We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“out of this world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Ranked #29 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“out of this world”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

First of all I must say this beautifull Goreme hotel's location is one the best around all the others. They are located in a very advantage point of Goreme. At 6 o'clock in the morning you can observe and take wonderfull photos of baloons. Service is very simple but they are all very warm hearted, giving people. Especially Hakan Bey gave us very usefull recomandations. Price of this hotel is high for the season but it definetelly worth it, I saw many different nations in this hotel and they were all looking happy. Housekeeping and restaurant very good but they can do little bit better about breakfast.

Room Tip: try to get a room close to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abubd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    83
    31
    5
    9
See reviews for
80
202
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Location: the hotel was truly like staying in caves, with beautiful formations all around it. great view from the terrace where you could hangout in the evening or have coffee in the mornings.
The city center in a few mins walk away, easily accessible to a lot of restaurants.
Staff: I exchanged emails with Bekir (hotel staff) He was prompt and very helpful. he helped book my bus back from Goreme to istanbul, the hot air balloon ride for a great price 110 EUR,
a car and driver for two days for 12 people.
Other: we stayed there one night and checked out at 11am the next day but our bus wasn't until 7pm. The hotel has a few extra showers and bathroom. they kept our bags and gave us towels to use. Also dropped us to the bus stand in the city center.
They even got us scooty rental to explore the town around.

when u arrive by bus into goreme, there is a information office. just call from there and the hotel car will be there in less than 4 mins to pick you up.

absolutely lovely stay!

Room Tip: stay high closer to breakfast + reception area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shahpuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We splurged on a cave room with fireplace. The room is a good size and the bathroom large with a spa tub, heated towel rail and separate shower. Breakfast is buffet style eaten on the roof patio - fantastic view over Goreme. There are many small private areas with chairs dotted around the property if you want to chill out. So leave some time as the view really is spectacular!
Bekir and Jin really are super helpful and will help you decide what to do, and make sure you get to the event on time. The hotel is at the top of a mound, walking distance into town, but a ride is usually offered. There are many tours to do in the area - the Green Tour covers a lot, underground city, walk along the river, climbing around in a cave monastery..... The Turkish Night show is touristy - but well worth it. If you go to the Haman make sure you have a bikini bottom otherwise you will not be allowed in the spa. Also would not recommend ladies to join the men's side unless you are very comfortable with no clothes on in front of whoever is there!
We started our Turkey trip in Goreme so did not buy here, but the prices are the best here so wished we had!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hedgewog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very happy with our choice of this hotel. Room had a great view and was very charmiıng. We were picked up and dropped off at the bus terminal and all tours were very well organısed. This hotel has lots of character and the host Hakan went out of his way to help us.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

When we arrived we were picked up from the bus stop at 8.30am. At the hotel, they offered us a free breakfast, even though we had not yet stayed the night. They were apologetic that our room was not yet ready - but it was like 8.30! We were in our room in record time at 10.40am - that was so good, given we had just travelled 10 hours on an overnight bus and were keen for a shower. Whilst we waited we just had a nap in the deckchairs in their wonderful garden under a tree.

One of the employees, Bekir, and I had been in constant communication as he helped me by booking my bus tickets to and from Istanbul as well as the hot air balloon ride - and they both went smoothly.

On our first day we did the Rose Valley Tour, and it is actually led by one of the local boys working at the hotel who is also studying tourism at uni. It was a really lovely tour and the tour guide was a top bloke and it was good getting to know him and discuss shared interests like soccer and Harry Kewell.

On our second day we had to check out and they gave us a gift of a bottle of local red wine which we enjoyed once back in Istanbul and it was quite a pleasant drop. They also insisted on shuttling us back down to the bus station, rather than have us walk down. I was really impressed with this hotel and would highly recommend it. Oh and the room was lovely too and the bed comfortable, but the service provided was what was most memorable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I'm a bit surprised to see so many positive reviews stating that it's a friendly hotel. We recently returned from our trip to Turkey in May. We stayed at Traveller's cave hotel for four nights. The location was perfect with beautiful views and up above the noise of all of the construction that was happening in town. Our room was perfect, very clean and cozy (they even had slippers and tea in the room). Breakfast was okay. Our biggest disappointment and the reason why I rated the hotel "average" was the cold atmosphere in the hotel. I guess I was expecting the warm Turkish hospitality and didn't get any and I felt it the moment we arrived to the hotel. The man that runs the hotel seemed to always be preoccupied with computer work and never made an effort to say good morning when we walked in to eat our breakfast every morning. There was another women that seemed to be around helping people with their trip planning in Cappedocia. I don't even know she knew we were staying at the hotel. Never made an effort to even say hello. There were two other teenage boys that were serving us at breakfast who were very helpful but didn't speak a word of English. We noticed that they were at the hotel every day from early morning to late at night. It's a shame that such a beautiful hotel is lacking in the hospitality aspect so much. We initially booked with Dervish Cave House but cancelled and booked with Traveller's Cave based on reviews and the photos of the hotel that we saw on their website. I regret this decision. If we were to return to Goreme, we would not stay at Traveller's Cave hotel solely because of the cold atmosphere. If this aspect of your trip is not important for you, I would recommend staying at Traveller's Inn because of it's location, beautiful property and rooms. If hospitality is important to you, I wouldn't recommend staying here. Looking at it now, I would have preferred to stay at a less charming place as long as I received that warm Turkish hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jwls08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

good view to Göreme, and a bit walk to the left of the hotel entrance, you will get to a fantastic view of the piegon valley. Clean cave rooms, very friendly staff. We had an early morning flight, and they prepared breadfast the night before for us to take and gave us a bottle of a local wine to take home. recommended to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#15 of 77 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 77 in Goreme
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#17 of 77 in Goreme
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller's Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller's Cave Hotel

Property: Traveller's Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Gorceli Sokak No 7 | Nevsehir, Goreme, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Goreme
#16 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Traveller's Cave Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Traveller's Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Traveller`s Cave Hotel Hotel Goreme
Travellers Cave Goreme
Traveller's Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing