We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views but basic rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Limani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Limani
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Canakkale
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great views but basic rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is rated a 2 star hotel and this is confirmed with the size of the bedroom and the bathroom particularly. However, this is compensated for by the location and views from the front rooms. The hotel is in the old part of the city with narrow cobblestone streets and lots of places to eat and drink nearby. The breakfast area downstairs is right on the harbour front and has a good selection on the menu each morning. I think that it is about time for a refurbishment of the bathrooms which are not only small but was not particularly clean and part of the shower screen was broken. The front of house staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: You must choose a water facing room. The extra is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella2515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    67
    28
    6
    5
See reviews for
50
100
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Well located with sea views but very basic hotel. Perfect for backpackers but not so great for anything above 2 stars if that is your expectation. Problems with internet which were resolved after several hours. Within walking distance of waterfront & selection of restaurants.

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I don't understand why other people give such high scores to this hotel. This was one of the most expensive hotels in Chanakkale, yet we thought it doesn't meet the standard or expectation of its price. The rooms are tiny, just enough space to walk around the bed, the sink in the bathroom was 30cm x 20cm, the tiniest we've seen. There is no amenity other than shampoo and body soap, no complimentary water / coffee, no mirror. The staff are unfriendly; they never smiled the whole time. They probably think they are still very competitive since it sits right in front of the ferry harbor. Chanakkale is a nice town. We wish the hotel and its staff were a bit more pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at The Limani in late April and enjoyed our stay.
The hotel and rooms are well appointed and clean , the front rooms having a pleasant view over the waterfront.
The hotel is very well situated being within a short walk to all that Canakkale has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank willie173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
accra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Yes to Hotel Limani. I traveled with my husband and 2 kids. We didn't make a booking but thought to chance it. From Istanbul to Izmir and this is our Pitt stop. Hotel manager was great and he gave us a room. All staff very welcoming and warm. Yes as the review says about there food. It's great. We had prawns I. Chilli sause and pizza and fish.. All was excellent. The room was good with marina views. Comfy bed. And the best part even the crib was so comfortable that my baby slept beautiful. Only wish bathroom was a but bigger but I know it's hard to expand. Thank you for all ur assistance. Parking the car and bags etc. Breakfast was tops with fresh baked food. I will be back with my mum. Oh and location is the best it's smack bang in the middle.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank susuAccra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Limani after coming in from Istanbul and waiting to see Troy the next morning. The hotel was very conveniently located, about a 15-minute walk from the bus drop-off point and from the minibus station for Troy, and literally right next to the clock tower and old square around which the bus companies (Truva, Kamil Koc) etc. are located from which you can take a shuttle to the huge bus station outside the city to travel to Izmir, etc. It's surrounded by reasonably priced cafes and shops and has immediate access to the boardwalk. The restaurant at the hotel is great as well, with a beautiful sea view and way cheaper than we expected!

While the rooms and facilities of the hotel are charming and clean, the factor that truly makes Hotel Limani stand out from others we stayed in on the Turkish coast was the excellent service. Everyone we encountered was so friendly from the moment of check in, and when we needed to leave our bags in the lobby all day to visit Troy they watched them at the check-in desk despite not offering this service or having a bag-check room. Definitely a great option, especially for anyone traveling by bus!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea-view--we submitted that as a request when booking on Hotels.com and didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you choose to stay at this hotel make sure you pay a little extra to have a sea view. We spent time looking out the window over the Dardenelles and Gallipoli peninsula watching a huge variety of boats passing by including large cruise ships. This hotel is perfectly situated to the main shopping area and the ferry terminal is very close. We spent two nights here and the service and breakfast are very good. We also chose to eat in the cafe for our evening meals as the food was very good. It was also good to enjoy a cocktail overlooking the water. While the rooms are not large they are well appointed and very clean. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
2.6 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 28 in Canakkale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#6 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kervansaray Canakkale Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akol Hotel
Akol Hotel
#13 of 28 in Canakkale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Limani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Limani

Property: Hotel Limani
Address: Kemal Pasa Mah. Yali Cad. No12, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Limani 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel designed for guest comfort and you ll find your home comfort in Hotel Limani. From the moment you came to our hotel , you will leave with a feeling of being created by the convenience d if you don't mind a drive you can reach lots of pristine beaches and the neighbouring cities so you can easily use Hotel Limani lodge as a base for discovering Canakkale and the surrounding area.Hotel Limani is only minutes away from major sights and landmarks in town such as the old clock tower, ferryboat jetties to European side of the Dardanelles, City Museum, Cimenlik Castle, Naval Museum and Park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Limani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing