We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breath taking views, cheaper than similar hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Ranked #26 of 69 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Breath taking views, cheaper than similar hotels”
Reviewed 12 May 2011

The hotel offered us free breakfast on our early morning arrival. It's ran by a Korean lady therefore we saw lots of Korean travelers staying there. Rooms looked the same as hotel website. It's located on a slope with ~2 rooms on each storey. Shortcut to bus station
is just 10 mins by walking. hotel has free shower facilities so guests may get change before the long night bus to the next town. Rooms andbath room are very clean. I didn't find any damp smell and they change towels everyday. We had a walk to Pigeon Vally (5mins away).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    83
    31
    5
    9
See reviews for
77
200
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We recently visited Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey to see the beautiful scenery. Our guide was Hasan Huseyin Uludag. He is a 3rd generation man from this town and was extremely knowledgeable about the area. We used him as a guide for two days (prices reasonable) and he took us to places the tour buses don't stop: from underground cities to Byzantine churches carved out of volcanic rock formations. His English is excellent and we would definitely use him again. His hotel, Travellers cave is clean, well maintained, and very well located making it easy to take balloon rides and enjoy excellent, authentic Turkish food.
I can recommend this place to anyone. Very nice cave rooms,nice view, centrally located in Göreme.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fire_mans_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

After a 12 hour bus trip from Selcuk, we were picked up from the bus depot from the Travellers Cave and were given breakfast while we waited for our room to be ready! They got us into our room in no time and were very helpful booking tours.

The view is also amazing and only 5 mins from town.

Thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Enjoyed every minute in Goreme and at the Traveller's Cave Hotel. Staff were friendly and helped us with several wortwhilte excursions. Great place to eat breakfast and watch the balloons rise up over the chimneys before heading out for the day. Our cave suite was such a unique experience, and the perfect romantic getaway. Would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doginvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

We arrived in Goreme at 6.30 am and a kind man in the square Rambo from Hiro Tours gave us a cup of Turkish tea and phoned the hotel to collect us, we were collected promply by a man who didn't say much and dropped us at the hotel. We were thrilled at the view, it is fab and the balloons were all rising out of the town below...just fab. The boy in the breakfast area swiftly got up fro. sleeping and checked us in then went i to the kitchen to prepare breakfast.... we were tired so just sat on the comfy sofa and waited for the day to begin. The young man then suddenly realised he hadnt offered us a drink...he made us coffee and went into the kitchen to make breakfast, unfortunately he had a very bad cold and cough... not great to hear when you know someone is preparing food. A young woman came in who was leaving the hotel she went to get coffee and the urn was not hot yet, the young man told her it was not hot, but didnt offer to make her anything with the kettle, she left having had nothing. He just checked she had paid her bill.

A little later we went out to sit on the terrace and a young Phillopino woman came with two cappacinos for us and said our room would be ready about 10. We were pleased as we thought we would have to wait ages. We were shown our room by a turkish gentleman who spoke perfect English, we loved the room, it even had a fire place and was lovely and warm, with a fabulous view over Goreme.

We ate in the restaurant that evenong, the food was fine, aftee that we had almost no contact with the hotel staff. Breakfast was kind of sterile in atmosphere, people whispered....it seemed a shame that the Phillopino woman who seemed to be running the place didnt introduce herself or even say good morning when we came into the restaurant. I think everycone seemed mainly focused on getting all the paperwork right rather than welcoming guests, which seems a shame for such a beautiful location and gorgeous rooms.

The hotel was fine and very comfortable but lacked warmth in terms of personality. I guess I had joped to be greeted by a Turkish family or staff, but the restaurant just played classical music, which even turned into Christmas carols at one point...just a kind of lack of real thought to atmosphere.

The price was good for the facilities, but it was a bit like staying in a Travel Lodgein the UK where there is virtually no contact with human beings!

Goreme is a perfect location, the trips offered in the square were fabulous...and all are priced the same no matter where you book them! We had a fabulous time...if you havent been...go!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kolaygelsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

The hotel has a breathtaking view overlooking Goreme, and the rooms have been been beautifully carved out of the fairy chimneys. The only reasons our stay was less than perfect were because of a leak in the bathroom sink pipes and because of one employee. When we arrived, he made sexist comments about how funny it was that the woman had driven there instead of the man. Then, he asked if we needed information on the area, and I said a map would be great. He brought one out and proceeded to try to sell us his tour package, telling us how much we would spend on lunch and gasoline if we went on our own. Even when we made it clear we weren't interested, he kept insisting. He also mistreated the hotel's cat and two dogs.

Everyone else there was very kind and helpful, and the hotel is lovely. Our room had a fireplace, which was perfect to warm up after a rainy, chilly day outdoors. The decor was simple enough to emphasize the cave walls and had touches of Turkish decorations, such as carpets and pottery. The bathroom was spacious and had a Turkish wash basin, a shower, and a jacuzzi bathtub, and the marble matched the cave theme well. The cleaning staff was very thorough, and the breakfast spread was pretty complete. There are adequate signs pointing the way to the hotel from the town center.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MNAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2011

This hotel has the best views in Goreme. You can wake up in the morning and have a view of all the hot air balloons taking off in the valley of Cappadocia. It was fun to stay in a cave hotel and the staff was very helpful. The even gave us a bottle of wine when we left. The hotel is in a great location and only a few minutes away from the center of town and the Open air museum is within walking distance too. I look forward to visiting Goreme and the Travellers Cave hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33020Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#9 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 69 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#12 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#10 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#8 of 69 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Cave Hotel

Property: Traveller's Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Gorceli Sokak No 7 | Nevsehir, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Goreme
#15 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traveller's Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Traveller's Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Cave Hotel Hotel Goreme
Travellers Cave Goreme
Traveller's Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing