We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Aegean views”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kaptan Otel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaptan Otel
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ayvalik
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous Aegean views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived in Ayvalik without a reservation and I chose this hotel as it was in the mid price range 90TL per night and we had a first floor seaview room with four floor to ceiling windows and our own private balcony.
The hotel is clean and comfortable and the rooms were well appointed with aircon and wifi.
Breakfast was served on the terrace overlooking the sea and was very nice and well presented.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, even if we had to improvise with the communication-our Turkish is pretty limited.

Room Tip: The twin sea view room on 1st floor is the star
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGirl1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
8
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

After a rather sorry 2 days at the "Istanbul Pension" (shared bathroom, no locks on doors, no breakout areas) I was thrilled to find this hotel and ended up staying for a week. Comfortable, well-appointed double-room with two large windows (only a side-view of the sea for me, which was fine) and a clean en-suite bathroom . The hotel seems to have been recently refurbished and is kept clean. The staff is friendly, and the location is great, right on the waterfront, with a large terrace overlooking Cova island. Great cafes, bars and fish restaurants are cluttered all around you. The only thing I can't comment on is the breakfast..

I slept late every morning and went for coffee at the gorgeous, artsy Italian place "Piu Bravo Coffee", across the road, less than 3 min from the hotel. (These guys do a mean Cappuchino, and so if Turkish coffee is nog your thing....)

It was early in the season and I only paid 50LT a night, which was truly excellent value for money (incidentally 10 TL cheaper than Istanbul pension.) If you're on a strict budget, but still want some comfort during your stay in Ayvalik, do check out Kaptan Hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our room was nice and bright, with great views of the sea and sunset. There was a small shared balcony which you have to access from the hallway. You can climb out the window but it's a bit treacherous. The room was quite large, so it was disappointing that the bed was placed in the corner with very little access room for a second person. Bed was firm and comfortable. Bathroom was smallish but adequate. The shower rose needs replacing, water came out more like a hose. Breakfast was the usual turkish fare of olives, salad and cheeses. We had a bit of a language barrier with the staff member who showed us to the room and served breakfast but he went out of his way to try and ensure we were comfortable and had what we needed at breakfast. The hotel manager speaks more English so that was helpful for us. The hotel is in a good location near the waterfront with lots of alternate options for dining nearby. We caught the bus, the main bus station is an easy 15 mins walk, but some buts are cobblestone which was a bit hard on the trolley bags. We were on the 2nd floor, which was 42 steps, after first floor they are quite steep. Free wifi is available but the signal was a bit variable and often weak even on the ground floor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Williams17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

The 'Kaptan' is a very simple, but also very charming little hotel at the waterfront of the old part of Ayvalik. The man at the reception gave us a very friendly welcome and took care of our luggage. They were fully booked, so we couldn't get a room with direct sea view, but our room was nice and clean. It even had AC and we were glad about that!
In the morning we had a typical breakfast at the lovely seaside terrace. Nice place for a short stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniedorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

We were having a hard time finding accommodation where we could enjoy a view and park our rental car. This is a definite 'don't judge a book by it's cover' place. We had room 201 overlooking the sea.... It was a beautifully simple room with an amazing view and balcony. It was walking distance to countless restaurants and shops. The hotel owner was very friendly and helped us locate a shop that sells the best olive oil in Turkey. We enjoyed our stay and cannot recommend this place enough for value, location and service!

Room Tip: 201 overlooks the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

Ignoring the cheaper hotels in the old quarters of Ayvalik, which according to photos indeed looked more charmful and in "ottoman country style", I decided to stay at Kaptan Otel for a couple of nights. (The closeness to the sea must be unbeatable?). And indeed the hotel is beautifully situated, and has its breakfast terrace with view over the sea. The rooms and its corridors has a clean modern style which gives a fresh impression. However the front desk area and the adjacent lobby gives a a bit dark and cluttered impact, and would be in need of a make-over to stay in line with the rest of the hotel. I paid 60 lira/night for a single room, and was placed in a quite large double room (2 beds). Clean room, comfortable bed, hot and cold water, and wifi in the hotel. There was AC and a small tv in the room too, but I didn't use them during my stay, so I have no idea if they worked well. It was partly sea view from my room, and apparently few rooms face direct sea view. The hotel's balcony on 1st and 2nd floor (seen in photos) seems to be only for show, and not in use, as its locked door in fact lead to the hotel corridors and not to a room. But who wouldn't mind to sit on one of those balconies to ponder for a bit in the evenings? This is a family hotel and the staff is very friendly and accommodating. The owners speak excellent English. The hotel is situated in a backstreet of the quay-area. It is easy to reach from the main street, and close to restaurants, shops, cafés and to the main square. One can easily explore the older quarters, a short walking distance from this hotel. The disadvantage with the hotel was in fact the breakfast. For 60 lira/night one would have expected a larger breakfast with several choices, but instead it was a simple plate with 1 egg, 1 jam, 1 white cheese and 1 yellow cheese (a hotel in the older quarters offered 50 lira/night, and seemed to have buffet breakfast?). Sitting on that terrace with a sew view from Kaptan Otel, one would wish for a more fancy breakfast to enjoy and the day would have a perfect start. Another downside is the hotel's closeness to nearby bars and restaurants which in nighttime could be noisy. If this hotel had a better breakfast, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oden52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

The Kaptan was a delightful surprise. It enjoys a fabulous location right on the water. Rooms are clean, spacious and well maintained. The hosts are extremely friendly and helpful (and speak impeccable English!). The price is very competitive, less actually than we were prepared to pay for room looking directly out to sea. We highly recommend the Kaptan to budget travelers looking for great deal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UncleBilly232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ayvalik
0.0 mi away
Megas Hotel
Megas Hotel
#15 of 37 in Ayvalik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmera Resort
Palmera Resort
#13 of 37 in Ayvalik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cunda Doruk Otel
Cunda Doruk Otel
#25 of 37 in Ayvalik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cunda Basel Hotel
Cunda Basel Hotel
#6 of 8 in Namik Kemal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Temizel
Grand Hotel Temizel
#6 of 37 in Ayvalik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Billurcu
Hotel Billurcu
#8 of 37 in Ayvalik
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaptan Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaptan Otel

Property: Kaptan Otel
Address: Balikhane Street No:7, Ayvalik, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Balikesir Province > Ayvalik
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Ayvalik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kaptan Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing