We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Tough to find, but worth the effort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gonluferah Thermal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gonluferah Thermal Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Bursa
Gilsland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Tough to find, but worth the effort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We've just stayed at the refurbished Gonluferah, and it's divine. Just the right amount of Ottoman Turkey with the service you'd expect from a 5* star hotel anywhere in the western world. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming; the valet/porter couldn't do enough to help; and the restaurant waiters were efficient but discreet. And the food was out of this world! Well done Gonluferah - we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heavenl1y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    31
    21
    6
    9
See reviews for
36
20
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
294 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for three nights for business trip. Rooms are smallish but have enough facilities and complementaries such as tea, coffee etc. Although I could not have enough time to benefit from SPA, it seemed clean and prices were OK. Open buffet breakfast has variety of cheese, jams and olives. The thing that I did not like was about the karaoke bar and barman since he was a bit rude to make us leave the bar.

Room Tip: Backyard rooms have better sightseeing of Bursa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polly_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

we arrived at GF after an overnight bus trip at about 6am, and checked in then straight back to bed! We had splurged on a Sultan room, and it was beautifully decorated, it contained by far the best bed we've slept in in Turkey (3 pillows wide!!). The room was gorgeous, and in a good spot (same area as most hotels of this range).
We used the thermal bath, it was a private room for the two of us to relax a little then soak in the hot mineral water. We didn't have any treatments, though it looked nice in there. The room we soaked in was gorgeously done like an old hammam.
In the main area of the hotel it was just like a business hotel though. Every morning for breakfast the surly girl at the entry to the restaurant would ask for our room number with no hint of a smile or recollection of us - we were there for 4 nights and one of not many foreigners there, you'd think she'd remember us! All of the waitstaff at breakfast looked like they'd rather be anywhere else and the food was not good.
At around 6pm one night we decided to get a pre-dinner drink - the lobby bar was deserted and when we wandered in noone came to help. So we went around the back to Lounge 22 which is advertised as 24/7 - the door was unlocked but there was noone inside! That quashed the drink idea.
The last day/night we were there it seemed like a conference was in, and perhaps this is more what they do. Lounge 22 certainly fired up that night - we were on the back wall of the hotel and it was pumping. Thankfully it all finished up at around midnight and we could get to sleep.
If you want to enjoy a nice room and spa, then this would be great, but don't expect any kind of fancy service to go with it. We made the most of our fancy room and had a lovely time.
If you are there, the restaurant out the front door and turn right up the street on the corner has reasonable food, but more than that, a lovely waiter who speaks English well and would love nothing more than a chat. We ended up going there 3 times just to say hi and chat with him.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bbppbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2010

I was there for a couple of days for a business trip. I found it also a nice place but with some disadvantages.
The breakfast is not very professional, eg. instant coffee or no fresh fruits. The size of a standard room is maybe 10 sqm not more. No space for bigger luggage. The rooms are in fact tastefull furnished.
Spa is not free of charge for guests and it was not possible to get a date for a treatment over a period of 3 days. Far away from the City center.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank posaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2008

We stayed at this hotel on our way to Uludag for a skiing weekend. What a gem we found - an absolute beauty and serenity. The rooms were newly decorated and elegant (see photos attached). The view from my room was over the city - the same view was available from the restaurant. It is worth noting the thermal spa. Unusually, you will be booked into one of individual change room, hamam and thermal pool, suitable for individuals, friends, couples or a family. Again very tastefully decorated with abundant thermal water flowing in amazing tranquility. I had a scrub and massage by an experienced lady. If I did not live in London, I would visit the hotel every weekend.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_largas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bursa hotels
0.0 mi away
Marigold Termal & Spa Hotel
0.9 mi away
Divan Bursa
Divan Bursa
#8 of 47 in Bursa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boyuguzel Termal Hotel
Boyuguzel Termal Hotel
#39 of 47 in Bursa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tiara Termal Hotel
Tiara Termal Hotel
#22 of 47 in Bursa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Swiss-Belhotel Celik Palas Bursa
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza BURSA
Crowne Plaza BURSA
#2 of 47 in Bursa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gonluferah Thermal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gonluferah Thermal Hotel

Property: Gonluferah Thermal Hotel
Address: 1. Murat Cad. No:22, Bursa 16090, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Bursa Province > Bursa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in Bursa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Gonluferah Thermal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Gonluferah Thermal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing