We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting boutique hotel”
Review of Sofa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Avanos
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting boutique hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is in Avanos - a small town on a river. The town is a pleasant and relaxing place to visit.
The hotel is easy to find-just across the road bridge. Avanos is a convenient place from which to explore this part of Cappadocia.
The hotel is unique. All the rooms are different - some round the central courtyard. The rooms and public areas are full of interesting objects and pieces of art.
We had a large cave room on the ground floor. It had an ultra-modern bathroom, TV, Fridge, Wifi and tea /coffee making facilities.
The staff were friendly and breakfasts great.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All seemed to have different character!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy22707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    37
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
78
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Sofa Hotel in Avanos was a pleasant surprise as a place to spend our honeymoon and family holiday. This boutique hotel located near the river of Avanos spoiled us with high standard services, spacious and clean rooms, pleasant music, traditional food, and traditional home decors. The owners’ attention to each detail is revealed by the harmony of the ottoman, Greek and Roman elements in the same place. Most importantly for us, the owners are incredibly friendly and we really felt like home. This hotel is not only a venue of comfort but it is meant to offer a valuable piece of Cappadocia’s heart.
On the other hand Avanos is conveniently located so to facilitate the access to the touristic attractions.
In few words, we recommend Sofa Hotel as an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Sofa Hotel in Avanos is absolutely lovely and certainly a height of my Cappadochia trip. We arrived late at night without reservation and the hotel owner did not mind at all. The courtyard, our room, the labyrinth-like layered terraces were all welcoming and picturesque, very richly decorated with various old Turkish items. And the breakfast was a delight too. I would definitely recommend it to any traveller to Cappadochia, as, despite being small, Avanos has several advantages: very close to Goreme etc, a nice river, the pottery, and a wide variety of restaurants which are open until late at night. And it has a very local touch (compared to Goreme for example, which is touristy).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iuliazamfirescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in Avanos, which is a quieter town of Cappadocia, without the caves. It is beautifully decorated with the owners collections of Turkish antiques, the room are large, the staff is helpful and the breakfasts are large and fresh and delicious.

Room Tip: We had the two rooms at the top of the stairs and the little balcony area. It was a great set up fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvaSophia000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Sofa Hotel has a certain old-world charm and museum-feel to it. It is full of knickknacks, which the owner has collected over the years, I certainly recommend it to anybody who wishes to live in an old property. The only problems are that the rooms are so crammed that you will need to specify if you are carrying lots of luggage as it may be difficult to move around if the room is full. There is no elevator and no ceiling fans, but they will provide pedestal fans, if you ask for them. Breakfast is not included in the tariff in the bookings we made, something that came as a surprise. Moreover, they tried to charge more for the airport shuttle than the amount mentioned online. But the plus points are the nice terrace and lovely open courtyard that you can relax in. the Avanos river and some cool restaurants are nearby, if you want to stroll.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with plenty of space, what they call the deluxe one or something of the sort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was the most beautiful place I stayed in Turkey. Very authentic decor and the rooms are spacious and have heaps of character. The Hotel is very clean and staff are friendly. Would come back here again and recommend to everyone without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sahnela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Cappadocia Sofa hotel was our last stop in Turkey before me and my return back to U.S. Art collected and created by the owner Muharrem Hoca is on display trough out the property.The art work reflects the characteristic of the region, such as carpets and pottery. My favorite was the reliefs. Hotel is build by enclosing multiple local dwellings which carries all the architectural, historical and cultural motives. The room we stayed had its original hand carved ceiling molding (specific to the region) on the outer part. The half of the room was carved in the rocky hill of a limestone as it is the significant building culture that shaped itself over the course of centuries and civilizations. The staff was very friendly and service was excellent. You get the feel of the museums and historical dwellings of the region without dealing the tourist mop as it was very quite even though hotel was completely booked up. I highly recommend this hotel not only for lodging purposes but also to fulfill the completely unique and mystical experience of the entire Cappadocia region.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bircan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avanos
0.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Avanos Cappadocia
0.4 mi away
Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Village Cave Hotel
The Village Cave Hotel
#7 of 9 in Cavusin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
5.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
5.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofa Hotel

Property: Sofa Hotel
Address: Orta Mahalle Gedik Sokak No 9, Avanos 50500, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Avanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Avanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sofa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofa Hotel Avanos, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing