We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the great value”
Review of Akol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akol Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Canakkale
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Akol hotel was the biggest hotel in Canakkale until Kolin Hotel opened in early 2000's. So it did not have a major competitor before, even today it has the location advantage since Kolin Hotel is a little bit out of town. We stayed at this "four star" hotel during our honeymoon, I did not like the service quality, they did not take our car to carpark behind the hotel, they did not show the courtesy even where the parking lot was located. I had to search the carpark and tried to park our car with my groom suit on. I took my staff to our room by myself, there was not anybody to help us. The room was nice but old which was facing the sea. Breakfeast buffet was ok, pool was small. I think they dont care Turkish guests, but just the foreign customers. They have to take care of their customers as well as a remodelling in the hotel. They have the potential to do that.


El Hotel es viejo pero tiene las habitaciones con vista del mar. La cualidad del servicio es mal, creo q es por q el hotel no tiene competitor en el centro. No es un hotel de cuatro estrellas como ellos dicen, a lo mejor es de tres. Quedimos en este hotel despues de nuestra boda, nadie nos ha atendido para mostrar aun les dijimos q vendriamos despues del medianoche. No hubo nadie q ayudarnos para llevar nuestras cosas a la habitacion. El desayuno fue bien, la piscina fue pequena. Creo q el hotel necesita renovacion para q mereca la cuatro estrella.

Room Tip: rooms facing the waterfront, las habitaciones con la vista del mar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giritline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

A decent stay and a great location, i have to agree that this is an aging three star despite the higher ratings you may see elsewhere. The location is right on the waterfront with some rooms having views facing the water and some facing the courtyard and town. It looks like most have a balcony which is a nice feature. The hotel is like most that we have stayed in Turkey as far as the AC. The AC seems to not work very well which can be tough in the warm season. Fortunately the cool breeze helped cool the room but a decent AC is needed in all of the hotels we stayed at in Turkey. The waterfront promenade is right there at the hotel and is a great stroll during the day and at night especially during Ramadan.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imdarkside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkolManager, General Manager at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Sir,

Thanks for your review about us. We need your reviews to catch best quality. We have central AC system but you need to care about energy saving system also. Because Ac is not working while windows or doors are open. But we inform you about energy saving system when you come to the hotel. If you still have problem just you needed to call reception because we have technical servise 24 hours. I dont know why it didnt work but if you come again and have problem just call reception or General Manager (me). We will certainly solve you problem.

Best Regards
Hotel Akol General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Canakkale is off the main tourist track of Turkey but anyone visiting Gallipoli or Troy would most likely spend a night here. The town itself is interesting with a big promenade along the water front where people of all ages walk up and down in the evening, like so many European towns.
The hotel is right on the waterfront on the other side of the road. The hotel is quite large and many rooms have views of the water. It could look really nice but somehow just looks a little tired. The lifts had a strange configuration meaning you had to press two different up buttons on either side of the lobby.
The staff tried very hard to please in the restaurant but the head waiter talked a little too much instead of listening. Dishes came out out very quickly with entrees and mains all mixed up. Their hearts were in the right place but some features of the meal were quite annoying.
Canakkale is always going to be a one night only sort of place unless it develops some attractions of its own other than the wooden horse replica. The Akol has a lot of potential to be a really nice hotel in a lovely part of the world and I am sure it will get there.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hortus_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkolManager, General Manager at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Sir,

Thanks for your review about us. We need your reviews to catch best quality. And also special thanks to you for your good review. We have tourism union and we discussed instructions which is in your comments. We try to develop our city attractions and also our hotel. I promise to you next time you come, you will see we developed a lot of things which you mention. Also i would like to tell something about elevator. we have two button for calling. One for going down, one for going up. You need to choose where you want to go and press. Bu also we are changing our elevators. I hope you will like new ones. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Akol General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Many of the rooms have a great Ocean View - Ours did not. Our room was large, and well kept up. Good Sleep. The area is great for walking, and the park near the hotel has a neat Trojan Horse Statue from the recent film. The area is popular for parades and gatherings. The food was "Typical" tour food without much choice on the entres, and the extras were ordinary.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MGMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkolManager, General Manager at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Sir,

Thanks for your review about us. We need your reviews to catch best quality. And also special thanks to you for your review. You are right all of our rooms dont face with Dardanelles but it depends on when you come. Firstly we suggest our sea view rooms but if they finish , we have no othe choice and we suggest city view rooms and also city view is wonderfull.It depends on your pleasure. But you dont need to worry also because we have Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar at the top floor with best view of Dardanelles. You just need to be our guest in this departments.We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Akol General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

The Akol Hotel is rather reminiscent of an aging North American 3 star chain hotel, but with smaller rooms. The hotel lobby appeared to have been renovated, but the rooms and bedroom furniture were dated.
That being said, everything was spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable, and the pillows oversize (which I happen not to like, but that's just me).
Our room was on the fourth floor, and if we leaned sideways and peaked around the building in front of us, we could catch a glimpse of the ocean. Those guests on the higher floors, and on the same side of the hotel would certainly have a spectacular view.
The buffet at dinner offered a good variety, but I wasn't able to find anything that really appealed to me. However, after a good night's sleep (no problem with noise, either from the bar upstairs, or foot traffic on the beach) we were able to enjoy the breakfast buffet (lots of variety, excellent coffee) which we ate in the glassed in balcony.

As was the case with all of the hotels featured in the Turkish portion of Transat's "Charms of Greece and Turkey" tour, the Akol offered an ourstanding feature, in this case a perfect location on the ocean. What a wonderful way to relax after a long bus ride...strolling along the boardwalk on a warm evening in the company of the local people, then enjoying a glass of wine on one of the patios along the way!

Room Tip: Ask for an unobstructed ocean view a couple of stories removed from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkolManager, General Manager at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review about us. We need your reviews to catch best quality. And also i agree with your opinions except a bit dated. Because our rooms are not bit dated, just furnitures look like a bit dated but not. Also we think to change our furnitures because of this kind of review. I hope you won't think, we have bit dated rooms when you come again. Also i am happy to see, you have good holiday despite the fact that you dont have sea view without obstacles. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Akol General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Having been to Ireland last year and my fiancée’ wanting to go somewhere more “Western” (Italy), I wanted some place more exotic. She almost came kicking. When we got to our room we literally had to just stand there at the view! It took our breath away. Being a Navy SEAL I never happy with the “status quo” so I climbed up to the roof (I “officially” deny & don’t recommend this!). What a breath-taking view! I was at about the highest point in the city and could see everything. This hotel has a beautiful and ample buffet for all meals. There is a “Sky Room” where you can sit out under glass & look down on the waterfront while you eat. Remember it’s still Turkey (just like the Orient or Middle East) and the food is a little different. Actually, it a LOT healthier! I NEVER saw one overweight kid! Not ONE. But, I only saw ONE McDonalds, too! You had vegetables so green they didn’t look real! Fruit so good you’d think they picked it out back. Across the street was the water! All the fishing boats…the salt smell…street vendors. Kids ran up to us to practice their English. The staff was as polite as all the people. It their way of life. It’s important to have a hotel in a good part of town. Ya got it here. The waterfront which I said was across the street and a beautiful park was 2-3 blocks away bordering a main road where you can do conventional shopping. On the flight back, my fiancée’ said “I LOVED that place! I could live there!” Yea, as soon as they build a “Nordstrom’s!” A truly spectacular hotel!

Room Tip: Remember in Turkey, almost ALL the rooms are smaller than the West as is the bathrooms, so just be p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank exNavySEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkolManager, General Manager at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review about us. We need your reviews to catch best quality. While i was reading your comment, i see we met what you dream. We are really happy to met you dream and see you in excitement. We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Hotel Akol General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Fighting jet lag, having to deal with the incessant beat of a bass until 1 AM, was not what we were anticipating.

The dinner was part of the package. Stand in line with a plate, and you get a couple of scoops of slop. No choice but it wouldn't have mattered anyway.

Just like the army

Room Tip: As far from the live band as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank maxgeorge1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AkolManager, General Manager at Akol Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review about us. We need your reviews to catch best quality. I'm really unhappy to see this kind of comment. I wish you were happy in our hotel but you were not. I hope you will come again and you will fell like in your second home not in army. I hope to see you again and you will see how we changed.

Best Regards
Hotel Akol General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canakkale hotels
0.1 mi away
Buyuk Truva Oteli
Buyuk Truva Oteli
#9 of 30 in Canakkale
147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kolin Hotel
Kolin Hotel
#1 of 30 in Canakkale
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anzac Hotel
Anzac Hotel
#12 of 30 in Canakkale
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Anzac Hotel
Grand Anzac Hotel
#5 of 30 in Canakkale
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Parion Hotel
Parion Hotel
#13 of 30 in Canakkale
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artur Hotel
Artur Hotel
#3 of 30 in Canakkale
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akol Hotel

Address: Cevat Pasa Mah. Kordon Boyu Kayserili Ahmet Pasa Cad. Canakkale Merkez, Canakkale 17100, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Canakkale Province > Canakkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Canakkale
Price Range: £61 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Akol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akol Hotel which is located in the heart of Çanakkale, this elegant property is just few steps away from the sea side, 300 km away from the Istanbul Airport, 2 km (5 minutes) away from Canakkale Airport and 25 km away from the Troya. Akol Hotel has 135 standard rooms and 2 suits including 280 beds, offers pleasant accommodation with a variety of amenities at the right price. Our rooms have central heating, split air conditioning, direct dial telephone, mini bar, satellite television, TV, private bathroom,wireless internet, music broadcasting and balcony. Other facilities in the hotel; meeting room, dry cleaning, free parking area, genarator and laundry room. We also offer free services to our guests such as table tennis, swimming pool and billiards. We provide variety of amenities with meeting and seminar room. In addition to these, We have 2 restaurants which offer very rich variety of food, renovated Lobby Bar, Radika Fish Restaurant and Roof Bar. In the Roof Bar, you may sip your drink with a view of the Dardanelles and accompanied by live music everyday. At the same time we provide fresh fish at the right price in Radika Fish Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akol Hotel Canakkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing