We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one evening”
Review of Hotel Stella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Stella
Ranked #56 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Good for one evening”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

On the plus side: fantastic panoramic view from the brakfast hall, helpful and smiling hotel staff.
On the negative side: rooms poorly isolated, could hear footsteps in the lobby area upstairs entire evening; beds and pillows on the cheap and umconfortable side; uphill location from main street (despite its handy elevator), 1 or 2-star quality breafkfast; for the nightly rate, there are better hotels closer to main attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception level are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    35
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
18
36
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mytilene, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel is centrally located close to the port, the island and the markets although the entrance to the hotel is not easily found. Even though our room was nothing special (and the bathroom had not enough towels for all the family) the view from the balcony on the 5th floor was superb! Did i say 5th floor? there is no elevator? Did i say elavator? there is an elevator taking guests from the pool down the road(very convenient). And of course i should also mention the great help and kindness of Hasan.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1999Rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel,is very convenient located if you arrive or leave from the ferry-port. Rooms are big, balcony is nice, lovely pool, view is pretty and breakfast is tastefull. But, as so many have stated before, it is Hassan who turns this this hotle into a real diamant. Afrer our reservation he sent us an email offering his services, so we askes him about a ferry from Samos to Kusadasi. Very fast we were referred to an agency that could arrange that. When we arrived, he arranged tickets to Adaland for us and a transfer to the busstation.
We went to Kusadasi to Ephesus, but we were pleasantly surprised by the town and especially Hassan.

Room Tip: No elevator in the hotel. The entrance from the port is two levels below the reception and breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskiaNLNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The very helpful staff made my stay in Kusadasi. Even before I arrived at Hotel Stella, Hasan, the manager, was extremely helpful and responsive to my emails. The location of the hotel can't be beat and is very close to the ferry port and the main street for shops and restaurants. There is a pool and a terrace with amazing views of the water and sunset. Hasan helped me with all my needs and explained the local bus to me for going to Ephesus. He had great recommendations on where to go to eat. Also, when my plans changed last minute, he drove me to the airport(for a fee), so I didn't have to book a shuttle service.

The only reason I cannot give 5 stars is the comfort of the room, although an excellent view of the water, was extremely hot and scratchy sheets. I had a shared bathroom, with a broken shower, no lights, and the doors did not close properly. Also, this was the only hotel, in my entire trip of Turkey that did not include a large buffet breakfast with my stay. For a night or 2, Hotel Stella is definitely worth it for the view and staff alone, but I would not stay for an extended time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverstoptraveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I absolutely agree with all the previous positive review of Hotel Stella. Our 5th floor room was clean, comfortable and relatively large; all the room comes with a good size balcony and magnificent view of the Mediterranean Sea. The hotel is very close to the ferry port. What really makes Hotel Stella special however is Hasan.
Many hotels in Kusadasi offer rooms with a great view of the Mediterranean Sea. Few if any however, include concierge service. Hasan, the young manager, separates his hotel from the rest of Kusadasi's hotels by showering his guest with personal assistance and attantion. It appears no favor is too small or too big for him. For independent travelers such as us who traveling off the beaten path in a non-English speaking country side, this free assistance comes very handy. Hasan, who speaks perfect English, is literally just an e-mail or cell phone away. Among other things, he assisted us with pre-booking ferry tickets to Samos Island, Mini bus (Dolmush) information from Selcuk to Ephesus to Kusadasi and to the hotel. Knowing that we need to catch the early ferry ride the next day, he makes sure we know when to leave the hotel, his staff had our breakfast ready and direct us to the ticket office. He definitely reduces our anxiety level. And frankly, that is priceless. Tesekkur ederim Hasan.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlowAdvanture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We enjoyed this family-run hotel. The setting is spectacular—hanging on a cliff one block away from the port. We chose it in part because we could walk from there to the port to catch our ferry to the Greek island Samos for a day visit. We also used it as home base to visit the archaeological sites of Ephesus, Priene, Miletus, Didyma, Aphrodesias, and the Temple of Artemis (one of the 7 Ancient Wonders of the World).

The hotel has six floors, the third of which is Reception and dining. The first floor has a pool and deck. Our room was on the 5th floor and had a balcony with a fine view. The air conditioning is set up so that the door and window to the balcony have to be shut for it to operate. (We applaud this energy-conscious practice and have encountered it in another hotel. We wish similar energy consciousness were found in the US.) The only criticism of the room is that the shower water pressure could have been stronger.

Inside the hotel there is no elevator between the floors. (Since we unloaded luggage at 3rd-floor reception, and were assisted with luggage, this did not prove a major inconvenience.) However there is an elevator from the pool 1st floor level down to an alley at the bottom of the steep hill that made access to the town convenient and not strenuous.

The usual caveats about Turkish hotel toilets and bedding apply: Turkish toilets generally are not the best on flushing things down, especially toilet paper, and you are instructed not top put paper into the toilet. Rather, the toilets typically come with a bidet nozzle that you turn on to clean yourself rather than wiping. Toilet paper is used only to dry your bottom after washing with the bidet jet. The toilet paper is put into a covered waste container rather than flushed down. (This pertains to western-style sit toilets, not the Turkish eastern squat toilets you will sometimes encounter in public W.C. facilities, where the ritual is a bit different.) Typical Turkish hotel beds have bottom sheets but no top sheet. Instead there is some sort of light cotton blanket or coverlet that functions as blanket and top sheet.

The breakfast was traditional Turkish fare. But whereas most hotels have a breakfast buffet, this one had waiter service built around a standard Turkish breakfast plate of two kinds olives, a slice of meat, two cheeses, tomatoes, cucumbers, watermelon, with bread, honey, butter, margarine, a chocolate spread, and choice of beverages. We saw that some children were eating cereal by request.

The bar pours the most generous hard liquor of any hotel or bar in recent memory.

In five nights we got to know the three-generation family a bit. They were extremely helpful in pointing us to specific non-tourist things we wanted, recommending an inexpensive rental car while on Samos, etc.

There is onsite parking that is impossible to find on your own (It involves driving through bazar that seems to be pedestrian-only but is not, then up steep, winding, narrow roads to behind the hotel at the reception 3rd floor level. We managed to leave the car temporarily, get to the hotel, and then they sent a boy to go with us to guide us to the parking.

The only reason we did not give it a 5 rating is that there was not elevator service from floor 1 to our room level. This was not a problem for my younger companion, but this 79 yo did huff and puff the stairs.

We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on the 5th floor with an amazing view of the Kusadasi harbor from the private balcony. The hotel is minutes from the ferry port and located right in the heart of the night life and very near the bazaar. Recently redone the interior is wonderful and although we didn't use it the pool is great. Down side is no inside elevator, no hot water, and low water pressure. Is a good hotel for 1-2 nights but would not recommend for long stay

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kusadasi hotels
1.2 mi away
Tuntas Family Suites Kusadasi
0.7 mi away
Sozer Hotel
Sozer Hotel
#68 of 153 in Kusadasi
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
West Ada Inn Hotel
West Ada Inn Hotel
#123 of 153 in Kusadasi
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Altinsaray
Hotel Altinsaray
#55 of 153 in Kusadasi
174 reviews
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kusadasi
1.2 mi away
Happy Apart Hotel
Happy Apart Hotel
#11 of 153 in Kusadasi
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella

Property: Hotel Stella
Address: Haci Feyzullah Mah. Bezirgan Sok. No:44 Kusadasi Merkez, Kusadasi 09400, Turkey (Formerly Stella Travellers Inn)
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Kusadasi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 153 Hotels in Kusadasi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stella 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From harbour just walk to the bird island way, 1 minute later you will see Hotel Stella on your left side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Stella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing