cleaned, over the ten days dirty cups never got changed, nevermind moved out of the room. Also on some occasions the towels and bed sheets did not get changed.
The other and main complaint would be about the dog. We do not know who the dog belongs to, but it was walked daily by children that struggled to control it, however each night all it did was bark, right under our balcony. However that was the only noise that had a negative effect on our sleep, other people complained about the noise from clubs and other hotels, but this did not once bother us, as we could not hear it.
The stairs were a struggle with cases and buggy but the hotel would have been spoilt with a big hefty lift on the side, and anyway it would not have solved the problem of getting down to the pool also, in hindsight prob. not the best hotel for wheelchair access or v. young children.

Our prvious holiday was A.I mallorca, all singing and dancing, we were really looking forward to just relaxing this year, but we'd have to say it was a little too quiet. The main strip was a bus ride away, easily a walk also but not the easiest pavement to walk down especially with little one, and the size of the curbs were about two foot high!! well atleast one and a half! the hotel is in the middle of two totally differetn palces, we loved to walk to the harbour on the right and the bars to the left, however no mater how far we walked there was nothing for our son to do UNTIL we found Luna park, a brilliant LITTLE fun fair, with dodgems and a feris wheel, these were fab and we went each night once we'd found it, however no straps and all the Turkish teenagers stand up on the pirate ship. However if you need something to do, this is great for big and little kids and dads!
The harbour was also a nice place to go, we saw some AMAZING ships.

Things to do: aqua park NOT adaland the big one. There is a smaller one and it is perfect, lots to do, singing and entertainment all day, don' be put off by the food, it is REALLY nice!!
Not to do: The 'ALL INCLUSIVE' safari, sold by the trip place on ladies beach, it was not all included and at the end we had to pay for the drinks and ice creams they offered us, foolish us paid, but the couple after us refused to, which I wish we had of, as it left us with no more money for the day, so we could not buy the beautiful photos the photographer took. They say there is a massive water fight, you have to pay 20euros for the water gun! once again not A.I as said, further more, a severe lack of animals on this safari, we saw one turtle! wow! totally missold to us with a small child, I SERIOUSLY, did not think we would make it back in the death trap of the jeep, men sat on the windcreen threw water bombs at the driver and in babies face, which ruined the WHOLE trip for him, alsosmoking while driving one handed in the mountains. tbf it was beautiful, perfect for children daring to jump in water falls and willing to pay to have a water fight, and remember to take money for the drinks you end up aving to pay for! luckily we only paid £20 for whole trip, not each, so we got a bit of a bargain, but NEVER AGAIN! bbq was nice though, no toilet stop so make sure you don't drink too much!

So a great quiet holiday, not very english at the hotel, but food was gorge off the bbq outside, desert was same each night, as was brecky, pancake/omlette every other day, but really nice. Not alot to do at night, or in the day, however go to the hotel directly across the road and yuo can use their pc/internet and they have an english paper selling shop, which until day 9 we walked to the harbour to find LOL would go again but very very very hot, and please note the picture on their website, are actually fixed, they retook them when we were there and the website shows things that are not there or true, it does not need to lie though the hotel itself is beautiful.

PLEASE NOTE IF YOU HAVE A MASSAGE DOWNSTAIRS AT HOTEL THE MAN IS VERY FULL ON AND OPENLY OFFERS MORE TO WOMEN!! be warned!!

we do not like to see people not enjoy their stay here, as we had a brilliant holiday, 2 weeks would have been to much, a week not long enough to visit everywhere, we had a great holiday all in all, if the hotel had been more 'english' it would not have been the relaxed place it was, no getting up for sunbeds!! However get to dinner early if u want to sit outside!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mummypig01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I was booked by Celsus Travel on a promised 4-Star Hotel in Kusadasi but was HORRIFIED to find out that Bedrooms in this hotel (which incidentally is NOT A FOUR-STAR quality) have NO ELECTRICAL OUTLETS to plug in phone nor laptop chargers. Moreover, a guest MUST STEP OUT of his/her room down to the ground floor's reception area to use the hotel's WiFi router or its computer stations. I attempted to log in on my laptop with its WiFi connection in my 2nd floor room but couldn't connect to the internet. I called the reception downstairs where I asked why I could not connect to the internet in my room, I was informed that there is no available connections in any of its rooms. The hotel receptionist said that it is for security reason that Altinsary Hotel did not allow internet hook ups in all its rooms. I was told to come down to the lobby to be able to get wifi connection.

I immediately called Celsus Travel to check me out of Ainsaray Hotel due to internet issue and to the failure of this travel agency to provide me with a 4-star hotel per agreement. Altinsaray Hotel is NOT a 4-star hotel. It has NO ELEVATOR I lugged my luggage up the staircase up to the 3rd plight of staircase where the 2nd floor is located.

The stand up shower floor did not drain soapy water, my feet were all under water as I took my shower.

Single beds mattresses sagging, very small bedroom, very small bathroom (too tight space inside the bathroom), Unpainted plastered wall between the two single sagging beds. Small balcony facing the afternoon sun is an arms length and a half to the next door balcony, detached clothes closet is tooooo old that the hangers would not even fit in the tubular bar, I want to emphasize that there ISN'T ANY OUTLET ON THE FOUR WALLS OF THE BEDROOM (believe it or not but it is true).

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ysjoesl249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We chose this hotel because we like small hotels and mainly because it is so close to the ruins at Ephesus. We loved this small boutique hotel on first sight. Built in the Ottoman style round an open courtyard. We had one of the best rooms by luck but know some of the rooms were quite small. The room had a 4 poster bed but was poorly equipped with places to put clothes etc. and no where to put anything in the bathroom. We had 2 balconies overlooking the sea but no where to sit and enjoy the view! Lovely large pool but not enough umbrellas for number of beds. Nice restaurant overlooking the sea but food was very basic, no choice of main meal each day. The menu was not advertised, the board outside the restuarant was blank each day. The food was well cooked and good choice of mezze every eve as a starter. Breakfast was adequate. Prices of drinks was high, same price for small beer as a large one in town which meant no-one used the bar in the evenings lacking atmosphere. At first, we liked the background music (Pan Pipes) but realised it was the same at every meal, It seemed no-one could be bothered to change it. The waiters were very friendly but did not offer their services, we had to search them out at dinner to get a drink served. No-one came round the pool to serve drinks and the pool bar was only open at the weekend when there were a few locals using the facilities. Nice not to be pestered but it would have been good to be asked! The owner of the hotel was not at all friendly or approchable, however, the reception staff were very good..
I would recommend this hotel as a good value for money except for the main problem of the noise from the two beach bar discos below the hotel. The music started after midnight until 4am, so loud we had to buy ear plugs and sleeping tablets. This problem is out of the hotels' control but nearly spoilt our holiday..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank layerliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac Falls, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Great hotel for the money. We found it quite by accident driving around town looking for a place to stay. Quiet area, with great service from the staff. Close to town and a short drive to the historical areas.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdpmva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

If you like to be near to the hustle and bustle but in a quiet location, the Altinsaray is perfect. It's on a main road but the traffic noise isn't too bad. Some people complained about the noise from a nearby disco and the hotel over the road but this stopped after a couple of days. There's buses that run up and down the road outside and for 70p or so you can go into town down a steep hill, or to Ladies Beach (about 20 mins walk away) which is a long touristy beach with restaurants and supermarkets along the promenade. My room was very simply decorated with a big, firm bed and a decent bathroom but no view from the balcony. The staff were friendly but you could feel that this wasn't a happy hotel. The atmosphere was dead. No entertainment whatsoever, despite having a truly lovely pool area with a bar and a wonderful sea view (the best part of staying in this hotel). After dinner, everyone went to bed or into town. The pool water was cool and not very chlorinated - perfect. The food was the worst part. Breakfast was OK but dinner was very average and monotonous beyond belief. Don't go half board here - there are plenty of restaurants in town to eat in. All in all though, a good base if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSoulgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
0.9 mi away
Pak Hotel
Pak Hotel
#66 of 155 in Kusadasi
51 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Panorama Hill
The Panorama Hill
#37 of 155 in Kusadasi
463 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Stella
Hotel Stella
#55 of 155 in Kusadasi
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
SENTIDO Marina Suites- Adult Only
1.1 mi away
Sozer Hotel
Sozer Hotel
#59 of 155 in Kusadasi
210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Altinsaray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Altinsaray

Property: Hotel Altinsaray
Address: Yilanciburnu Mevkii, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 155 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Altinsaray 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Altinsaray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing