We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style, comfort and convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Des Etrangers
Ranked #1 of 58 Canakkale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Style, comfort and convenience”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely welcome, everyone at the hotel was really helpful and friendly during our two night stay. Our room was on the second floor and had a balcony with a view across the Dardanelles. The room itself was bright , clean and elegantly furnished and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent. Really good location, near to ferries, coach offices, restaurants, lokantas, tea houses, shops and bars.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    23
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
34
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This had a great location near the ferry (turn right and walk 200 metres and you are there). All the staff are as friendly as you will ever find in a hotel - they just could not do enough to make sure we had a lovely time. The room was spacious and clean and surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Staying at des Etrangers was a real treat and helped make our trip to the Gallipoli peninsular a great experience. Our room was very comfortable and in keeping with the historical style of the building and we loved having a little balcony overlooking the waterfront. The staff were great and we were served a delightful breakfast (much earlier than they normally do to suit our timetable) in the little street at the back of the hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nunkeri1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
151 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Located in the heat of Canakkale, this small hotel is well situated for travelers near the ferry docks and some good restaurants. For those with cars, a large parking lot is located across the street. We stayed there one night in early October, 2013 preparatory to crossing next day to the European side. The hotel building is old, Ottoman in design and not without charm. The staff was friendly and helpful with advice and recommendations. Our room was smallish but clean and functional. The same was true of the bathroom. Our room fronted the busy Yali Cadde but its window and small balcony afforded us an angular but pleasant view of the Dardanelles and Europe beyond.

Room Tip: Streetside on Yali Cadde affords views of the Dardanelles. Higher is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Charming stone built old hotel recently refurbished to a good standard. Excellent breakfast. Staff absolutely charming and very helpful. Location ideal near the frequent ferries to the Gallipoli peninsular but in a pleasant resort town with plenty of eating/drinking options. Convenient public car park opposite (small charge).

Rooms are spacious and light and the beds very comfortable. A/C works well.

Room Tip: There are steep stairs to rooms so choose one on the first floor if you don't like climbing stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
280 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed overnight and wanted to be in the town which is where this hotel is; tucked away and quiet. The room is nothing to get excited about nor the bathroom for that matter but everything works and it is clean. The staff speak English and the breakfast is memorable for it is truly authentic. There is no menu so you get what the host prepares and the offering was fresh and invited you to enjoy.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemoMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Like most of the posts, there is not a great selection in Canakkale. I will keep it simple.

We had 2 nights here and i had been told bad things about Canakkale. Not sure i would call it a boutique hotel....more of a small hotel.

Upsides - The location is great. Right in town, near the ferry port, close to tonnes of restaurants with car parking right across from the hotel. Breakfast was very good and so was the home made wine!

Downsides - our room, on the back was really really noisy (Fri and Sat night) which was not the hotel's fault. The water in the shower was not hot and it took three calls to get it hot. The staff said the solar system had not heated it up enough and it needed to change to gas but myself and anther guest had cold showers. Machine to pay by card would not work.....very very annoying.

the staff were very lovely, and it was not expensive...but a bit more attention to detail would lift it.

Room Tip: Not a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maxtedandlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 28 in Canakkale
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Limani
Hotel Limani
#2 of 28 in Canakkale
274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 28 in Canakkale
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#7 of 28 in Canakkale
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#8 of 28 in Canakkale
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 28 in Canakkale
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Etrangers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Etrangers

Property: Hotel Des Etrangers
Address: Kemal Pasa Mah. Yali Cad. No:25 D:27 Cevatpasa, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Canakkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Etrangers 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Des Etrangers is set in a classic Ottoman style building at the promenades of Canakkale. It offers modern accommodation with private balconies which offer panoramic views of the Dardanelles.The rooms have parquet floors and are equipped with flat-screen TVs with cable channels. They feature private bathrooms that come with free soap and shampoo products. Guests can use the free Wi-Fi all throughout the hotel.Entrangers Hotel houses its own restaurant offering a menu of local dishes prepared with seasonal ingredients. All this adjoined by a wine from the region. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant every morning.The ferryboat service to Eceabat is within 500 metres of Hotel des Etrangers. The ancient city of Troy is 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Des Etrangers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing