We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Sultans Ceramic

Sultans Ceramic
Ranked #1 of 14 Shopping in Avanos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The handicrafts that was started in b.c. 2000 by Hittite Civilization had continued through Iznik designs in 15th century in the Ottoman Empire period so that as the follower of the handicraft traditions, Sultans Ceramic family has introduced the handicrafts by meeting with the art-lovers through its marketing activities in national and international levels and by using its 250 years experience in the area of 4500 m² that was constructed by carving entirely with the hand workmanship in the rock in Avanos in Cappadocia region.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The level of crafstmanship is breathtaking, hospitality is amazing, too sad that I was limited by the weight of my luggage, however my mum loves her hand made ceramic bowls thanks to you

Helpful?
Thank Naadiyah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliKasap, Owner at Sultans Ceramic, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Our Guest,

Thank you for your beautiful review. We are happy to you liked our family art workshop. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Ali Kasap
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    36
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River, Florida
2 reviews
“Well done!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Sultans Ceramic gallery, included in our Educational tour, demonstrated start to hand-painted finish the creation of beautiful works of art. The gallery included elaborate decorative ceramic pieces as well as functional items such as the teapot that was my favorite purchase.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliKasap, Owner at Sultans Ceramic, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Christine,

Thank you for your beautiful review. I was very happy for received your ceramic without any problem. We always remember you.

Kind Regards,
Ali Kasap
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was included in our guided tour along with a carpet factory (boring and overpriced). The tour is quite fascinating but be warned, once the tour is concluded you do go to their showroom. It would take a very hard hearted person not to feel obligated to buy something. In our case, my wife and I had wanted a ceramic piece and it was worthwhile buying something with provenance instead of the stuff available in the Grand Bazaar. We bought a beautiful Hittite wine jar. Having said that, it costs about double for the quality, provenance and guarantee, all of which are hard to come by in the Grand Bazar.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Miran_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliKasap, Owner at Sultans Ceramic, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Miran_Ali

I would like thank you for your beautiful review. You understood very well the difference between our ceramics and in Grand Bazaar ceramics. Our prices higher than Grand Bazaar and there are many reasons of it. First one is the quality, you can use many years your jar, secondly as you see our all ceramics and hand made not machine products, thirdly our colours are water based mineral colours not chemical colours. Fourthly, our glaze is borax (natural glaze) not silica glaze and then finally, we add quartz materials so they are very strong, you can use many years for hot and cold service.

Kind Regards,
Ali Kasap
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
204 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This visit was included as part of a package so I was unsure if it was going to be a waste of time listening to a sales pitch or not. It did include shopping but demo and the beauty of their craftsmanship was both entertaining and tempting. A number of people did buy something so I would call it a win-win stop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliKasap, Owner at Sultans Ceramic, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Paul A,

Thank you for your candid review. First of all, we are a large family in Cappadocia and this art has been passing from our grand grand fathers to us. We are doing business. It means ceramic selling. However, before doing business we always care our customers happiness and good memories. These values are over than trade. If you are happy, when you were visiting in our family art workshop, we are happy to present our grand grand father ceramics to new visitors like you. Briefly, our first aim is happiness not trade.

Kind Regards,
Ali Kasap
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
“Gorgeous work and phenomenal service”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We visited Sultans Ceramic some months ago and were almost overwhelmed by the number of absolutely gorgeous pieces we saw. Needless to say, we spent more than we expected but not only do we have no regrets, we, and our children who were also beneficiaries, have loved everything we received. There was no breakage and the pieces were even more beautiful than we remembered. We see them everyday and get a great deal of pleasure from them. The service we received at Sultans Ceramic was perfect and every question was answered politely and to our satisfaction. I would go back the next time we travel to Turkey and would recommend that anyone who goes to Capadoccia visit their facility. We had the pleasure of dealing with Ali Kasap, the CEO, and were extremely impressed with his competence and caring and true desire to make us happy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliKasap, Owner at Sultans Ceramic, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Bob,

I remember your family very well. I would like to begin from your children. We love children so much therefore, they tried to make pottery on the kick - wheel. Our masters helped them, they were very happy. I shipped your ceramics by DHL Express to your home address to door steps with full insurance. Unfortunately, USA custom workers wanted tax from you and we solved this problem very quickly. Greeting to your all family members from Cappadocia.

Kind Regards,
Ali Kasap
Chief Executive Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sultans Ceramic also viewed

Avanos, Cappadocia
Avanos, Cappadocia
 
Goreme, Cappadocia
Avanos, Cappadocia
 

Been to Sultans Ceramic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing